USA Oregon Pacific City Cape Kiwanda Listing #286

The Kiwanda Surf House - Pacific City, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
53 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Ocean view home w/ wrap-around deck & high-end furnishings - steps to the beach!

Fill your days with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Haystack Rock when you escape to this beautiful Pacific City home, an airy, light-filled retreat with an expansive wrap-around deck, a beach access point right across the street, and a wondrous location for exploring local restaurants, galleries, and natural wonders!

What's nearby:
This home sits across Ocean Drive from Pacific City's wide, sandy beach, with west-facing windows that frame incredible sunset views. You'll be half a mile (across the Nestucca River) from downtown Pacific City, one mile south of Pelican Brewing's beachfront patio and Cape Kiwanda State Natural Area, and one mile north of Bob Straub State Park. You'll also find horseback riding opportunities at Green Acres Beach and Trail Rides a quarter-mile south, and gorgeous views along the Three Capes Scenic Loop.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with a dishwasher

County permit number: 851-16-000038

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view

Water view

Beach access





DVD player

Wireless router



Gas grill : Private


53 reviews

Liz E. Aug 2021
NEVER RENT THIS HOUSE until they spend the time and money to fix it. Very Disappointing is just the beginning! It all started with the fact that my friend recommend that I read the reviews on this beautiful house I had secured in February for our Annual Girls Trip to Pacific City OR. 4 moms and 4- 16 year old best friends. I read the reviews. I decided since I am a celiac I had better bring my kitchen in order to not get sick. I love cooking so this was not a problem. Upon Arrival to home – we found that the home was clean but very worn out – it was lipstick on a pig. There were 4 holes in the walls from doorknobs had gone through the drywall, Towel bar was ripped off the hinges in bathroom, Light switches were either broken or not working at all, Light Bulbs burnt out, Door locks/knobs not working - locked us out of house, large window next to front door fell out of its holdings and dropped 4 inches until my friend caught it, Window handles were snapped off of their frames in 4 separate occurrences, Bathroom fan sounded like a freight train, the basement had a distinctive musty old smell to it, the garage was unusable for parking (like instructed in the listing) and then there was the Kitchen. Refrigerator Broken, Dishwasher pretends to work but doesn’t wash any dishes, No Pots to boil corn, Missing Coffee pot – used a 2 qrt boil pan to catch coffee in the morning, Cabinet Doors came off the hinges and there was only enough silverware to serve 4 people. After we moved over $700 of groceries into the refrigerator – it stopped working all together. At this point I had “McGyvered” everything that I could to make things work and get by but having the fridge not work was my tipping point. I called and Wrote to Vacasa. They were very responsive. Within the hour Will came by and tried to help. Said he was not able to fix things and would call his boss – Mason. Within 2 hours Mason Came over. Now – Mason and Will were great guys and I enjoyed working with them. They are NOT the problem here – the problem lies with the OWNER of this home. I was Charged $3700 for 6 nights. The owners have never put a penny back into this home. We all tried fiddling with the gauges to get the compressor to turn on but it just wouldn’t stay on – so after 2 days of texting mason the ever increasing temperature – 59 degrees was the highest.. Will and Mason came over to move the “Old” refrigerator upstairs and turned it on in the corner of the Dining Room. I now have 2 refrigerators – I put my meat (that had been on ice in coolers for 2 days) into the new fridge. Moved all the higher end foods to new fridge and kept the condiments and lower priced items in broken fridge. I lost 2 full days of being on the beach because I had to keep fixing crap in the house. 