USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #570

Mountain Meadow Lodge - Rhododendron, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
58 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 (6 adults) 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Spacious Mt. Hood lodge with private backyard hot tub and shared pool

This modern mountain lodge with a backyard hot tub is a peaceful spot to experience all the natural beauty and outdoor adventures Mt. Hood has to offer. It features gorgeous pine views, a full kitchen, a warm, welcoming living area with a fireplace, and access to perks like a seasonal swimming pool and tennis and basketball courts.

What's nearby:
You'll have easy access to the hiking trails along the Sandy River. You're also close to the biking and other trails at the Sandy Ridge Trail System. Skiing and snowboarding await at the historic Timberline Lodge 20 minutes away. Guests in warmer weather can look forward to fly-fishing in the famous Sandy River.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen

*Due to local rules and regulations all shared pools are closed until further notice. We encourage you to check local regulations before your trip so you can be as prepared as possible.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining









DVD library

DVD player

Gaming system

VHS library

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming



Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Board games

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared


Gas grill : Private



Enclosed yard

Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

58 reviews

Joshua M. Jun 2022
Perfect, family home. Well kept and complete. LOVED our stay. Almost didn’t leave a review so it isn’t booked next time ;)
Linda R. Jun 2022
Joanna E. Apr 2022
The house was clean, but definitely needs to be deep cleaned. Especially the cobwebs. Just felt dirty, even though it had been cleaned. There were a few issues with some dirty dishes and sheets on one bed, but that made us doubt everything else😬 but idk. I try to be very understanding when houses are so old. But it had the old feeling and smell, with cute ideas. Fresh paint, new furniture that didn't seem so gross to sit on 😟😬 and a deep clean, might think about bringing my family there. Thank God it was only a girls weekend. Much easier to brush some of these things off.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Joanna. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced and are disappointed to see these concerns were not reported to us during your stay. Our local staff is always available to assist should you encounter any areas of the home that require additional attention to cleanliness. We appreciate your feedback as a means to continually improve our guest experience, satisfaction, and comfort and hope to have a chance to host you again.
sonya N. Mar 2022
The time we spent together and the warmth of the house. It was big enough for us and gave us all a warm feeling. Loved the amenities it has.
Ellen L. Feb 2022
Home was comfortable with a great layout for family activities. Loved the games and books available. Beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, etc. for cooking easy meals. We happened to be there during a VERY cold period and the house was chilly without the heaters running constantly. I imagine during our normal milder winter weather it is less chilly in the home. The hot tub was great! Overall a great choice for families. It is casual and lived-in enough that we didn't fear that our kids would ruin someone's fancy interior decorating. Teenagers with a nostalgia for older video games will love the PS2 in the back bedroom. Easy drive up to Mount Hood ski areas.
Michelle A. Jan 2022
It was a great house with enough supplies for anything that we needed. If we had any questions, they were very prompt with their response and to help us out. We highly recommend.
Annie K. Aug 2021
We had a great time at this lovely home in a gorgeous location on Mt Hood. The house is well provided with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We’ve stayed in places where it’s difficult to cook because of a lack of tools, but here we had everything we needed and more. It’s just a short walk to the Sandy river and we also visited other nearby trails. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Rachel G. Jun 2021
My friends and I loved this house! Plenty of space, lots of kitchen items, games, and movies, and the hot tub was great. Only the room with the bunk bed was truly private with a closing door.
Michael G. Jan 2021
My family and I were very impressed with this home. Very accommodating and spacious. I would recommend this home to others.
SUSAN C. Nov 2020
We enjoyed our stay here over Thanksgiving. The home was clean, the kitchen stocked with some spices, flour, sugar , oil - good basics. They even left a disposable roasting pan for us! Easy drive up to Government Park area for a hike, and a walk around the neighborhood was lovely as well. Thanks!
Freda S. Nov 2020
My friend and I spent the weekend at this beautiful home. They thought of everything! Highly recommend!!
Melissa C. Oct 2020
We were disappointed that the fireplace in the living room was not working. The heater was difficult to use and there was no manual to guide us. We had no way to contact the owner so we froze the first night we arrived. The listing said there was cable. The DVD collection was fantastic but we could not watch Sunday football. We were disappointed and wish everything was as it was listed. We did not feel we received everything as promised.
Manager response:
Hello Melissa, thank you for your feedback on your stay, we are sorry that you were inconvenienced by these issues. We wish we had been notified during your reservation. Our team is available 24-hours by a phone call or email and we would have been happy to correct these issues so you could best enjoy your stay. We have relayed your response to the local management who is fast at work getting the issues fixed. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Sara R. Aug 2020
We enjoyed the stay at the cabin. The house was big and comfortably accommodated the 5 adults that were there. The pictures don't necessarily do the cabin justice. The counters have been replaced with granite and look really nice and in the reviews you can't see, but there is a nice patio table and fire pit in the back. We also really enjoyed the hot tub, and it seemed a lot larger than a typical hot tub so it fit a few people in it comfortably as well. The kitchen was well stocked and had mostly everything we needed.

