USA Oregon Mt. Hood Welches Listing #1621

Cedar Grove Chalet - Welches, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
61 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 (6 adults) 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  (70 lb weight limit)  4WD/traction required year-round
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Unique dog-friendly mountain home w/private gas grill, hot tub, & near town!

Take your Mt. Hood getaway to the next level when you escape to this dog-friendly, 1970s chalet! Built to complement the amazing surrounding scenery, this home will take you from the every day and propel you straight into the extraordinary. From the way its contours match the flow of the slope it rests upon, to the casual furniture and fun retro wallpaper, this home has the comfort of a well-loved quilt: warm, inviting, and nostalgic. Take in views of Huckleberry mountain from the deck wrapped around the front of the house, or curl up by the large stone fireplace and listen to the fire crackle. Other fantastic amenities include a private hot tub, sauna, an enormous backyard for your dogs, and a freshly regraded and regraveled driveway (a four-wheel-drive vehicle is still recommended). But please note that the backyard is not fenced, so be sure to keep an eye on your dogs and small children.

What's nearby:
Tucked into the foothills of Mt. Hood, this home provides absolute peace and quiet. Sneak away for some five-star treatment in Welches - a small resort town only two miles north. Welches emerges out of the woods and welcomes you with two amazing resorts, where you can enjoy massages, spa treatments, and fitness centers. You can also tee off at The Resort at the Mountain or spend some time splashing about in Lymp Reservoir. Come wintertime, you'll have your choice of wonderful ski slopes at Mt. Hood Skibowl (12 miles east), Timberline (19 miles east), and Mt. Hood Meadows (24 miles east).

Things to know:
No TVs
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dog-friendly for a small, nightly fee.
Spotty cell service available from the deck.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Wave


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Sauna : Private


Gas grill : Private



Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

61 reviews

Rachel P. Jul 2022
This place was so beautiful, unique and a perfect launch or for our adventures on Mt Hood. It was so lovely to come back to the hot tub after long hikes in the woods. Would definitely recommend and will return!
Blair W. Mar 2022
The hot tub and sauna were wonderful features of the house. We also enjoyed having a real wood burning fireplace, this made our cozy night after skiing on the mountain special. House was clean and organized. I would go back.
Matthias K. Dec 2021
Not much to love but honesty coming out. A lot of issues with the house from bunk beds, dryer, power issues inside the house and out, hot tub died,stove not working well Would be a good house for older people that did not need communication by cell,internet or other wise. Not really set up for kids.
Manager response:
Matthias, we are deeply sorry for the many issues and inconveniences encountered. The electrical issues have been resolved. We are working on getting the dryer repaired, and the hot tub is working properly again. Internet service has been added to the home so that our guests can stay connected during their visit. We would also like to add that the home can accommodate children well, there are bunk beds, games, and books for kids provided. Again, we apologize for the concerns encountered and we hope to host you again for a more pleasant stay!
Philip G. Dec 2021
This is a great place to access the many nearby trails! We enjoyed trails that were perfect for littles and more challenging trails. The hot tub and sauna were very relaxing.
Aubrey O. Nov 2021
The home is very clean, the description is super accurate, and has some very nice features. Easy check in and the directions were spot on.
