USA California Nevada County Truckee Listing #2207

Snowpeak Chalet in Tahoe Donner - Truckee, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
64 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Lovely Mountain Cabin in the Pines with WiFi, Private Hot Tub, and Shared Pools

**Please Note: The use of Tahoe Donner HOA facilities requires additional daily fees.

Looking for the perfect mountain getaway? Look no further than this three-bedroom home in Tahoe Donner, which sits five minutes from the ski lifts, less than 10 minutes from town and the beach, and mere moments from an award-winning golf course. With gorgeous woodland views and shared access to swimming pools and other recreational facilities, this home will delight any family looking for a North Lake Tahoe hideaway. Enjoy all the ambience of a Swiss chalet, with a wood-burning stove, a wrap-around deck, and a four-burner gas grill to use on beautiful summer days.

Here in Tahoe Donner, you'll be six miles northwest of downtown Truckee and less than two miles down the road from the wonderful amenities of the Trout Creek Recreation Center. Your provided guest passes provide discounts to Tahoe Donner activities and facilities that include the Trout Creek Recreation Center, the Northwoods Pool (three miles west), downhill skiing, the cross-country center, the golf course, the equestrian center, the tennis center, and the Beach Club Marina on Donner Lake (six miles south). With several renowned ski resorts, including Northstar and Squaw Valley, in the area, as well as great hiking, mountain biking, and access to Lake Tahoe in Kings Beach, North Lake Tahoe is a recreational wonderland.

Nearby Services and Dining Options
Cafe within 2 miles. Casual dining within 7 miles. Dine-in restaurant within 5 miles. Gas station within 5 miles. Supermarket within 2 miles.

Places to Visit During Your Stay

AttractionDistance From Home
Tahoe Donner Downhill Ski Resort0.6 Miles
Donner Memorial State Museum5.5 Miles
Donner Memorial State Park6.1 Miles
Historic Downtown Truckee & Visitor Center6.5 Miles
Donner Summit Bridge11.4 Miles
Donner Ski Ranch12.1 Miles
Sugar Bowl Resort13.8 Miles
Soda Springs Mountain Resort16.2 Miles
Martis Camp11.2 Miles

Things to Know
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
RCN# 46
*Following the Tahoe Donner HOA agreements, gatherings of people not renting the home are not allowed. Authorities will be notified if there is a party or large gathering in the home.
*No excessive noise and/or trash
*All exterior lights must be turned off between the hours of 10 pm and 7 am, seven days a week

