USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Florence Listing #1033

Heceta House - Florence, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
74 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Private Hot Tub & Easy Access to the Beach - Dogs are Welcome

If you're looking for a wonderful Oregon Coast getaway, look no further than this cute two-bedroom Florence vacation home! In the Heceta Beach area, you'll be just a couple of blocks from the Pacific, have your own private hot tub, and be able to walk to the beach for a little fun in the sun. This home is also dog friendly, so there's no need to leave your furry family members behind!

Tucked back behind coastal foliage and trees, this beach bungalow is a welcome retreat. A big wraparound front porch is just the place for a cup of coffee or an afternoon cup of tea. And when you step inside, the interior space is just as inviting.

The living room is a collection of comfortable furniture, shelves filled with books, and ocean-themed throw pillows. The space has the feel of a well-loved beach house. There's a large wood burning stone fireplace that invites you to curl up with a good book in front of a roaring fire. There's also a flat screen TV with cable and a DVD player for more entertainment options.

The eat-in kitchen is large and bright with all the appliances you'll need for vacation meals. You'll have everything you need here from plates, silverware, and glasses to pots, pans, and wine glasses. Whip up a rustic seafood stew or bowls of granola in the morning. And when the meal is finished, a dishwasher makes clean up nice and easy. Out on the porch, there's even a grill, so you'll be able to plan a cookout for an afternoon of burgers, chicken legs, or vegetable skewers.

When it's time for bed, a whimsical bunk room is the perfect choice for kids. There's an undersea mural on the wall and bunk beds in the shape of a boat! Two bedrooms have a queen bed each - the upstairs master suite with its own TV and DVD player, and a private bathroom with a romantic claw foot tub for soaking. Just open the windows at night and let the sounds of the ocean lull you to sleep in this peaceful room.

In addition, there's a sleeper sofa downstairs, making it possible for up to eight guests to stay at this home quite comfortably. Don't forget to bring the dogs for some quality time running and playing on the beach, though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply.

The top level loft is a great, surf shack-style ocean-view room - come up here to read, socialize, or just enjoy the beautiful Heceta Beach views. And when you really want to relax, don't forget about the outdoor hot tub out on the deck. Just sit back and soothe those sore muscles after a day of golfing, hiking on the beach, or just out exploring the town of Florence.

From here, beach access is only a few blocks away, with the easiest path at Driftwood Shores Resort just down the road. From here, you'll have a long sandy beach to explore! Fly a kite, roll your pant legs up and play in the surf - you can even hunt for shells to bring home. And if you get hungry, the Surfside Restaurant at the resort is open for breakfast, lunch, or dinner - it's a short walk from down on the beach or your vacation house.

Some of Florence's attractions include its historic Old Town area for shopping, galleries, and restaurants, the surrounding inland lakes for fishing, Rhodo Dunes Golf Course, the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area, and even whale watching right from the beach!

This Central Oregon Coast vacation rental is the perfect place to come enjoy the Oregon Coast - you can spend an afternoon people watching and drinking lattes at the Suislaw River Coffee Roasters in town, walk along the surf, or just relax in your hot tub!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view

