Little Bear has a lot to offer and we will certainly likely stay there again. The location is amazing, the house is cute and it's very well equipped with most of the comforts of home. There are just a couple things to be aware of.
1) The internet is sill a major issue. Don't go here if you need reliable internet unless you have your own hotspot that uses a Verizon tower. The main router is in Big Bear (the neighboring cabin) and it doesn't reach Little Bear without the repeater. The repeater was broken for us as it has been for a few other reviewers. The short of it, be prepared to be disconnected.
2) It's the real deal log cabin. It can be drafty and noise travels throughout the entire house. Charming, but noisy.
3) It advertises cable/satellite, but don't expect anything more then the basic channels. No ESPN! Not a problem if you bring your own streaming device but again, the internet is shotty at best.
Knowing this, it's a very good place to stay on the mountain. Unfortunately, one of us had to work remotely while we were there and we had plans of watching the UO vs OSU game so we had to scramble. We did call customer support with these issues and they sent someone right away even though it was Thanksgiving which was awesome. Regrettably, they couldn't do anything to fix the issue with the internet while we were there so the poor guy was torn away from his family for nothing. We felt bad.
Hi, Ken! Thank you for staying with us. We do apologize we were unaware the extender was broken. A new one is ordered so guests can have the WiFi promised. We hope to see you again!
We had a great stay at Little Bear. We even had a horse as a neighbor one night! Only con was that the dishwasher door would not close. I would Rec this house and absolutely stay there again.
Hi Laurie, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. The local manager fixed the dishwasher door and it's working well now for future guests. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
We have stayed at Little Bear twice and it is a nice cabin. The living room is small, but just fine for a week.
Little bear was a great experience! It provided everything we needed. I would say the only downside was the WiFi. It wasn’t a huge deal, but I would have been nice to have. Overall it was a great experience and hopefully next time we make the same trip we can rent out Big Bear. I would definitely recommend!!
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Maricela. We are glad you enjoyed this cabin but we apologize for any issues with the wifi. We will schedule a service visit to make any adjustments needed, and we hope to have another chance to impress you!
The cabin was perfect for our group! The rooms offered plenty of sleeping space, soft blankets galore, and just enough privacy. The kitchen was well-stocked. Once we figured out the AV situation, it worked very well, too. (Separate step-by-step instructions for that would be great!)
We stayed for a few nights to snowboard & play in the show and had a great time.
Loved: Awesome cabin with real "log" construction. Very updated and and clean inside. 3 bedrooms (+ loft up a ladder) + 3 full bathrooms, including bunk beds for kids. Nice open kitchen/island/living room area (it's just not very big). Surrounded on ~ 2 sides with nice bit of forest (other houses a ways off). Just up the street is a nice trail system, great for sledding.
Heads up: some small annoyances mentioned in other reviews, but nothing that prevented our family of 6 from having a great time. Open kitchen area and living room is small vs. how many beds there are. If you fill the place with a couple families, you should be great friends, or relatives that get along well ... plan on getting outside in the snow or sun. Looks right at the back of the "Big Bear Cabin", so privacy out the front is not great at all (but in our opinion, still beats staying in a condo/townhouse). No fireplace, and it wasn't clear if the in-wall heaters were working, so we relied on the plug-in space heaters (plenty are provided throughout the house).
All in all, a little pricey, but the location/area is great, and we would stay again.
Great place with some updates needs.
Our family of 4 and a dog had a great summer getaway at Little Bear! The house is nestled in the woods behind the Big Bear house and is a cozy log cabin with a gourmet kitchen and plenty of beds. There is a nice amount of attention to details like matching cabin bedding, plenty of towels and blankets, cleaning supplies, washer and dryer with laundry detergent, shampoo, conditioner, and soap.
Two things to know when considering this house are: the number of people it could fit in beds out numbers the amount of people who would comfortably fit in the living spaces and though WiFi is listed as an amenity, the router is in another house and we couldn’t connect to it.