City/town permit number: STR21-00977

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Baby gates

Children's games

Common areas

Gym/fitness room


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Beach access

Mountain view


Internet : Suddenlink



DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Wireless router

Netflix streaming


Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Board games

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared


Gas grill : Private



Beach chairs


64 reviews

Daniel B. Apr 2022
I rented this house with a group of friends and it was a perfect house for a weekend trip. The house is charming both inside and out and is nicely furnished. We also enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub after skiing.
Mason P. Mar 2022
Perfect for a guys fishing trip. Make sure you bring chains if you don't have 4wd in the winter. That first hill is quite steep.
Kristie T. Jan 2022
Plenty of space. Every thing we needed.
Tiffany O. Aug 2021
Snowpeak Chalet was once again an incredible place to vacation and close to everything we wanted to do! The chalet is comfortable with plenty of space to spread out. The place has all the amenities from Wifi, televisions to a fully stocked kitchen for cooking. We enjoyed our meals and relaxation on the front and back decks. After a fun day around Tahoe Donner, we would unwind in the hot tub surrounded by the scenery of pine trees and fresh air. Only five minutes from the cabin, we spent an afternoon at Northwoods clubhouse. The kids had a blast there going down the water slide and swimming in the pool. The kids also enjoyed the playground there and as a family, we played tennis there too! We enjoyed several days of swimming at Donner Lake and one day, we took a 25-minute drive to Kings Beach for swimming and playground fun. Our kids also loved daily visits with the horses at the Equestrian Center, only a few minutes drive from the chalet. We look forward to our next stay at the Snowpeak Chalet!
Jonathan M. Jul 2021
We enjoyed our stay and found that there were fans in each bedroom to help with the hot nights. Garage was open for our SUV which was a bonus. Also appreciated the wagon and beach chairs for the evening concert in Truckee. Master bathroom sink was clogged so that needs attention.
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
Mark A. Jun 2021
The house was great, we were just a little disappointed that there was no hot tub, and the company did say that if I had called sooner, they may have been able to move us. I just was just disappointed that the description of the house said there was a private hot tub and then in the email they sent me halfway through it was where it said there was not. Otherwise, the house was just what we needed.
Stephanie M. Apr 2021
This house is so cozy and cute. Love the location in Tahoe Donner. House is well equipped with all the supplies you need (especially in the kitchen). Big decks and forest backyard! Love the wood cabin feel.
Shannon P. Feb 2021
This was the second time my family has stayed at this cabin and it was just as fantastic as the first time! The cabin is situated in the perfect location for so much to do nearby. The cabin had all the amenities we needed for a comfortable stay and ease of cooking. The beds were comfortable, plenty of pans to cook with and enough bathroom space. There was so much snow for my family to play in the front and backyards. We then borrowed the sleds and ventured to the nearby snow park for more play. Just down the road is Tahoe Donner ski resort which met our needs for skiing and snowboarding. For food, the Z Marketplace deli down the road was great for sandwiches and we loved the pizza at Village Pizzeria. When it got dark, there were several games to play at the cabin and plenty of shows to watch on the TV. In the summertime when we visited, both decks at the cabin were beautiful to sit on and watch the chipmunks and deer visit us. Tahoe Donner Equestrian center was just a few minutes drive and was such a wonderful place with several trails for walks and visiting the horses. We also enjoyed our time at the beach at Donner Lake. We look forward to golfing next summer, the golf course is across the street. We will definitely be booking another trip to the Snowpeak Chalet!
Mercedes B. Nov 2020
I hesitate to write this as I do not enjoy giving a negative review. Positive is it’s an adorable house located in a great area. It is really just a bit dated, as there was a hole in the wall, the air vent appeared to be crushed in and broken on edges, the spa did not work. The cleaning service before us did not appear to do a great job, we found a pretzel in the carpet, dust and dirty dishes. Also, the sheets seemed to have been placed back in the closet wet. The mattresses in the whole house sink in and you might fly off the pull out bed in the living room if you move the wrong way. The owners are so lucky to have such an amazing property, I think if they just invest some money into the necessities it can be a stellar rental.
Manager response:
Hi, Mercedes! We are so glad you stayed with us and do apologize you had any negative experiences during your visit. The hole in the wall has been repaired, a new air vent has been ordered, and the spa is currently closed due to COVID-19 despite being fully operable. Thank you!
Yu W. Sep 2020
Nice, clean and cozy. Will book it again during winter time.
Guadalupe H. Aug 2020
A recommendations for housekeeping they did not make the beds I had wash everything my self and the air conditioning did not get cold all night we did not sleep because was so hot in the house all night the rest was fine
Manager response:
Hi Guadalupe, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement regarding some specific cleaning and AC issues with the home. We will pass your feedback to our housekeeping team for future consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Samuel E. Jul 2020
Great vacation!
Alan H. Jul 2020
Awesome, better than I expected, will definitely use it again...
Judie M. Jun 2020
It was cozy
Alan P. Aug 2019
The jacuzzi was great, kitchen well equipped and beds were super comfy and the patio in front was perfect to enjoy the evenings outside. The only thing that could improve would be to add a bigger cozy couch or small sectional. Also, the dogs loved it as well.