Water view

Beach access


Internet : Century Link


Cable : Dish Network

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games


Gas grill : Private

Beach towels


74 reviews

Marla I. Jun 2022
What a fun house! Very comfortable. The fireplace was awesome. I saw a review that it was smoky but either it’s been cleaned or perhaps they had forgotten to open the flue? Anyway, worked great for us. Hot tub is a plus. I loved the little reading room up top. The walk to the beach is not too far so that’s nice. If you’re taking chairs and coolers I’d suggest driving though. Overall a great spot. We will definitely stay here again!
Nicholas R. Jan 2022
We loved the area, distance to the beach was about 2 blocks, which was great. The listing says it has WiFi, but the internet is DSL and caps out at 400kbps, meaning we couldn't even stream a movie at night. Our 3yo was most displeased. The heaters were broken in several rooms, and the main rooms heater almost keeps up. The fireplace chimney needs cleaning as it doesn't draft well either so most of our stuff smells like smoke. The beds are all very firm, but some people like that. The children's toys they keep there were great to have with the internet being a fail, and the boat bunk bed was neat. We enjoyed our stay, but would probably not come to this particular place again.
Manager response:
We appreciate you staying with us, Nicholas. It's disappointing to read you wouldn't return at this point. The WiFi and heating have been verified as working well. Unfortunately, chimney cleaning services are hard to come by, but we'll continue searching. Thank you!
Ron B. Nov 2021
Not perfect but nice. Older but comfortable. WiFi is slow. Movies buffered a lot. Has some DVD's but didn't find a player. Downstairs bedroom private, loft bunk room is open (fun for kids), second floor bedroom has walk through to top bunk room (more of a reading room with nice view). Hot tub older but comfortable. Limited storage for groceries in kitchen, fridge okay. Pots/pans/bowls. Plenty of towels/bedding. Lots of books/games for use. Bit of a hike to door from parking, not handicap friendly. Nice shower. Convenient location. Wide, flat beach one+ block away. 25 miles north to Yachats (Devil's Churn, Haceta Head Lighthouse, many turnouts and Sea lions Cave along route). Within 12 miles South; Florence, dunes and Honeyman State Park. Overall a quiet, comfortable, homey place. We're not into elegance, so enjoyed it.
Sharon R. Oct 2021
Unique beach home. Wonderful hot tub and deck.
Camille Y. Jul 2021
So fun! Great location, had everything we needed, our kids loved it!
Kevin G. Mar 2021
Rustic and spacious yet coastal cozy. Very private yet close walk to beach.
Great big stone fireplace inside and large covered hot tub on wrap-around deck outside. Double-ahhh!
Minutes to Old Towne and restaurants.
What else do you need?
Dan G. Feb 2021
The house was clean and we had a great time. Will come back.
Jessica M. Jan 2021
We come here often and enjoy it very much. Housekeeping was definitely slacking this time around. I can’t even get into it all again as I just got done with what I thought was my main review but I guess it was a review for hq . With that being said housekeeping please please please don’t cut corners when it comes to sanitizing and getting the homes prepared for many different family’s. Not to mention during these Covid times!!!!
Manager response:
Hi, Jessica. Thank you for your review. While we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our home, we’re sorry to hear that housekeeping was lacking on your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties. We have worked closely with our local staff to address these concerns thoroughly and to ensure that our future cleanings live up to the Vacasa standard. We apologize for any missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Nancy B. Dec 2020
We enjoyed a visit to Heceta House for a getaway to the coast for hiking and beach walking. The house is cosy and comfortable. The hot tub was a great way to relax after walking on the dunes and the bed very comfortable. The dryer rescued our rain gear so we could go out in the rain again. We would love to visit again.
Amelia R. Oct 2020
Very cute house, kids had a ton of fun. Beds pretty uncomfortable but we enjoyed the stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Amelia. We understand that sleeping preferences vary widely and we are sorry to hear that the bed was not well-suited to your sleep preference. We will certainly keep your comment in mind when planning updates for the home. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home and hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
Stephen K. Aug 2020
We had a family of 7 plus an almost 2 year old who stayed here. The house was great overall, clean and it suited the needs of our family well. We stayed 4 nights and the agreement asks to run dishes before you leave and to start a load of laundry if you can. Easy peasy.

Some small suggestions. I'm sure it wasn't intended to harm, we had enough dishwasher tabs for 3 loads of dishes. With 8 of us we had to do some hand washing to make it all work and run less than 1 load of dishes per day. Felt a bit weird to be rationed the dishwasher tabs, but I guess people can take them too.

Additionally, for 5 ladies and 3 guys we had 4 rolls of toilet paper. We ran out during our last bathroom stops before we left. Again, weird the small things were rationed so heavily.