We are looking forward to staying at Little Bear again!
We apologize you had problems with the internet and wish you had called so we could assist you. We will ensure everything is accurate and working. Thank you!
Nice kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms. Lovely, quiet street with a stream running right by the cabin and an entrance to a trail system a block away.
The house overall is nice, they have most of what you need for a comfortable stay. Neat property with the creeks running around the house. My biggest complaints are the proximity to Big Bear Cabin if only renting one and the late check-in and early-check out. Combine those and you really only get a short time for a weekend away.
Stayed here for a couple nights during UP's spring break. Easy to find when following Google Maps. Cabin is clean and well-kept. Close proximity to Mt. Hood Ski Bowl east. Four stars because we weren't aware that the only way to get to the cabin was a narrow, icy alley that runs alongside Big Bear Cabin. Was a little difficult to navigate with a three-month old baby in a carseat. Otherwise, our party had a lovely stay, would likely come back for another snow-sport weekend.
We were for 2 days in this tiny home .Quit and very nice home .I hope we will come back soon ....
Hey We had a wonderful weekend stay at Little Bear. The cabin was extremely clean and well appointed. Loved the location and walked to everything in Government Camp. Neighbors were welcoming and pleasant. I’lll definitely stay there again.
We truly enjoyed this cabin, there were nine of us so the space was very adequate. Location was great, up the hill and the scenery with the snow covered trees was beyond beautiful. Didn’t have any interactions with this infamous neighbor as I think they were out of town but honestly, if you’re respectful and quiet at night time like most of the neighborhood, there shouldn’t be any issues regardless.
Great place set back away from the highway. Did not have any issues with the cranky neighbor that others have had. I believe they might have been out of town.
Helpful management and great location, surrounded by creeks and quiet environment. Only disadvantage was the grumpy neighbor.
Great location and Peaceful. The home may sleep 12 people but there is not enough space in the living area for 12 people.
It was a small little cabin but slept our group of 5 adults and 2 kids. Loved that there was bunks in each room and the one had a small loft. Missed a hot tub
The house was great - plenty of sleeping space and 3 bathrooms. Also, it was close to places we sledded.
We had 10 people we all fit well and had a great time
Just as the reviews state the neighbor is rude and yelled at our kids for basically being on the property line. (So we assume it is) 3 ft from the house should be the line.. Hot tub and Wifi is at Big bear house. Wifi is not usable. The venting for the furnace and water heater of Big bear vent directly into the hot tub area. Hot tub was not clean. Over all the place is a lot smaller then the photos appear it to be. only 4 places to sit down for TV .. No kitchen table.
We are sorry to see there were some disappointments with this visit. There is no WiFi advertised for this home; we apologize for any inconvenience this caused our guest. The hot tub was cleaned and balanced just prior to this guest checking in. We are still working with the neighbor and appreciate our guests' patience in the matter. Thanks!
This cabin provided a great experience but I do have some feedback. As some of the other guests mentioned, things like oil, sugar, tupper-ware, saran wrap, etc was not provided but all other kitchen equipment was. We also could not get one of the upstairs heaters to work in the bedroom with the loft, luckily the bathroom heater worked so we left the door open. As another guest mentioned there is a very cold draft in the downstairs bathroom so we made sure to keep that door shut.
On the plus side there is plenty of sleeping space for everyone, while the kitchen/living area are a little tight it was not a huge issue. I did not read the other reviews thoroughly before booking to realize that the hot tub is shared between the two cabins - it didn't turn out to be an issue however as the people in Big Bear were very friendly. I do think it is a little absurd to only offer 2 parking spaces for a 12 person cabin, that was a bit of a pain point for our group. We ended up having people drop their stuff off then parking in downtown Govy which is conveniently only about a 5 minute walk.
