USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #2539

Hunter's Haven - Rhododendron, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
83 reviews
Max. occupancy: 7 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 3 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Elegant Lodge with Private Hot Tub & Riverfront Views - Dogs OK

Been wanting to escape to that dream cabin in the woods? This pet-friendly Rhododendron vacation rental is the perfect place for a woodland retreat! With a private hot tub, river views, firepit, and room for up to seven people, this home is ideal for your mountain escape.

Located in Rhododendron right on the Sandy River, this beautiful abode is less than 30 minutes away from the slopes of Mt. Hood where you'll find world-class skiing and snowboarding! This stunning region provides plenty of options for outdoor activities all year-round, such as hiking, mountain biking, fishing, and swimming! Plus, with other local mountain towns nearby, there's access to bars and restaurants, as well as the city life just an hour or so away.

Outfitted with timber beams, woodsy decorations, and a lodge-like vibe, this home feels like your own private mountain cabin!

The living room is warm and spacious, with slanted wooden ceilings, a large stone fireplace, and lots of natural lighting. Sink into one of the leather couches and heat up by the fire, or watch a favorite DVD on the flatscreen TV in the corner. The animal skins mounted on the walls will remind you how close you are to nature, and the solid wood dining table on the far end of the room has room for up to seven people to share a pot roast or couple bottles of wine together as the temperature cools outside.

Around the corner, the full kitchen is charming with complementing patchwork-wood cabinets, brand new countertops, and new flooring. There's even an adorable breakfast nook in the corner where you can sip coffee and admire the forest views!

There are two bedrooms in this retreat, but plenty of places to sleep! The master has lovely light green walls with fresh wooden floors and furniture, as well as a delightful queen-size bed you can sink into. The second bedroom is great for friends or a few kids to squeeze into with two bunk beds - two twins and one twin-over-full. With the futon in the living room, this home can accommodate up to seven people. There are also two full bathrooms here with fresh towels provided, so no one will have to stand around too long in the mornings!

Outside on the new deck, there's a picnic table and patio furniture, as well as a gas grill where you can whip up a barbecue feast. Located on a hillside and surrounded by beautiful forest, this home is secluded and comfortable with the sound of the river trickling nearby. Plus, the private hot tub will definitely call to you after a day of outdoor adventuring! Down the hill by the river there's a hammock, firepit, and several swings where the kids can play. This home is dog-friendly, so you can bring the family dogs to run around in the backyard. There's even a private washer/dryer and WiFi in this house for total comfort.

Rhododendron is truly a mountain town with a few outdoor-friendly restaurants and bars, as well as a grocery store and coffee shops where you can get some shopping done. The nearby towns of Welches, Brightwood, and Government Camp all provide more mountainside fun, and this entire area is surrounded by hiking trails, viewpoints, campgrounds, and places to kayak and fish. Mt. Hood's skiing and snowboarding resorts such as Timberline Lodge, SkiBowl, and Meadows are all within about a 30-minute drive, so this home is perfect for the pow-hounds in your group who just want easy access to the mountain.

Day trips are also a great option from here - the Columbia River Gorge is just an hour away with world-famous windsurfing, kite surfing, and absolutely stunning views of waterfalls and mountains. The town of Hood River provides several brewery and restaurant options, and there are plenty of festivals and events happening all year round. Of course, you can also venture to the city of Portland (about an hour west) for more incredible dining options, or maybe some urban outings or sporting events like a Blazers or Timbers game.

Whether you're relaxing in your lodge getaway or enjoying the great outdoors, this Mt. Hood vacation rental has something for everyone in your group to enjoy!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining







Water view






DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games


Gas grill : Private




Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

83 reviews

Trisha B. Jul 2022
Our family enjoyed our stay at the cabin. We were impressed by the amount of space and the huge table. We were blown away after walking out to the patio and seeing that view. Our son loved the swing. He was on it every day. It was a blessing to have that private space along the river, and loved hearing it from inside the house too. The use of the grill and washer/dryer was a plus. This cabin was a great find. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.
marcella H. Mar 2022
We could see the Sandy River from inside the house. In late March it was roaring by! The towering Ceder trees, the seclusion was absolutely lovely. The hot tub was great on a cool Spring evening. The house had all we needed, it's a little rustic, but very adequate. Many wild animal trophies on the walls to live up to it's name!
I would go there again.
Rna W. Jan 2022
-Grounds are amazing. It's a magical location amongst the trees and off of the river.
-Kitchen looks redone. The appliances worked great. Bad smell in fridge but i'm going to assume that's from the last guest.
-TV and internet were great.
-Hot tub worked great but please clean it next time. It had plastic trash floating in it.
-Nice dining room table.

