USA Oregon Mt. Bachelor Sunriver Listing #290

Butternut 5 - Sunriver, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
110 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Updated Sunriver Home w/ Private Hot Tub & SHARC Passes for Pools - 2 Dogs OK

Find all the recreation and relaxation you could hope for at this perfectly located Sunriver home, a dog-friendly cabin tucked into the trees with a private hot tub and deck, passes to SHARC, and incredible resort amenities that include two golf courses, tennis courts, and 33 miles of mixed-use trails! This home has also been recently and thoughtfully updated to include a fully renovated kitchen with new appliances, all new living room and dining room furniture, new decks, new flooring, and new paint both inside and outside.

What's nearby:
This two-level home sits one mile north of the Village at Sunriver, nestled among the evergreens and adjacent to the resort's bike path (two adult-size cruisers are even provided). You'll find indoor/outdoor pools and a tubing hill at SHARC half a mile south. The tennis courts at Fort Rock Park are half a mile northwest, the slopes of Mt. Bachelor await 22 miles northwest, and you'll have your pick of the Woodlands and Meadows Golf Courses two miles north and south, respectively.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full, renovated kitchen
Up to two dogs are welcome for a nightly fee
Please note that train tracks are close by; children must be supervised outside

Please be aware that the Sunriver SHARC center has implemented new rules and regulations regarding occupancy, amenities, and access. Please see their website for more details. Guests do not have access to the SHARC Fitness Center.

Deschutes County Tax Certificate #77

County permit number: 001654

County tax number: 1654

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Bend Broadband


Cable : Bend Broadband

DVD player


Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Adult bikes

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared


Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs


110 reviews

Amber K. Jun 2022
Cute, quaint little place in Sunriver. Close to restaurants and shops. Loved that the SHARC passes were included. Bunk beds were helpful with kids. Enjoyed the hot tub, riding bikes and cooking in the open kitchen. First time in Sunriver and using Vacasa. The view in the back is right next to the railroad tracks. Trains were loud, would have been nice to know ahead of time. Beds were very uncomfortable, so much so that some members of our group chose to sleep on the couches. We loved that we could bring our fur baby too! There was a lot of dog hair on the comforters and rug from previous guests. The hot water does not last long, especially if you are running the washing machine or dish washer. We very much enjoyed our stay.
Debbie H. Apr 2022
The house was cozy and warm upon arrival. Great place to rest your head for a quick visit to Sunriver.
Kara D. Mar 2022
The home is comfortable and well appointed with the exception of terrible pots- all with loose handles or other dangers - and a front door knob that sticks and cannot be opened by kids or arthritic adults. The management was apparently on vacation during our stay, as we had multiple issues (ex they never sent the code to get in, no bikes, no propane for the grill) on total, spent over an hour and a half on hold at different times trying to reach someone for these various issues. The first two were reluctantly and rudely resolved, by the time we got to the propane issues they simply never answered the phone and never returned our messages. We gave up calling at that point. The home owner may want to renegotiate their contract with management. I wouldn't say here again with Vacasa in charge even if it was free.
Melinda Z. Mar 2022
Plenty of room to spread out for our family of 4. The location was great, we were able to walk to the village, SHARC and the basketball court at the park. We also enjoyed using the hot tub, especially when it snowed!
There were a few minor flaws , that I would expect with any older home , but they didn’t impact our stay.
Tess S. Oct 2021
We loved the hot tub, bikes and well stocked kitchen! Beds were comfy and patio furniture was nice. We loved the house!

Our only wish was that we had been able to check in before 4 pm and out after 10 am - between the late check in and early check out, we felt like we missed out on some moments of relaxation.

Thanks for a great stay!
LIISA S. Oct 2021
This was a great place for our family of 4 with plenty of space and everything we needed. The location was close to the SHARC, the Village and the park, we biked everywhere. 4 stars only because we were right next to the train track, which was fun to see during the day but not at 3am.
Michael R. Aug 2021
We loved this place. Great layout and wonderful location close to the SHARC and the village. The only downside was we couldn’t use the Cove pool since this isn’t a property rented through Sunriver and the pool that there were passes to in the house was closed, I assume due to covid.
Viviana V. Aug 2021
It was very close to the SHARC center and the village shopping center. However a little outdated and no AC.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Viviana. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the coziness and location of the home. We apologize for any confusion: this home is not advertised as coming with AC as an amenity. Please always check the amenity list to be sure that a home has everything that is important to you. We make every effort to ensure our home is reflected clearly and accurately through our listing information in order for guests to make informed rental decisions. Our photos and virtual tour provide an in-depth look at the home's layout and design. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!
Kimberly M. Jul 2021
I loved Sunriver and all the trails that go throughout the development. Every morning you can enjoy a run, bike ride or just walking throughout the development. I felt very safe in this area and the people are extremely helpful and friendly.