We split this rental with another family and couldn't figure out the key situation. Could be on us to ask, but we wanted two separate sets of keys. One set seemed to unlock the front door and one just the bottom lock on the side door. Labels may help other guests for next time. Oh and a note about the backup key rack. Not sure it's intended for guest use except for an emergency, but there were no instructions and so we tried it. May save some energy for future use to know what's intended.

Finally, I love the bench seating in the kitchen. The table may need a sanding and new lacquer. It was a bit too sticky to play cards on in case you're into that sort of thing.

Would we stay here again? YES!
Should you stay here? Selfishly no so we can book for next year. Honestly, YES!

This was a great rental and on our list for 2021!
Manager response:
Hi, Stephen. Thank you for this positive feedback! We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the lack of supplies. Please note that our homes typically only guarantee a starter set of these essentials, and any additional items pertinent to your stay may need to be planned for accordingly. We will notify the local staff with your feedback regarding the bench to ensure this will be properly addressed. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to improve this home for future reservations. We hope to host you again in the future!
ivy m. Jul 2020
Absolutely love this place!!! Perfect location in Florence! Close to the beach and very quiet!!
Jamie C. Jun 2020
The Hot Tub and Deck were Amazing!!
Mindy P. Jun 2020
I loved the house and we had a fantastic time! The hot tub was amazing each night! The kids loved the boat bed. I loved the top story room. It was such a relaxing place to read. The porch was a fantastic place to drink our coffee. The only reason I am giving 4 stars and not 5 is because the kitchen table needs refinished because it was sticky no matter how many times we washed it and the beds were pretty hard. Amazing house though and would for sure book it again.
Heather W. Jan 2020
Great romantic get away the place was immaculate I couldn’t believe it had three stories I was amazed when I walk to the door such a good feel to this home.. a lot of small things that added up to make it cozy. Like the coffee, dish’s, and spa with a wrap around deck, Quiet neighborhood where you can hear the ocean from your room. Will stay there again.
Eric F. Jan 2020
We had a fabulous time at the Heceta House. Great layout and all the comforts of home. Thank you!
Gail K. Dec 2019
The walk up to the house is rather steep and there are many stairs, so those with mobility issues will have trouble, but otherwise, it's quirky and charming. The hot tub is large and hot and was very clean. I did wish it had been heated up for us when we arrived. I was dreaming of a soak when we arrived, but had to wait until morning.
It's a nice easy walk to the beach too! We'll be back.
Jessica M. Nov 2019
This house was perfect for me and my family. It was stocked with everything we needed if not more and I’m so thankful for that. The layout is so nice and convenient. It was just a all around great time being here. It’s not beach front but it is literally walking distance to the beach right around the corner. Had privacy the whole time. Had no issues with anything pretty much. My only tip if arriving at night or leaving at night is have flash lights to guide you and your luggage down to the vehicles. We will definitely be booking again. 😊
Peter L. Sep 2019
Room for extended family, including all the dogs. Close to beach. Ocean view from top floor. Reminded us of a tree house. Well staged.
Lisa E. Aug 2019
The house was original, comfortable, had all the amenities, and the covered wrap around porch and hot tub would make even a rainy stay enjoyable!
Heidi C. Jul 2019
Loved this adorable home just minutes from the beach. The open kitchen and living room was perfect for the adults to cook and chat, while the upstairs loft space was a great place for the kids to hang by themselves. But, to be honest, we spent a lot of time outside on the porch or at the beach. Such a great location on this part of the Oregon coast.
Robert F. Apr 2019
Wonderful experience. Great house. Everything is well kept! Hot tub was very relaxing. I dont know why people are complaining about the steps to the house. It's like 40 feet from the car to the front door. Laughable not a big deal. Beautiful views from the crows nest room. Very cool house.
Maria N. Dec 2018
The style of the home is interesting. We arrived after sunset, so it was rather dark and rainy (as expected for Oregon Winters). The trail up to the home was clear of branches and getting up to the home wasn't awful (with our supplies). The welcome documents stated that there would be flashlights to help with late arrivals, there were none, so i'd pack your own especially with the shorter days during the winter.