-No curtains in the Master Bedroom. Both allows light in and doesn't allow for privacy.
-Broken Furniture - The right side recliner on couch is broken. The loveseat looks burnt, The kitchen booth bench is sinking and torn. The queen bed is concave.
-Fireplace - The first night smoked out the living room so we wrote to Vacasa and they sent a maintenance man two days later. He took 3 minutes and said nothing looked off. We tried again that night and same smoke. The smoke was clearly not going up through the flue but instead circling back out of the fireplace. Through trial and error, we THINK the cause is the pressure differential when the heater is on. So, if you want to put on a fire, turn off the heater.
-Wood floors splinter. Can't walk around barefoot or in socks because you will get a splinter to the foot. Needed to wear slippers or shoes indoors.
-Towels - Some of the large bathroom towels seem new and plush. The hand towels are black stained.
-Sulfur smell from running water.

Truthfully, this place needs a lot of work. You can't compete with the amazing location but it felt like staying in a 2 star motel.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us and leaving your review. Housekeeping has taken care of the fridge, hot tub, and hand towels. Your concerns regarding the curtains, loveseat, kitchen booth, queen bed, and wood floors have been passed to the homeowner for their consideration. The fireplace has been cleared. Thanks again!
Janielle T. Aug 2021
Loved this cabin!!! Quiet and very relaxing. Can't wait to book it again.
Nicole M. Jul 2021
Although we loved the view, the close proximity to the river and the rustic feel inside the home, this rental could use some TLC. We read the reviews prior to booking and thought the few negative comments may have just been some picky guests however those comments were pretty accurate. Upon arrival the first thing we noticed were all of the spiders and cobwebs occupying the bathroom. We also found the first few dishes we tried to use still dirty which left us feeling nervous to use any of the other dishes without washing them first. Also, most of the dinner plates were chipped which is a tad bit disappointing after spending time making a nice dinner to enjoy on the beautiful deck. The last hitch in our stay was the lack of curtains in the master bedroom. As the room is at ground level it seems very odd to not have some way to cover the window for privacy while the kids room had curtains. A lovely rental if you're not looking for top of the line.
Manager response:
Hi Nicole! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
Jessica D. Jun 2021
We had stayed at this cabin last year and couldn’t wait yo come back! Stunning location on the river, comfortable, clean and within a short drive to the grocery store. We look forward to coming back a third time in the future!!
Rockey R. May 2021
The rain kept us in. I assume that’s how we lost the internet. Fortunately I brought some movies to pass the time. We wanted to bar-b-que it was filthy and we couldn’t get it to light. So we cooked indoors. I finally find a pan that was filthy and we scrubbed it. All turned out in the end. I must say the bed was creaky but once my husband settled it was so comfortable, we slept really good!! All in all a good trip.
Collan B. Dec 2020
Everything you would want in a rustic cabin in the woods, but with modern amenities! Would love to stay again!
April S. Nov 2020
The river out back was just what we needed. And the fire place was awesome. This is definitely a lovely place we loved it.
Pamela P. Oct 2020
We had a nice, relaxing time at Hunters Cabin. I loved the rustic, cabin feel! I didn’t realize there were neighboring homes so close and one neighbor was building a home, so it was a little noisy with all the hammering. We will book again!
Catherine B. Sep 2020
The vibe was TERRIFIC. The house has that feel of something that has been lived in and loved on. The view was amazing. Like really spectacular. A+ hammock! The couches and beds were comfy. Linens & sheets were clean & paper products were in good supply. My dog was over the moon (because we all know that at the end of the day, it’s all about the dog). We will definitely be back!
Leah M. Sep 2020
Very rustic, antique era cabin but what it lacks for modernity it makes up for in vintage charm. I truly wish the owners provided some kind of history of the place so we could learn a bit more about it and how it fits into the unique local history of the Zigzag area.
Clearly a story there. Really appreciated the hot tub and dog friendly policy.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and have notified the local manager of your suggestions. We hope to host you again soon!
Michelle C. Aug 2020
We had perfect weather for hanging out in the hammocks by the creek and going in the hot tub after playing in the nearby lakes and long hikes. Hope to visit again.
Jessica D. Aug 2020
It’s hard to believe that this sanctuary is a short hour drive from our house in Portland.

