USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Gleneden Beach Listing #23

Neptune's Beach - Gleneden Beach, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
132 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 1 bedroom 2.5 bathrooms 2 dog max  (20 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Rustic Oceanfront Home with Wood Fireplace & Fantastic Ocean View - Dog-Friendly

Perched 40 feet above the beach, this dog-friendly and oceanfront Gleneden Beach vacation rental offers a private deck with panoramic ocean views and plenty of at-home entertainment, including a flatscreen cable TV, DVD player, and stereo. There's also a private washer/dryer and a gas grill. You are so close to the water you can hear the waves indoors even when the windows are closed.

What's nearby:
The beach is three blocks to the north of this home, situated in a quiet neighborhood. Gleneden Beach proper is within walking distance, boasting eateries, including the Side Door Cafe, and a park. A grocery store and Salishan Golf and Spa Resort are about a mile away, and Lincoln City is about seven miles south with plentiful dining and shopping, as well as Chinook Winds Casino. Depoe Bay, the Oregon coast's whale-watching capital, is six miles south.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Ping-Pong table
Netflix streaming
Beach towels are provided for guest use
Two dogs are welcome (20 pounds or less) for a small nightly fee

County permit number: 320086

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view


Beach access


Internet : Century Link



DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming



Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Ping-pong table


Gas grill : Private



Beach towels


132 reviews

Johanna R. Aug 2021
We had a wonderful week long stay. The view of the ocean was amazing, plenty of open space on the main floor to visit and relax. Beds were very comfortable and the home was stocked nicely with everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again.
Jess S. Jul 2021
Great location. The stairway to the basement bedroom was pretty funky and narrow.
Teresa S. Jul 2021
Love the service
Marianne CA L. May 2021
The house, the location, the view is great.

The cleaning process needs to be improved.
Mandy L. Feb 2021
This was our second visit to this home. We absolutely love the view and proximity to beach access. Will definitely stay again.
Thanks for opening your lovely home to us.
Ricardo O. Jan 2021
This would be our second time to rent this house and its the best ever,
The view to the ocean is spectacular.

Elizabeth w. Nov 2020
Probably the best view we've ever had at a rental. And accommodations were much nicer than some of the reviews made it seem. Definitely would come back
Richard P. Nov 2020
Liked the location. Close to many things at the coast. The house is cozy with fantastic views of the ocean'
James H. Oct 2020
No windows to open except the play room. It was unpleasantly warm. Patio door had no screen and bugs kept coming in. Had to go outside and around the house to get to the front deck. Not easy for elderly people at all. Urine smell from carpets was not pleasant.
Furniture comfortable, wood fireplace, extra blankets, nice kitchen and gorgeous view.
Manager response:
Hi, James! We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to read you weren't fully satisfied. The sliding doors on the entry, lower, and upper floors all open, as do several windows that allow a wonderful breeze throughout the home. The main living room windows are large viewing panes that do not open. A carpet cleaning has been done, and we are discussing the screen doors with the owner. Thank you!
Sean M. Sep 2020
You could not beat the location and view! I would definitely stay here again! The home was very comfortable and had all the necessary items one would want in a vacation rental.
Denise W. Jul 2020
Why a perfect spot for an adult sibling/family weekend! We had four adults and two kiddos (5 and 7 years) and we all had a great time! The walk to the beach was short, the beach itself was perfect for some kite flying and beachcombing. Unfortunately, it was pretty foggy for the entirety of our stay, so we weren’t privy to the amazing west coast sunsets that we’ve witnessed before. Short drives to local beaches, trails, and Yaquina Lighthouse kept us entertained as well.

The home was dated, but clean, and had plenty of items to have a great stay (bbq, ping pong table, plenty of kitchen amenities).

The one snafu that we ran into was a problem with the front door lock (broke/stuck in the locked position), but the local operations team was very quick in returning our call and had it fixed within a couple of hours.