Laurie O. Oct 2021
The hot tub was so relaxing after a day of hiking along the Salmon River. There were plenty of towels and the kitchen had all the cookware and appliances we needed. I would definitely come back!
Abe S. Jul 2021
Nice cabin in the woods, somewhat secluded, it is well stocked and feels nice. A few issues, the BBQ grill will probably need to be replaced as it is old and rotted out. More importantly the propane tank was empty! The oven did not work well, it undercooked 1/2 of our pizza and burned the other half. The hot tub is private on one side and not private on the other side.
Manager response:
Hi, Abe! We apologize if we missed getting the propane refilled for your stay. We will be replacing the BBQ entirely. Thank you!
Eileen O. Jun 2021
The location is ideal for the area. We were disappointed based on the following:
1. Most windows are fixed some operable windows are missing screens so no cross ventilation. It’s problematic if temperature is above 90. FYI, no air conditioning.
2. No instructions on hot tub. It was set at 107 and took two
hours to lower to a temperature we could tolerate.
3. Since no WiFi we were unable to retrieve any information given on web site on information for the area, restaurants or hiking trails. A written sheet was found dated in the 1990’s on hikes. Would recommend stopping at the Ranger Station in Zig Zag on hiking trails.
Manager response:
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We are sorry for any issues you encountered during your stay. Local staff are always available to assist if there are amenities in the home that fall short. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issue you experienced, and you give us a chance to host you next time. Thank you.
Justin W. May 2021
This home is amazing. We enjoyed the Dry Sanua, and the Hot tub so much. We had all the kitchen tools we needed. All my friends that came with me enjoyed the stay as well. I would recommend this house.
Robert M. May 2021
This was a great place to bring the kids and just disconnect from all things wireless. We were able to spend some quality time, play board games, and enjoy the hot tub and sauna!
Tara C. Feb 2021
The home was very cozy. Kitchen was stocked with all the things we needed. Hot tub was great. The only bummer was we couldn't check in until 4pm, then had to check out one day later at 10am, felt like we didn't get much time in the home for the cost. Regardless, we'll be back.
Mariana E. Jan 2021
Loved the house. Was not aware when we booked that there is no cell service, no internet or wifi, and no televisions.
Coy B. Nov 2020
Loved this house, cozy, comfortable and tidy with a well stocked kitchen. The hot tub and fireplace were great and used every day of our stay.
The only down side was that we booked and paid for a house with a sauna and felt that it was inexcusable that we were not notified prior to our arrival that the sauna was out of order, nor were we offered a small refund. We were very much looking forward to the stress relief that the sauna would have provided. Regardless, we really enjoyed the house and hope to book it again in the future.
Manager response:
Hi Coy, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the sauna. We have repaired the sauna so future guests will get to enjoy it. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope you'll return soon!
Kelsea D. Oct 2020
The chalet is peaceful and lovely, but we were disappointed and concerned upon our arrival when we realized the home clearly had not been cleaned after the previous guests. There was debris all over the living room carpet, a dirty, unmade bed in one of the rooms, dirty towels, and dirty dishes in the kitchen. We made due by cleaning a bit ourselves and sleeping in one of the clean rooms, but the lack of professional cleaning between guests is particularly concerning given we are in the midst of a pandemic.