The place was a bit tricky to find, but we managed. The driveway isn’t really marked and once you turn in, there’s a second driveway to the left.

The house was very clean. The decor is very, very rustic but appropriate for the location. The views are absolutely the best part of the house itself. We were all drawn to the French doors when we arrived.

The property is stunning. Large back deck with hot tub and eating area, and down a flight of adorable stone steps to the fire pit area ( which we couldn’t use - burn ban), hammock and the zig zag river. Superb location!

The kitchen was stocked pretty well for a vacation rental. The beds were comfy, the water pressure was great.

LOVE the hot tub with river views!!

A few negatives:

The lighting throughout the house was very dark, particularly in the kitchen. We were staying in summer so it was less of an issue, but I’d imagine in winter when it’s dark at 5:00 it would be tough to prepare dinner with so little light.
A few of the kitchen utensils could be upgraded, namely the can opener. A few of the pots and pans have seen better days.
The water from the faucets smelled like rotten eggs. This isn’t the fault of the homeowner I’m sure, but definitely buy bottled water for drinking.

Overall though, this was a great little home base. We’ll definitely be back, maybe at a time that there’s no burn ban!!
Toni R. Aug 2020
Great hot tub cute little space great access to the river nice and peaceful
Michelle B. Aug 2020
hot tub and living room
gerald f. Jul 2020
Perfect place to sit with nature and enjoy her beauty. Cabin is comfortable with a large back deck that overlooks the river. Go down a fair amount of steps and then there is a sitting area right by the river. Amazing!
Gillian M. Jul 2020
We loved our getaway at Hunter's Haven. The living area is open and spacious. We had all we need for my son's birthday celebration. The swings and hammock by the river were great for the kids. Lots of games and toys. Just lovely.
Nicolle G. May 2020
The house was clean upon arrival. The whole place was just so lovely. Huge deck, amazing hot tub, path down to the river. I loved it so much that I didn’t wanna leave. I would live in that house if I could!! Looking forward to staying here again someday!
Jennifer H. Mar 2020
We stayed for 4 nights in this winter wonderland cabin. It was perfect. Our dogs LOVED the river and it was so peaceful listening to It at night. We explored local trail and went skiing 15 min away @ Timberline. We will be back!
Dale P. Nov 2019
love the natural environment and access to the river, and fire pit ,was easy,the home was nice as the hot tub and balcony were right off the French doors,the fire place did smoke though when in use ,we couldn't continue using it, and had to use the alternate heating system
Kimberlee W. Oct 2019
We were only in town for 2 days but we loved every inch of this magical place. The grounds are beautiful and serene. The cabin was perfect for us in every way. I felt terrible though because the coffee pot broke while I was cleaning it but other than that it was pure bliss. We would HIGHLY recommend staying here.
Trisha D. Aug 2019
I love this area of Oregon. Even though there are neighbors nearby, my stay was quiet and restful. The hot tub is a must for me and this one was clean and ready to go as soon as I checked in. I would mention that some steps up getting in and out of the hot tub would be nice for those of us with limited mobility. I enjoyed relaxing by the river as well. Overall pretty nice place and I will be back! I would give it 5 stars but it does need just a little bit of TLC to get that.
Nadine G. Jul 2019
Home is tucked away in beautiful setting, with the sound of the river in the background. There are neighbors on each side of house, but it's still very private. Home is family friendly and clean! Groceries, coffee shop, restaurants, gas are all less than 5min away. We would definitely stay here again.
William H. May 2019
Cozy, quiet and a true back woods feel. Washes the day to day away as soon as you walk in the door!
Lilamarie B. Dec 2018
What a cool place to stay. A beautiful cozy home with lots of games, nice hot tub, and beautiful grounds. Loved it!
Michelle L. Nov 2018
We enjoyed the fireplace during our thanksgiving dinner, the hot was soothing & the best was the awesome river acess!!!
Stephanie F. Nov 2018
We loved this place and would stay again. Coming from Hawaii it provided the perfect change of scenery.
Harrison H. Oct 2018
Perfect location! We loved it.
Tammy R. Sep 2018
It was very homey. Very clean and had everything we needed. The main bedroom probably could need a new mattress (a little uncomfortable). But overall we very much enjoyed ourselves. We would definitely stay there again.
Andrea K. Sep 2018
This cabin is exactly what we were looking for. Built in the 1920's, the mainly log walls and the huge fireplace give it a woodsy, campfire smell. The water has high minerals and smells like it, so ok for showers but we brought bottled water for drinking and coffee. If you're expecting high end, this is not it, but if you want rustic and comfortable, with a nice hot tub and rushing river, it's great, and close to restaurants and groceries. Our only disappointment was the fire ban as we 'd hoped to use the fire pit, but can't argue with wildfire danger.
Claire O. Sep 2018
We only spent two nights here, but really enjoyed being able to cook on a great gas stove and loved the homey feel and being able to relax and have a fire inside. The living room furniture was very comfortable and we enjoyed the relaxation. The hot tub and the sound of sitting by the river were great as well. Hope to come back some day.