- The A/C is a godsend...directions would be useful though because we had a hard time figuring out how to get it to work/seems like it was on a schedule.
- Lots of good, recent books with a cute reading nook upstairs
- The couch is super a marshmallow, you just squish into it
- No complaints on the bed front from anybody
- Very clean
- Front porch has wooden benches built with pillows & chairs if you want to catch the sun in the morning (in the pic, there are railings, it is an old pic)
- Large selection of DVD's (and Disney VHS's, woah!!)
- Horse shoe in the backyard
- Had lots of entertainment for families/kids
- Flip flops for the hot tub (we forgot ours)

Although we really enjoyed the weekend, there were a few cons we found:

- First and foremost (and I hope Vacasa sees this!) The pipe over the kitchen stove/cupboards is leaking whenever somebody is in the loft shower. My boyfriend noticed drips of water coming down from the ceiling, and the pipe was leaking onto the top counter. It stopped after our friend was done using the shower.
-The parking situation. There was nowhere in the ad that indicated there was only parking for two cars. This was frustrating because the cabin is advertised for 6 adults & 2 kids, so we had to coordinate a very cram-packed carpool situation...only to find out when we got there, 3 cars definitely could've fit. I'm not sure if it was an HOA rule or just courtesy to neighbors, but it would be reasonable to put that in the ad before people book. We saw many houses in the neighborhood that had more than 2 cars.
- TV Setup works fine, but the surround sound setup is archaic and difficult to use. We're pretty tech savvy and couldn't get it to work if our lives depended on it
- This is definitely a quiet house and neighborhood, and we appreciated that but the backyard was very open & exposed to the neighbors to the left. There wasn't much privacy as their windows were facing the hot tub/patio directly.
- The area rugs on the non-carpeted floors in the house are death traps. They do not have any grips under them and on top of the tile floor, we all slipped on them and almost fell multiple times. We ended up just taking the area rugs off the floor so we didn't fall.
- There is only one fully private bedroom. The loft of course is open-air, while the back bedroom doesn't have any sort of door cover or curtain.
- Ice maker & filtered water stopped working on the last day we were there
- For the price we paid (~$715) early check-in or late check out would've been nice. I know they have to spend additional time with COVID cleaning so I understand that, it just sucked to have to leave the house at 10AM.

