USA Oregon Mt. Hood Government Camp Listing #430

The Wilcox Cabin - Government Camp, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
86 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Cozy Mountain Cabin with Full Kitchen - Close to Town, Skiing & Hiking Trails

Fit right in with the classic Mt. Hood lifestyle at this charming, three-bedroom mountain cabin featuring comfortable furnishings, wood-trussed ceilings, and a full kitchen, all close to shops, restaurants, hiking trails, and, of course, multiple ski areas.

What's nearby:
Ever since Peter Sickler started the first ski run on Multorpor Mountain back in 1928, skiing has grown in Government Camp, and nowadays you can choose from world-class slopes at the Summit Ski Area, Timberline Lodge, SkiBowl, and Mt. Hood Meadows, all within a dozen miles of this rental. Hike the many forested trails that wind throughout the Government Camp area. Visit the Sandy River for fishing, kayaking, and rafting. Or just stroll into town for delicious local restaurants and unique shops.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen (no dishwasher)
Please note that the stairs are quite steep and all the bedrooms are located upstairs.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Space heater

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Mountain view

Media

Internet : Century Link

TV

Cable : Government Camp Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Deck

86 reviews

Jenny L. Mar 2022
Very cozy, old-time charm. Bedrooms small but comfortable. Good amenities and close to town.
Matthew R. Feb 2022
Really nice, definitely stay again. Definitely worth it and had just about anything you needed in the fully stocked home although The wifi didn't work and wasn't able to get it going before it was time to go. The furniture is a little old and somewhat delicate but fits for a cabin in the woods. Plenty of heat for winter stays. Perfect size for a couple couples and a couple kids. Very close to stores and skiing. Very cool little rustic cabin.
Hilary B. Jan 2022
This isn’t a deluxe cabin. It reminded me of my grandma’s house which was endearing. My husband, Myself and my two young children stayed here on our search for snow. It was conveniently located next to downtown government camp. The cost for the house is quite reasonable based on location I would rent it again. The beds were comfortable and it had anything you needed in the kitchen. The staircase going upstairs was dangerous - steep incline and tiny. It was worry some with younger kids having them use them at night for the restroom (restroom located on 1st floor). Overall the cabin has lots of charm and I would recommend it.
Patricia L. Jan 2022
We loved the layout of the cabin! The living room furniture was very comfortable. The cabin is located within walking distance to Government Camp.
Layla M. Dec 2021
Perfect location in government camp. Great sledding right outside the home. The cabin was clean and everything worked perfectly. The stairs are very steep which was not an issue for us but I could see that being a challenge for those with limited mobility.
Patsy S. Dec 2021
The area was perfect! Walk out of house and sleigh down the road.
Megan D. Nov 2021
Definitely needs a “manual” to give you info about the many quirks of the home.
We think the pipes froze over the first night, so the toilet overflowed in the morning. But there were no instructions about what temperature we needed to look out for with frozen pipes.
The shower-head was broken and sad, but we fixed it as best we could? Still needs a replacement, but it gets you wet.
The biggest issue was the power. While there are space heaters in the bedrooms, if you use them, the breaker flips. Issue was, the breaker box in the house doesn’t control any of the upstairs. So we struggled with this and, with no manual, there was no help. We finally found an additional breaker box outdoors but spent a fair amount of the time being very cold.