Scott S. May 2019
Whole family had find place was just like to pictures . Great atmosphere and very clean
Jacq J. Feb 2019
Snowpeak chalet had everything I needed for my family of 5. My family has already asked how soon we can return. We loved the location and the space the home provided.
Jamie R. Jan 2019
Loved having pets with us and the hot tub. Great location. Super clean home with cute mountain character. Wi-Fi amd tv worked great. Only complaint was kitchen was a little lacking, other than that it was a great place for our family to stay.
Monica R. Dec 2018
It was the perfect place to get away from town
Brandi M. Nov 2018
We loved everything about this cabin. My husband wants to definitely come again. The only issue we had was we couldn’t get the back porch light to work.
Jennifer S. Aug 2018
A wonderful cabin in Tahoe Donner that was the perfect place for me, my husband and our dog. It's close to many Tahoe Donner amenities, and after a day of activity it was great to come back here to enjoy the decks, hot tub and peaceful neighborhood. Working with Vacasa made for a smooth rental process and stress free experience.
Bertrand H. Aug 2018
We loved it
Dillon W. Jul 2018
The house was perfect for a summer adventure for our family of four plus our dog. The deck in front and back make it really easy to be outside. The surroundings are really beautiful and peaceful. There is no where to sit inside as a family for a meal so we ate most meals on the back deck. We used the gas grill a lot as well as the hot tub. We did a lot of cooking although a lot of the pans and knives were fairly low quality, they worked for the purpose. Loved the coffee machine! The bedrooms were as described except the upstairs got really hot. A fan was provided but it wasn't able to completely move air through the room. One room had twin beds which worked great for the kids. The full beds were really small. The TV in the bedroom didn't work and there was a Playstation but no way to hook it up. We really enjoyed the Roku TV and watched a bunch of the old Disney VHSs that were available. Most of the DVDs were too scratched to watch. Another major plus was the long driveway. The kids loved riding their scooters and playing outside where I could easily see them from the house. The house passes to all the Tahoe Donner amenities were invaluable. We went to a different location (2 pools, private beach, equestrian center, etc) each day. Overall, a great stay.
Manager response:
HI Dillon, we’re so glad that your family loved the home and that the weather was comfortable enough to spend the majority of your time outside. I agree with you about the peaceful surroundings—it really creates a serene environment that you just don’t want to leave. The owner has provided a foldable table and more chairs for a more convenient seating arrangement. Also, the full-size beds have been upgraded to queen beds. Let’s hope you can visit us again to take advantage of your recommendations. Thank you.
sam c. Jun 2018
Would definitely rent this home again.
Gianna G. May 2018
Hot tub was awesome and the hosts were very quick to reply! Great location and place!
Tom H. Mar 2018
Great home for a couple or family of 4.
Anthony L. Dec 2017
Very clean and everything you need to feel a home.
Erik C. Sep 2017
Nonidea why people complained about the beds and overall size — it was wonderful. Only add I’d suggest is a table and four chairs. The folding one in the garage is in bad shape and collapsed on us. Thanks!!!
Luke M. Aug 2017
Overall, it was OK. The positives were that it was clean and had everything you need. But, my family dealt with some issues you generally don't want to deal with on vacation: a lack of hot water, old unsafe decking, lumpy beds, and dangerous electrical that could have seriously injured our baby. I have rented several homes for family vacations, and never experienced these things. It was disappointing.
Manager response:
We're very sorry the guest arrived to find some things in the home that needed attention. A sign has been added above the hot water switch that explains how the tankless water heater operates. The deck has been restored and reinforced, topper were added to the beds for added comfort and the electrical cables have been cleaned up.
Eric G. Apr 2017
The place was great first time in that part of Truckee ever. I envy the owners. Kids were able to ride bikes without be watched, area was covered in snow and there were lots of thing to do nearby.
Brooke F. Apr 2017
Most places in the area share the hot tub at the rec center. This one has it's own. It's expensive but worth it. It was clean and appliances worked well. Beds weren't amazing but plenty of space and good location.
Jocelyn W. Jan 2017
We have stayed here before and will definitely be back. We love the convenience of being able to play outside the house in the snow.
Our 2 night stay was actually only a 1 night stay because we couldn't make it up the hill in our van, even though we had chains. I read the instructions for the house ahead of time and it didn't say a 4wheel drive car was a necessity; however, we found that the amount of snow that fell required a 4wheel drive car. We had to have a 4wheel drive car brought to us. We also lost power while we were there and could find no candles, flashlights, or the essentials for making a fire. We also couldn't get the hot water heater back on after the power went out because the instructions on it were all in Chinese.
We plan on coming back next year and we'd love to see candles, flashlights, and items to make a fire. We'd also love to see the changes made in the house instructions that say a 4wheel drive car is mandatory in heavy snowfall.
Thank you for providing a great house for our family to stay.
Samantha L. Jan 2017
Slept 8 people comfortably. No dining table, but we ate and played board games on the coffee table. Didn't get to use the hot tub unfortunately, bc we thought it was buried under 6 ft of snow on the patio (it wasn't since it's covered; you just have to access it from one of the bedrooms). Also, we didn't have hot water while we were there bc we didn't know we had to flip a switch to turn it back on.