Otherwise, I think this is a great house for couples, families, and friends alike, and would be a great winter cabin as well as summer cabin - even better with the other items addressed and corrected.
Manager response:
Hi, Sara! The property manager has spoken with the homeowner about your concerns so we can look at getting them addressed. Your feedback is very valued, and we hope to have a chance to take care of you in the future. Thank you!
Thomas T. Jul 2020
Very pleasantly surprised with how spotlessly clean this rental was. House had everything we needed. Enjoyed the fire pit and hot tub. Even had toys for our little guy. Would recommend!
john L. Jun 2020
Very spacious, nice private backyard.
Julie W. Jan 2020
Comfy! Lots of supplies. Made it feel like home.
Jennifer G. Sep 2019
Home was clean and offered plenty of space for the five of us girls to feel comfortable. The kitchen had plenty of cookware and supplies we needed for preparing meals. Great neighborhood to walk around and the backyard was also a relaxing place to enjoy breakfast. Instructions for the stay and for clean-up were easy to find and follow. This was a decent home at a reasonable price for our girls' weekend away.
Dutchie F. Jul 2019
From the pictures you have a rough idea of what your getting into but one you arrive and wander through the you lodge you quickly feel very comfertable in the older feeling home. Something that most people are used to their grandparents owning with wood walls and accents. I quickly though how quiet and amazing the entire ora of the older feeling structure brings you. We were here to do a bunch of mountain biking on the Sandy Trails, the timber line lodge and in Hood river and were were not disappointed at all. The location is very convenient for all of these locations and once we got back from a good day of riding this place helped to really relax and enjoy the trip that much more. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to ride bikes, participate in snow sports or relax. What a wonderful little location.
connie w. May 2019
Great home.
Tim C. Apr 2019
This home worked perfectly for our family. Great set-up and location.
Geanine C. Feb 2019
This cabin was the perfect place. It snowed at the mountain so we decided to stay in and this place had it all. Stocked with movies, games, and video games, we were never bored. Thank you for the stay!
Linn L. Oct 2018
Living area was amenable to both group activities and privacy. Beautiful yard with shady trees, and hot tub! Lovely neighborhood to walk around in, everyone was very friendly. Close to Brightwood store and tavern, and Wildwood Recreation Area - plus tons of other cool places on the mountain.
Duane M. Jun 2018
The positive: This rental gave us the opportunity to bring our whole family in to spend time with extended family that already lives in this same neighborhood. Cost per night works out to same as hotel when divided by number of people staying, but allowed us the large gathering room and kitchen. Stocked with games and a few toys for young ones. Stocked with basic necessities. Negatives: Fireplace burnt out within 30 minutes and never lit again. 2 indoor stair treads are broken. Stair railings, and loft railings, spaced large enough for small children to slip through and hang from. NOT safe for small children!! Cant think those are "up to code". Front deck has rot, and we did in fact, fall through it. Back bedroom mattress is so awful, the couple staying in that room opted for the floor instead. Carpenter ants in the upstairs bed. Dishes look like a mismatch collection from Goodwill. Outdoor furniture was filthy, so we wouldn't sit out back. Check in instructions told us to use guest lock box on railing, when after many failed attempts and phone calls, the new instructions and code were for the lock box inside the screen door. Vacasa web site states, "Pets welcome! Pet friendly!" Inside this home is a "no pets" notice, so that the dog we brought with us, had to go stay at the home of our other family in the neighborhood.
Pool was suppose to be open according to posted days and hours, but pool attendant was extremely rude to us, saying it was closed and we should have read neighborhood board notices, to know that. Greatly disappointed children already dressed to swim on a very hot day. We won't rent this particular home again, but will look for another from Vacasa. Vacasa was great on the phone, this home just needs work and clean up.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there so many negatives experienced during this reservation. The fireplace has been working flawlessly since it was repaired. We asked these guests to call us back if they had any issues, and we never heard from them so we could assist them. The owners have built a new deck and repaired the stair treads. We have scheduled an inspection of the stair railings, but we have never heard of this as a concern from our guests before. We do spray for ants as they are very common this time of year, especially when they come in droves during the heat. We have followed-up with housekeeping to ensure they are cleaning the patio furniture while they are cleaning the rest of the house. We apologize if these guests missed receiving the new instructions regarding the lock box; all incoming guests will be receiving these same instructions. We also apologize for any miscommunication regarding our pet policy at this home. We double-checked our listing to ensure it doesn't state anywhere that it is pet friendly. We believe this guest must have confused it with a description of another home. When the property manager checked on the pool a couple of weeks ago they said it was going to open in a couple of days. We apologize this was not the case.
Alexandra W. Nov 2017
We used this home for a friendsgiving and it was perfect! Lots of space, a hot tub, and a stocked kitchen with open floor plan. We all had a fantastic time. Any issue we had were addressed extremely promptly and we were thrilled. Slept 7 comfortably. Only minor issue we had was a lack of light in the main room- but overall we would highly recommend to all who want a nice getaway!
Terri W. Oct 2017
Really enjoyed the stay here. Beautiful home. Only downside was the gas fireplace being out of order, and could really use more pots and pans. Overall totally loved the place.
Manager response:
The fireplace is in the process of being repaired, and we have contacted the owners about adding more cookware. We are delighted to see this was an enjoyable visit!
Sarah O. Oct 2017
This home was perfect for our family of 5. Our kids' ages range from 4-18, and there was something for everyone. The environment of the home, both inside and out, was peaceful and relaxing. We all felt immediately at home, and would definitely come back again.
Jennifer S. Sep 2017
We greatly enjoyed our stay. From this location we went to Skibowl, Timberland lodge, hiking and white water rafting (a little over 1 hour away). We also went to Trillium lake, but it was packed and it was not enjoyable!