Other than the quirks, we loved it. Cozy, adorable, good kitchen supplies, good bedroom space. All good!
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Megan. We're sorry to read you found yourself in a couple of tricky situations during your stay and wish you called for assistance. The pipes are in good shape; we believe the toilet most likely backed up. Maintenance is replacing the shower head and looking into the electrical situation. We do hope you'll return someday!
JENNIFER RENE B. Aug 2021
Awesome Cozy Cabin, Super Clean & made us feel like we were at home. It's right next to downtown Government Camp, OR. It takes about 2 minutes to walk to the restaurants and general store. Super Close to the Mt. Hood SkiBowl (which was AWESOME BTW). I definitely want to book this cabin again!
Carla A. Aug 2021
Nice location in Government Camp, close to lots of outdoor activities. Home is fully stocked.
Douglas L. Aug 2021
A little quirky, but very comfortable and clean with plenty of space and privacy for our family group of 6.
Lindsay B. Jul 2021
Great location right off of the Main Street in town. The house itself was underwhelming. Both bathrooms are off of the kitchen. The house is old and feels cheaply made. Stairs are not inclusive. They are very steep and very skinny. No dishwasher is a let down. Also, there is a washer and dryer in the main bathroom. The washer was not working and when I called to see if someone could come fix it, I was told that the washer was not apart of our accommodation so they couldn’t help. Not sure why it would be in the main bathroom and not be considered apart of our amenities. Overall, okay stay… but would not go back and stay again.
Manager response:
Hi Linda,Sorry for the issues with the washer, it has been fixed now. We are disappointed to learn that you had a negative experience with us. We are committed to providing exceptional customer service, and we will follow up with the appropriate parties to ensure our service standards are fully met. We hope you'll give us a second chance to better serve you!
Joanne L. May 2021
Great cozy cabin close to Timberline for snowboarding. Two bathrooms was a plus for 6 people.
Nathan C. Apr 2021
Just the right size for our party of five. Complete kitchen was very useful, and having two bathrooms meant no one ever was waiting for availability. Appreciated thoughtful touches like the hooks and pegs around the gas log living room stove, for drying garments; the fans and space heaters, and the living room stove itself. The easy proximity to Government Camp is wonderfully convenient, too. Communication from Vacasa was timely and complete.
Cristina D. Mar 2021
The Wilcox Cabin has old European cabins charm, an amazing location and more than enough room for our family. We had a snow storm (1ft of snow on top of the huge snow that was already around) that made our trip even better and we were happy to have good heating in all rooms, including the propane stove and very good wifi internet (Netflix, Youtube, Zoom calls and more). The location is great for a short walk to the restaurants or the grocery store and close to Skibowl and Summit. We would definitely come again.
Jesse B. Mar 2021
The location is nice, and overall the cabin is cozy and comfortable and we enjoyed the stay.

There were some maintenance issues however. Neither the washing machine nor the dryer worked. The start button on the washer was gone/broken, couldn't start a load. And, the handle on the dryer was broken so it was very difficult to open the door. The other annoyance was that both bathroom sinks drained extremely slowly. It is difficult to even wash hands, the sinks fill up with water fast and take a long time to drain.

Those issues aside, we had a nice stay. Thanks.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Jesse, and are glad to read you enjoyed your time at The Wilcox Cabin. Maintenance will be checking into the laundry and sink drain so they can be addressed. Thank you!
Arvi G. Feb 2021
We felt right at home in this cabin! Spacious for our needs. We cooked our meals and watched DVDs after skiing. The kids played outside safely in the snow. We will certainly be back if it’s available on our dates! What a cozy cabin! Perfect, central location.
Jay C. Feb 2021
Loved the place - sweet, cozy, had most everything we needed. Only thing lacking was effective wifi - could log on ok, but not enough connection to do anything. Had to hot spot the entire time we were there. Jay
troy l. Feb 2021
Great location with sledding hill right outside the front door!!
Phuong P. Jan 2021
Dishes weren’t t clean, slick and oily to ti the touch. Jars in the Kitchen cabinet that meant to have sugar, salt and pepper were empty, just had dry residual in them. Listed with washer and dryer but washer had a note “sorry, not working” and no one let us know upfront. We had 28 hrs of power outage on top of it.
Manager response:
Hi, Phuong! We are sorry to read there were some problems with your stay. The housekeeping issues have been addressed, the washing machine is repaired, and we are not providing any edible items during COVID-19. We hope the compensation offered for your inconveniences shows our desire to care for you under any circumstance. Thank you!
Gennifer G. Dec 2020
My kids 8 and 5, loved the bedroom and made themselves feel right at home. It is on a perfect
Kabob sledding hill. In the heart of government camp.
It was quiet and peaceful, and the cabin is warm and cozy. And, we already want to stay there again.
Jorja B. Oct 2020
The location was easy to find and quiet. The stairs were a challenge! The fireplace was wonderful! It kept us warm during the day. Loved having two bathrooms. Missed having a dishwasher. Would have laundered the towels if there was detergent! Needed sharp knives, spatulas and serving utensils. Would stay again because of the location.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home and are sorry about the missing items. Please note our 24-hour customer service line is here to assist at all times and would have sent housekeeping over with those missing items. Thank you again for your review. We hope to host you again soon!
Julie F. Jul 2020
Loved walk ability to stores etc. as well as ability to walk up the road to trail system for hiking and biking. Cabin is well stocked with just about all you might need. A couple of the beds on the firm side and this is def a more rustic cabin for those who like more updated rentals...we found it funky and charming and a perfect retreat.
Keith E. Mar 2020
Everything about the cabin was excellent, nice and rustic with lots of character. Surrounding neighbors super cool.
Robert A. Feb 2020
What an eclectic visit. This is a truly unique place to stay in the beauty of Mt Hood. Everything worked perfectly and we had BLAST!
James K. Jan 2020
Great place. Great location. Felt like I was in a European cottage. Kids liked the unique layout and the fireplace
Georgina A. Jan 2020
We loved it!
Dave C. Jan 2020
There is arguably no better place in Government Camp to stay than the Wilcox Cabin. Especially for a family of 4 or 5 with kids in elementary school/middle school.

