USA Gulf Coast Texas South Padre Island Listing #4031

Mezquite House - South Padre Island, TX

41 reviews
Max. occupancy: 16 2 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 6 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 4 bathrooms 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Stunning Dog-Friendly Oceanview House with Free WiFi, Washer/Dryer - Near Beach

Looking for an oceanview South Padre Island vacation rental that will fit your large family all in one place? This fantastic, modern house has space for up to 16 guests, and even your favorite furry friend! The perfect place for that family reunion or company retreat, everyone in your group will be overjoyed when you first set foot in the Mesquite House.

Located on South Padre Island, 50 miles from Matamoros, Mexico and 297 miles from San Antonio, TX, this location is perfect for guests on both sides of the border. Also right across the street from beach access, you’ll be sun tanning and splashing around in the waves in no time.

Made up of an upper unit and a lower unit with private entrances that can be rented either separately or together, each floor of this home has two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, individual living areas, and space for eight guests (16 total if you rent both). This listing is for both units, but if you have a smaller group, consider renting one individually.

Enjoy spacious living rooms in both units, with enough room for everyone to stretch out, relax, and watch something on one of the flatscreen TVs, both equipped with cable and DVD players for movie nights. Remind everyone to bring their laptops along to access the free WiFi throughout!

The best chefs in your group will love cooking in one of the two bright kitchens with hardwood floors, granite countertops, and lovely white cabinets with silver fixtures, equipped with only the best appliances.

Guests staying on the upper level will enjoy a lovely balcony with views of the ocean, where you can enjoy a cup of coffee and listen to the sound of the waves crashing against the shore. On the lower floor, you’ll find a large deck. Relax in the porch swing while someone fires up the charcoal grill for a barbecue!

When it’s time to settle down for the night, all 16 guests will have plenty of sleeping options! The lower level has two bedrooms (one master bedroom with a king-size bed and another bedroom with three two-twin bunk beds). Upstairs, you’ll find another master bedroom with a king-size bed, a bedroom with two queen-size beds, and another sofabed.

Feel free to bring Fido along! This dog friendly home welcomes pets for an additional nightly pet fee.

Only a few blocks from plenty of shopping and restaurants like Wingstop, Whataburger, The Big Donkey, Padre Island Brewing Co., and much more, you’ll be in a perfect location to enjoy dining out, as well as the nearby nightlife. If that’s your idea of a good time on South Padre Island, you'll have plenty of room in your rental to get ready for a night out!

Of course, with your prime location right across the street from the beach, you can go right from your front door to the white sand of the beach, getting some Texas sun or swimming time! Don’t forget about the private washer/dryers back at your vacation rental to keep those swimsuits clean.

Traveling with a large group? Everyone will be more than comfortable in this wonderful Texas vacation rental on popular South Padre Island. Book today for ocean views, beach access, and the time of your life.
Please note, guests must be over the age of 25 to rent this home between March 1st and April 9th. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Permit # 2015-074748 and 2015-284009

