USA California Nevada County Truckee Listing #917

Solvang Family Getaway - Truckee, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
42 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 3 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Spacious Home Near Resorts - Access to Shared Pool, Hot Tub, & Sauna

**Note: the use of Tahoe Donner HOA facilities requires additional daily fees.

Looking for a great home base just minutes from the slopes and other year-round attractions at Tahoe Donner? This three-bedroom unit in our Tahoe Donner rentals has it all - a convenient location, lovely interior, a loft game room, and a spacious, beautiful master suite. This home is perfect for family ski getaways, a group of friends exploring Lake Tahoe, or couples traveling together.

From the outside walkway, you'll enter through a small mudroom - perfect for storing hiking gear or skis. An open living room has tall ceilings, a sectional sofa, and a flatscreen TV with cable, and a DVD player. For a family movie night, just pop the popcorn! And, if you forget DVDs from home, don't worry, this home has a DVD library, as well as a videotape collection to browse. Of course, you may just want to find a comfy spot on the couch and curl up with a good book.

The dining room and kitchen are bright and open. The dining room table will seat eight for lively meals, and there is additional seating nearby at the breakfast bar if needed.

The full kitchen has all the appliances you'd expect to find, including a gas stovetop, microwave, and blender. There's even a tea kettle for warming mugs of Earl Grey in the morning. A small wet bar to the end of a kitchen has a separate sink and wine glasses for pouring beverages or shaking up a martini or two. Also on this level is a laundry room with washer and dryer, as well as a full bathroom.

Up a flight of stairs awaits the loft area, a great space with a foosball table, an electronic keyboard, and a lot of games. Perfect for kids of any age - the adult ones too! Right off the loft, you have an outdoor deck, perfect for relaxing in the evening with a glass of wine while a foosball tournament plays out inside.

The spacious master bedroom (along with the other two bedrooms) are located upstairs. The lucky inhabitant of the master will find themselves surrounded by serene wall colors, a small seating area, a writing desk, and access to another outdoor deck. There is a king-size bed and lots of space - you may even find yourself turning in early to sketch at the desk, read a book, or just sit out on the deck with a mug of herbal tea. The luxurious master bathroom has a jetted tub, two sinks, and a separate shower.

A second bedroom is smaller, but just as nice with a queen sized bed, snuggly quilt, and a TV with built-in VCR. The third bedroom is great for kids with two sets of bunk beds - a twin bed over a full bed, and a twin over a twin. This room is bright and also has its own TV. There's another full bathroom on this level. This vacation rental also offers other amenities including WiFi and a stereo with CD player.

Tahoe Donner offers amazing recreational amenities for every season of the year: 3 pools (one is year-round outdoor heated lap pool), hot tub, tennis center, tennis pro shop, golf course, driving range, golf pro shop, fitness center, winter snow play area, ski area, equestrian center, cross-country ski center, close to Coyote Moon golf course. The members-only beach club and boat launch on Donner Lake features a beach, boat launch, rentals: boat, kayak, paddleboard, etc., cafe, facilities, parking. All the standard Tahoe Donner amenities are $8 a day for any and all you can use in a day. Non-standard amenities cost more: equestrian, golf, ski, and fitness classes.

In winter, the Tahoe Donner cross country ski center offers over 50 Nordic trails, with both climbing peaks and gently rolling hills. The downhill ski area has a world-class instruction which makes it perfect for beginners, as well as fun for the more established ski bums in your group. There are also spots for sledding and tubing. When you need a break, you can find a fire pit to relax around and sip some hot cocoa.

Warm, sunny days offer opportunities for a game of golf and then a lunch of fish tacos and burgers on the Lodge Restaurant & Pub's outdoor deck. In addition, there are two other nearby golf courses - Coyote Moon is only three and a half miles away and Ponderosa is just seven miles from the house. And you're also just to the northwest of Lake Tahoe, so there are beaches, boating, and other water sports just a short drive away.

Year-round, this Truckee vacation home will delight you with its jam-packed amenities, proximity to attractions, and comfortable interior.

RCN # 469

*Following the Tahoe Donner HOA agreements, gatherings of people not renting the home are not allowed. Authorities will be notified if there is a party or large gathering in the home.
*No excessive noise and/or trash
*All exterior lights must be turned off between the hours of 10 pm and 7 am, seven days a week