I would say overall the biggest stress was the multiple emails regarding the neighbors and the issues experienced with people on their property, parking near their house, or making noise after 9pm. With a group of 12 people it can be difficult to keep quiet so these threats were quite stressful to me as there was talk of a $1,000 fine if a noise complaint was made. I was emailed multiple times about this before my stay to the point where I was hesitant to keep the reservation, luckily they were out of town when we arrived so it turned out to be a none issue. I would say if you can avoid the neighbors it is overall a good experience!
This is a lovely lodging in a wonderful setting by a rushing stream. The town of Government Camp is in a great location to many trailheads. We did Mirror Lake, Umbrella Falls/Sahalie Falls Loop, The Fruit Loop and Columbia Gorge waterfalls. We only stayed 3 nights, next time we will stay 4!!
First, the positives:
1. Property located in an ideal location near Timberline (5 min) and Meadows (20 min).
2. The heating system works great (except upstairs thermostat broken).
3. Plenty of clean sheets, towels, linens, and blankets.
4. Washer and dryer are full size and pretty new.
Now, the NEGATIVES:
1. Little Bear is directly behind Big Bear. The walkway to Little Bear is right under the eave of the roof for Big Bear. The walk way was NOT shoveled at all. Had to climb over piles of snow, stepped in a sink hole to my knee walking in, and the entire path up to the porch was covered in snow - no real attempt at shoveling. Just terrible - law suit waiting to happen. I would never let an elderly person try to walk that walkway - thankfully we did not travel with grandparents this time - I would have demanded a refund.
2. Although the advertisement does clearly say that cooking supplies such as oil, sugar, tupper-ware, saran wrap, etc was not provided, generally speaking, this is the first place I have ever been to that did not at least provide simple amenities. If you plan to cook, bring everything you need, or plan on buying it at the Govey Store down the street.
3. Lots of light bulbs blown and not replaced.
4. Advertisement does NOT clearly state that there is NO DINING TABLE. The kitchen island doubles as the prep center and dining table, with 8 tiny stools tucked under the eaves.
5. Upstairs thermostat is broken - either the heater is on, and it gets too hot, or it is off, and it gets too cold.
6. None of the bathroom doors have locks!!! How crazy is that? You want to go #2 and you can't lock the door? Ridiculous.
7. Parking area is only modestly shoveled out.....doubtful you can fit 4 cars as the signs suggest. Thankfully, no one in Big Bear while we were there.
Some general comments:
Neighbors are sensitive. Our kids (ages 5, 7, and 8) were playing in the snow by the side of Little Bear and the neighbor yelled at us that we were on their property. No signage, no posts, nothing to indicate we entered their property. We apologized and cleared out, but delivery was rather rough. The property itself is handsome - a real log cabin. My happiness at finding such a nice property was rapidly squelched by the snow packed walkway and multiple annoyances throughout the house (noted above).
We are incredibly disappointed to read about this guest's experience as the property manager and home owner take great pride in this cabin and spend a lot of time preparing it for guest arrival. There was very heavy snowfall this winter, but the walkway to the home was shoveled just prior to the guest's arrival. The light bulbs that are out are specialty bulbs that have been ordered; they are not the main light source for the room. The thermostat has been inspected to be sure it is functioning correctly. We very much look forward to sharing this home with our guests as we believe it is a delightful place to stay.
The cabin was quite nice with comfortable sleeping spaces and bathroom for everyone. The living room and kitchen area was quite small however and difficult for all of us to hang out together. It may be better for the summer when you can spill out on to the porch. Access to it in the snow is tricky as well as it's behind the larger cabin and you need to walk on a narrow snowy trail to get there.
We loved little bear, perfect size for 2 families. Be careful trying to get back there in the winter but it was cozy and a great weekend snow getaway.
Giant exposed log beams, semi-isolation in the woods, and big windows to see the woods made it feel rustic, but it was (mostly) very comfortable.