City/town permit number: 2015-111300

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view

Water view





DVD player

Wireless router






41 reviews

Greg and Cindy M. May 2022
Beautiful beach house near the public beach access. Perfect for a family gathering.
Joan P. Jun 2021
Everything was fine until the AC stopped working
Sandra R. Jun 2021
Very close to the beach and had everything we needed
Ann & Ken F. May 2021
So close to the beach. We could come and go very easily. Fabulous accommodations that were nicely decorated.
Celeste L. Dec 2020
My 11yr old son and I stayed at this magical condo for a month to homeschool. We loved every minute of it, was like heaven for us! The condo itself is huge, very spacious, so much room and so beautifully decorated. Incredibly clean, spotless in fact, and filled with all the extra amenities from towels, sheets, blankets to soaps, shampoos and more. When it comes to the interior, the owners have literally thought of everything, the kitchen is so well-stocked and easy to use. Loads of closet space. Really really comfortable beds and pillows. Furniture all new and very comfortable. The best was the office loft space upstairs where my son did his homeschooling - so grateful for this!!!! We also had our Thanksgiving here with the neighbors and it was truly wonderful. The dining table extends, so there was so much room and with the fire crackling and the views of the trees outside, it was just so cozy. For entertainment, there are tons of games and puzzles, plus smart TV's in almost every room but most importantly, there are several walking paths right outside the door (plus sledding in the winter and cycling in the summer). Master and living room/dining room hav view of the mountains and trees which is so special. Parking super easy, lots of spaces right near front door. Incredibly safe area and locks are keypads so no worry about losing keys. Wifi was excellent. Also an xbox w/ two rechargeable controllers for the kids. This was amazing for my son!! I’ve seen a few different condos and they are definitely not all created equal. I highly recommend this one in every possible way. You will be so pleased with the experience, there are also lots of exterior amenities in Elkhorn area itself, plus you can walk to the golf course (where we sledded during the snowy season), to the ski lifts or to nearby hikes. We loved being a 5 minute drive from town, as very quiet and really nice people in the neighborhood but you can also walk to town via a lovely path for a bit more exercise, Ketchum is full of fantastic restaurants, shops, beautiful big library, or just go into town for dinner + drinks at the Sun Valley Inn or Lodge. So many great restaurants nearby actually, it was hard to choose and we did not manage to go to all of them. Locally there’s also swimming, tennis, bowling, ice skating, hiking, skiing, biking, yoga, cross country, fishing... everything is right here. Owners are extremely kind, generous, responsive and helpful and the local management will fix anything within minutes. For the price, there is no other place to book but here. We will be back again and again and again. :)
Irene M. Oct 2020
Upstairs: Water pressure in showers were not good. The dryer did not dry well. There were roaches in both condos. The downstairs reeked of cigarette smoke. Will not stay here again.
Manager response:
We appreciate your input, Irene, and are sorry to read you are not interested in returning. This home gets regular pest control to take care of the bugs, and we have verified the water pressure and dryer are working well. Thank you for staying with us!
Jean T. Oct 2020
We loved the location of this home. It was very close to the beach and easy to get to. The furnishings were nice and it was decorated beautifully. The only drawback was the cockroaches in the kitchen.
Manager response:
Hi Jean, we are very sorry that the pests found their way into the kitchen. We have passed along your concerns to the manager who has arranged for a pest professional to visit. We hope to host you again soon!
Marie S. Aug 2020
We loved how homey and cozy the house was, perfect for our big size family and enough rooms and space for privacy. both floors have the same floor plan. Its a 2nd row beach house, you can still see and hear the waves from the house. Even though the house is older, it def. feels like a beach summer rental and is perfect for the summer, i would recommend!
Karissa C. Aug 2020
Everything was beyond perfect!! Had Everything we needed!!

Only thing I'd say is the bathroom downstairs stunk alittle like sewer & the stovetop was almost impossible to work. Way too complicated to use!!!