The cabin was close to Safeway and a great pizza place called Village Pizzeria; 25 min to Northstar without traffic.

We all had a great time and enjoyed ourselves at the cabin. The little fireplace was awesome and warmed up the whole living room.
Michael B. Jan 2017
The house is cute, but the photo is deceiving. The home is barely 1,200 sq ft and everything is small & tight. The beds are poor, there is no dining area except the kitchen counter, and the seating in the living room is barely adequate (one futon and two chairs).
Manager response:
Toppers have been added to the downstairs beds for comfort. Three stools have been added at the island In addition to the chair & futon in the living room, a card table and four additional chairs can be set up. Thank you.
Jodi T. Dec 2016
Overall our stay was very nice. The house itself was clean and comfortable. The mattresses and pillows need replacing. Pillows were flat and hard, mattresses old and really uncomfortable. Newer/ softer blankets and or comforters would be a plus.
Yvette A. Nov 2016
The pictures doesn't do this place justice it was beautiful and I'm already trying to plan a trip back thank you I enjoyed my stay it made my birthday very memorable
Timothy C. Jul 2016
Very much enjoyed our two night stay at this rental. The back deck is very cool with a great area for sitting and eating (pictures don't do it justice). The hot tub was clean and worked well. Beds were comfortable. Not a lot of frills but has everything you need for a great vacay.
RACHEL F. Jul 2016
Great stay
Ken B. Jun 2016
This house has a wonderful cabin feel. The view of the forest trees around is very nice. House is well lit with natural light during the day with a warm beauty.
House is adequately spaced from neighboring property to allow some significant privacy.
Mellisa M. Jun 2016
cozy, and comfortable for a small group. no dinning table, but we enjoyed having breakfast and lunch out side on patio. I would stay here again
Merek D. Apr 2016
Hi all,
Pros-Excellent location for skiing at Tahoe Donner! This house is a bit tight for their recommended 8, we only had 5 and it was perfect for us. House was generally adequate for the price. The best part of this house was the location.
Cons- pretty dusty daughter has dust allergies and had to take Zyrtec indoors, cable tv not working and vacasa did not help.
No dining room table. Two of us ate at the kitchen bar and the rest on the futon or chairs...
Manager response:
To help those guests with allergies, we've replaced the soaps and other cleaning items to perfume-free versions, plus the addition of filters for the floor vents to remove dust. The cable box has been upgraded along with a 55" 4K HD television.
Andrew F. Feb 2016
Hi, this is clean, tidy little cabin, nicely situated near Tahoe Donner. It was warm and comfortable. However:

- It could do with some larger beds. The largest 2 are twins, not queens, with very (excessively) soft mattresses.

- It needs some upkeep, especially to make sure all the lights and lightbulbs are replaced. A number of lights / light switches on the property did not function.