City/town permit number: STR21-00972

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Bathrooms

Jetted tub

Children

Children's games

Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Mountain view

Media

Internet : Suddenlink

TV

Cable : Suddenlink

DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Stereo

VCR

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Shared

Pool : Shared

Board games

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Foosball table

Outdoor

Patio

Deck

42 reviews

Dawn D. Jan 2022
Our family rents a house every year over the holidays. This one was extremely clean, comfortable, good location, large and was fine. However it lacked the details that other rentals provided- kitchen basics (coffee, foil, bags…) the oven was old but worked however the the gas plates moved around as you would stir. The toaster oven had a broken leg and there were not enough dishwasher pods provided. The lighting in the living room was dim and the dining room was just the opposite. Power went out because of winds. All 3 flashlights in the house were not working. No extra batteries were to be found.
The top bunk squeaked with every turn that my daughter had to bunk with her friend in the lower bed. There was not enough salt provided for the driveway too. I guess if this was a $200 per night I would be fine. However after all fees were added up, the nightly fee came to around $600. I expected a bit more. We did have a lovely time though. It is obvious that the owner does not spend much time there.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Dawn. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager to look into further. Solvang Tahoe house Our family rents a house every year over the holidays. This one was extremely clean, comfortable, good location, large and was fine. However it lacked the details that other rentals provided- kitchen basics (coffee, foil, bags…) the oven was old but worked however the the gas plates moved around as you would stir. The toaster oven had a broken leg and there were not enough dishwasher pods provided. The lighting in the living room was dim and the dining room was just the opposite. Power went out because of winds. All 3 flashlights in the house were not working. No extra batteries were to be found. The top bunk squeaked with every turn that my daughter had to bunk with her friend in the lower bed. There was not enough salt provided for the driveway too. I guess if this was a $200 per night I would be fine. However after all fees were added up, the nightly fee came to around $600. I expected a bit more. We did have a lovely time though. It is obvious that the owner does not spend much time there. We apologize for the inconvenience and do hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Amanda T. Aug 2021
This cabin is just what we needed for a perfect family get away. We have two kids and they loved all the kid toys and movies that were there. Definitely would stay here again.
Nicole P. Mar 2021
The house was clean and had all supplies which made it easy for our family to just enjoy our vacation time away from home. Stores near by if we happened to need anything. Would definitely book again!
Meike G. Nov 2020
Great place for our party of 5. Kitchen is abundantly equipped, appliances (large and small) are older, but all well functioning. Nice plus was the whirl tub. Had an issue with the central heater, but figured it out. Night lamps on each side of the king and queen beds would have been nice ..and even cosier.
Vinh P. Jul 2020
Spacious home with a lot of amenities.
Geoffrey N. Apr 2018
We had a great stay here. The house was a comfortable size for our party of 2 families, total 4 adults 4 kids. The kitchen was a highlight--nice and big, and better equipped than most rentals we've had in the area. The foosball table was a big hit with the kids. Very close to TD downhill and XC skiing.
Frederic M. Feb 2018
We spend a week in winter, to ski in resort around truckee.
It is not a long drive, and a very peaceful place
The house is great, spacious to welcome a large or 2 families together.

We had great time and would recommend it.
We are planning o come back in summer.
Akshya G. Feb 2018
The property was clean and well kept. The entry instructions were given in a timely and accurate manner.
The bathrooms were nicely stocked with towels and basic toiletries.
The bedrooms had a nice and cozy feeling to them and were provided with extra linen and blankets.
The house had a nice kitchen with most utensils needed including a blender, an outdoor grill .
Justin B. Jan 2018
The staff and place were awesome! I highly recommend staying here!
Deepthi K. Sep 2017
The last day of our stay, water heater did not work, called Vacasa and they sent someone over, to look at the heater. She stated that the heater is rusty and might need replacement, and walked away.