We were met with some firewood at the front door (which was great). As we entered the home, we noticed it was very warm. The thermostat was set in Celsius at 90 degrees, so after some adjustment we were able to a good temperature.

The wrap patio was really nice as it was fenced in and clean. The amenities in the home could use an update, but was comfortable for a short weekend. The exhaust kitchen fan was very noisy and not useable for our cooking purposes(we contacted VACASA about this issue, it was not resolved by check out or at the time of this review). If you are big into cooking, I'd recommend bringing your own pots and pans and knives. I made the mistake of not bringing an extra pan. A lot of the non-stick were scratched up.

Cleaning supplies were provided, wonderful.

The house has a lot of stairs, which wasn't an issue for us, but just be conscious that with wooden stairs and floors, whoever stays upstairs sets the time everyone wakes up below. The kids loved the loft, but was sad to find an empty box (of the kids tent) in the closet.

Bathrooms and Showers were clean and the washer/dryer was very nice as we did use the hot tub and had soaked towels.

We didn't use the tv, so no comments there. We used the pull out sofa and that was more comfortable than expected. There were plenty of sheets and blankets. The home could use a couple more pillows.

The beach access wasn't far, but unfortunately, nature had a surprise for us - and it was hundreds of dead jellyfish.

So for the home, it was a short stay and probably better that it was a shorter stay - it had plenty of space for our party, quite possibly just not our style for future stays.
Stacy R. Nov 2018
We loved how the house is decorated! Hot tub was much appreciated!!
Clare M. Jun 2018
Great location. Loved sitting on the deck. Very private
Sara K. May 2018
The house was warm and cozy with a great beach feel. We all enjoyed the hot tub and the deck too. You could open the windows at night and hear the ocean and feel the cool breeze. I wish I could take the wood floors and put them in my home. It’s an easy walk to the beach too.
Joseph H. Jan 2018
We had a relaxing, low-key weekend here with our family and another couple. The kids kept themselves very entertained in the cute bunk room and the house was quite cozy overall. We were very much looking forward to having a fire each night in the fireplace but unfortunately it was out of service while we were there, that was kind of a bummer and would have been nice to know before hand. The hot tub is in really great shape and roomy enough for all four adult sand two kids to hang out together. The porch was spacious and had a gate with a lock so we could have the dogs out there without them running off. The crow's nest room at the top is cozy and had a peekaboo view of the ocean. Great place for a nap or reading a book.
Lori S. Dec 2017
On arrival and every time we opened the front door we were met with a dank, musty smell. The downstairs bedroom seemed to have a damp smell. I slept in the upstairs bedroom with the window open the first night and used essential oils to mask the odor. Everything else about the house and hot tub was very nice and comfortable.
Manager response:
The property manager and owner inspected the entire house and were unable to find any mold. There is a very slight musty smell that they believe must have been caused from the heavy amounts of rain. They did wash everything and provided air fragrance to assist in ridding the house of the smell. Thanks!
Karen O. Nov 2017
Our whole family enjoyed our stay here. The beach is a easy walk and the house has plenty of room, It was a joy at the end of the day to hop into the hot tub (:
Roberrt C. Aug 2017
Great place - close to town and a gorgeous beach. Very relaxing and great for families.
Bronwyn B. Aug 2017
Rustic, not luxurious but comfortable and pleasant. Kids absolutely loved the boat bunkbeds. The open floor plan (kids' room in loft and open to living room) made it a little harder to get the kids to bed, but it was worth it. Had to walk across the street to get to the beach, but close by and no problem. Loved the hot tub. Really appreciated the responsiveness of the property managers (immediately came and cleared overgrown access path and cleaned the smaller, separate rental cabin on the property).
Nancy L. Aug 2017
My family recently stayed at Heceta House. We were a family of 7. The property was in a great location, a few blocks from the beach and a short drive to Oregon Sand Dune Trail, the light house and Sea Lion Cave. The surrounding areas were absolutely beautiful!! The house was situated up a small hill with a rocky surface, so good balance and sure footing is needed to enter the house. The house was beautiful and comfortably decorated. Recommendations for improvement would include queen or kingsize beds in the two bedrooms, updated loft sleeping arangements, more kitchen supplies and a propane rather than charcoal grill. I would totally recommend this place to others. It was very easy to book and if you are looking for a nice place to stay along the Oregon Coast, this would be a good choice.
Anna S. Jul 2017
house comfortable, especially linens and towels. Everything works. Would have liked longer periods of sun on porch as Florence seems to have a freezing wind almost all of the time. Would have liked a reading light in the living room.
Enjoy your vacation--we did.
Melia B. Jun 2017
- just what we were looking for. Comfy beds, sweet smelling sheets, a functional wood fireplace and a squeaky-clean hot tub didnt hurt either.