We would definitely recommend this home for a fun beachfront gathering!!
Sofia M. Jul 2020
The space is very nice. A beautiful home. They have everything you didn’t think to bring but needed. We enjoyed our stay, hope to come again soon!
Anna N. Jun 2020
The view is all where that one star is going to go. The house is old and smells like it hasn't been worked on since it was made. They take a day to clean due to COVID, but there was long animal hair on the couches, dust on surfaces, and you can tell the board games were not cleaned from the dirty patches. My sister cut herself on one of the chairs, so the appliances and wood are quite outdated. The stove was making loud noises like it was going to explode anytime soon. The fridge was okay inside but the water was clearly dirty instead of it filtering. I'm glad we were prepared and brought our own kitchenware and other stuff because this place was not promising. They charge so much for some old disgusting place just because is next to the water. Let's not forget that the house looks like it may fall apart any second just from the outside. Also, I had a little credit left that I couldn't use now and they won't give it back, I HAVE TO, use it twards getting another place, but forget it, I'm not trusting Vacasa again. They didn't even respond to my texts at the number that welcomes you and tells you to reply back with any questions. Even their customer service is useless.
Manager response:
Hi Anna, thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement regarding some specific cleanliness issues with the home. Since your stay, this home has received a Vacasa premium deep clean and all the areas of concern have been addressed. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Jay L. Mar 2020
Loved the view and easy access to the beach. We will be returning!
Amanda L. Feb 2020
We visited during high tide and had so much fun watching the waves crash in from the living room, the master bed and balcony as well as on the beach.. just a short block in either direction for access. We will definitely be back! (Full disclosure if you’re picky on high end amenities or high quality cleanliness this may not be the place for you... The home is certainly clean but has its struggles with much outdated carpet and cabinetry.. but if you’re like us and looking for cozy with a view .. you just can’t beat it!)
Shout out to Vacasa as well, employees are always friendly and helpful! Much appreciate you making the reservations, stay and check out easy-peasy!
A B. Dec 2019
Halfway through showering, with my 5 yo covered in soap - the shower STOPPED working completely! We had 8 people sharing one bathroom out of a 3 bathroom house!
The heat did not work. It made the top level a sauna, the middle level tolerable and the bottom level ice cold. The heat downstairs was an oil heater - that got very hot and burns. Not ideal for kids.
The front ‘yard’ was untamed, crazy long grass, and unappealing.
Will not go back and would not recommend this home.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! The front yard does not require much upkeep due to most of it being driveway and native beach grass. There is a vent downstairs that blows warm air out, and a space heater is available as well. The oil filled radiator does not get terribly hot, so we do feel it is safe. Guests are welcome to shut some vents upstairs to help it stay cooler while the downstairs warms up. We were unable to find any issue with the showers and apologize for the experience you had. We hope to have an opportunity to impress you in the future.
Joseph K. Jun 2019
This house sits above the beach and has terrific views of the ocean for miles. Acccess to the beach is about a block away in either direction. There is a parking lot at one spot if you have lots of gear for the beach. The house did have an odor when we first arrived, but was fine after it aired out. Could use some nicer deck chairs. The bbq is newer and worked great. Dog friendly and on quiet private street.
Connie S. Sep 2018
Our house on the coast was great. The views were just what we expected from the pictures on VRBO. The sound of the waves was totally awesome. We had a great time.
Kathy H. Aug 2018
Your experience:
Carpets were VERY dirty and smell like dog pee. Spent the first few hours of vacation scrubbing the dirty carpet at entry and the kitchen floors. Had family flying in from Boston & Philadelphia and it was very embarrassing! Towels in cabinets were all wet. Many issues with broke things in house. Fan over stove does not work, no screen door on main floor to let fresh air come in house. Smoke alarm upstairs continued to go off all night even after we changed the battery. Downstairs bathroom toilet paper holder kept falling off of wall. Can’t use a blow dryer on main floor bathroom because fuse pops every time you use it. All the plug ins along the wall where view of ocean is did not always work, kept shorting out. Bottom drawer of fridge froze all of our fresh vegetables. House could be a great place to stay with a remodel, maintenance and better house keeping. Carpets really should be replaced or tiled for cleanliness.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest did not have a more positive experience with us during this visit. We have both a carpet cleaning and deep clean scheduled for this home. We were able to use the vent fan and believe this guest must not have been able to locate the switch, so we have noted this for future guests, and this should prevent the alarm from going off as well. We tested the outlets and found all of them working, and we were able to run the blow dryer without blowing any circuits. We apologize for any issues our guest had with these things. The freezer was set too high, so it has been turned down. Thank you!
Annette H. Jul 2018
The views were fantastic. We saw whales and sea lions right from the house.
Paul A. Feb 2018
We were lucky enough to be there on a stormy, winter weekend, with breaks for a sunset. Had this gorgeous beach to ourselves.Nearby excellent dining.
Steve K. Nov 2017
Spectacular ocean views from the house and it's two decks. Great location and very private. The fireplace was a plus. A nice comfortable beach rental for a small family.
Sarah W. Oct 2017
The location is terrific! Thx!
Terri E. Sep 2017
While I appreciate this is a rustic property, it could use a bit of attention. The carpet is very worn and dirty, the walls need some paint and the kitchen furnishings are poor. We love to cook but the cookware was so tired and worn out it made it awkward. There are no wine glasses and no tea kettle. The light over the kitchen sink did not work and there are NO lamps in the house. There is plenty of overhead light but lamps would make it cozier and easier to read at night.
Now the positives: so happy to be able to have our dog and the view is priceless, as well as the beach access. The upstairs bed was very comfortable and listening to the surf at night was worth the price of admission. The house is large (a wonky layout) with room for a crowd.
As others have mentioned, the stairs to the basement are sketchy as they are extremely narrow and steep.
Overall we had a very nice time, I just feel the place could be made a bit more comfortable.
David W. Sep 2017
This place has a million dollar view with plenty things to do. There is plenty of wild life to see. And lots of places to go visit . You are close to Depot Bay which has always been a favorite for our family. And Newport too! Plenty of shopping and Restaurants. And of course if you like golfing the gulf course up the road. As for me and my family I could take in the view from the deck all day. Wonderful to get up to the sound of the ocean. And watching the sunrise and sunset!
Shannon G. Sep 2017
Beautiful views, comfortable and cozy house. Great for 2 families to share.
Vicki M. Aug 2017
We enjoyed the view and the spaciousness of this house. We would probably return.
Kasey S. Jul 2017
My favorite thing about this property is that is was a safe area for our 4 kids to run and play and ride bikes. The downstairs beds were not that comfortable and the tv would only work sometimes. The Wifi was not good either.
Shawna Q. Jul 2017
very comfortable place to stay, had a great time!
Bette P. Jun 2017
Great vacation with family. The house is a bit different but has wonderful views. We saw whales, a bald eagle and several seals. Sat on the deck one night and watched 12 or so people surfing just in front of the house. Nice quiet neighborhood, very relaxing! Easy beach access on both sides. Defiantly go to the Side Door Cafe, it was so good and just around the corner.
Dawn R. May 2017
Pros: Great location: ocean views, short walk to the beach and close enough to town to get a few groceries. The house had a nice separation of space for our two families to spend time together during the day and then have some privacy in the evenings. The king bed upstairs was very nice.

