USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Netarts Listing #2070

Stretch by the Sea - Netarts, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
79 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 4 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 3 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Spacious, Homey Dog-Friendly House with Fireplace and Beach and Ocean Views

With lovely ocean views, a dog-friendly attitude, and plenty of entertainment options, this Netarts vacation rental is the perfect place for your next beach getaway!

Indulge in that long-awaited beach vacation and treat yourself to a stay at this waterfront retreat! With three levels, this home will be the perfect place for larger families to spread out and find their own piece of paradise. Gather together at the dining room table and on the nearby chairs and enjoy a hot breakfast together before heading out for a morning of exploring the beach. If you don't want to get your feet wet, you can relax on the middle floor's balcony and watch the water sparkle or the evening sunsets. Around the side of the house you will even find a firepit, which is a great place to roast some s'mores for a sweet ending to a day of vacationing. After a dreamy day on the sand, sit down on the sofa and chat with your loved ones while the wood-burning fireplace keeps everyone extra warm. The bench seat by the window is a fantastic place to sit with a book or gaze out at the nearby ocean. A full kitchen has everything you may need to cook up tasty meals during your stay, including all major appliances and a dishwasher for easy cleanup. On the bottom level, you will find an entertainment room with plenty of fun options to keep everyone amused. Select one of the movies to play in the DVD player or use the Roku to access your own Netflix, Hulu, or Sling TV accounts. Throughout the home, you will also find board games, books, and WiFi for your convenience.

What's nearby:
Located right in Netarts, this home is a short walk from the shore, and also within walking distance of a few popular eateries. Stroll along the beach to where the Netarts Bay meets the ocean, or drive up to the end of Happy Camp Road to find easy beach access there. A few blocks away is a boat rental, so guests can go out fishing, crabbing, or exploring the bay on their own! When the tide's out, bring a bucket and a shovel (and clothes that you don't mind getting muddy) and try your hand at clamming. If you prefer, simply drive up to the Bayside Market and pick up some fresh crab there. Have a meal of fresh seafood at The Schooner, or try the tacos at Upstairs Bar & Grill. For even more options, you can take a quick seven-mile drive into Tillamook, which hosts a variety of eateries, as well as shopping options and plenty of activities including the world-famous Tillamook Cheese Factory. If you feel like driving north along the coastline, you will pass through small Oceanside on your way up to the lovely Cape Meares State Park, which has hiking trails, picnic areas, and a historic lighthouse. Tillamook Bay is also easily within your reach, as are hiking and biking trails, and scenic viewpoints all along the coast.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Up to two family dogs are welcome with a small nightly fee