Gaining entrance, with the "key lock" (we're not familiar with these) took about 20 minutes before it we got it opened. Once we got the key in-hand it took another 30 minutes to work the lock. Honestly, our whole weekend depended on this. Calls to the office were not answered/or returned and came very close to turning the whole group back home. Once open (like picking a lock) the door latch did not work properly, locking us out if someone was not on the inside to simply open the door. Very, very close to shutting down our whole vacation.
We apologize that the lockbox and door lock were difficult for you and that we were hard to reach. The Property Manager will inspect the lock system in order to make any necessary adjustments, and we are currently hiring more agents to assist on the phones so that we are easier to reach.
We stayed at Little Bear Cabin for my daughters wedding at Timberline. The cabin is well maintained, cozy and comfortable. It's missing a fireplace though. We were there during a snow storm and would have froze had the power gone out. There were some concerns over the safety of the pathways on the property when snowing and the cabin was hard to locate. Overall, a high rating for the cabin, but not so much the pathway to get to it. The pathway had snow fall into it from the Big Bear cabin and we had to dig it out. Other than the path and the lady that lives above the cabin who yelled at us to stay away from her property, the cabin itself was great. Cabin was well stocked and very comfortable for 8 people.
We enjoyed our stay at Little Bear Cabin immensely! The location was great, the cabin was updated, very clean and absolutely adorable! We would definitely stay here again!
So nice house and location
Worst rental experience we have ever had! Our group is made up of 30-60 year olds who have rented in Government Camp (and elsewhere) for many years. We thought the price was a little high when booking, but it had a hot tub and the other property we were considering didn't, so we booked it. The first surprises came with the check-in instructions one week prior to our arrival: Only two parking spaces for a rental that actually sleeps 14 (but is advertised as sleeping 12). I immediately call Vacasa to explain most vehicles only seat 4-5 people, where can we park any others? Down in Government Camp and shuttle people back and forth. Fine. Then, there is a threat of a $1,000. fine if the neighbor complains about noise after 10:00 p.m. We were renting during New Year's Eve - what does everyone do New Year's Eve?!?!? They make noise! Fine, we're not a bunch of young kids and we'll be inside mostly anyway.
We arrive at the cabin to find the narrow and long path to the cabin is covered with compact and fresh snow that is very uneven and steep in some places and all very slick. This made packing in all our food, gear, and bags very difficult.
Then the two parking spaces out front were not wide enough for two vehicles, so we had to shovel and dig into the snow-bank to make enough room. While we are digging we meet the renter in the other cabin who has "three" parking spaces. He says he is the only one there and we can use one of his. Great, Thank you! He could only give us one because he only had enough room for two. The owners think since they put up five parking signs, that will make five parking spaces. . . they need a tape measure. The next day, I get a call from Vacasa saying the owner is going to tow our car in the extra space given to us from the renter in the other cabin. I explained the situation to Vacasa and apparently that is ok, because I never heard back. I get another call from Vacasa saying we have our Subaru parked in the neighbor's driveway and it is going to be towed. I explain no one in our group owns a Subaru - not our car. The next night the neighbor comes over furiously banging on the door, screaming for us to move our Subaru. We say "it's not ours." He continues screaming "I know it's yours. they said it is!!!" Didn't say who "they" were, but eventually moved on and found it belonged to someone else in another cabin.
The hot tub (which was the only reason we chose this property) was like warm bath water the first two nights and was finally hot enough to use on our third and final night.
The living area is tiny. There are eight barstools crowded around an island in the kitchen, but not enough space for eight people on them. The space for people in the living room is even less.
Mouse poop in the upstairs master bath.
Very strong, cold draft in the downstairs bathroom.
Hot Tub is surrounded by compact snow, we had to dig stairs along side it so we could climb in without sliding along the snow in our skin.
Cable tv is advertised - it's satellite, which doesn't work if the dish is covered with snow. WIFI is advertised, but is sometimes non existent because the router is in the cabin next door.