Garth M. Aug 2018
My friends and I loved the decor. The arrangement is simple and functional.
Gary K. Jul 2018
I loved the ambience, the beautiful furnishings and gorgeous quiet forest surrounding the cabin. The rushing river you could listen to while sleeping and perfect deck and hot tub made the experience over the top. Some people will be put off by the taxidermy animal heads and bearskin but for me it really made it feel like a cabin in the wild. Also there were shops grocery store as well as restaurants conveniently close by. My only complaint was that the double bed should have been a king and there is a small hole in the deck that was a bit dangerous where the wood is starting to rot. Overall though, just wonderful. We hope to return next year.
Jesse G. Jul 2018
Really loved the location on the Sandy River and being surrounded by giant cedar trees. Super relaxing to go down the stairs to the fire pit with chairs and hammock, and hang out right next to the river. The hot tub was nice, the accomadations were great. Everything was perfect at Hunter's Haven.
Michael L. May 2018
It didn't look like much from the outside but what a surprise on the inside. Very nice rustic decor. The smoky smell reminded me of the Mazama Lodge. Not unpleasant. It's what I expect an old mountain cabin with a fireplace or woodstove to smell like. If you expect it to smell like a million dollar Portland Pearl District or Lake Oswego home, it's probably not for you. The river front view was awesome. My wife was hoping to lay in the hammock shown in the pics, but it was not there. The hot tub was great until it stopped working due to a bad thermostat. The property manager arrived quickly and reset it, but the temperature did not feel quite as hot for the remainder of our stay. Hopefully that will get replaced ASAP.
Brian D. Apr 2018
Had an absolutely wonderful time at this property. It poured down rain most of the time which was perfect weather for having a fire going the whole day and mixing in trips to the hot tub overlooking the Sandy River. Stunningly beautiful!
Erin H. Mar 2018
Perfect getaway! Great way to disconnect and not far from home.
Julie W. Feb 2018
We had such a great time at Hunters Haven. It is only 30 miles from our house but a world away. The beds were comfortable and it was cozy. You might need to clean the chimney as when a larger fire is built smoke starts to fill the room. We loved our stay and hopefully will be back in May for my birthday.
Sarah P. Dec 2017
We had a fantastic time at this cabin! Everything was perfect except for the fact that the fireplace flew needs to be cleaned out! Every time we had a fire, the cabin got extremy Smokey.... and yes, the flew was open. We found if we turned the heater and it’s fan off while having a fire that the smoke wasn’t quite as bad, but it was still bothersome. Anyone with sensitive lungs shouldn’t stay here until they clean the flew. Otherwise, great cabin, clean and hot hot tub, comfy beds, etc!
James P. Dec 2017
Finding the property in the dark was a challenge. I suggest arriving before sunset if possible. Not much wow factor from the outside, but entering the great room gave a nice lodge feel that was not expected from the exterior. A nice fire in the fireplace finished off the effect for us! We enjoyed our stay.
Evan P. Nov 2017
I had an amazing time at Hunter's Haven with my girlfriend. It was the exact escape we needed from the city. It was beautiful, peaceful and had many cool and exciting features. I want to come again and I couldn't recommend it more!
Kathy L. Nov 2017
i was torn between laying in the hammock watching the Sandy River roll by, or watching it from the hot-tub. I forced myself (and wife) to jump in the car and go up the Mountain , a must do. But was so happy to be back in the hunting lodge.Next time we will stay a week!
Dawn Y. Aug 2017
Very cozy, roomy and woodsy cabin right on the Sandy River, Secluded enough to enjoy the outdoors in private yet closest enough to Mt. Hood to do day trips. We would definitely stay again!!!
Eric S. Aug 2017
There was smell of smoke in the entire house that never aired out. In the main bedroom there was a sewage smell that persisted throughout the entire trip despite keeping windows open and fans running. THE WATER HAS A VERY STRONG SULFUROUS SMELL that was gross and potentially unsafe so we relied heavily on bottled water. This would be an annoyance if only for drinking water but since there is no dishwasher, washing dishes by bottled water was very inconvenient. I've stayed at different cabins nearby on the same road and have never encountered this issue with water.
Deborah K. Jul 2017
Hunter's Haven is very secluded & tough to find. If you like privacy, this is the place for you. Not suitable for children, as there are many dangerous areas getting to the river. Hot tub was cold & then shut off as if there was a short in the wiring! Dangerous? Cool area though. Would've been nice to have better kitchen equipment & sleeper sofas besides the one futon under the bear head! Scary, smelly, fun & funky cabin getaway.
Manager response:
We are a little disappointed to receive this review as the guest informed our property manager they were doing well and not in need of anything. We would have been happy to assist with the hot tub (which currently appears to be working perfectly) during their stay. The walk down to the river is concrete/rock and even has a handrail; we believe it is very safe for children. Thanks!
Matthew S. Jun 2017
Spent a relaxing weekend with the guys up at Hunter's Haven. I carefully read the reviews, but I found this to overall be a great experience and would definitely stay again.