- Needs more blankets and towels.

- The fan in the lower bathroom appears broken and needs maintenance.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We will advise the Property Manager of your suggestions and will be sure all of the lightbulbs have been replaced. We hope you have wonderful memories to look back on!
Shane G. Feb 2016
This cabin is a good deal if you have 6 people to fill it. It is the bare minimum and nothing more. We will be coming to this cabin 3 more times this season and we know that we will have to bring a lot of things next time.
Extra towels for the hot tub (I would only go in it again if it's cleaned), extra blankets because some people were freezing, plastic bags/tupperware because there wasn't much, and I would probably bring my own large spaghetti pot.
All in all, it's a nice house and a good price if you fill all the beds.
Sarah H. Feb 2016
We had a great time skiing-the weather could not have been more perfect! The rooms and beds were also satisfactory. However, the hot tub (our main reason for reserving this cabin) did not function the entire time we were there. We even called the maintenance number and left a message, but no one got back to use. We are still waiting for someone to discuss this issue with us a week after our trip. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but were expecting the use of the hot tub as that is their main selling point.
Manager response:
We are very sorry to see that the hot tub was not working during your stay and that you did not receive a response from us. The Property Manager will inspect the hot tub right away. We are currently hiring and training more agents to assist on the phones so that we can better assist our guests and so incidents like these will not be repeated.
Nathan S. Feb 2016
Unusable filthy Hot Tub,
Frozen pipes,
Living area not comfortable, single Futon
Missing light bulbs everywhere
Out of date home manual
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. The hot tub is regularly cleaned, and we are sorry to see that it ended up so dirty prior to your stay. The pipes were not frozen, but the hot water heater did need to be reset, and we have taken care of the light bulbs.
Travis N. Jan 2016
We loved this place it was on a quite street with no traffic and close to the ski resorts the hot tub was great after a full day of skiing the pictures do make it look bigger than it really is but still not disappointing and the condition of the house was great it is well taken care of and we would definitely stay here again well worth the price
Lia E. Jan 2016
My children loved playing in the snow around your property.
Annaliza F. Oct 2015
This cabin is clean cozy cabin in a quiet golf coarse neighborhood. The house had all the necessities to make our stay very comfortable. It was perfect for my family of 4 and my two
parents. The kids really enjoyed the hot tub, my husband took advantage of the golf coarses and my Dad went fishing twice a day!
It is also close to the town so we were able to do our grocery shopping and go to Dairy Queen for ice-cream.
Would definitely book again
Manager response:
Thanks for sharing your review! We are excited to have you back soon.
Susan M. Aug 2015
This was a great location for our needs as we were traveling to the Lake Tahoe area to mountain bike and try out the Tree Top Adventures. This location was great and close to Truckee, what a great town! We would stay again.

The one thing we would like to suggest to the owners is putting some ceiling fans in the bedrooms. Though we were there when the outside temp was over 90 degrees and it got cooler in the evening, the bedrooms and the air did not move much so ceiling fans would have been nice to get the air moving and improve sleeping.

The only other tip to potential renters is all the "extra fees" be aware of them as they are not as up front at they should be. you have to pay cleaning fee, rental agency fee, hot tub fee, ..... a bit too many fees in my opinion and I would rather just deal with the owner than an agency however I understand how it is a benefit to having an agency.

all in all, we would stay again. Everything worked great, nice open kitchen into TV area, washer/dryer a must have!

Nice place
Manager response:
We understand that sometimes the temperature becomes unseasonably warm, so the owners have installed a ceiling fan in one bedroom and stand-alone fans are available. Thank you.
Harvey J. Aug 2015
It is an attractive house with appropriate adornments, and suitable for a small family. The management responded well to our requests to correct some of the problems we encountered.
Marten M. Jun 2015
Wonderful home, very nice surroundings, plenty of space for a family of 6. I would definitely recommend this place to others. Hope you get to enjoy the place as we did!