2 days I will never get back. There were 2 newer deck chairs on the deck and the other two were old rusty and broken. The Bar B Q grill didn’t work – ever. The dining room chairs were broken. Three of the tops of the chairs came off in my hands as I moved them to sit down. 2 days pass with no incidences. Then on the 2nd to last night before we leave, I hear screaming from the basement bathroom – There was WATER FLOWING from the CEILING onto the floor. My Friend was in the shower at the time upstairs. I called Mason to let him know that there is a water leak. He said he would have someone take a look- I said don’t bother- this is bigger than you! That night the toilet was starting to overflow - I had to plunger it on 2 separate occasions. If I could have stopped payment on my credit card for the rent I would have. I had a million-dollar view and a piece of crap house. This completely ruined my vacation. I will never get those days back. If you are a cancer survivor, you know what I mean.
Manager response:
Hello Liz, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear about the maintenance issues you encountered that negatively impacted your stay. This is certainly no the vacation experience we want to provide our guests and we see that our team did its best to fix as many items as possible while you were there. Our home manager confirms the fridge is working well and cooling as needed. If guests put too much food at once and constantly open it is very hard to cool down and the compressor can overheat. The second fridge was moved to give the new one a break that relieved the issue. The burned-out lightbulb was replaced. There was one outlet that was on a switch and our manager showed how to use it. The grill is in working order and has been used multiple times after your stay. The shower has been sealed. Both toilets are working fine. All light switches work and we replaced one dimmer switch. While the garage is full there is plenty of parking in the driveway. We apologize for the issues you encountered as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Lori W. Jul 2021
It was a nice location. Close to the Beach and all of the local stores. House had a GREAT lay out, but it did lack kitchen appliances like a coffee maker. It needs TLC but if you can over look that GREAT family home
Manager response:
We have sent your feedback to the local staff for further review. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement and will work diligently with the homeowner to make any updates and repairs. We look forward to hosting you for your next vacation!
Laura B. Jul 2021
The views were spectacular and the management staff was really responsive to all of our issues!
Bert F. Jun 2021
The location of this house was great- only few steps from the beach. Living room area has ocean view and open high ceiling so it was fun to gather and hang out. However the kitchen was very poorly stocked. Pans and pots had some food stuck on them and they all looked like someone went to a thrift shop 20 years ago and never re-stock with anything. Dishwasher didn’t work right so we had to hand wash the dishes again. Downstairs has a full bathroom and bunk beds, very convenient for families but the whole floor smelled like urine and I felt bad for my friends who took up that floor. Over all, We weren’t impressed. Sad that we paid this kind of money for the house in this kind of condition.
Manager response:
Hello, Bert. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We are working with the owner on replacing the dishwasher along with upgrading the kitchenware. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!
Jennifer J. Jun 2021
The view of the Haystack Rock and Cape Kiwanda is stunning. The living room furniture is nice. The walk to the beach is short. The walk to Cape Kiwanda is easy either on the beach or through town. The house was reasonably clean.

