USA Oregon Central Oregon Black Butte Ranch Listing #2347

Hedge Nettle Cabin - Black Butte Ranch, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
38 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 3 Queen Bed, 1 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Rustic-Chic Home with Patio and Resort Pools, Hot Tubs, Fitness Center, and More

Find the epitome of rustic chic at this inviting home in Black Butte Ranch, which thoughtfully combines bear skin rugs and taxidermy with such modern touches as stainless steel appliances. This two-story home is a showcase of tribal prints and deer and elk mounts, with a wood-burning fireplace to keep you cozy as you curl up with a novel in the seating nook. Settle into the leather recliner, gather around the coffee table for a round of board games, and feel the warmth of the Central Oregon sun in the enclosed solarium. Outside, the grounds are specked with towering pines, offering a platform back patio and a gas grill for entertaining.

What's nearby:
Hedge Nettle Cabin is surrounded by Deschutes National Forest on the grounds of Black Butte Ranch, which features a spa, multiple pools, hot tubs, sports courts, and fitness facilities at the Glaze Meadow Recreation Center one mile northwest. Enjoy two 18-hole golf courses on the grounds of the resort, as well as more than 18 miles of paved walking and bicycling trails. Plan a day trip in the quaint city of Sisters (seven miles southeast), which offers family festivals, a famous rodeo, boutiques, and restaurants. Skiers can also find plenty of winter thrills at Hoodoo Ski Area 20 miles west.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dear guest, please note that even though this home is not dog-friendly, the owners do bring their dog to the home.
*At check-in, please be aware that the resort will collect a $9 daily fee for every guest 7 years and older.

Deschutes County Tax Certificate #77

County permit number: 805446

County tax number: 805446

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Features

Iron

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Bend Broadband

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Stereo

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Shared

Pool : Shared

Board games

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

38 reviews

Jacob B. May 2022
The house was in a great location! It came well equipped. We may have been the first of the season, but the house needed a deep clean. There was lots of dust and cobwebs. The kitchen cupboards needed a deep clean. If the house was deep cleaned, my ratings would be higher for the price.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Jacob! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the great location. We regret to hear the home was not up to the high standard of cleanliness that we hold ourselves to. We have provided your valuable feedback to our management team to address with our housekeeping team. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we have the chance to host you for a true 5-star experience in the future!
Rebecca A. May 2022
Very clean, beautiful, a bit rustic in design-which is what we love -but still had a classy interior with all of the amenities!
Loved every minute of our vacation stay!
Mat W. Apr 2022
We love Central Oregon, and we use it for a short 2-3 day getaway a handful of times a year. This home was cozy, and we loved the sunroom. The experience was not great, so we gave it a 2-star rating.

The pictures of the taxidermied animals on the wall were nowhere near the actual size. Our son was freaked out for the entire weekend, which didn't allow us to use the house's full potential.

When we arrived, we spent 2-3 hours trying to get transferred to another available home. Unfortunately, the manager at Black Butte Ranch denied the transfer, even though there were homes open and we would have paid the difference. Come to find out; our request was dismissed because the manager didn't have a housekeeper to make sure the home was clean (at 2:30 pm on a Friday). It felt very insensitive, and if I were the manager, I would have gone to the house myself to ensure 100% guest satisfaction. That is what you do; you make it happen.

Secondly, although our expected check-out time was 10 am, the housecleaners or owners arrived at 9 am and parked in front of the house to wait for us to pack up and leave. It was very awkward; we felt like we were being watched and rushed to get out. We ended up leaving the house at 9:36 am.

A couple of other things:
All the bikes had flat tires
Both showers had bad water pressure and didn't drain well.
Rooms were riddled with cobwebs.