County permit number: 851-10-1230

Other tax number: 02665

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view

Water view


Internet : Charter



DVD library

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock



Gas grill : Private


Beach chairs


79 reviews

Melissa B. Aug 2022
My friends and I rented this home for a weekend getaway and loved it! The house has lots of space(s) for many to be comfortible, clean, well managed, everything you need for a weekend retreat. The neighborhood is private and quiet, neighbors were friendly and welcoming to us. A short walk and you're on the sand. Closer than the beach was a very nice local restaurant (mostly seafood), and around the corner we found a local "dive" bar which was super fun. Only 10-15 min from town. A great time was had by all! THANK YOU for having us!
Brady F. Apr 2022
Beautiful view, quiet area with virtually no traffic. Cozy home stocked with linens and kitchen appliances. Plenty of plates and utensils. Could use a few more drinking glasses/plastic cups for kids, but we were able to wash as we go and that didn't affect the stay. Overall great home. Likely going to stay again.
Manager response:
Brady, we are so glad you enjoyed our beautiful home, the tranquil location, and the great amenities. We apologize for any kitchenware that you found lacking and appreciate you letting us know that there is room for improvement. We will pass your feedback along to our property manager to review and hope to host you for another great stay soon!
MELISSA F. Mar 2022
This house was perfect for our family and our two dogs. Comfortable, very clean and amazing views! Short walk to the bay and a fabulous restaurant. We are already planning our next stay here!
Andrea D. Feb 2022
Our family had the best week here on vacation! The house is in a perfect location for beach going or just staying in to wonderful views. We will be back!
Amanda S. Feb 2022
Plenty of sleeping space for our kids downstairs, plus two bedrooms upstairs, great kitchen with plenty of pots and pans. We walked down to the beach just awesome! Looking forward to another stay.
Leigh D. Jan 2022
Plenty of space for our two families (3 adults, 7 kids & a doggo) without feeling cramped or crowded. Beautiful views. A short walk down to the bay. Kids enjoyed digging in the sand. Glorious sunsets. Only wish we could’ve stayed longer.
Leigh D. Jan 2022
Enjoyed some pre-holiday vacation time with 2 adults, 4 kids and a pup. Kids loved the Galaga video game. Space for all. Comfortable. Enjoyed watching the storm while warm & cozy inside. Quick walk down to the bay. Our second time here and it was just as enjoyable as the first!
Engin Y. Nov 2021
We reserved this house as 3 families with little kids, total 11 people. The house is advertised as 12 people occupancy max. Technically, 12 individuals can stay in the house but realistically, only 6 people can stay with reasonable privacy. Arrangement of the beds is unusual with 4 queen beds organized downstairs as a bunk bed. Upstairs rooms have a double size bed each. So, one family had to cancel their trip because of this. On top of this, the city permit posted right next to the main entrance states maximum occupancy as 6 people. I already reported this to the city and will further report to the state.

Some good things:
- Great location with easy access to beach with minimal walk
- When it's not raining, the ocean view is amazing
- House is small, even for 6 people, but it is cozy

The Bad:
- Loud, periodic noise in one of the upstairs heaters. I am sensitive to periodic noises and cannot sleep. I had to choose between sleeping in cold vs. waking up frequently during the night. I chose to sleep in cold.
- Noise spillover between floors is very significant. If you plan to spend time in living room while some guests are sleeping upstairs, forget about it. There is no noise isolation between floors. Our normal level chats were too loud in living room and we had to just sit and play with our phones after kids went to sleep upstairs.
- There is no heating in bathrooms and they get freezing cold
- Living room TV is very slow and the sound and visuals aren't aligned. No matter what we tried we couldn't fix it. It was common across different services (e.g., Netflix, HBO, etc.)
- Upstairs shower curtain is has mildew on it
- City approved max allowed occupancy is 6, but the listing is for max 12 people
- Kitchen sink clogged with a few food waste (fruit peels). Vacasa fixed it pretty quickly though.
- No electric outlet in the garage, in case you want to charge your car

The Ugly:
- Vacasa provided us with only 2 small paper towels. We asked for more and this is the response we got: "Vacasa only provides a starter kit for all of the basic necessities. You'll have to provide your own if you run out." So, if you decide to stay in this house as 12 people, you can be sure that you will run out of all the "basic necessities" in your first day. It doesn't matter how long you stay, Vacasa apparently doesn't provide more than the bare minimum.
Manager response:
Thank you for your visit, Engin. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Many guests have greatly enjoyed their time here. We provide photos, a virtual tour, a unit description, and a list of available amenities so that future guests know exactly what they will be seeing upon arrival. Guests are welcome to reach out for assistance at any point before or after booking. The home is exactly as pictured when you booked it. Our homes are regularly inspected and occupancy is based on local regulations which we follow. We appreciate your feedback about the home and will share it with our local staff so any needed improvements can be made. We appreciate that you reached out so that we could offer an alternate solution, though you chose to stay in the home. Thank you.
Deidre H. Oct 2021
Beautiful place, we absolutely loved our stay here.
John P. Oct 2021
The location was amazing just a short walk down to the boat ramp we had a great time
Jennifer K. Sep 2021
This home is in a nice secluded little neighborhood. Very quite. Close to the water. Rent a boat and go crabbing or hop in the car for a short drive to beautiful beaches, hiking and family friendly activities. The home was clean and had everything we needed. We’d definitely stay again.
K A. Aug 2021
We really enjoyed the stay-such a lovely neighborhood and you aren’t kidding when other reviewers said well-stocked. I’m a cook so brought all kinds of spices “just in case” for some simple recipes and they had them all as an example. We connected to WiFi without an issue and my dog LOVED just sitting in front deck and watching the nature world go by. I’d love to come back again someday.
Chris L. Jul 2021
We loved (almost) everything about this rental.