-This place is fully stocked with everything we needed (as another reviewer stated, bring your own coffee filters). They had plenty of blankets and pillows, a hand mixer, serving utensils, a variety of different cooking knives and cutting boards, an army of plates bowls cups and a stocked spice rack. Vacasa also provides fresh dish soap and sponges as well as a supply of paper towels and plenty of TP.
-The river is just down a short path out the back door, you can hear the rushing water from any open door or window in the back of the cabin.
-Ample parking: 4+ cars fit easily.
-Comfortable bedding with very soft blankets and towels.
-The hot tub looks new and clean and well maintained - and it was hot upon arrival.
-Those couches and loveseat in the pictures recline. 4 recliners altogether in the living room. We all fought for those spots.
-Some reviews say you are not very secluded as other cabins are nearby. While this is true, it is so lush that you really cannot see the other cabins and you feel very private and secluded even on the back deck. However it may be a different experience in winter when all the leaves are gone.
-High speed internet worked great.
-BBQ'd the entire weekend, never ran out of propane and there was another cylinder if it was needed (we didn't need it). The grill was well maintained with a brush, spatula and tongs - I didn't need to bring my own. There were also plenty of lighters around the house as well as a few boxes of matches.
-A couple of small bundles of wood were in the house, though it was too warm for a fire, so we never used the fireplace.
-Multiple people could use the showers at the same time with little to no drop in water pressure or loss of hot water.
-While it was over 90 degrees outside, the house stayed a cool 71. Box fans were throughout, but we never felt they were needed as it was easy to open the place up during the day and get a breeze going.
-The TV not only had a DVD player but a Roku hooked up and we were able to watch a bit of netflix one of the nights.