Cons: The two queen beds downstairs were pretty uncomfortable. The family sleeping downstairs definitely had difficulty sleeping. At this price point, I expected everyone to sleep quite well.
Krisha A. May 2017
Walk about a block to get to the beach and there's miles and miles to yourself! We were there for 3 days (Mother's Day weekend 2017) and very very minimal number of people. The house was very roomy and comfy too.
Tina T. May 2017
We had a large group of women for an attitude adjustment weekend and this house accommodated everyones needs nicely. There were wonderful views and easy beach access just down the street. We all had a great time.
Marilyn R. Apr 2017
Great location and the view was amazing! You could hear the ocean from inside the house. Very relaxing.
Matthew A. Apr 2017
I have stayed at this house several times now and will continue to try to stay there when I go to the beach. The location is perfect, the views are amazing. Every trip I have seen whales swimming by from the living room windows and the oceanview deck. This time there were seals and other sea life to watch as well. I really enjoy grilling out on the back deck. I also appreciate that they are dog friendly.
Scott J. Feb 2017
This was great for a cozy weekend during some pretty nasty weather. The decor is not exactly contemporary, but clean and comfortable. Seems like it is set up for a couple of large families - lots of space and many beds, but only one separate bedroom. Worked well for two couples.
Whitney D. Feb 2017
Thanks for the great weekend. Love the ocean front views. Great pet friendly home.
Julie S. Dec 2016
The views were 180 degree spectacular with an easy beach access in either direction! The kitchen was very functional with easy prep space and serving space. Loved the table. Pet friendly!!!!!
Darci B. Nov 2016
Very nice view of the ocean. The location was excellent. Quiet neighborhood.
Jean C. Oct 2016
The home has a beautiful view of the ocean and the area in Gleneden Beach is very nice - a lovely quiet neighborhood. When we arrived the sun was shining and the main living area was quite warm from the sun (to be expected). However when we went to open a window to get fresh air we discovered none of the windows open and there was no way to even get to the deck off the living area. On the far side of the room, away from the ocean, there is a sliding glass door but it has no screen, so we could not open it because our pet would have gotten out and the deck is not secured. All, in all, we would not stay there again, as the most important feature for us is to have windows to open for fresh air and hear the sound of the surf and be able to walk out on the front deck.
Manager response:
The oceanside windows in this home are view windows that were not made to open. The deck can be accessed by the gate on the north side of the home near the front door. The sliding door has never had a screen, but there is a nice cross breeze in the home if the slider is left cracked open with the upstairs slider cracked open as well.
Jenna F. Sep 2016
The view and location are the only reasons we would ever stay at this property again. Odd layout. Only 1 true bedroom with a door. Not super private while staying with other families. Electrical issues in house. Poor air quality.
Bob E. Sep 2016
The oddest issue here is the deck near the beach which you can enter only by exiting to the street side of the house. The very narrow stairway to the basement can be difficult to negotiate, and for mobility challenged residents, may be especially hard as there is not enough room for side-by-side assistance. The kitchen works well with two exceptions: there is limited counter and storage space, and the electrical outlets by the window require longer cords for the coffee maker, coffee grinder, and/or toaster. Is the kitchen up to code? Finally, the basement bathroom does not have a shower, so residents are required to walk up the stairs and through the living room to use the shower. Could be uncomfortable or embarrassing.
Jody C. Aug 2016
Wonderful place to have a family reunion!
Cathy W. Jul 2016
We only stayed a couple of nights, but we were so thrilled to see the fantastic views out of the main room as well as the bedrooms!! We took advantage of the deck and sat there with a glass of wine, enjoying the sights and sounds of the beach and ocean! The beach access is only a couple blocks away and the access path is an easy walk (no rock climbing necessary!). Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay! Cathy & Kevin
Shane M. Jul 2016
Wonderful home overlooking the beach and ocean very comfortable and clean
Janet M. Apr 2016
Enjoyed the deck and view of the ocean from inside and outside. It would be easier if there was a direct door to the deck in back of the house, but it wasn't a hugh problem.
Patricia B. Sep 2015
While a bit quirky, with its narrow stairways and walk-around-to-get-to-the-main-deck feature, we enjoyed our stay and would rent here again.