Pros - The location was peaceful, quiet and within steps of the Bay. The house was very spacious and so charming. There were some nice "extras" included in the home like a duraflame log left in the fireplace, new sponges in the kitchen, plenty of spices, oils and cooking utensils in the kitchen. This would be such an ideal place for a large family to gather.

Cons - The house cleaners need to be audited. This house had most definitely not been thoroughly cleaned. It wasn't "dirty" but it was not as clean as we would have preferred. You could tell the carpet and couch had not been vacuumed as there was dog hair all over both. The floorboards and window sills hadn't been cleaned in a VERY long time. Just overall it felt a bit like you needed to give everything a good wipe down before you could really get comfortable. Also, the front bedroom with the BEAUTIFUL view of the bay was unusable for 2 reasons. The bed squeaked so bad there was no chance of getting a decent night sleep and the blinds were broken and had been tied in an "up" position and knotted. I didn't look back at reviews to see how long these two issues have been unresolved but they are pretty major so I truly hope the owner prods the management company! Also, this room really does need blackout curtains so that you can sleep in it - that's more of an opinion than fact of course.

I would love to return to this spot in the future but I would want to ensure these items were resolved before doing so.
Manager response:
Hi, Chris! It was our pleasure hosting you and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the fantastic location of our home. We apologize if the cleanliness of the home left something to be desired, and we will follow up with our housekeeping team to see that future cleans are completed to our standards. We will look into adding blackout curtains and replace any needed blinds. We will also check the bed for a possible replacement or repair. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Heather G. Jun 2021
Overall this place was great for our family. Well stocked with kitchen things, well laid out home, pet friendly, and beautiful view of the Bay. Walk to the beach or a short drive to the ocean or other things, watch the cranes and deer from the deck, and the arcade game on the first floor was a big hit with kids too.. The Vacasa staff was very nice and helpful when an issue came up. However, the beds are VERY hard, lumpy, and LOUD (like wake the baby every time you move. Yep, every night) and the couch and chair on the second floor are not very comfortable. Honestly, the uncomfortable furniture and beds are the only reason I'm not giving this home 5 stars. There are lots of stairs that you have to go up and down a lot because everything is on different floors, but that was not a problem for us.
Manager response:
Hello, Heather! Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! We regret that the bed was not suitable for your party and appreciate this feedback as an area to improve upon in the future. We hope to host you again soon!
Veronica W. Apr 2021
My husband, 2 daughters, parents and I enjoyed our stay here very much! There was plenty of space for all 6 of us and the house was absolutely beautiful. Lots of natural light and the decor was very nice. We were really appreciative that we had everything we needed, plus more. We have stayed at previous vacasa homes in the past and have always been missing something that says is included in the description (coffee maker, can opener, toaster, etc.), but this house had everything we needed. Both of my girls loved the games and toys that were provided for guests. The weather was pretty nice during our stay so we enjoyed the short walk to the beach multiple times a day. So thankful for the Roku tv, which we also enjoyed although it took us a while to figure out how to navigate it.