Except for the hot water issue, had a pleasant stay at this property.
Manager response:
We are very sorry the water heater didn’t work during the end of their stay. The owner has replaced the water heater and there is no problem with the large bathtub being filled with hot water, for those who love to take a relaxing bath. Also, a new furnace has been installed recently. Thank you.
Angela F. Aug 2017
This property was in a good location. The only item was that the refrigerator barley for cold
Douglas M. Apr 2017
Everything worked really well for our two night stay
Karineh S. Apr 2017
The master bedroom is huge and amazing! The house was very clean and nice. We loved the location since it is close to the Tahoe Donner ski area. The only issue was that the water heater turned off and we had to fiddle around a bit to get it to work. They plan to replace it so I think it should be fine after that. The property manager Joe was great and very accommodating.
Adrita B. Mar 2017
Good place!
Mackenzie Y. Feb 2017
There was enough space for our group of kids and adults to hang out and enjoy ourselves. We liked the large kitchen and living room for hanging out. The kids enjoyed using the upstairs to play games and watch movies in the bedrooms. And, the backyard area was great for snow play and sledding!
Maria E. Nov 2016
Very cozy place, has everything to enjoy the stay.
Mohammad I. Oct 2016
everything was as described , we loved it very well !
the master bed was very specious
Christine T. Mar 2016
Our stay was wonderful.
Racquel W. Feb 2016
For us, this house was just meh. We didn't love it. It took a while for the house to warm up, so we were cold most of the time. The heater was automated and kept going back to 53. We had to buy wood for the wood-burning stove and that helped. The house felt old to us. Carpets throughout the house- even in the master bathroom. It had an unusual layout.
The kitchen was stocked - but quality of some of the utensils and pots and pans probably could have used a refresh. Oven worked but the microwave door was falling apart.
Great view of the snow, though! The kids played out there alot! The toys, foosball table that could be converted into a mini-air hockey table and mini biliards table was fun for the kids. TVs in every room was nice.
Our biggest concern was the railing upstairs. Our two toddlers could fit their bodies through it and that made us very nervous. The space between the railing was definitely not up to current code. If there was a safety shield there, then perhaps, us parents wouldn't have been so nervous about our young kids going upstairs to play. With so many other options out there, we definitely would not rent this house again.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to see that you did not better enjoy your stay. The Property Manager will look into the maintenance items you have brought to our attention. We hope you still enjoyed your time here!
Kira S. Jan 2016
Place was cozy and good space for kids and parents. Had all the amenities and we enjoyed it.
Melanie F. Nov 2015
Charming home located close to food and within 30 minutes of Northstar. Everything was provided from salt and pepper to trash bags, lighter for the fireplace and blankets.
Sylvia L. Oct 2015
I was part of a group of five ladies that rented this house for the week. We have a yearly retreat to sew together. The location was great. The house was not one of the better homes in the area. The general maintenance could be better. The check in and check out process was easy, but we could have used a binder with further instructions on site. We were not able to get the DVD player to work. Since that wasn't our main focus for our visit, we just watched cable TV.
Shannon B. Sep 2015
Roomy place for 6 people. Loved the entertainment/game loft area upstairs, two balconies, large living room and spacious kitchen. Kitchen is well stocked with dishes and cookware to get you through a decent amount of home-cooked meals.
John B. Jun 2015
The house was perfect for us. The kids had a blast in the jacuzzi tub. The air in that area is so clean and fresh, just makes you feel healthier breathing it. They did a great job decorating and furnishing the home with games, movies and other things to keep us busy. We would definitely stay here again.
Victoria T. Jun 2015
We probably would have seen more of the area, except that we liked the house so much we stayed in a lot. It was very comfortable and had nice amenities for the kids. We were 2 adults and 2 kids but we could have fit a lot more in. Next time we'll bring friends.
Xu N. May 2015
My Family and I stayed here for my birthday weekend. As soon as we arrived, the lock box code given to us was incorrect. Made a phone call and it turns out the lock box code was still the previous code, and was not changed. Vacasa was very eager to help. Kudos to them.

The cabin was not completely clean, but acceptable. The cabin has a very homey feel to it, and we felt comfortable the whole stay. The home has several balconies with some great views. It is very spacious, and has everything you need. Pots, pans, dishes, towels and blankets...the list goes on.
Manager response:
We appreciate your patience with us regarding the lockbox and lack of cleanliness, and we are glad that those issues did not ruin your enjoyment of this great home. We hope you enjoyed the foosball table and other fun amenities!
Ana R. Apr 2015
The home was spacious and clean. There was plenty of room for 6 adults and 4 children. There was a lack of washcloths, and most homes we rent usually have at least 2 hand towels in each bathroom -- that wasn't the case at this place. The beds were comfortable. It was a nice quiet area, and we felt at ease and at home.
Liza B. Dec 2014
There are actual beds for 8 (not counting sofa beds). There are chairs and table space as well. Plenty of mugs, glasses, plates. Parking for 5 cars. House is in great condition (no saggy beds). My email questions were answered promptly. I would definitely stay here again.
Bonnie D. Dec 2014
Overall, this home is large, bright and comfortable.
Gilbert R. Sep 2014
This was a very comfortable home. The location was great. We were close to stores but it was quiet and off the beaten path.
Deu H. Jul 2014
We had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much. Will come back again.
Natalie H. Apr 2014
Lovely house! Clean, open, and warm cabin. Very reasonably priced. Open kitchen to make plenty of food. Our stay was wonderful! Ton of space for our group of 10 adults. Would recommend this place to anyone! Looking forward to coming back every year!
Jennifer A. Apr 2014
This house was one of our favorites we have ever stayed in, and we have been in many, many places in Truckee. My kids loved the foos ball table. My son and I loved the keyboard. The master bedroom was huge! The kitchen, eating area and living room were spacious and were very comfortable. The decks were nice for hanging out. The only thing missing was its own hot tub, but the jacuzzi tub is a fairly good alternative. The only complaint is that there wasn't enough hot water to fill the tub over the jets. Also there was a bit of an ant problem while we were there. Otherwise the place was great and the location in Tahoe Donner is nice. Close enough to the Safeway, to many ski resorts, and great hiking trails out the door.
Manager response:
Thanks for this great review! It's so nice to hear that the home was a good match for your family and that you had fun with the foos ball table and the keyboard. The decks are great for spending outdoor time with the family! Great hiking in the area too. We hope you come again.