Not to mention you have passes to the waterpark that is close by, we got to enjoy an afternoon there and everyone had a blast (go early, cause it fills up quick). If we didn't have those passes, it would have costs us $80 for the day. A nice benefit with the rental.

The home is well stocked with everything you need. I appreciated having a washer/dryer in the home and the shower pressure was amazing! We had a little issue with the Wi-fi but one call to Vacasa and Aaron arrived within 15 minutes of our call and fixed it right away. We were so appreciative of the prompt service.

The place was perfect for the 4 of us and 2 boxers, may be tight with 8 people. The train was a non-issue and kind of fun to see/hear throughout our stay.

One suggestion would be to change out the queen bed down stairs. The mattress has done its time and needs to be replaced. But other than that, it was all good.
Manager response:
Hello Kimberly, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again!
Amanda E. Jul 2021
Great little place. Kitchen remodel was nice . A few windows were hard to open/close since no AC in house. The rest is a little outdated, but functional and comfortable. The jacuzzi was fantastic!
Denise H. Jun 2021
This was a perfect place for my family to create some wonderful memories. The Jacuzzi, kitchen and dog friendly -made this a perfect place for us. The setting is beautiful and kitchen easy to use. Having the train so close was pretty amazing. Not a terrible distraction, but it did run about 4 times in 24 hours. We would LOVE to stay here again. One bike got a flat and VACASA was quick to repair it for us!!!
Michelle C. May 2021
We loved the quiet space where this house was, even though the train tracks are close to the back yard. It was no big deal. Loved watching the deer mosey through the yard while we sat in the hot tub. The house was easy to find, close to restaurants, and the perfect size for our family of 5. The kitchen was well set-up, and we were able to easily access the grill and make our meals. Convenient washer/dryer in the kitchen area, towels for use of the hot tub. My younger one loved the bunk beds upstairs. Great house!
helena s. Apr 2021
The house is great and well furnished. location is nice and short walk to the village but definitely be ready for the trains! tracks are only 50 feet from the back of the house and trains seem to run multiple times every night
Crystal H. Feb 2021
This location was everything we needed. The trains were a bit of a nuisance, but not too bad. The downstairs bed was horrible and not sleepable for two. The bunkbed mattresses HAVE to be replaced. Our youngest could not even sleep on it. They were legit cot mattresses. We give it a four star because it was a great cabin in a great location. It had minor flaws that they can easily fix and they should.
Manager response:
Hi, Crystal! We are so glad the location worked well for your group. The owner will be advised of your comments regarding the beds so they can address them as they see fit. Thank you!
Michelle K. Dec 2020
House is smaller than many in Sunriver but also more affordable. We loved having a hot tub. Good layout for a family (2 bedrooms upstairs with jack & Jill bath) with another queen bed & bath downstairs. We had a minor plumbing leak while we were here and the maintenance was super responsive. If you come with small kids, be mindful of the dining room benches - they’re very tippy and heavy.
Rafael S. Dec 2020
We had a very good experience in this cozy Cabin for Thanksgiving. Location is excelent, walking distance from Sunriver downtown/restaurants/stores and about 15min drive from Bend.
Instructions were clear and we had no major issues. We would give it 5 stars!
Highlights: great hot tub, grill was clean and propane was available, living room is spacious and cozy, price was great
Downsides (no big issues): cleaning could be a little better, inside walls are super thin so you can hear others easily
Paul M. Oct 2020
Summary: we had a great time during our stay. We used the recreation passes to reserve a pickle ball court, we biked all around the area, and hiked a fair amount.
Cons: the beds need to be updated- the downstairs mattress is a sinkhole, upstairs bed is hard. The shower upstairs was ridiculously clogged and took hours to drain. And the floor was noticeable dirty with crumbs and pine needles when we arrived.
Interestingly enough, the train was really not an issue!
Manager response:
Hello, Paul! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and amenities during your stay! Thank you for your feedback and for bringing your cleanliness and maintenance concerns to our attention. We are working with our local staff to address the issues in this home and welcome this as an opportunity to improve the quality of experiences we provide for our future guests. We hope to host you again!
Sandra A. Jul 2020