The only thing we had minor complaints about is the lack of counter space in the middle and basement bathrooms, but this was so minor that it can barely count as a complaint compared to other houses I have stayed in. Basically, we loved everything about this house and are hoping to return again someday. Thank you for sharing this gem of a home!
Cameron S. Mar 2021
I stayed for 7 weeks while working from home and could not recommend it more. Great view from the main floor and top floor. Lots of sunlight throughout the house. The neighborhood is quiet, and the internet is 100Mb.
Leigh D. Jan 2021
Plenty of space for all 6 of us to be together or enjoy some solitude. Lots of games in the nook on the stairs that kept the kids occupied and entertained for hours. Comfy beds. House was clean and tidy. Kitchen is very well equipped; the only item missing (for our needs) was a tea kettle. The reading nook in the living room was a favorite spot and never unoccupied for long. We enjoyed views of the bay and felt safe & warm when a storm with high winds rolled in. We took long walks around the bay and out to the ocean. We look forward to a return trip!
Erika M. Jul 2020
Perfect house for two families and dog!
Very clean and nicely decorated!Fully equipped with everything you need!
We loved the location and the view!
The only downside is the squeaky floor and bed on one of the bedrooms!
We will definitely go back!
Lisa And Don C. Feb 2020
This home is cozy with all the special conveniences to make your beach trip perfect! Great views! Easy walk to the beach and a fantastic restaurant! The owners have made sure you have all the comforts of home!
William B. Feb 2020
This was a really nice place to stay! Everything was clean & tidy. We enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again.
Mykell C. Dec 2019
This house is great if you have kids. The 3 levels is perfect since the kids will surely have the bottom floor with the bunk beds, L-shaped couch, Galaga arcade game and flat screen Roku tv. The adults can lounge in the living room while watching the flat screen Roku, then retreat to the 2 bedrooms on the 3rd level. Very quiet neighborhood and the views of the inlet are great from the main level deck and one of the bedrooms upstairs. There’s a nice restaurant within walking distance, called The Schooner.
The only small cons- downstairs (bottom floor) is quite musty smelling & there’s water damage near one or the bunks. The front door is extremely difficult to unlock. The 3rd level floors are super creaky & the beds are pretty hard. Other than those small inconveniences, the house is great and we thoroughly enjoyed our time.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review and would like to assure you we are working the owner on removing any musty odors and taking care of any water damage. We hope to see you again!
Jason F. Dec 2019
We loved the home and the location
Leanne M. Aug 2019
Great place for four people. There’s a nice view from the living room and the master bedroom on the top floor. The bottom floor is fake and a little odd with four queen sized bunkbeds stacked next to each other on one wall.
Wim D. Aug 2019
House is perfect for family gatherings and serves as the ideal base to explore an amazing region
Christa J. Jul 2019
This is a great location just steps from the beach with endless walking miles of sand! House has plenty of room for large families and is well equipped. Area is less touristy than other locations on the Oregon coast, but only an hour from Cannon Beach. Very close to spectacular Lookout State Park and beach. We had a wonderful stay.
Virginia O. Jun 2019
Great location near the beach, beautiful views, and our dog was welcomed! The home was clean and ready for us when we got there. Had one minor blip with the internet, but called VACASA and they were on it in a heartbeat and had us back up and running within the hour.
Johnette R. May 2019
Love the location! Great view, plenty of room to spread out. Super easy to head to Tillamook or drive along the coast. The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is because I wish there was a bathroom on the lower level and no good, reasonably priced restaurants close by. Planning ahead will solve the latter and put people with the best hearts and knees on the lower level to sleep. This is my second stay at this location and I would not hesitate to stay again, in fact I’m looking forward to it. Oh, and if you plan on cooking bring a sharp knife if you think you’ll need one.
Tiffany N. Nov 2018
Loved the proximity to the bay and it was super kid friendly... everything we needed was there! The only things we would suggest is a second TV on the 2nd floor as we had adults wanting to watch football and kids wanting to watch kids movies. Other than that, it was PERFECT!
Lynn P. Nov 2018