The master bedroom, with its water bed and private deck overlooking the sea, was wonderful.
Sylvia K. Sep 2015
This was our second Family vacation in this home and we will be back again next year! You can't beat the view, beach access is great, there is room for some privacy and yet very family oriented! Everything you need for a fantastic Ocean vacation. Having our dog with us is truly appreciated... So Thank ... See ya next year!!!
Richard K. Aug 2015
This was a wonderful place. We stayed for seven nights. Fantastic views of the ocean. We saw whales and seals and a gorgeous sunset. No hot water for the first night and until mid morning the next day. Management was out fairly soon to correct the problem and show us what to do in the event it went off again. We highly recommend this place and will come again.
Joanne D. Apr 2015
We loved how close it was to the beach....amazing view!

Had a problem with the water heater, and they had someone there to fix it within 2 hours. Great service.
Marjorie B. Mar 2015
What a great experience we had! The layout of the house is a little odd. The master bedroom was great, but the staircase to the basement bedroom is extremely narrow, making it near impossible for an older adult or very large person to use. Perfect house for gathering as the view is spectacular! Whale watching from the living room was a definite plus! Great trip, would do it again.
Chelsea I. Mar 2015
This home is a bit dated, but it did not take away from the vacation. The views are killer, we saw sea lions, orcas, and a grey whale from the deck. It was nice to have binoculars for viewing! The basement beds are needing to be replaced (old and uncomfortable) but otherwise we had a great stay, and would stay again once things are a little more updated!
Debbie M. Jan 2015
Loved the view. It was great to be able to enjoy the ocean from the comfort of the house when it was in the thirties outside. Loved the quiet neighborhood.
Gary R. Nov 2014
House has a million dollar view and easy access to the beach. Restaurants and shopping within a short drive from the house. The house is located on a quiet street.
Teisha M. Oct 2014
Great location and great views. The house was clean and comfortable although a bit dated. Had a great week!
Dylan H. Sep 2014
You must walk a block for beach access but beyond that it's fantastic. Sun rise and sunset from the living room or one of the two balconies. Great appliances. Worth the stay!
Kelsey L. Aug 2014
We stayed at this cabin as the "cousins" cabin during a family reunion. The house itself is in an excellent location with a view to die for. Nothing better than hearing the loud crash of the waves. The house itself though is quite quirky - as others have noted in reviews.
1) the master is a waterbed.
2) there is only one private sleeping area if you utilize all the beds (master bedroom).
3) there are two sofas but neither are sofabeds
4) you cannot access the deck unless you go out and around to the Oceanside. Not that big of a deal, but quirky
5) The downstairs is SO NARROW that larger people may have to go outside and around to access the upstairs.
6) There is a 1/2 bath downstairs, but those staying down there will have to shower on main floor
7) Two queen sized beds and sofa downstairs - but the beds leave something to be desired and they are all together in open room.

All in all, this house worked perfectly for us. We had lots of room to spread out, and being family, we didn't mind bunking up together. If this were couples looking for privacy - not a great layout.
Manager response:
Thanks for sharing your review with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience and appreciate you letting us know what we can do to make the experience better. You’ll be pleased to hear that we have replaced the water bed and the two queen beds so that our guests can be even more comfortable during their vacation. Thanks again for letting us know and thanks for choosing Vacasa.
Karen A. Jul 2014
location and beach access are great, everyday at low tide we went agate hunting right in front of property.....
Sarah G. Apr 2014
We had a lovely getaway! Top ratings.
Loved it.
Thanks for the memory,

Pamela B. Mar 2014
The home is quirky, to say the least:
1. Excessively narrow stairway down to the basement
2. No way to get out to the deck on the 1st floor without going outside and around
3. Water bed in master bedroom; wasn't a problem for us, but some people might not appreciate it

Furniture on the first floor is very comfortable and view through the various huge windows affords a gorgeous view of the ocean and beach.