This cabin gets two stars because it provided the beds and shelter it promised, but had so many other blood-pressure raising hassles it was not the fun relaxing vacation it was supposed to be. If anyone NEEDS to rent this property because nothing else is available, I would say never in winter with any snow accumulation and don't bring more than eight people - since the parking and living areas won't accommodate any more.
Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize that your group had a difficult time with the parking options and the neighbors disturbed you during your stay. We have shared your comments with our property manager and they will work with the owners to ensure the home provides a comfortable and accommodating experience for our guests. We hope you had a great time around Mt Hood and made some wonderful memories!
the property was amazing. The supplies at the cabin were well above what was expected. They provided everything possible even down to the laundry detergent to paper towels in the kitchen. The cleanliness of the cabin was spectacular.
Didn't have the correct key code to get the door key. I had to call Vacasa to get correct key code. What if I couldn't get ahold of anyone, then what would I have done turn around and go home? This is very disturbing. When we got the correct key the lock is so badly keyed we finally got door opened . It took 20 min to get key to turn in lock....NEEd TO GET A Locksmith out their to fix lock. Leaving was just as difficult to lock back up.
WiFi is pretty non existent router in big cabin. Get a service exclusively for little bear. Cost is enough that we should have service. I had to use my hotspot on cell phone.
In email that gives you key access should add wifi password.
The welcome binder said to put garbage out in receptacles outside. No receptacle anywhere so we bagged up trash neatly and left for house cleaners with note.
However the cabin was excellent and provided all comforts of home. Fix the items outlined and they stay would be perfect. I will go back.
Thank you for your feedback about the cabin. The Property Manager is looking into the door lock, the internet service, and the garbage. We will get these items addressed in the most timely manner possible. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
If I was going to stay here again I would have a large enough group of neighborly and less than rowdy individuals to take up both the lil and big bear cabins. Otherwise, I would not stay here again.
The place was perfect for what we needed. Gov't camp isn't all that exciting, but had some great restaurants, Hood River was close enough to drive to for the day as were the slopes. The house was awesome, bedrooms were a little tight on space, but we really didn't spend any time but sleeping time in them. The kitchen had everything we needed except a baking dish. We were super concerned about making too much noise and not getting fined, but the creek by the house drowned out any noise coming from the inside so it wasn't an issue. We just made sure to stay out of the hot tub after 10 to be sure we kept our outside noise down. The hot tub we shared with Big Bear cabin, I was a little surprised to find that out, but it worked out. Our neighbors in Big Bear were great and we had no conflict of timing with hot tub use. This place was exactly what I was wanting for my birthday weekend.
Definitely coming back! So many ski area nearby and Government Camp is an awesome town.
While we didn't get the snow we hoped for, this little cabin was big on sleeping spaces and perfect for families with kids. The location is walking distance to town and the Glade Trail is just up the street, perfect for sledding. There were a few maintenance issues that need to be fixed, and the wifi may not work, but otherwise it was a good house for our weekend there. For cooks, be sure to bring 1 or 2 extra baking pans - the kitchen is well stocked with stove-top saute pans and skillets, but not for baking or roasting in the oven. There is no dining table - just a kitchen island with a lot of stools around it. Great for casual meals, but a little cramped for more than 6 and the place sleeps 12.
We had a great time staying at Little Bear. Very clean and it was stocked with everything we needed. We would recommend this cabin!
Let me start by saying how much I loved this cabin. Really charming and in a beautiful little spot in the woods not too far from Government Camp. But you're not reading this for all the ways it's good. So here are my warnings:
- There are plenty of beds and space for people to stretch out once they go to bed, but the kitchen and living room are small. There were 6 of us and kept tripping over each other while we were cooking
-It's tucked behind Big Bear Cabin and if it's snowy it's pretty tough to climb to, even if you're a hearty skier.
-A little pricey for my tastes.
Thank you for your feedback. We just wanted to let you know that a snow fence has been added for easy access to this cabin.
Everything was perfect. Only thing that we wished we had was a cheese grater. Thanks.
Thank you for your review! We will add a cheese grater at the house.