But other than that, it was home away from home & felt like home. No big complaints just those small issues. Loved & surely enjoyed our stay!!!
Manager response:
Hi, Karissa! We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit! The stovetop is induction heated and requires specific cookware. We are purchasing more for guest use and will get the bathroom odor addressed as well. Thank you!
Rosemary S. Jul 2020
We booked this house prior to the pandemic. Over $3300 for 3 nights! The house fit us (10) but it is dated. A step up to the upstairs(outside) was loose. The cold water in a downstairs bath would not work (sink & toilet unusable) and it took 3 phone calls and 24 hours to get someone out to check on it. Everything else worked and it is close to beach. Just a little expensive for the time spent there and probably could have gotten a better deal had we cancelled and rebooked. My suggestion- update and respond to clients better!
Manager response:
We are glad you stayed with us, Rosemary, and are sorry to read you were not happy with us. Our phone times have been improved as things have calmed down and we have been able to get more staff onboard after the shutdown. The water for the downstairs bath has been turned back on, and the deck has been repaired. Thank you!
Kenyana B. Jun 2020
This home was suitable for my family celebrating my daughter turning 5. We loved the dining area on the first floor it was ideal for blowing out the candles. The location was amazing a quick walk to the beach close enough to catch the sunrise. We definitely look forward to returning
Michele E. May 2020
I'll start with the positives. The house is beautifully decorated, well cared for, in a perfect location to get to the beach on foot, and easy access to everything on SPI. We enjoyed the option to be able to rent both the top and the bottom to accommodate our large party.
However, we hit quite a few snafus along the way. Upon arrival, check in was not easy. The cleaning staff had locked the safety feature on the door, so while we had the code to unlock the home and gain access (and that code did indeed work), unfortunately because it was locked from the inside we had no way to gain entrance. Because this home is controlled through a rental company that meant for each issue we had to call the property rental company (rather than a private home owner) and phone times were easily 60-90 minutes each time we had to call. This means upon arrival we sat on the phone for 90 minutes before someone even answered to address our check-in while we had groceries and cranky kids after a long drive waiting to check in. Other snafus included our direct tv not working (once again a long hold time - followed by them having to connect with their local rep and then local rep having to come out to fix - so nearly half a day), our internet was terribly slow and would go out completely at random intervals, uncomfortable beds, and a fun day of our air conditioning not working (so once again another 90 minute hold call, and then they had to get a hold of someone locally to come fix - easily half a day of 85 degree temp meaning we had to find somewhere cool to hide out while we waited on hold, then for them to connect locally, then for the problem to be fixed). Then on the last day of which we had been granted late check out of 7pm, we started receiving calls and texts as to why we had not checked out yet at noon. Due to who knows what misunderstanding we started trying to vacate earlier than agreed upon, only to finally get a call back saying there was a miscommunication and we could indeed stay until 7pm. Needless to say by that point we had sort of packed up and started loading the car, so we left earlier than anticipated. The home is beautiful, so many cute details, but lots of other issues make this not a rental I would return to when we visit again.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize for the experience you had. The property manager has handled or is in the process of handling the front door, TV, air conditioner, and internet. We did offer a complimentary late check-out due to the issues you experienced, but that is not normally accepted at this house, so there was some confusion on that front. Again, we apologize for the frustrations you experienced while staying here and do hope to see you again.
Autumnmay K. May 2020
Great location, close to the beach, house is perfect for two families to share. Loved that there are separate entrances. We will return.
James G. Nov 2019
Place is awesome, 1 block from beach, 16 beds for everyone to have bed is awesome. Place is clean, only thing I can complain about is cockroaches found In 1 room, and they shower, or the toilet did not work in that room which was important for our kids who stayed in that room. Other than that it was a great place to stay for 4 days, almost perfect!!!
Manager response:
We are so glad to read you enjoyed your time here! We apologize the downstairs bathroom had been shut off and wish you had called as it is a very easy fix to get everything back up and running. We have advised the owner of your comments regarding the cockroaches. Thank you for staying with us!
Jennie M. Jul 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It was Perfect!!
Marion R. Jun 2019
Great location and good accommodations for a large group
Maria Eugenia S. Sep 2018
This house was perfectly located across the street from the ocean with ocean views from the 2nd floor. The decor is beach style and welcoming. The layout is really ideal if you have a large group with four bathrooms and four bedrooms and two living rooms and two kitchens. We really enjoyed our stay and I would totally rent this house again.
Iliasis M. Jul 2018