Kim P. Mar 2014
Much needed time away from the stress of daily life and owning a business . One beautiful sunny day that enjoyed the view from the deck and the master bedroom and one crazy stormy day where we watched the waves from living room. Can see the ocean and beach from the entire main level. Amazing to sit and watch the waves crashing. Will definitely come back. Kinda pricy for the summer season but great spring value. Didn't try beds in the basement but they looked uncomfortable and broken down. Waterbed in master was a blast from the past but amazingly comfortable.
Scott F. Feb 2014
We had 3 major wind storms roll through on our long weekend but appreciated having the view we had for the storms and the breaks between.
Norman G. Nov 2013
This home worked out perfectly for my wife and me. The beach was easy to get to and the view of the ocean and beach were outstanding. We will likely be back.
Tammy S. Jul 2013
What a spectacular week spent gazing out the large picture box windows, sipping coffee and wine and watching the ocean waves crash. Sunny and windy, the front porch allowed us to sit outside in our blankets and read and absorb it all. Great barbeque, tvs in everyroom, wifi, an amazing cafe just up the street, wonderful neighborhood to run through, comfy main bedroom waterbed with ocean view from the bed. It was a perfect beach escape and a lovely home to escape to.
Tharon L. May 2013
A quirky, comfortable house with lots of beds and perfect views. While the decor style might be a little dated, that shouldn't hurt the experience. It was very clean, very well laid out for larger groups, and views that you come to the beach for.
Sonja B. May 2013
Our experience and stay at Vacasa's Neptune Oceanfront Beach House in Gleneden Beach was supurb! Everything from the online reservation, confirmation emails, directions, early check in notification, and beautiful home we stayed in was wonderful. The beach access was close by and the amazing windows and deck to watch the ocean from was outstanding. I highly recommend this house and Vacasa thanks to the wonderful experience my party had. I will be sure to use them again in the future.
Rebecca P. Mar 2013
This home has an amazing view! There are some odd things to the architecture, such as the stairs to the basement but overall nothing too uncomfortable. I would suggest bringing a music player as there is nothing provided in the home.The kitchen is very well equipped, even the coffee provided was yummy. This was a pleasant surprise as we were expecting Folgers or something else equally bad. Our trip was lovely and very relaxing. Thank you.
Lori K. Mar 2013
We loved staying right on the beach in this comfortable house. Our dog loved the treats/blanket, and our boys loved staying in the bedroom on the lower floor.
Wilma S. Feb 2013
The view was fantastic and we loved the house...Will certainly stay with you again in the near future.
Thank you for everything....
Kathi P. Jan 2013
This was a short weekend trip, next time we will stay longer. Home has great view, and location. Would be nicer if you could access deck from living area, but not that big of a deal. Nice flat screen TVs. Bring "S" video cable if you want to watch movies on the TV from your computer. The captain out front is no longer carrying a light, and is kind of creepy looking. I would either fix him, by adding a lantern or take him down. The dog growled at him! I would definitely stay here again.
Manager response:
Thank you for your input. We really do appreciate it and are so glad you had a great weekend! We will get the Captain's lantern fixed right away - we do not want to upset our furry friends.
Cynthia L. Nov 2012
The house is in a great location, has gorgeous views, was clean and has relatively easy access to the beach. Vacasa was great to work with. The reason we would not recommend the house is related to the season we were there. We, a family of five, went for Thanksgiving week. While we had a great time, there were a few issues with the house that would keep us from going back during this time of year. Yes, the start of the week was quite stormy and the power going out for 24 hours was no ones fault. However, most of the week had typical late November weather, which proved a challenge for the home's heating system and the windows overlooking the ocean steamed up substantially when the weather turned cool. Two of the five beds are on the lower level, which never warmed up enough for us to use the space other than to dash to the beds and shiver until they warmed up. Recommend a decent space heater for the lower level. This would be a spectacular place to stay in warmer weather.
Manager response:
We thank you so much for the input and are glad you had a great time in spite of the stormy weather. We will look into adding a more efficient space heater as well.
Shanna A. Aug 2012
We had a wonderful vacation.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the unusually high temperatures during your stay. The coast rarely gets above 80 in the summer. Thanks again!
Jerry H. May 2012
We enjoyed our stay on Gleneden Beach. Very nice view from the house. It would have been nice to have access to the deck from the family room but we loved all the glass for viewing. All the conveniences we needed were there. Looks like a new dishwasher is in the unit and it worked great. We would consider renting this home again.
Laurie S. May 2012
You may want to make sure the waterbed heater is working and provide your guests with instructions on how to turn it on or up when they are there
Manager response:
Thank you for the review; your feedback is appreciated and we will get some notes for guests regarding the waterbed heater.
Nancy B. Apr 2012
Beautiful view of ocean and amazing weekend.
Kristen W. Apr 2012
We selected this home primarily because it has an incredible ocean view for a reasonable price, and is pet-friendly. Going to the Oregon Coast in winter means low chances of enjoying a day building sand castles, so we wanted to at least be able to SEE the ocean. We were not disappointed with the wall of windows overlooking the waves. (We actually arrived during an unusual bout of SNOW so that was an interesting sight).