The layout of the house was perfect for our party of 6. We liked the openness of the living room, dining room and kitchen. Plenty of room for multiple cooks and people to visit.
Courtney B. Feb 2020
Perfect little getaway and everything you need! So many comforting little touches and the SHARC passes was a major bonus! Highly recommend:)
Ruby E. Jan 2020
A great place for a family get-together. 8 adults stayed comfortably (4 must be comfortable with sharing a room). We loved the hot tub and wood stove after chilly ski days. Plenty of firewood provided. The train is loud but not terribly disruptive for sound sleepers. The place had a great layout for cooking family dinners, playing games, and watching a Seahawks game - it was a bonus that you could see the TV from the hot tub ;) overall, would recommend to anyone looking for a place for a large group on a tighter budget.
Karinda B. Dec 2019
Private hot tub, reliable WiFi, convenient location....this retro cozy cabin offers access to all your Central Oregon adventures. The train is added entertainment.
Brandie W. Dec 2019
I loved the location and less than a mile away from Sharc and fitness center. The house is an amazing home feeling. Definitely will come back.
Sean H. Sep 2019
Excellent location and house. The trains come by mostly in the evening and night but don’t blow horns. Some may not like this but we thought it was fun to watch them roll by. Good kitchen but limited cookware supply. Might want to bring the pan that makes your dinner work. Otherwise great. Only downside was hot tub thermostat could not really be controlled. water was too hot and then too cold. Still, great place. Would rent again.
Lars R. Aug 2019
It was amazing for us to stay in. The passes to SHARC were very easy to use and saved us a bunch of money! Would recommend to anyone!
Casey M. Jul 2019
We had a great stay! Worked well for two families. Two bedrooms are upstairs, where I stayed in one with our 3 month old and my husband stayed in the other with our 3 year old. The train didn’t bother us. I liked that there were no houses behind us, was quite peaceful. The big dining table was great, all 6 of us could easily sit down and eat together. The only bummer for us what discovering the kitchen was pretty minimally stocked. No casserole-sized baking pan (I needed a 9x13 pan but wasn’t there. I thought that was pretty standard for a kitchen), no sheet pans, and a shortage of larger bowls. We made it work though.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Casey! We are delighted this home suited your family so well. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we’ll be sure to pass your comments about adding additional kitchen supplies onto our management team for consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Barbara H. Jul 2019
We loved or stay at this lovely cabin, convenient to all the amenities in Sun River. Jump on a bike and go anywhere in the village. The hot tub was perfect for the after-hiking days. The only negative feedback I have is that there are train tracks which run directly behind the property, and being a light sleeper, I would awake in the early AM to the train rolling through.
Rachelle D. Mar 2019
Very clean! I have stayed at this house before and after the remodel, and the remodel is very nice!!
Gina B. Mar 2019
Clean, spacious, well equipped and plenty of firewood!
Jenny N. Jan 2019
This cabin was comfortable & had all the things a family needs to relax & keep kids occupied...the hot tub is a HIT!
Jeffrey H. Nov 2018
Loved this place. Fireplace was fantastic. House was very clean.
Dawn L. Sep 2018
Close to the village and sharc, but private backyard area with hot tub, too. Loved that it was also pet friendly.
Siegmar P. Apr 2018
We had great family time in this cabin, and the little ones LOVED the train right behind the property!
Tom S. Jan 2018
The train track is way close and the train goes very fast and is noisy at all hours of the day
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest did not enjoy the train. Some of our guests enjoy the novelty of it, but we understand not everyone will.
Margaret B. Dec 2017
I had read recent reviews prior to arriving. This is the fifth home we have rented in Sunriver. I found none of the previously described issues when we arrived. The house was clean. The beds were comfortable. The furniture was in good condition. The floors and counters were clean. The kitchen was reasonably well supplied. The trains did not bother us, but you do notice them. The hot tub and deck were in good condition. For the price and the location, I would recommend this place to friends and family.
Sarah J. Aug 2017
This house was amazing! Our family of six had plenty of room to relax. It's located very close to the village center and SHARC and having the passes included redefined our trip! We brought bikes and were able to use the two bikes they provided for my parents. It was a great stay. We highly recommend!
Karen F. Jul 2017