It's right in the middle of all the action at GC. After a day of skiing, we couldn't wait to get back to our awesome, cozy cabin. Book it!
Kurt R. Aug 2019
Sehr viele Handarbeit am Haus
Gepflegt
Einfach toll 😊
Anthony F. Jul 2019
Nice place.
janet h. Jul 2019
the home is in a great location and was very comfortable...
Joshua M. May 2019
We had a great stay in this tidy, interesting and cozy cabin. Basic amenities were plenty. Great location. Comfortable beds. I would definitely recommend it. It could use a sign on the coffee maker that alerts people that it does not shut off automatically. Luckily we checked it but many might not.
David G. Apr 2019
Small, but large enough for our party to have privacy, gathering places and food preparations. Well equipped with pots and pans etc. Location is best part. Walk to town, minutes to Mt. Hood Meadows. Nice gas stove in living room that has all kinds of places to hang up those wet spring ski clothes. All dried overnight.
June P. Mar 2019
The location is perfect. We enjoyed walking to restaurants in Government Camp. Trillium and Timberline were only a short drive. The cabin was a cozy spot to warm up after skiing.
JOEL R. Feb 2019
This cabin was perfect for our group of 4 adults and two 20 month olds. It’s in a perfect location just off the main Govy drag and had all the amenities we needed. The owner does a great job of describing the property so there were no unpleasant surprises. We loved the warm gas fireplace and our kiddos loved watching sledders zoom down the street from the window. Absolutely love the dining room walls, fun knick-knacks and other decorations. Yeah the stairs are narrow and steep but you know that by now. About the only suggestions is a more comfy mattress for the double/full bedroom, was a little cratered. But all in all a fab place and fun stay!
Mary Helen L. Dec 2018
Very cozy. In a good location as it is only a short walk to town.
Pratik M. Dec 2018
Best location, right in government camp approx .25 miles from ski area. Nice cozy cabin as well
Sorin P. Aug 2018
We spent 3 nights there. Lovely rustic cabin in the heart of Government Camp. Excellent if you want to go ski Palmer in the summer, in the morning, then drive about an hour to Hood River in the afternoon. A word of caution however for the very old or the very young: all the bedrooms are upstairs and the stairs are very, very steep. We loved it there! 😊😊
Scott B. Jan 2018
Loved our stay. The house is definitely an older ski chalet, but the charm and funkiness is exactly what we were expecting. Perfect for our christmas together with my inlaws and our daughter.
Julie A. Dec 2017
It’s rustic but location is key! We’d stay here again.
Thomas W. Dec 2017
This is a very cute little cabin which would be adequate for up to six people. The only minor issue is that the stairs to the upper bedroom area is narrow and a little steep so this could be an issue for older people aside from that my family throughly enjoyed our stay there.
Jeff M. Oct 2017
Great low frills cabin in Gov'y for four (two adults, two kids). We would definitely stay here again.
Didier D. Aug 2017
check if bathroom downstairs is for you. Close proximity to the village.
Michael D R. Aug 2017
Very easy to find, walk to almost everything. I am sure if you enjoy winter activities it will be even more fun. Price was reasonable, older person's or anyone with a disability may have some trouble, stairs are steep entering house, and all bedrooms are up a very narrow and steep staircase, use caution there also if little children are present.
Lindsay C. May 2017
This darling cabin gets an A+ in the charm department. The furnishings and decor are very "ski-cabin" and do so much to give this cabin a charming feel. Some of the blankets and pillows are a bit shabby and could use replacing. If the hot tub was functional, this place would've gotten a home-run! The hot tub was not included in the actual description, but was mentioned in the reviews. We were not necessarily expecting a hot tub, but were hopeful. It would've been so nice to unwind with a soak after a day teaching our little boys to ski!