-Hard to find the driveway. We all drove past a couple of times before finding the house number, then it was a left up a rise to the unit - you cannot see it from the street.
-A bit of a smokey smell in the cabin, though it did air-out a bit. We never had a fire during our stay, but it was always still a bit smokey.
-Tap water had a bit of a sulfur taste - I would suggest bringing bottled water.

Overall, I would recommend and I would stay again.
Ming Lee P. Jun 2017
This is a well-situated place to stay for hiking and fishing. There are great food options very close. This is a casual, rustic property. The kitchen is great, however know that there is no dishwasher.
Belinda P. May 2017
They did refund $60 for the cleaning fee since it was so dirty, think they should have refunded more, took away from our vacation!
Manager response:
We apologize for the mishap with the cleanliness and appreciate this guest's patience.
Hailey H. Apr 2017
Great stay for our family. We enjoyed the hot tub and peacefulness of the area. Kitchen had all utensils we needed.
David R. Dec 2016
Owners need to get the fireplace fixed before allowing guests to use it. Leaks smoke into the house in dangerous amounts.
Manager response:
The Property Manager will inspect the fireplace to make sure it is safe to use.
Kathy B. Sep 2016
This property was alright to stay at for a few nights. It great room was terrific, with 2 french doors leading to the deck, ample seating and a beautiful fireplace. But the thermostat didn't work for us, so it was a cold 2 nights for sleeping. Nor could we find any extra blankets, Brrrrr...! Also, one of the bathtub knobs is broken so there is a wrench to turn it on. Remodeling - even basic- would give this room appeal. The bathroom near the washer/dryer is much nicer. The appliances seem newer and very clean. Overall, the property has everything you need.
Manager response:
We’re so glad this guest loved the home and its wonderful interior amenities, like the large room, lots of seating and the fantastic fireplace. We certainly hope they return to take advantage of the new furnace. No more cold nights at this home! Also, the bathtub knobs have been repaired. Even though winter is over, this location is still a popular destination.
Heather W. Sep 2016
Our family who is busy with work, school and sports 7 days a week took a couple nights here to get away from it all. The cabin was well situated for a young family with room to stretch and a guest room of bunk beds and games. We spent the entire day in our pajamas while sitting by the fire. This allowed us some much needed nap time, reading and game time while taking swims in the hot tub. Just what we needed.
Misty B. Aug 2016
We planned a girls get-away that included 6 of us. The cabin/home was amazing! It has two full bathrooms with two showers and two toilets which was needed for that many ladies. The hot tub was awesome and relaxing and we all loved sitting at the fire pit listening to the sound of the Zig Zag river. One afternoon, I slept on the hammock for 6 hours! It was fun to find all of the gnomes around the property,

I would recommend bringing some items. The house comes with the bare minimum to get you started so I was glad I brought paper towels, toilet paper, napkins, large trash bags, and solo cups. I would also suggest paper plates if you don't feel up to doing dishes but the home has some for you. There are pots and pans as well along with a coffee maker (bring filters, we used paper towels) and microwave and toaster.

The home had air conditioning (thank you!!) which is good because it was 95 degrees our first day. There are plenty of bath towels. I would suggest bringing your own beach towel for the spa. There is also a washer and dryer which was really nice. There was some detergent, I would suggest brining a few travel sized packets yourself. The backyard porch is where we spent a lot of time. I would suggest an outdoor table cloth and some Off fogger to spray around the deck. I didn't get bit by mosquitos until the last day.

You should plan to bring your own fire wood as well. There was some there but there was a sign that said it was drying out for 2017. There is a local grocery store (Thriftway) down the road that has bundles for $5.99. The stairs that lead to the fire pit/river area are a little steep, not meant for a wheelchair, just FYI. There is an outside porch light but I would suggest bringing a flashlight and/or headlamp.