However, once we did a bit of our own cleaning we were able to enjoy the home. The instructions for our stay were very straightforward and the home itself is cozy and quiet! We would definitely stay again assuming the cleaning issue was a one-time mistake.
Manager response:
Hi Kelsea, we apologize if the cleanliness of the home left something to be desired, and we will follow-up with our housekeeping team to see that future cleans are completed to our standards. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Stacie S. Jul 2020
Dated but large home with a sauna and hot tub. Close to hiking, swimming and fishing. Coffee maker was missing lid so coffee grounds were everywhere. Cheap fix highly recommended. Dog friendly but not fully fenced. It would be nice to have a gate on deck so dog could be outside while hot tubing without worrying. Good selection of games, plenty if towels and basic kitchen supplies. Beds fine but older. Overall, good for laid back guests with managed expectations.
Cara G. May 2020
Loved the hot tub and sauna! Nice desk overlooking the tree. Very neat architecture, my 6 year old little loved the loft area. There is some significant water damage under the floor in the main level bathroom that should be addressed, it didn't hinder our stay, just something the owners should be aware of. We would definitely stay here again.
Monnette R. Jan 2020
The house was spacious, well maintained and very comfortable
Lauren B. Jan 2020
I had an incredible stay atthe Cedar Grove Chalet - the hot tub and sauna were wonderful after a day of skiing and it was so close to Mount Hood Meadows. Comfortable cabin with a cozy fireplace.
Carter B. Dec 2019
Great location. Very clean. Hot tub and sauna were perfect after a day of hiking and playing in the snow!
Timothy N. Dec 2019
Absolutely loved this place. A sauna and hot tub, minutes from Welches and the Salmon river. Super close to ski bowl and Timberline as well. The place was clean and has a decent sized kitchen where we made a Thanksgiving feast. Will stay again!
Dylana G. Oct 2019
We really enjoyed our stay! Great location and very cozy.
Rachel U. Feb 2019
This house was great and had lots of beds. Hot tub on deck was awesome. We struggled pretty badly (even with 4 wheel drive and snow tires) to get in and out of the driveway. Parking at the bottom of the hill turned out to be the best option. Also, we were surprised by no Wifi (and no cell service). Definitely willing to pay more for connectivity!
Robert S. Nov 2017
We enjoyed our time here. Easy access to fun and interesting places around Mt. Hood. Even Hood River is a beautiful hour long drive. We enjoyed playing games and conversations in the spa. As stated there is no wifi, also be aware cell phone reception was non existent unless you walked outside on the deck. We had ATT, Verizon, and Sprint phones, all the same results. If phone reception is important to you, this is not a good place. We did get good reception as you drive down the road and improved as you got nearer the highway. The driveway is steep but did not have difficulty with 2 or 4 wheel drive vehicles. We did not have any snow. If there was snow and ice, could be very difficult. We celebrated Thanksgiving here, and the kitchen was missing important items- large fry pan and pot for example. While the cabin description boasts a well equipped kitchen, bring some of your own stuff- Large fry pan, large pot, cutting board, sharp cutlery, pancake griddle, and anything special for your meal plans. I don't want the negative comments about the kitchen to deter you. Again, we had a great time and this is a nice place.
Manager response:
We are very pleased the guests enjoyed the home and its beautiful surroundings, even their flexibility with limited cell service and no wifi. Our local manager has added more cookware in the kitchen to accommodate those families interested in cooking a complete meal. Thank you.
Jessica H. Jul 2017
I brought my team of skiers here to ski at Mt. Hood for a week. The house was awesome and located in the woods of Welches near the Salmon River. Lots of room and the hot tub was a great addition to soak sore muscles after a day on the hill. Nights were mostly quiet with the exception of some noisy neighbours. Great hiking trails near by and close driving distance to amenities like groceries and fuel. The cabin is showing it's age but suited our needs perfectly. I would recommend staying here to a small group of 5-6 or family.
Sarah L. May 2017
It's a nice cabin with a great view from the hot tub. Generally easy to access, although you should note their warnings for 4 wheel drive are 100% accurate. Even with no snow you'll want something that can climb the steep driveway.
Benjamin T. Mar 2017
You'll have a lot of fun here.
Borce A. Feb 2017
Had an awesome time at this location. Its very quiet and the location is perfect. Highly Recommended
Kaia F. Feb 2017
The house is good sized, but older. Best to bring your own kitchen equipment to ensure you have what you need. Beds are comfy, but only 1 queen sized bed - so if you are tall, might be challenging. Pretty secluded and up a really steep hill to get to the cabin. Also recommend bringing your own games as the ones there are not complete or they are broken. There is no TV either. Just wanted to put it out there so you are aware.
Cindy L. Jan 2017
Cozy and comfortable! Our family enjoyed our stay very much!
Melissa H. Aug 2016
Good location, however you are right next to people on either side of you. The home has a nice 70's cabin feel but there were maintenance items that needed to be taken care of to make it complete. The home was clean despite being dated. Unique layout that would be good for a party with kids. Good location and very quiet.
Paul B. Aug 2016
We were very happy with our accommodations. Nice deck, good size rooms and everything was very clean. The drive way was a little tricky to navigate but overall we were very pleased
Richard T. Jul 2016