Generally, I don't like to complain, and as a family, we are good at making the best out of any situation, but this was my wife's 40th Birthday weekend, and we paid close to $300 per night for this house.
Manager response:
Hi, Mat! We're so glad you stayed with us and apologize if any aspect of your stay put a damper on your wife's birthday. The bike, drains, and cleanliness are being addressed by the property manager. It is our hope that the compensation provided for your disappointments shows our desire to provide our guests with the best possible experience. Thank you!
Joseph G. Mar 2022
Our family had a wonderful stay. The house is located at the quiet end of Black Butte which we liked, but further from the kid-friendly pools. The house was well appointed and comfortable.
Julie P. Aug 2021
Loved the quiet location of this home.
Gigi M. Feb 2021
We truly enjoyed our stay at this spacious and charming home and look forward to coming back. The house was clean and had everything we needed. We spent lots of time cozied up in front of the wood stove, but our favorite activity was going for a ride on the tandem bicycle. Thank you for sharing this lovely cabin!!
Allyson P. Jan 2021
I don’t know if this is actually Nana and Papa’s house but it sure felt like it. It was warm and comfortable and very clean. There was plenty of space and the sun room was great for reading and playing board games. We would stay here again. It was about as far as you can get from the visitor center so it was nice and quiet. There was no end of fascination for my boys around the animal heads and skins all over the house.

This would be a 5 star rating if it weren’t for a few things. If one of these things had happened separately I would have over looked it but as they started adding up we felt like they needed to be mentioned.
- During COVID times we planned this vacation as a way to get away and have little/no contact with people. Unfortunately, you are required to check in in a very busy lobby counter that is not sanitized between customers and the staff was not helpful! We got lost and had to return to the visitor center for a map that was not offered when checking in.
- Hidden Fees: At check in I was told we would be required to pay a daily use fee for everyone in my party over the age of 7. The use fee was for the use of facilities at Black Butte Ranch (spa, pool, retail facilities, etc). Well, most of the facilities were closed and we had no intention of going in to any common spaces (besides the lobby I was standing in at that moment). I was told I was paying for the privilege of using the walking trails within Black Butte Ranch.
- The upstairs toilet would not flush and we had to have the lid off the tank the whole time we were there and reconnect the chain after every flush. This was not reported at the time of our visit because, again, we didn’t want contact with any people while we were there. From other reviews I see this is an issue that has been going on since at least 2017.
- The fridge door was weird and wouldn’t close properly.
- While I appreciate a very well stocked kitchen (dishes) it would have been nice to have at least ONE empty cupboard to put food in. We had to keep our food on the counter which was annoying.
- Upstairs shower didn’t drain properly. I was in ankle deep water after my shower.
- The coffee pot wasn’t cleaned and someone else’s dirty coffee grounds were still in the pot when I went to use it on the first morning.
- Check out time was unclear. The book at the house said 11 a.m. but the text message I received from Vacasa on the morning of check out said 10 a.m.
Manager response:
Hi, Allyson! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hedge Nettle Cabin. The property manager is taking care of the kitchen cabinet organization, toilet, and shower drain. Housekeeping is being retrained regarding any oversights so we can make sure they are not a problem in the future. The amenities fee is the choice of Black Butte Ranch and has been lowered from $9/person/day to $3/person/day while some of the amenities are closed. Thank you!
augusto c. Dec 2020
Spent a few days here with our teenagers. We enjoyed the cabin feel of this house. Some modern amenities in the kitchen and smart TV, but otherwise really felt like a mtn. retreat with a great woodstove.
Rebecca K. Oct 2020
In a quiet section of Black Butte, we loved this stylish cabin. The beds were very comfortable and the place was spotless.
Carol S. Aug 2020
The house was very comfortable and located in a nice wooded area of the ranch; would stay here again.
Georgene M. Jul 2020
Very surprised by the house! Well appointed. Very comfortable. Lots of room for everyone. Being at the back of the ranch it’s very quiet, but still an easy walk to Glaze Meadow rec center. Deer every morning. Everyone agreed it’s a house we’d rent again!
Eoin B. Jan 2020
Very well appointed and cozy home
scott f. Aug 2019
The house was wonderful! Very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.
Lisa A. Aug 2019
Hedge Nettle Cabin was clean and comfortable. We loved the close location to beautiful Glaze Meadow and the Glaze Meadow pool facility. We had a great time with the family!
H H. Jul 2019
Clean house in a quiet location. The animal pelts, wood paneling and taxidermy create a cabin like feel. Some furnishings seem a bit dated but a comfortable house non-the-less.