Time spent here was fun and very enjoyable, we were surprised by the train but got used to it. The convenience of being close to everything was great!
Melinda C. Jul 2017
We stayed for 3 nights and with all of the fees you pay for this and that it ended up costing around $1400.00. You would think the owner would use some of that money to spruce the place up a bit. The surrounding area is beautiful. Loved the walking/biking trails and shopping area. The SHARC passes are a nice bonus, although we didn't use ours. Close to Bend. The house was really dated and it did take away from our experience. We are generally very easy to please, but were disappointed. The floors/carpets were dirty. Stains on the floors. Musty furniture, sagging beds. Oh, and the train! The railroad tracks are right behind you and run all day and night. Woke me up an average of 3 times per night, with blaring horns. Unfortunately, we would not stay here again.
Manager response:
We understand their frustration with the close proximity of the train tracks. Our apologies for not being able to control this situation. The home has been renovated both inside & out, including new appliances, furniture, paint and a deck. Thank you.
Kelly R. Jul 2017
Our group of 6 had a great time and it was perfect for our stay. We had a great time at the SHARC even though we were the oldest people there without kids. It was easy to get to and from Bend - be prepared it's a 20 minute drive. The train freaked us out the first night but eventually we got used to it.
Asa M. Jun 2017
Absolutely loved this house. Perfect, clean, cozy & great location. We will be back!
John H. Jun 2017
Location within 30 feet of railroad tracks that passed by 3 times throughout the night was a problem and refer without ice dispenser a bit outdated
James B. Jun 2017
This location is spacious, clean and in a very nice spot. I would stay here again, and I am a bit picky.
Carol R. Feb 2017
What we did like. The beds were in good shape. The train was not a big deal. The wood stove works great at heating up the house.
Hannah C. Jan 2017
Great house! It was clean and had everything we needed. Train was definitely not an issue.
Derrick N. Dec 2016
We really like the train coming by. Everyone liked using the hot tub and there is plenty of room for everyone in a small place.
Tom & Bev C. Sep 2016
We enjoyed our stay
Ken B. Sep 2016
This rental was one of the most inexpensive in the area and within a mile of the pool and resort shop area. Perfect for about 6 people.
Alan G. Aug 2016
We have rented this cabin 3 or 4 times and continue to think it is just about the best value in Sunriver. It is super close to the SHARC pool and recreation area and comes with 8 passes, which is at the top of the children's list. It is dog friendly, which is at the top of the dogs list. Has a decent hot tub and three rooms which is at the top of the adult's list. Like some of the older Sunriver properties it has some quirks, slightly dated, train goes by about three times a day. But with those things in mind you still would be hard pressed to find a better value in Sunriver. Last year we left a puzzle signed by our family and were delighted to see that others had left notes on the box of the puzzle. We left a new one this year, so be sure enjoy the puzzle and sign the box!
Ann O. Aug 2016
The Sharc passes are a huge asset. The location (even though by the railroad tracks) is good! The house is pretty worn but what would you expect with a rental...if you had lots of nice fancy stuff it would be hard to rent it out. It was very comfortable for us and our grandkids. Plenty of room.
Denise & Walt W. Jul 2016
We enjoyed our stay in Sunriver greatly. The house was conveniently located near the shops, the water park, and the bike path. The property management was friendly and accommodating. We loved having our big chocolate lab on vacation with us. The hot tub was enjoyable, however the train was not. The house lacked some cleanliness and needs some updating -(as always you get what you pay for).
Kayli D. Jun 2016
Great stay at a reasonable price!!!
Anders & Brandi B. May 2016
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider renting this house again. Cons: House was dusty, mattresses were a bit uncomfortable, and the bedrooms could use some fresh comforters. There were also a few too many giant ants for my liking. Pros: Spacious, bunk beds, hot tub, bikes, reasonable price, and all major surfaces were very clean. We could walk or bike to village, SHARC, and Fort Rock Park. House is right next to the train track, and several trains barreled through at night, thus making it difficult to sleep with windows open. Didn't bother our kids, though.
Patrick H. Mar 2016
We really enjoyed the location and overall aesthetic of the house. My girlfriend didn't particularly like the trains coming by at night, but I wasn't bothered by it. The hot tub was also nice to relax in on cold, snowy nights.