I was hosting a photography reunion/workshop and the Mesquite house was the perfect location and size for 14 ladies! Everything was gorgeous on the inside and there was plenty of room and beds for us all. We enjoyed the top balcony and everyone loved the swing benches. When we arrived we did find a handful of cockroaches and towards the 2nd day the bottom and top showers water pressure stopped working on us, but we are creative woman and made it work overall with the other 2 restrooms. The bottom front door also gave us many issues with staying closed, but again we didn't mind it.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there were any cockroaches in the home as it had just been cleaned that day. Sometimes guests accidentally shut off the water outside thinking it's a hose valve. Had we been notified, we could have addressed this during the reservation. Thanks!
Tamecka A. Jun 2018
The house was very nice on the inside with seemingly high-end appliances, however the water pressure throughout the entire property was weak (assumeably from the added outside shower-which was a nice feature) and the water had a funny smell after showering. The shower and bathroom faucets were extremely corroded as well.
The exterior of the property needs updating, however the views from the beach are nice as well as the multiple entries to all points of the house. The wrap around porch and multiple porch swings are nice features, as well as the fire pits, and provided BBQ pit. There are also wash rooms stocked with washer/dryer on both floors.
Being steps away from the beach, all and all, the house provided great accommodations for me and my family of 13. We really enjoyed our visit and would recommend the home to other families looking to enjoy a nice beach vacation.
Andres Z. Apr 2018
Close to ocean
Marissa G. Nov 2017
If you're looking for a nice spacious home to accommodate your big family, this is it. Within walking distance to the beach as well as restaurants and shops. Will definitely come back :)
Nicole G. Aug 2017
We had a group of 10 ranging from 2 years old to adults. This house is in the perfect location right across from beach access. Close to all the fun stuff on the island and quiet at night. Balconies are perfect to relax and enjoy the breeze and sunset/sunrise. Plenty of room for everyonr and both units are fully stocked with everything we needed. The stove was a little confusing but we figured it out 😁 We would definitely stay here again.
Rodrigo R. Jul 2017
All was great. he only inconvenience was trash was not picked up thoughout our whole stay.
Manager response:
We apologize for the oversight with the trash and wish the guest had called regarding the matter. We are glad to see everything else was enjoyable!
Melanie W. Jun 2017
We loved our stay at this very beautiful home. We would love to go back very soon. The beach was beautiful the amount of things to do is awesome. It's a 2 family home one full home upstairs and one full home down stairs.
David F. Nov 2016
Very close to the public beach access, which was awesome. It was less than 5 minute walk from beach house to actually being in the ocean! Very nice inside with lots of space. Staff was great to work with, I didn't have any issues.
Nicki J. Oct 2016
Really enjoyed our quiet time amongst the beach, and the home was really cozy. Few issues we encountered. Be ready to bring a puppy pad or something for your dog to use for the areas usually consist of stickers in which dogs with lots of hair will have to deal with frequent stickers. Also, be carefuly where you sit found several hazardous seating options. One being the upstairs chair not having screws in the legs and the downstairs the outdoor porch swing is collapsing in the center (wood needed to be replaced). The seafood (which is my love in life) in the area is just mediocre. We did enjoy the normal foods like wingstop, pizzahut, etc. Enjoyed the jet ski excursion. Be careful when venturing down towards the sand dunes in your vehicle my father's truck did get stuck! All in all the trip was just ok. I feel like m vacation was wasted and I could have enjoyed myself much more somewhere else, but if you are looking to just get away and relax this is the place.
Manager response:
The grass in the back of the home is short and perfect for dogs, but the front does have longer grass with some stickers in it. The swing is sound, and the other chairs will be inspected shortly for safety. As a friendly warning, while it is legal to drive on the beach, it is illegal to drive near the sand dunes - please be cautious! Thank you!
Irene M. Oct 2016
Nice, clean house with all the necessities. Will rent again.
Wilfrido G. Sep 2016
Glad I picked this condo for our stay. Very clean and beautiful! Friends and family all enjoyed the stay and next time we'all be renting the same unit. From start to finish Vacasa was very helpful and friendly. We recommend to others! Than you again!!
Tamara B. Jul 2016
I'm sure you'll be pleased with the location and distance to the Beach. Beautiful Sunrises and Sunsets on the Balcony or even at the kitchen window upstairs! Staff that is Available and Polite. Thursday and Friday night fireworks can be seen on the balcony upstairs and right there in the yard downstairs. We had the Entire Mesquite Home family of 10! Everyone pleased from ages in the 50's, Teens, 27yr old with 6yr.old and newly rescued family pup!! Try It!!, You'll Love It!! The Mesquite House became our Home away from Home! You can feel Love in the Atmosphere, that is Important To Me!! Real Talk Y'all!! (Lawton Oklahoma.. It was Worth The Drive Will Definitely Do This Home Again????????God Bless!
Chelsea T. Jul 2016
Very nice place to stay and great location!
Nancy C. Jun 2016
We had a great time, felt like we were at home. I would definitely stay here again.
Pamela F. Apr 2016
The house was amazing! Just like home.