However, the house heats up from the afternoon sun through the windows, and the heater won't turn off no matter the temperature setting of the thermostat. The ceiling fan sounds like a train. The barbecue was not available (which was communicated to us and was fine with us). The dryer was broken, which was a KNOWN problem to the maintenance person but was NOT communicated to us until we called to report the problem. My uncle had to take his load of wet washed clothes to a laundry mat the next day to rewash them and dry them. One window-frame was broken and barely held in place. The bathroom fan sounds like a train. The refrigerator sounds like a train. There were only 5 dining room chairs (instead of the 6 shown in the pictures). The downstairs bedroom window, which has NO COVERING, catches the full morning sun, so the kids were awoken extra, extra early. The front large burner on the stove top was only partially functional. There is no lid for the large skillet. There are no serving-size bowls. The dishwasher left food and detergent on the dishes.

The maintenance person told us there is a laundry mat in town near the kite shop (helpful, since Google said the nearest laundry mat was in another town) and said that he would request a partial refund for us due to the dryer issue. However, I have not heard anything about a partial refund as of yet.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Jennifer. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not the pleasant and relaxing vacation for which we strive to facilitate. We are so sorry to hear the home was not a comfortable temperature for you. The thermostat has been replaced and is now working properly. The dryer has also been replaced and the window frame is on order. We have made our local team aware of your additional concerns and they will work diligently to address them. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement and we hope to have another opportunity to impress you in the future.
Gracie H. May 2021
The view was amazing! The home however needs a lot of TLC. Their are a lot of things that didn’t work properly (bathroom shower, fans in the room and kitchen area, grills were in bad conditions and too dirty to use, dishes were dirty, trim was broken).
Manager response:
Hi, Gracie! We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness concerns you encountered during your stay with us. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. We are disappointed to see that this concern was not reported to us during your stay as we would have been happy to assist.We have passed your feedback along to our housekeeping staff so they are aware of your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future!
Dan M. May 2021
This house is perfect for a quick getaway on the coast. It’s one house off the beach and you can see the ocean from the living room and hear the ocean at night. It’s nothing fancy, just a great location and comfy beds.
Ana M. May 2021
Only the area nice neighborhood
Samantha H. Apr 2021
The location is great, the view is gorgeous, the furniture was comfortable. The home needs basic maintenance and a new cleaning crew. Missing baseboards and moldings, the home has multiple paint imperfections throughout, the ceiling fan in the living room makes a horrible noise- so we couldn’t run it, this made it extremely difficult to regulate the temperature in the home. One of the dining chair was full of sand upon our arrival, garbage paper and games were under the ottoman in the living room area. The down stairs has a peculiar odor and is far cooler than the rest of the home. The downstairs bedroom is missing shades/blinds on the window. The window by the front door appeared to be broken or loose. The bbq on the back porch is quiet the embarrassment and should be thrown away.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The photos makes the home looked and feel much cleaner than it was- I expect wear and tear on rental type properties especially at the beach. What I can’t get past is the huge cleaning fees assessed to renters and then arriving at a “dirty” home.
Manager response:
Hi, Samantha! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this valuable feedback! Please note that this doesn't fall in line with our cleaning standards. We have reached out to our local housekeeping staff with these issues to ensure that they don't become a reoccurring problem. We do hope that we have another chance in the future to impress you!
Amy l. Mar 2021
The windows are all broken, not able to open or close. The kitchen needs more pots and pans. All of them are so old, scratched and some even rusted. No baking trays for use in oven. The lower level has no heating system, so cold when taking a shower and sleeping downstairs bedroom and bonus room. The garage needs to be cleaned, not enough room to park car. The blinds are missing in the living room. The house needs more lights. The kitchen and living room view is good, very nice watching sunset. Very close to beach access.
Kelly M. Nov 2020
The view and beach access are awesome.
Jennifer B. Oct 2020