The house itself is nothing to write home about. The floor plan is a little odd, for example the staircase to basement is very narrow/steep, there is no access to main back/view deck from house-you have to go out the front door and around. You can sleep a lot of people comfortably, but be aware that the Master bedroom has a waterbed, which we found very unusual for a rental property. The entire place could really benefit from remodeling and updating: fresh paint and carpet would brighten it up.

Overall, however, it was comfortable, mostly clean, and once again, the view is unbeatable. Beach access is 2-3 blocks away, fine for a lovely walk. Nice to be between Lincoln City and Newport with Depoe Bay along the way. We found the best clam chowder at the Sea Hag restaurant on Hwy 101 in Depoe Bay.
Dorothy R. Apr 2012
Everything was very good. It would have been nice if there were more than one key to the house as we sometimes went different directions.
The house was very clean and roomy, the view was awsome.
Cathy H. Mar 2012
We finally allowed ourselves to take a whole week off at one time, away from our residence! Goal: do nothing and enjoy it. Outcome: we did nothing and had a great time! The house is in such a great location with the roaring ocean right there. It is an older home, could use some updates...but only if YOU lived there. I certainly wouldn't if I was renting the house out. Great bones. The stairwells are interesting...very narrow. We were a little leery of the waterbed since my husband has a bad back, but we both slept better than we have in months. Gleneden Beach is a great location, right in between everything. Can't wait to go back next year!! But we will bring our own wine glasses!
Cynthia C. Feb 2012
We loved the house. The view is fantastic. The house is very clean. We felt completely at home. I definitely recommend this for any occasion.
Lani S. Feb 2012
No matter what kind of weather you encounter, this is the perfect place.....fabulous view & fireplace for stormy conditions and easy access to sandy beach for those nice, long sunny walks. Ocean at this part of the coast is magnificent.....great place to reassess priorities and get a firm perspective of our relevance in the world (compared to the ocean, we are pretty small). Loved it!!
Thomas R. Dec 2011
Very quiet location with outstanding views. Hope to return.
Lisa M. Jul 2011
The place was clean, but very dated, blankets, pillows were old, tired looking, funky smell in the house. Views were outstanding, but why is there not access from the main living area onto the deck? You have to go out the front door, and around to the side to access deck. Windows are either very dirty or very old. Next time we will look for a more modern place.
Carl L. Jun 2011
The view was beautiful, just as described.We were surprised to have a water-bed. It was not stated so hard on my back.Everything else was very nice.That bed really shoud be replaced as it is hard to get in and out of. Plus there would be no other choice, so you made it work. A hamock would be nice.
Jeana T. May 2011
The house was great - perfect location and very roomy!
Linda Z. May 2011
We enjoyed the house very much. Would suggest rearranging the furniture on main floor so that the beach is the main view - with all those windows it is a shame to have back of couch facing them. Would also prefer a more comfy couch on main floor. Kids loved the murphy beds, downstairs was gorgeous. And the decks were all very nice. Overall the view was the most amazing feature.
Art W. May 2011
We had a wonderful restful time. The house was lovely and and the views couldn't have been better. Enjoyed walks on the beach. Would like to return with all the grandkids---they would love it.
Donald D. May 2011