Isaiah U. Jul 2017
Besides a few things like the bbq not lighting correctly and the beds being rock hard this was a nice staging area for outdoor fun.
Jessica M. Jul 2017
Great house, very spacious! Came here with a group of 5. Loved having a grill and fire pit for meals outside. Living area was very accommodating. Bathrooms were also very nice and clean!
Ute F. Aug 2016
Large House in very good condition. Nice neighbourhood. We were here with two Teenagers during a hot summer. Enjoyed Trillium Lake for swimming, and the Pool.
Will H. Jul 2016
We loved our stay at the Mountain Meadow Lodge. Seven of us stayed in the house, and there was actually room for a few more. The open living room and large kitchen were great. I was a big fan of the ceiling fans and humungous couch. There were also a couple of A/C units available, but the weather was so nice we didn't need them. We BBQ'd most nights but we were surprised to see several restaurants and a grocery store less than 10 minutes away. The neighborhood amenities were really nice. Loved the basketball court surrounded by trees and access to the Sandy river. There are several lakes and hiking trails nearby with incredible views of Mt Hood. We especially liked Trillium Lake and the Munra Point hike. The hot tub was fantastic after a long hike. If you love outdoorsmanship, Mountain Meadow Lodge wins the championship.
Jennifer C. Jan 2016
There were a couple of issues that I had during my stay here that would, unfortunately, make this a place I wouldn't likely stay at again. First, upon arrival at 7 pm, I was unable to open the lock box. There are pieces of it broken off and it was just stuck. After fiddling around with it for 15 minutes, I called Vacasa and left a message indicating I was having issues and asking for help. I continued to attempt to get the lock box opened, and after succeeding roughly 20 minutes later, still had not heard anything from Vacasa. As a courtesy, I called back to let them know I had solved the issue, but the answering machine had been turned off. At no point during the weekend did I hear from them regarding the issue. If I had been unable to pry it open, I would have had to turn around and go back home! There was no assistance with the issue. The second problem was regarding the temperature control in the house. When I arrived the temperature outside = the temperature inside (32 degrees). It was FREEZING. I turned all the heaters on high and piled blankets on the bed, but the temperature didn't normalize until 4 in the morning, when it suddenly became so stifling that it woke up everyone in the house. We battled the temperature control all weekend and never did find a sweet spot - it was either freezing or stifling hot. The house was great, the location was great, but I don't think I would want to deal with those problems again.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for bringing these issues to our immediate attention. The owners have made substantial improvements to the HVAC system, which now has a high efficiency heating AND cooling system that should have guests arriving to a warm (or cool) home during their stay. We have also substantially improved our customer service procedures. We are grateful for your feedback and glad you found the home and location great otherwise. We are always striving to improve our systems, and hope you'll give this home another try now that your valid issues have been resolved.
Linda . Jul 2015
Great experience, just wished the hot tub water was different. The swimming pool was fun.
Rhonda P. Jul 2015
We booked this house late in June and it was reasonable priced and in a great location. The Vacasa staff were awesome answering our questions. The place was well stocked with all the amenities we needed from cooking to enjoying family time around a board game. We were afforded the opportunity to check in early as well as check out late. Both were unheard of at other places we had stayed. Great job! The neighborhood is very quite and we'll situated. I Would recommend this place to anyone and will be back myself!
Teresa H. Dec 2014
We were beyond happy with the home and our stay. Everything we needed was there. We would stay again, for sure, if we're ever in the area again. Thank-you so much.
Nor S. Nov 2014
We definitely would recommend to stay here! House is cozy enough to create a great feeling of having a vacation. Hot tub is reasonable size to have 4 or 5 people at one time, maybe more but we had only 5 the most at one time and it was comfortable.
Enough utensils provided. They also have big Turkey plate and gravy boat. Really appreciate that as we stayed during the Thanksgiving and baked turkey.
I guess its a new dish washer.
One room with a queen bed was without a door (less privacy for couple), which that works even better for us because we need only one room upstairs. And the other 4 sleep downstairs. Plenty of space.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Holiday at the Mountain Meadow Lodge!
Cori M. Aug 2014
This property was clean well stocked and in a great location. Would stay there again if I'm in the area. Thanks
Shireen H. May 2014
A very nice cozy, comfortable cabin. A few things, the TV is a bit dated, so if you want to connect a laptop to it, you would need HDMI, S-Video converters. Only one bedroom has a door, a little inconvenient if there are couples. However, the hot tub was great, the house was very comfortable and inviting, in spite of these drawbacks, we would still choose the place again. Very conveniently located.
Marian U. May 2014
WE were 6 ladies and a baby on an annual reunion weekend. The house accommodated are needs well. We especially appreciated the well-equipped kitchen. We didn't expect it to be in a residential community, but in the end it didn't matter as it was very quiet and neighbors seemed very welcoming.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the home for your reunion weekend. Many of our homes are in residential areas and the neighbors are very welcoming. We hope you'll come back for next year's reunion!
Sean S. Jan 2014
This is a very spacious and open floor plan yet the right amount of privacy. We went with another couple and it worked out perfectly. We couldn't find pictures of the hot tub on the site but it is nice. Not super fancy but very comfortable for 4 and would be ok for 6 people. It is covered to keep the rain or snow off, just outside the back door, and in the elements of the peaceful woodsy backyard. Nice fire pit as well.
I'm very sensitive/picky when it comes to beds and I found the beds quite comfortable. The large sectional was a great place for the four of us to lounge around and play games. Could easily and comfortably seat 6. Kitchen was great, quiet neighborhood, not secluded but had a secluded feeling.
Doug L. Jan 2014
We enjoyed our stay very much ... Although we'd hoped for a snowy fun weekend ( no snow year ) we still had a great family vacation .
The cabin was warm and inviting. Everything worked and was well maintained.
We'd recommend to others