Sarah B. Dec 2018
Black Butte Ranch is a great location for visiting Sisters and an easy drive to Bend. Appreciated multiple pools throughout the resort so none are too crowded. Hedge Nettle Cabin was the perfect size for two families of three (kids shared a room). Lots of puzzles and games for fun while staying in. Well equipped kitchen.
Ron S. Sep 2018
Very nice rustic cabin. It's a bit dated but well maintained. Price is right.
Mary S. Dec 2017
ok
Ruth B. Aug 2017
We found this house to be very clean,attractive and comfortable. All bedrooms have queen beds which is nice when travelling with three couples. The kitchen is very well stocked with everything one could need. It is located on a culdesac so very little traffic.
We were very happy renting this house!
Maria F. Jul 2017
Located on a quiet street, this Black Butte home has a bit of a rustic cabin touch. The house was very clean, and everything worked just fine four our party of 4 adults and 2 children. We enjoyed eating outside.
NATHAN K. Jan 2017
Cozy home. Love the woodstove for snowy days and lodge style high ceiling in the family room. The house shows its age in places, but it was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is small. We would stay here again
Julie B. Aug 2016
Great location
Mariko B. Jul 2016
We recently stayed at the hedge nettle cabin on Black Butte Ranch for 4 nights. The pros: Black Butte is a wonderful family vacation location with so many things to do. The house had unique decorations with high arched ceilings. The sheets and towels were freshly cleaned. Greg, one of the property managers, was very responsive to our requests when we had issues with the house. The cons: the place felt dusty with lots of cobwebs on most of the hanging lighting and ceiling areas. The weather was quite hot, and since there was no AC, when we went to open windows at night, several windows had no screens (downstairs bedroom window, all sunroom windows, kitchen, and dining area windows). Greg did come build us one for the bedroom window which was super helpful, but still it was difficult to cool the house at night without letting a bunch of bugs in. The barbecue was dirty and had no lighter or cleaning brush (again, Greg helped us with that). Overall, we were a bit disappointed with the accommodations for the price we paid.
Leo F. Jul 2016
Home needs to be updated
Stefano G. Aug 2015
Stayed for a long weekend, charming house with plenty of room for 6 people. The kids enjoyed having a vast trove of kitchen supplies to make cookies and pies. Very low traffic area and quiet. High-performing wi-fi was very welcome.
Paula W. Jul 2015
The house is in a good location at the top of Glaze Meadows and very quiet. The living area is very comfortable and furnished in rustic lodge with a nice dining table. The kitchen and baths are 60's and so a little dated, and could use a remodel. The mattresses on the beds could be replaced as they sag. If the beds were better we would return to the property.


Lori P. Jul 2015
Very comfortable and clean. Loved the sunroom for reading and napping. The kitchen was well stocked.
John L. Jul 2015
Great house and decor (minus the Oregon Beavers stuff). Would stay again and recommend to a friend. Only complaint is there were no spices/condiments, only had salt, pepper and sugar.
Stephen A. Jul 2015
Truly a quintessential Black Butte home, very clean and comfortable. Vaulted great room design, amazing ironwork fixtures and railing feature ponderosa trees, mountains and wildlife. Amazing mounted deer, elk, antelope, moose horns, bear skin decorate the vault. Clearly loved by the owner family, we felt like honored guests in their home.

Updated kitchen appliances, iwell equipped with generations of dishes and cooking tools, everything a chef needs. Do bring your basics, like spices, sugar, oil, Saran and Aluminum foil. There's literally nothing here but salt and pepper.

Everything is dated, but exceptionally comfortable and squeaky clean. Huge dining table, plus two glass top dining tables on the deck. Lots of room for friends and families. Loved it, we'll be back.