This house is ideally located between Portland and Mt. Hood. The property manager was great and friendly and brought us needed supplies upon our request. Problem is that this home has a problem with mice - we could hear them running around inside the walls of the house and saw mouse droppings around the house as well as a dead mouse under the kitchen sink. We kept our things up and off the floor and cleaned the surfaces we used and did okay. Once this problem is taken care of, I'm sure that this would be an inviting retreat for many. I apologize for the negative review, but frankly, if I had known about this, I never would have booked this house.
Manager response:
The Property Manager has had pest control attend to the house to take care of the mouse problem. We apologize that they were a nuisance for this guest.
Chris B. Jul 2016
Definitely a getaway from the rush of modern life.
Kelsey J. Jun 2016
What a great getaway. It was nice to unplug from our cell phones and the TV for a weekend :) great location close to nearby activities but you still feel like your secluded in the woods. The hot tub was a hit!!
Fernando C. Jun 2016
A lovely home and a great location to get away from it all.
Amber K. Apr 2016
The house is comfortable and very big. It's outdated, but we didn't mind. The house was very clean on the inside, but the deck tables and chairs could use a cleaning. The hot tub was not hot, but it was warm enough. The sauna is great! The beds were all comfortable (except the bunk bed). Don't expect anything fancy here, but it was a comfortable and unique home.
Angela S. Apr 2016
We have stayed here multiple times and love it
Aaron S. Mar 2016
Friends and I were looking for a secluded cabin and the pictures made it look like this was just that. The receptionist told us there wasn't neighbors within walking distance. Upon arriving my group was dissapointed to find several other cabins within 100ft of the house. As well it took us a while to figure out the fridge, heat, and hot tub won't start Working until the breakers are flipped on the panel. Watch out if you plan on grilling, the burners do not work properly. Away from those issues the house is nice, easily accommodated our large group and was conveniently located from both mt hood and the grocery store. We especially liked the suana.
Samantha W. Feb 2016
The hot tub and deck was so awesome! We had a great time, would totally come back!
Elizabeth D. Jan 2016
I booked the home in Welches for my boyfriend's birthday with friends for the weekend. The house was spacious and accommodating. The hot tub and sauna were great features and if it had been sunnier, we would have loved to spend more time outside on the deck. The most appealing part was the location: We spent Saturday at Mt. Hood skiing and it was nice to have a shorter drive back to the house rather than making the longer trek back to Portland. Overall, very satisfied and we would all love to stay again.
Shanon K. Dec 2015
Easy access out of Portland, serene surroundings, beautiful feeling space and great hot tub and sauna. Would have been nice to have wifi and the pot holes in the driveway fixed but overall a wonderful place to spend a few days with friends.
Irene R. Nov 2015
Perfect cabin for a family get away. It had everything we needed and we did a lot of cooking. It had plenty of room for 10 of us and was a very private, secluded setting.
Lindsay S. Aug 2015
We enjoyed our stay at this cabin. The hot tub and sauna were really relaxing. There are other houses close by but the area was very quiet. It was an excellent spot to spend time with family members, play games, BBQ and hang out by the beautiful Salmon River. Check in/check out was easy. Would definitely stay there again.
Angela R. Aug 2015
It was perfect the Smell, the location the amenities perfect
Denise A. Aug 2015
Nice place and good location for us. House and appliances old but useable. Very difficult to drive up the hill - kept slipping and throwing rocks to drive up the hill. Hard on the rental car with flying rocks.
Suzy P. Jul 2015
Our family was delighted with this charming house. We loved the hot tub and sauna and the kids loved exploring! It's in a great location for exploring the Mount Hood area. We were able to enjoy many beautiful hikes and stunning views.
Nicole M. Jul 2015
Dog friendly, hot tub, sauna, and a large house to host a group of friends. It's a great place to unplug from technology, sit back and sip a glass of wine, and play some board games. Very low key and relaxing atmosphere. Needs a few updates, but overall it had a lot of charm.
Carl P. Jan 2015
Our group of friends chose this rest location for a weekend of gaming and relaxation. The price was right, and the open vaulted great room was a nice touch. The jacuzzi/sauna room were a nice touch. Kitchen appliances re dated however and are in need of a refresh. Satisfied!
Sandy O. Dec 2014
We knew going in that there wouldn't be any tv or phone (very limited cell service) but thought what we were paying would justify the condition of the house. We booked the house early November for the Christmas holiday. We also knew we would be paying premium pricing for that time of year but we also thought the house was going to be worth it, which it was not. We definitely were taken advantage of based on timing and lack of other available options and we wanted to be in Welches. Needless to say, we learned our lesson in renting during prime time. Please don't rent this house anytime for $275.00/night - its not justified.
Tammy L. Oct 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your cabin. The beds and furnishings were very clean and comfortable. The hot tub was wonderful after a long day exploring. Lots of games and books to keep us entertained without tv or computers. There was a small hitch when we realized there wasn't any cell phone service at all. A phone in the cabin for emergency should be installed. Would be nice if there was another light outside for the lager area of the deck also. I couldn't imagine staying a bustling hotel when you could have such a peaceful place for half the price.