The TV has basic cable (which is no problem) and a DVD player so I would recommend bringing some movies if you'd like to watch a movie. There is a surge protector for you to use to charge your devices but I would suggest bringing one if you have a lot of people charging things at one time like we did.
I have Sprint as my carrier but did not have service. The WiFi worked but my texts were not coming through and it was stuck on Aug. 8th at 9:03am the whole time - weird! My friend had AT&T and had no issues. I would also suggest bringing an outside radio as there are no speakers outside.

We visited Mt. Hood Meadows and Timberline and rode the chair lift to get a beautiful view. Mt. Hood Meadows was $10. Timberline was $15. Timberline was the best view out of the two. We also found a Groupon for High Desert River Outfitters in Maupin, OR (about an hour away) and went white water rafting! It was awesome!

We had an amazing time and I hope to rent this cabin/home again. A lot of great memories were made and I am sure you will make some great ones yourself!
Denise D. Jul 2016
Very privet, lots of room, clean, fun for the kids, well stocked with everthing you need, My family had a great time there. We stayed 3 days wish we vould have stayed longer.
Greg H. Jul 2016
We used the BBQ one night, the spa twice and the hammock with the fire pit as well. My seven year old loved the swing and we all loved the river. The owners clearly care about trying to provide everything possible to make your stay amazing. We loved it.
Don B. Jun 2016
The cabin needs a lot of work. It is flea infested, fleas all over inside the house. The bathroom shower and sink doesn't drain making it hard to shower. The water has a strong smell of rotten eggs/ sulfur. The oven doesn't work only two burners, there was a broken noticed pinned to the front of it. The deck is rotten and railing barely hanging on. The hot tub was not cleaned or private like the listing stated, neighbors cabins close by on both sides. I realize that I was looking for a rustic place to stay and didn't expect a perfect cabin, but the cabin should have been clean upon my arrival and in working condition, NOT Flea infested. It is advised to call the phone number given if you have any problems but who wants to spend their three day vacation dealing with plumbers, exterminators, etc...
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see that this stay was not more enjoyable. Fleas can be a problem in pet friendly homes at times, but we have addressed the issue so it should not currently be a bother to any guests. The stove/oven has been replaced, and the drains have been seen to by a plumber. The Property Manager will work with the owner regarding any safety issues presented by the deck.
Amelia S. May 2016
Beautifully rustic property, secluded on the river.
Jeff C. Mar 2016
Great location, very spacious interior. Nice hot tub as well!
Dollie & Jesscia G. Mar 2016
Fantastic place for an enjoyable and relaxing getaway!!
Torry P. Dec 2015
We stayed for 2 nights hoping to snowboard but there was still no snow at Mt. Hood Meadows, we ended up just staying in the cabin and enjoying the hot tub and going on hikes! it was really great! and definitely more space than we needed. I would stay here again!
Steven H. Nov 2015
Dark and rundown cabin, with little charm to offset rustic ambience. Kitchen awkward,claustrophobic bedrooms with limited storage, very dated bathrooms. Heat worked well, nice hot tub. Overall compares poorly to other places we have rented in the area at similar price points.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay here. The Property Manager will take your comments under consideration and see what improvements can be made. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the hot tub and hope you got to enjoy the fireplace as well!
Anthony F. Oct 2015
It was a perfect spot for my birthday gathering with a few friends. The sounds of the river through the beautiful foliage and tree cover was perfect. The beds were cozy and the hot tub so relaxing after a day's hike.
Cindy F. Aug 2015
Loved everything about the cabin and the area!! Wished we didn't live across the country or we would be making this our weekend get away!!
Richard C. May 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay at Hunter's Lodge. The bearskin, antelope, bighorn, and other wall decorations were charming. My papillon was sure that the bighorn was going to come off the wall and threaten us, so she kept a close eye on it. :) The hot tub, the hammock and firepit by the river, and the large fireplace were special treats. The cabin was warm and dry, and was well equipped with everything we needed except for our clothes and toothbrushes. There was a Roku with Netflix to watch when we were winding down in the evening. We loved it!