The house provided everything we needed. Views were lovely and beds were comfortable.
Kimberly C. Sep 2018
We had plenty of space in this comfortable house. House was very well appointed. Would definitely stay here again for future family trips.
Randall O. Aug 2018
Attractive, clean and well stocked!
TRINA F. Jul 2018
The home was very nice and accommodated 2 families very well.
Cindy B. Jul 2018
We had a wonderful stay . The location was ideal. The house worked perfectly for the amount of people we had. It was comfortable, clean and cozy. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Thanks.
Angie J. Apr 2018
Very comfortable family home, with ample comfortable sleeping arrangements. They’ve thought of everything for a family. There are toys and games, baby gates, pac n play.
Cheryl S. Mar 2018
This house was in an ideal location only yards away from the Netarts boat ramp with views of the bay. It was well stocked and perfect for our group. The only suggestion I would make is to upgrade the upstairs beds. They are a bit past their prime and not too comfortable. Other than that, we really loved it and plan to return.
Kimberly R. Feb 2018
Pros: Love that all the furnishings and many kitchen appliances were in this home. I loved that it could sleep so many people (since I have 5 kids). They loved the queen and full bunk beds on the bottom level. 2 Clean bathrooms and lots of towels were very much appreciated. Washing machine and dryer on bottom level. Great View of the bay from the family room and larger bedroom upstairs. Many board games and small kids toys also in house. Outdoor fire pit and BBQ available for use (we did not use too cold rainy and even snow, sleet, and hail while we where there.) Near the Schooner Restaurant and less than a 5 minute walk to docks and beach access.

Cons: Upstairs floor was very squeaky. Only one TV downstairs, but did have Roku (no cable). Small dinning room table only seats 5. Stairs from bottom level to mid level were a little steep and carpeted (I slipped and hit my shins a few times).
Adam R. Jan 2018
Great location, easy to walk down to the shore. Layout was perfect for us so that my daughter could bring her dogs along for the trip.
christie h. Nov 2017
We had a small family gathering for Turkey day, but without the turkey. The house was perfect for my family and brother's family, so we had to avoid any other obligatory family drama and just enjoy ourselves. Where do I start with how much I love this house? It's not ocean front, but the developer who built the community made sure that there are views from all the homes, so there is a great bay view from the living room. The fireplace makes a stormy night really cozy. The kids seem to naturally retreat to the bottom floor where the TV and huge bunk bed's are. The kitchen is small, but we cooked a big roast beef rack in the oven and it turned out great. The bay and The Schooner restaraunt/lounge is literally a three minute walk down the road. Gotta say I love this place in a storm and will be back.
Dominic H. Nov 2017
Nice house. Great location next to the bay. Small kitchen, kind of tight for 11 people.
Albert D. Sep 2017
Great spot if you are a fisherman. Boat launch is right down the street. Also a short walk to the beach on the bay. It's a bit of a hike out to the ocean and you have to do it around low tide, but we made it. Some road noise, but overall, it was a nice stay. Our party of six was very comfortable and there was room for twice as many. We'd definitely stay here again.
Sarah J. Aug 2017
The house was perfect for our family and the kids friends. We had 8 kids with us and the room downstairs was fantastic! Great location to visit tunnel beach and the octopus tree. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone with a larger group.
Crystal Y. Aug 2017
This house had a beautiful view!! Very nice neighborhood, and an excellent restaurant right around the corner. I would definitely recommend this for anybody with kids and pets. The house was very clean when we got there.
Josh A. Aug 2017
This is a great place to stay when you are looking for a quiet getaway on the Oregon Coast. Tillamook is nearby and is always a fun place to go. The beach was a short walk and was very beautiful. The house was very clean and comfortably furnished. Highly recommend.
Kathryn B. Aug 2017
The property's location is good. Easy walk to the beach. The basement smells very bad. I think it's urine. The floors are simply boards, no ceiling or anything to deaden sound from main floor to upper floor. There is not enough space for 9 people to sit down and eat a meal. The housekeeping is quite good and I liked the abundance of towels and extra bedding. A decent place to stay but a bit on the smallish side for 9 people.
Manager response:
The basement carpets have been professionally cleaned so the odor has been taken care of. We apologize the home's layout does not allow for more dining seating and suggest guests utilize the two couches and additional chairs during meals.
Shannon J. Jul 2017
Very clean and was everything it described it to be.
Lissa Z. Jun 2017
We stayed with a variety of ages 6-50+,something for everyone.
ROSALIE C. Jun 2017
The house is older but it's expected! I love that the kids got to enjoy the room downstairs as well as all the board games. We didn't know how to work the TV for firestick or Netflix but it forced us to enjoy the music by the simple radio station and play board games.