We loved being so close to the beach, which you can see from the house and is just a 1 minute walk down a few houses to the public access point. It's a really nice beach too and not crowded since it is away from public access. We enjoyed sitting around the kitchen table and on the couches together. A nice place to gather. Kitchen is not well stocked, which made cooking even simple meals difficult. All appliances worked well and the mattresses were comfortable. The house was clean, but it is worn. There were nice and plentiful towels, but the pillows were flimsy. We really enjoyed our stay in the home despite it feeling like the home could use some maintenance.
mike f. Aug 2020
Great spot, wonderful view.
Patrick H. Aug 2020
The house looks a lot more polished in the pictures than it actually was. There were a variety of maintenance issues: broken towel bar and crown molding, missing window blinds/curtains, a window that can't open without falling off the house, a broken knob on the gas grill. Also many of the dishes in the cabinets had caked on food - i assume due to a not very effective dishwasher. But the house has a great layout that worked well for our family. The beds and couches were very comfortable. And you can't beat walking access to a great beach in a gated community. All that said I would stay there again.
Manager response:
Hi, Patrick! We are so glad to hear you would consider staying with us again despite some issues. The towel bar and crown molding will be taken care of by maintenance as soon as possible, and the grill has been removed. Thank you!
Eric H. Jul 2020
There was only 1 deck chair available (the other was broken), very few glasses in the cupboard and the grill is on its last legs. Luckily we had a lighter to light the grill and brought chairs. Otherwise we wouldn't have been able to use the deck
Manager response:
Eric, thank you for your review. We apologize if there were deck chairs missing and that the grill was not functioning well. Our guest service agents are available 24 hours a day and if any issues arise we encourage guests to let us know so that we can assist. We will let the local staff know to check the kitchen supplies. We hope to host you again soon.
James O. Oct 2019
The view from the house is spectacular. Although not on the beach it is only one row of houses away with an easy walk to reach the beach. Pacific City and Cape Kiwanda are wonderful.
Yana B. Aug 2018
We enjoy this house and have rented it twice this summer, the first time was amazing and perfect, however this second time it was very dirty, sand in the bedrooms, stains on the counters, fridge was not wiped down, an outlet cover was broken, the Harry Potter like door with no stairs was open, obviously the previous renters trashed the place and looks like the housekeeper didn’t have time to do her job. The door knob was also broken to the patio which worked fine two weeks prior. The house needs some repairs, windows don’t work right and no blinds on the sides for privacy at night. Also adding a couple more chairs to the deck would be nice, we brought our own though. Great place just needs some repairs.
Manager response:
We've spoken with the housekeeping staff on how sandy the house can get due to being directly on the beach and how important it is to wipe the house down counters,floors etc. The outlet has been replaced as well as the broken door knob leading to the deck, and the trim across from the front door is repaired. The odd door that gives access to the attic is closed now and blinds are being ordered. We hope to have another chance to impress!
Lucie H. Jul 2018
The place was beautiful !!! 💕we loved every minute of it. Only thing was I had to clean windows because we couldn’t see the beautiful view, but everything else was awesome! 😀
N B. Jul 2018
Great place we enjoyed it. Only complaint, which wasn’t a big deal but there are no blinds for privacy at night and only one chair on the deck. Luckily we had brought our own beach chairs.
Michael c. May 2018
close to everything!
Larry S. Jan 2018
First time at Pacific city, house close to beach, close to restraunts either 20 minute walk to three restaurants and about 10 minute drive to several others, short drive to Tillamook.
Amber M. Nov 2017
My family and I enjoyed our time at this house. Comfy furniture, high ceilings, open layout and big windows. Really loved the open kitchen layout. Just didn't have enough dining chairs, could have used some extra fold up ones. Cleaning was mediocre, floor was dusty and sandy, dishes dirty. Several light bulbs were burned out, seemed like it't not kept up very thoroughly. Hard to see in the dark coming up the stairs without porch lights. Bathroom heat doesn't work but they provided a space heater. Curtains missing from several windows so not super private. We could look past the inconveniences to be so close to the beach with a great view and comfortable furniture.
Patty K. Nov 2017
Nice views of the coast! Liked the surf house theme inside. It was great that the house was inside a gated community, we had the beach all to ourselves.
Deborah M. Oct 2017
We are not very picky about decor when it comes to getting a great location, however basic up keep is expected. This place is very tired looking, cabinets falling off in the kitchen, missing kick board in the bathroom, cobwebs everywhere, curtains are transparent, kids didn't want to stay downstairs because so many spiders and cobwebs - all linens need to be replaced. Too bad because this is a great location with a pretty good view.
Frank G. Sep 2017
Karry G. Aug 2017
the house is very nice with lots of room and very comfortable. The bunk beds need better mattresses but the kids didn't complain, so it was fine.