The access might be a bit problematic for people with mobility issues and should be mentioned. This sweet little house perches on a hill and the approach is stone stairs and a steep gravel path. i was glad i brought my personal sherpas.
Wendy C. May 2017
We loved our recent stay at the Heceta House. Very clean, charming little beach house. It has all the amenities needed for a pleasant stay. We will definitely be back!
Jon C. Apr 2017
Great beachside rental. This was our family's second time staying here and have loved it both times. Great location, walked to the beach, enjoyed the hot tub and fire place. This is a fun house for kids to stay in with the bunk beds and lookout room. Will definitely stay again in the future.
Sheila U. Mar 2017

The house was spacious and private from neighbors, extremely clean, no musty smell, warm, pleasant ambiance. The kitchen was well stocked. The hot tub was great. The wifi and cable worked fine. There are a lot of stairs, 3 floors, and the house sits on a hill, so there is a small hike up from the driveway.
Stanley T. Feb 2017
Cute house with lots of stairs and a real coastal vibe. Access to house a little hard for anybody with mobility issues.
Barbara F. Feb 2017
We stayed mid-week in late January and found Florence to be uncrowded, but with plenty to offer. We arrived at sea lion caves just as they opened at 9am and had the place completely to our selves...We hiked the Tahkinitch loop trail (7 miles) and only saw 1 other person. Only crowded place was the best restaurant in town, Waterfront Depot, but with reservations it wasn't a problem. We ate there both nights--very good.
Eva S. Nov 2016
Property filthy... Wreaks of dog and dog feces and musty. Hot tub covered with sand in bottom and large dead bee floating in water.Paid large cleaning fee and hot tub cleaning fee for nothing. Highly disappointed. Will not stay again.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see that this guest did not have a better experience while staying with us. The house was inspected prior to guest arrival and no unpleasant odors were detected at that time. The home has recently received a deep clean in the hopes it might alleviate any smells the guest noticed. The hot tub was drained and serviced prior to this stay, but sand does sometimes make its way back in once the jets are turned on.
Guy P. Sep 2016
This place is great especially in mid-September when all the crowds are away. We had virtually all the beaches to ourselves
Claude T. Aug 2016
An exciting place to stay even though a block away from the beach but the atmosphere in and out the house brings the beach closer to the house.
Weiyi X. Apr 2016
I hope that some of the cleaning will be better.
other thing is good
Tabitha S. Mar 2016
Overall this house is great! The floors were a bit dirty upon our arrival, but we happily swept up the sand. It would have been easier if there was a dust pan, but we made it work. Great location to the beach and to town! The hot tub was very nice as well.
Carly D. Nov 2015
The staff was wonderful, the house was AMAZING. I loved the hottub and fire place. Being so close to the beach was wonderful. I have no complaints about the house or the stay... BUT there was a small cottage that was in the same property. You have the choice of renting the house or the cottage or both. We had just rented the house and the other cottage got rented out too. I wish we had gotten informed about this because we got a loud knock on our door around 9pm and was told to move our cars. The lady was rude and we were all heading to bed around the time she showed up. Then she and her friend had one car each making the parking nearly impossible to get in and out of our cars. All could have been avoided or at least more understandable if the company had at least emailed me about this other renter; especially since it's all the same property.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize that the other guests on the property had a negative impact on your stay. We will clarify parking instructions for both homes so that we can avoid this problem in the future. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the house!
Michael B. Aug 2015
We liked the house very much. The hot tube, the fire place, the room upstairs to look at the sunset and the personal decoration and atmosphere that made us feel immediately at home. It was a wonderful stay!
Susan V. Jul 2015
Very well done! Definitely will request a stay again in near future!