The view of the ocean was beautiful to look at during sunset especially in the mornings. Love waking up to that view!
Cheryl F. Apr 2017
It would be perfect for 2 family's to share. Although the two full size beds upstairs are tight for the parents. Sure there are queens downstairs but the gorgeous views are on the too floor. Walking distance to restaurant and boat ramp. It is a very cute neighborhood with excellent views out every window. Bottom floor is perfect for a bunch of kids slumber party. Lots of stairs so not good for older people with joint issues.
Amy H. Jan 2017
We stayed here with a total of 7 adults and one dog and the accommodations were perfect. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for cooking. The view of the bay and the front deck were really nice - perfect for the sunny and blue sky weather we had during our visit. Everyone seemed to report that the beds were comfortable, including the 'bunk' / group room. The house felt clean and comfortable. Overall, a nice little place easily accessible from Portland metro.
Stacey F. Jan 2017
We loved the view from the master bedroom and family room off the kitchen. It was too cold to enjoy the deck, but it would be fabulous to sit out there on nice days. Very comfortable bedrooms, tastefully decorated. Kitchen is small, but it has everything needed, with a full sized fridge. We are physically fit, so the stairs weren't a problem for us, but could be for some, as they are fairly steep. It was just the two of us an our dog, but we could have easily accommodated several more people in the downstairs "media" room which has really nice, quality bunk beds suitable for both kids and adults. It is a quiet neighborhood, and a short walk to the Schooner for dinner and drinks. We will definitely come back!
Kathy F. Jan 2017
Stayed here with a group of friends for three nights over Christmas. We had a wonderfully fun and relaxing time! Ate, drank, played games, had fires, watched movies. A great house with lots of room. It was fun to cook a lot. Love love love the entertainment room with double queen bunk beds! What?! So cool. Would love to stay here again.
Ryan N. Oct 2016
I'd been looking forward to crabbing and clamming on the Oregon coast for a long time. We booked this trip over our fall school break for the kids. The drive from PDX was gorgeous and the home is in the perfect location, just a quick walk down to little dock and the beach. Cozy house perfect for our family of 6. There is great cell coverage for verizon and the wifi internet in the home was more than adequate to stream movies, etc at night. The electric heater/fan units did a great job of warming up the place quickly when we needed it and the cleaning crew did a great job having it ready for us. We would definitely stay here again in the future. The value is great for a home of this size at this location. Can't be beat!
Amanda S. Oct 2016
The house is perfectly located for walks to the sandy beach and Schooners. We saw deer in the yard almost every evening and the views from the balcony are beautiful. The house has just about anything you may need. Beach toys, games, kids toys, beach chairs.
Cindi P. Sep 2016
We really enjoyed staying at Stretch.. . Neighborhood had a nice feel, beautiful views of the bay, house clean, simple tasteful and homey, and the bonus room is awesome for teenagers! You were great to work with!
Susan Renee I. Aug 2016
Close to the seashore, great clam sites, we were able to go crabbing, blackberries, more than you could eat ant the house was well stocked and clean.
Claire & Dick N. Aug 2016
Quiet and beautiful - a great place to stay!
Clark T. Jul 2016
We have a big family, with a variety of ages. Our crew was able to find fun things to do that kept everyone happy and engaged. The house was lovely, neighborhood quiet, and the walk to the sea so close.
We picked blackberries off the bush outside of the house and made pie for my husband's birthday. What a treat!
We are so happy with our vacation experience with Vacasa. Thank you!!!