We enjoyed our stay and especially the view from the livingroom. The downstairs was perfect with the playroom and bedroom for the kids.
Denise M. Aug 2017
The location is nice but beach access is a bit challenging. The sand piles so high you have to climb a mini dune to reach the beach.
Robert G. Jul 2017
Great location, central to both Tillamook and Lincoln City areas. Quiet neighborhood with great views. Some minor maintenance items in the house need attention but overall a fun place to stay.
Cali B. Jul 2017
Really comfortable, some small things could be done to make it even more comfortable but they are minor. Really great location. Clean house.
Paul H. Jul 2017
This house worked well for our family. However, the pictures belie the true aesthetics of the house. The above pictures show a beautiful house, but as soon as you see it in person it is obviously a rental. Aesthetically, thehouse is in poor condition and needs some attention. The two Queen mattresses are in good shape. The twin bunk bed mattresses need to be replaced. One Queen bedroom is well appointed the other is not. My biggest complaint is the lack of real curtains in both queen rooms. It was impossible to sleep in! As soon as the sun comes up it is in your eyes. All the window screens are missing. Half of the blinds in the front room are missing. But..... if you want the ocean, sand and beach experience for your kids and family you would be hard pressed to find a better location. My family enjoyed our stay.
Karina N. Sep 2016
Took my daughter and a few friends for her birthday. Had a great weekend and didn't want to leave!
Bailey B. Jul 2016
Location can't be beat! ...but the property could use some updates and a good cleaning.
Amy D. Jun 2016
Awesome view and deck, so close to the beach! The cookware and fridge seemed on their last legs. Would stay here again.
Tamatha H. Mar 2016
The view was amazing - the house needs to be seriously updated, or at least more accurately advertised.
The beds were very comfy - the bonus room downstairs is probably great in the summer, however there is no heat source so this time of year is was completely useless. Not to mention the cable didn't work on the tv down there.
The kitchen didn't have any bowls for salads, baking dishes to cook in the oven with, no dish towels or dish cloths.
The fridge is missing a drawer, and the fridge door is missing the bracket on the inside for storing items, and it leaked horribly. The kitchen sink faucet leaks. The upstairs bathroom shower head needs to be replaced - overall the appliances need a serious overhaul.
Manager response:
We are so happy that you enjoyed the view. We really appreciate your detailed feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve the experience that our guests have and we have shared what wrote here with our property manager. Thank you again for choosing Vacasa.
Alysa B. Mar 2016
My family went during spring break to stay on the Oregon coast. We were delighted to walk into this home and call it our digs for our stay! Well furnished and maintained. Amazing ocean view. We will be back!!!
Colleen O. May 2015
We had a great weekend and the house was adequate, but if you have nine people in your party - be advised... The house does indeed have 2 sets of bunks and 2 queen beds. It sleeps 8, not 9. It used to have room for a 5th kid in the bunk room, but they have removed the twin bed that used to be between the bunks. You can still see the 5th bed in the photos, and if you call, representatives will suggest that the bed is there since it is clearly there in the photos, but it isn't. If you have 8 people, this house will work for you, and the view is great.
Manager response:
We apologize for the confusion with the sleeping arrangements; we did provide an air mattress for this stay to provide a sleeping space for the ninth guest. We have since changed the maximum occupancy of the home to eight. We hope your group enjoyed this homey vacation rental. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Angela L. Oct 2013
We have the joy of staying here in September during a huge wind storm. It was amazing to have a front row seat to the storm. The home itself was perfect - clean and cozy. We would definitely stay here again.
Bryan N. Apr 2013
Went here for my 30th celebration. Unbelievable time, pacific city is way cool.
Pam A. Apr 2013
It was my 50th birthday and we had a family get together.We had so much fun! Friday afternoon everyone arrived and we had a BBQ on both night's This place was amazing. We had a great view of the beach. Played cards late into the night.The kitchen was fully stocked with anything that we needed for cooking.Saturday was a nice sunny day. We spent part of the day playing on the beach and then back to the house for a nice relaxing night. We will be back! Thank you Pam
Manager response:
Happy Birthday! We are glad the weather cooperated and we hope to have you back on your 51st!
Lysandra S. Apr 2013
Easy access to the beach, short walk to town, but very quiet location. Kitchen was clean and well stocked. Living area comfy and plenty of space. Our group had 6 adults & a baby. We felt like we had plenty of space, but I wouldn't recommend the bunkroom for adults.
Overall, I'd definitely rent this house again--- especially at non-peak rates.
Janet B. May 2012
We recently stayed 4 nights for Memorial weekend 20120 and had a great time. The view was wonderful. The beach access and house location is very convenient for beach combing, walking to town and playing in ocean. Not many outside chairs and BBQ is not in working order, but easy to bring your own folding chairs. Beds are comfortable. Stereo is a nice addition. House worked well for older people that did not have to use many stairs, only to enter and exit house. Thank you.
Darcy M. May 2012
The House was AMAZING!! It is in a really good location, great views! Everything was perfect!!! Except for the natural alarm clock of "Woody" the woodpecker that is residing bird blocking in the South/East corner of the house. lol Besides that it was the best weekend I have ever had at the beach before!!! Will be going through your company again, for sure!!! Thank you very much.
Janice H. Apr 2012
A place you can go and relax, comfortable, easy access to wonderful beach. Beds comfortable, but limited amenities.