Laura H. May 2015
I travel weekly for my job. I've always stayed in hotels because who knew there was another option! When I came across Vacasa while looking for a hotel in Florence, it was the best find ever! The nightly rate was less than a hotel room. I was able to work out of town but still feel at home. This made such a difference for the work week! Decided to even bring my family with me since there was so much room!! The house had everything needed to feel right at home as soon as you walked through the door. Move in ready!! Beds were very comfortable and the decor was done very nicely. Loved sitting out on the porch after working all day. We even grilled up some steaks for dinner. Would have loved a better view of the ocean but the foliage all around made up for it. Sat on the porch each morning and visited with the birds and squirrels. There were only two downsides the whole trip. The cleaning fee is a bit high and I think that could be a little less. The fireplace is VERY touchy and we had an issue with it smoking the first night. But we changed to just using a small dura flame log only and that resolved the issue. It was still amazing sitting in front of the fire on the cool evenings. Will most definitely be looking at more rentals for my weekly travels!!! Who knew!!!
Randy B. Mar 2015
The house is about 200 yards from the beach and very beautiful. It has great decor that really suits the beach area and mariner history of the area. It is well outfitted with everything we needed and had a lot of "little"extras that were nice to have. Like matches, spices, shampoo and conditioner, laundry soap, dish soap, and garbage bags. We have rented condos that had none of these things.
When we finished our initial tour through the house, my wife announced that she could live here. There were only 4 of us and there was tons of room. It could easily fit 8 people.
We enjoyed the big porch, nice hot tub, and closeness of the beach. We also went to the old part of town and enjoyed visiting all the shops. The highlight of the trip for the boys was the day spent riding quads in the sand dunes at Steve's ATV rentals near North Bend.
The beds were comfortable, nice pillows, and the whole place was quite clean. It's nice to have a place that is affordable to turn out to be well kept and nice.
The only minor thing I would mention is that the house had a bit of a musty smell to it when we arrived. Our cabin has the same smell when we open it up in the spring so it wasn't an issue for us at all. We will stay here again when we return to Florence.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.
Ray D. Jan 2015
Property was clean and staff great! We made lots of use of the hot tub and deck. we
had a lucky great weather weekend. thank you.
Kimberly A. Nov 2014
The home was wonderfully capped and very clean. The hot tub was an amazing asset to this home. It is a very warm and cozy place to stay when visiting Florence!
Malcolm W. Nov 2014
my 7yr old son thought that the boat bed was the greatest vacation he'd ever been to!
Tansy W. Sep 2014
The house worked out great for our family. Everything we needed was there and ready to use. It was clean and had tons of character. The hot tub was clean and perfect temp. The only thing was I wish the ocean view was better from the house, but it was a short walk to a beautiful beach. We will most likely rent here again! thanks for a great experience..
Dennis G. Aug 2014
Could not access internet...shower hard to use
Manager response:
Thank you for this review. We have cleared up the internet problem with the provider and it is functioning again. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Meredith B. Jun 2014
We LOVED this house! The hot tub was perfect for the evenings after getting wet and chilled at the beach. The outside shower on the wrap around porch was perfect for rinsing the sand of bodies and items. The lay out of the house was so much more than expected! The kids play area and bunk beds were a big hit! The house was everything promised and more!
Rachel C. Mar 2014
We loved this house! The hot tub was amazing and there was a perfect place for everyone from my elderly in-laws to my 6 year old. The kitchen had everything we needed plus some. We couldn't have picked a better house and hope to stay there again!
Kirstin C. Feb 2014
Fun features for kids with a touch of luxury for adults...the best of both worlds. We had a great time!