Tower Family
Tom M. Jun 2016
Wonderful view of bay and ocean from upstairs bedroom and living room. Quiet and serene spot.
Carl W. May 2016
nice place and a nice time was had by all thank you
SHELBY D. May 2016
We had a great stay and enjoyed Netarts and surrounding areas. Oceanside by day and Tillamook by night.
Carly B. Apr 2016
Nice home, nice location! Kitchen was stocked and we had all we needed.
Rawley B. Feb 2016
Nice quiet get away!
John T. Feb 2016
Gerard L. Jan 2016
Two families saw the high wind and surf warnings coming for the weekend. We booked Stretch By The Sea at the last minute and were delighted. The custom bunk bed in the lower floor entertainment room can sleep 8 kids or adults comfortably. I've never seen a better built-in bed set up that is so stout and still cozy. If you came down to Netarts to go crabbing in the bay, there's room next to the house to park your boat and room in the bunks for your family/crew. Or you can rent boats and gear and try your hand at some adventurous crabbing on the bay. I was going to say "famous crabbing," but I'm not experienced enough to be sure that's accurate.

The main floor great room was big enough for our entire group. The furniture is comfy and warm but it's warn in enough that you don't feel like you're going to ruin it by relaxing too much. I think the best feature of the house is the reading nook next to the fire place where you can watch the boats going out to crab on the bay. First one up in the morning gets this perch. The bird watching from the house is fantastic. We saw eagles, great blue heron, oyster catchers, golden eye, ravens, etc, as well as seals bobbing in the surf. There are some vintage binoculars at the house, but we brought our own bird nerd scope and set it up in front of the sliding glass door. With the great room on the second floor you feel like you're in a tree house/nest, watching storm fronts pass through one after another. As the sun dips toward the horizon, the light gets really dramatic and the clouds take on painterly qualities.

Even the wives liked the mattresses and pillows in the upstairs bedrooms, so they must have been quality. Personally, I'm always worried that the water pressure in the shower at a vacation home is going to dribble lukewarm water, but there was no disappointment in the shower department--hot and high pressured.

We cooked breakfast and lunch at the house, but the place to eat is at The Schooner, a 2 minute walk down the hill, where the Ciopino, oysters and beer selection are more gastro pub than beach bar.

Things I forgot to mention: no cable tv, but plenty to watch on the Roku thing and a great collection of board games. Also lots of hooks on the wall where you can hang wet clothes, with a newer washer and dryer just in case you were knocked over by a sneaker wave at Cape Lookout State Park......for instance.

Netarts is a great place to settle in and watch the weather and then venture out to Oceanside or Cape Lookout when you see a break coming. At night the wind tried really really hard to blow the house down, but the Stretch By The Sea kept us warm, dry and looking forward to visiting again. What a deal for a medium sized group!

Robert J. Aug 2015
We had a wonderful time in Netarts. We would absolutely stay there again and use Vacasa as our rental agent. We would rent this property again. The accommodations were great. kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, etc. Location to the bay and ocean was perfect.
Cassandra H. Jul 2015
The house is 3 storys so it is a bit scary if you have mobile infants or toddlers (as we did) BUT the location is amazing, its with in 15-20 minutes of anything you might want to do. We definitely enjoyed the BBQer, and fire pit outside, making smores and memories! The home is well equipped with anything you might have forgot, well furnished and inviting!
Michele C. Jul 2015
This is our second time staying at Stretch by the Sea and we are just as pleased as we were five years ago. It is so quiet and peaceful in the neighborhood, we love it! The house works perfectly for our family of four - movies, game time, and roasting s'mores.
Ian M. Jan 2015
I took my mom and dad, two little brothers and my three kids to this wonderful beach house for the holiday. We had room enough to be comfortable and didn't feel cramped. Also, we had room to park my boat which was nice.

My mom loved the fact that we didn't need to bring blankets or towels or really anything except food. There were plenty of dishes in the cupboard, along with pots and pans, slow cooker, utensils. There were even spices in the drawers which was handy because I thought I had need to get some at the store.

The woodwork throughout the house was nice and the beds were comfortable. The middle and top floor had views of the bay. You could see the bay riddled with buoy markers for crab pots and lots of little boats checking there catch.

Overall, it was a very pleasant time. Nice house and beautiful area.