Christina C. Mar 2017
Quaint little cabin located super close to all the happenings in government camp. A short jaunt to the general store and night life along with just a 3 mile hIke to timberline.
Sharif M. Jan 2017
Stayed at the Wilcox cabin and had the most amazing time. It's great for 4 to 5 people, is in a great location to the ski resort's, and the HOT TUB!!! Couldn't have asked for a better ski trip/ cabin stay. Thank you for your hospitality, we will likely be back next year
Sidney H. Jan 2017
Wonderful location with entertaining sled hill/street right out front. House needs some serious help in the lighting, bed, shower and cooking areas. We stayed over New Years and it's certainly not worth $500 a night. Owners could take two nights of that rent and make this place awesome, and they really need to do just that for us to come back to stay. I hope they let us know if they do a little work on it, we would return, just not as it is right now.
Lori O. Nov 2016
Overall quaint cabin. Need some TLC and maintenance. Great location for walking to general store, restaurants and shops. Great place to stay for a ski vacation. Porch Jacuzzi was lovely.
Bryce W. Feb 2016
had a wonderful time in Govy at this house!
Thank you so much for opening it up to us. Its old time ski cabin charm is so fun! I can tell its being updated over time. Doing a great job!
Thank you!
Keli G. Dec 2015
We had a fantastic trip with our 3 teenagers! The cabin was perfect and we had a fun day of skiing at SkiBowl. Government Camp was a zoo when we arrived but so fun!
Xenia K. May 2015
This little cabin is so adorable and wonderful!!! Right in the heart of govt camp, perfect location! We had a maintenance issue and a repairman came within 10 minutes of calling to fix it, amazing service. Hot tub is grrat, beds are super comfy, kitchen is well stocked! We highly recommend vacasa and the Wilcox haus!!
Tom G. Jan 2015
Cozy, nice kitchen and bedrooms. Will easily sleep 6, with a 7th on the couch downstairs. Parking out front for 2 vehicles. Just a few steps to the Govt Camp shopping strip.
Rawley W. Dec 2014
The cabin was really cozy and the beds were really comfortable
Susie W. Dec 2014
Loved everything about the whole experience. Can't wait to stay again
Ben S. Sep 2014
Bad lighting, broken appliances, mattresses in two rooms were bad.
Manager response:
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review with us. Your feedback is important, and we will be sure to continue working on making this home as comfortable as possible for our guests. Thank you!
Joanne S. Aug 2014
Handy location for walking into Government Camp. Cabin was clean and as pictured. Overall, it could stand a bit of updating and maybe foam toppers on bed, but for a true cabin experience it will take you back to grandma's country house! We enjoyed it and would go again.
Lisa M. Nov 2013
Our stay at the Wilcox cabin was very cozy and relaxing. It was fully furnished with plenty of appliances/tools to prepare meals in the kitchen. Beds were comfortable, and the living space perfect for games around the fire. Conveniently located, close to the local store and restaurants. The hot tub Is small but it works! Definitely hope we get to come stay again!
Karl G A. Jan 2013
Neat classic old ski cabin. Great wallpaper in the kitchen with lots of plates, pots and other kitchen gear. Also loads of space in Living Room, and a nice gas stove.
Jake C. Dec 2012
we had a blast and the wilcox cabin is perfect! the coffee maker leaked everytime it was used. Would be nice to have a larger trash receptacle and one for recycling. Thanks for the great time!