I would have liked to have more cutting boards and sharper knives, but I know that's pretty common for vacation rentals like this one. It would also been nice to have some dry firewood - the stack outside is improperly covered so all the wood is soaked (though it seems this is also common for other Sunriver cabins). My last gripe is that the long couch in the main room has one side that is broken so it slants a little. I was still able to take a nice nap on it, though, so I can't complain too much.

All in all, we had a great time. Thanks!
Manager response:
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback; the Property Manager will look into replacing/providing the kitchen supplies and ready firewood.
Kelsey W. Feb 2016
Vacasa is an easy, friendly and efficient vacation property rental agency.
William B. Feb 2016
Griffin R. Jan 2016
A great house, great area
Steve S. Oct 2015
Good for the budget conscious. Property does back up to railroad tracks, but not many trains pass (and no whistles). Could use a few basics like iron & ironing board; Sunriver is also a conference site, and that's why I was in town.
Danielle W. Sep 2015
Everything about this weekend getaway was perfect. The reservation process was incredibly easy. From the moment we walked in the door we felt "at home" yet still on vacation. It was clean, comfortable, and had all the luxuries of home. The hot tub was a treat to wake up to and also finish our day in. Our next trip to Sunriver MUST be spent in this cabin again. THANK YOU!
Brady H. Aug 2015
We loved the location of this house; it is very close to the SHARC and the Village. Let's discuss the trains as I've seen a lot of people already have. If you are not a deep sleeper, those things are loud and sometimes shake the house. Our kids slept through all of it but the adults did not. The hot tub was a great feature too and actually sitting it in and watching the trains go by was kind of fun. This house was perfect for our family!
Edward H. Jul 2015
The house was perfect for our family, 2 adults, 4 kids, and sonny our small dog. House was clean and comfortable and close to village and the Shark water park. If you're looking for a place where you can just relax, barbecue, and enjoy time with you're family, this house is a good choice.
Connie W. Jun 2015
Stayed here with kids and older grandkids. Worked great for us. As for the train, grandpa loved it but it flies by really fast so watch the kiddos and dogs. Kids were able to easily bikes to SHARC and we all used the bike paths a lot! The SHARC passes were a big draw for our family. Property needs some updating but for our needs, we were pleased and would do it again. (Bring your own frying pans)
Stephanie L. Apr 2015
We were happy with this property! It is close to train tracks and trains ran through late at night and the bbq did not work well but other than that it was clean and peaceful! It was worth the money! It was off season so we did not use the Shark passes but we want to plan another trip in the summer at this location. It was only 15 min drive to Bend which was also a huge plus!
Travis L. Mar 2015
My wife and I recently stayed in this property. Other than the train tracks that feel as though they ran through the back yard making for very loud trains passing through the property, sometimes all hours of the night, we had no other complaints.

The house was clean and well prepared for our arrival. It was well furnished with all the basic living and cooking items to make it seem homely ans comfortable. There are a ton of things to do in and around Sun River and we will be back soon!
Manager response:
Thank you for this review. The train tracks are definitely a nuisance, and I am glad that you enjoyed the home with it's furnishings and cleanliness. Thank you for choosing Vacasa.
Mary L. Jul 2014
The house was clean and roomier than expected, however it was also closer to the train tracks than expected and yes, they do run at night. Other than the train, the location was close to the village and sharc, and it is right on the Pac Crest course. There are areas of Sunriver that will be more quiet and away from traffic noises.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the home to be more spacious than expected. We appreciate you mentioning the train. Most guests do enjoy the train but light sleepers might want to cautious.
Richard G. Jun 2014
Overall, a very nice, cozy place. Had a slight issue with hot tub, but one quick call and was handled. Enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for this review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the SHARC passes that were included with your reservation. The aquatic center is a great place for families to enjoy all that Sunriver has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again!
Heidi T. Mar 2014
My all adult family of 8 people really liked 5 Butternut. We were looking for a cheaper rental and a great value. We got just that. The hot tub was on the fritz for a little bit but luckily the handy fellows in our party fixed it right up. The most negative comment I heard most about the house was the comfort of a few of the beds. The living room is a little small for 8 people but we made it work by pulling the dining room table chairs over for cards and fun. The house is indeed a little closer to the railroad tracks than it looks on the map. We heard it several times, especially during the night. But we are a pretty easy going group so it didn't bug us too much. Overall this was a great value for the price, especially compared to some of the pricier places in Sunriver. I would stay here again as long as we brought a few extra mattress pads for some of the beds and our own frying pans :) Thanks 5 Butternut!
Melissa B. Nov 2012
This was our families first stay at Sunriver and we really enjoyed it. The home was nice and had plenty of room and sleeping for the six of us. It was with in easy walking distance to the SHARC as well as the village shops. It is also really close to the railroad tracks, which was a little loud the first night but we didnt notice much after that and the kids had fun counting how many cars each one had. over all we had a great first time here and would definitely stay here again.
cassandra s. Jul 2012
My husband and I stayed here with my parents (grandma and granpa) and our 1 and 1/2 year old son and our black lab. We had a great time! The property is very close to SHARQ and the sunriver mall. We were nervous about the train... it never woke us and our son loved watching it go by... but we did not let him play outside as there is no fence between the yard and tracks. This ended up being a non issue as he had plenty of oppertunity to play, swim, walk, and bike every day. This was a plain little vacation house but we had a very relaxing and fun trip!
Annie S. May 2012
This home isn't super fancy but has a fabulous location to the new SHARC, easy to walk to and from and we really enjoyed the train out back as entertainment for our kids, plus the hot tub is great since it isn't hidden behind a fence.