Except for problems getting into the building due to a corroded entrance lock and latch assembly and problems with the TV DVD system the place was perfect. A few squirts of WD-40 made the door quite useable. The TV system worked fine once you figured out that it was improperly connected.
Bo B. May 2011
I would suggest that one cupboard be left empty for guests to store dry food. We had to leave everything on the countertop. Wonderful view, comfortable furniture, lovely decor
Renai N. May 2011
But for one small thing, I would rate this home as the best beach rental we have stayed in, and we rent a different house at the coast roughly 2-3 times a year. My only tiny complaint, and it is miniscule, is 70's era technology. We all had our i-pods and nothing to plug them into. We do carry adapters, in case the place we are staying has a (gasp!) cassette-only stereo system, but this house has an 8-track system, although it too has an adapter to adapt it to a cassette player. I feel I have spent too much time complaining about this, because if you don't care about listening to music, there are three great t.v's, cable t.v., all t.v.'s have DVD players. But why watch t.v. when the most incredible view is outside. I loved the big open "great room" feel of the living, dining, and kitchen area. All along that whole huge area are 4-5 huge windows that face the ocean. The couch in the downstairs area, a sectional, actually, is the most comfortable piece of furniture I have ever sat on. If
Sharon W. Apr 2011
Breathtaking view... What a great get away. We will be back.
Gregg B. Apr 2011
House needed a big update. From the 70's decor throughout and the water bed in the master bedroom. No wine glasses!!!!
Manager response:
Sorry about the lack of wine glasses - they have a tendency to disappear. We will restock!
Kim L. Apr 2011
Beautiful view! Basement gets a bit cold, besides that we plan on coming back.
Mary B. Mar 2011
We had a wonderful and easy vacation. The home was beautiful and everything was exactly as described. We felt like Vacasa worked with us and exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to go back.
Kris R. Mar 2011
We had a great weekend at the Gleneden beach house. Spent lots of time on the deck watching the waves. Property manager was great when I had to call upon arriving because there were no working lights downstairs and the fuse box was "hidden". The only complaints about the house are the poorly stocked kitchen and that no matter how high we turned up the heat, it was almost unbearable cold in the basement bedroom/living area.
Laurie S. Mar 2011
Wish we could have stayed longer. Loved the waterbed in the master bedroom, woke up with no pain - that hasn't happened in years!
Brian and Lisa D. Mar 2011
The inside of the house was very clean, but the trash cans out at the front of the house were overflowing when we arrived.
Matthew G. Mar 2011
A wonderful house in a wonderful location. We loved just sitting and watching the ocean and walking on the beach. Excellent Internet service. Next time, we'll bring a few more condiments (cooking oil, spices). Having instructions for using the cable and DVD player would have been helpful as well.

Tidal Raves restaurant in Depoe Bay was excellent, as was the Side Door Cafe in Gleneden Beach (although a bit more pricey). And the Beach Dog Cafe in Lincoln City for breakfast!
Kathy B. Feb 2011
We found this oceanfront home to be outstanding in every way, from the gorgeous view to the cleanliness of the house, a very special rental. We took long walks on the beach and my husband found a glass float! We are plotting already to make this a month long rental next time!
Joan T. Feb 2011
Fantastic place for our annual girls' getaway. Cozy, comfortable, clean and oh so relaxing!
Sharon V. Feb 2011
Nice and homey with a beautiful view. Management staff was very friendly and helpful.
David S. Feb 2011
overall very happy with the house and rental co. its a great stretch of coast through there. I will rent with Vacasa again