USA California Nevada County Truckee Listing #1675

Bears Lair - Truckee, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
90 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 8 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 3.5 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Large, dog-friendly cabin w/ shared hot tub & pool, near golf and skiing!

**Note: the use of Tahoe Donner HOA facilities requires additional daily fees.

Live up your next North Lake Tahoe retreat in this beautiful Tahoe Donner vacation rental. This grand mountain cabin has immense spaces, plenty of natural light, and room for up to 10 lucky guests - perfect for large family gatherings, events, and holiday celebrations.

Just 10 minutes from Truckee, this Tahoe Donner retreat is made with your busy vacation in mind. Tucked away in the high desert forest, this home away from home offers peace and tranquility without too much distance between important hot spots like Donner Lake (about five minutes' drive away) and Lake Tahoe (25 minutes).

This natural wood home features amazing floor-to-ceiling windows that let in ample sunlight, and has beautiful tiled floors and wrought iron accents. Upon entering you'll find yourself in a spacious mudroom, complete with shelves and hangers for all the shoes, snow gear, golf clubs, wet suits, and any other entertainment accessories that you may bring. Your dogs - welcome for a small nightly fee - are sure to love it here!

The living and entertaining room is spacious enough for many people to gather at once, yet provides a sense of intimacy that suits all occasions. An artistic rug is set off by the handmade quilts hanging on the walls. The flatscreen TV is hooked up to a DVD player and cable - perfect for movie nights or TV show marathons while you all snuggle onto the sofa, lounge in the blue reading chairs, or pile onto the love seat. There are numerous quilts and blankets for you to throw over yourselves - and if that doesn't keep you warm, start up the wood stove in the corner and get the room nice and toasty. On the main floor, you'll find a half bathroom and a full-service laundry room - no need to worry about mud or ice!

The dining room and kitchen take on a warm glow from the blonde wood floors, cabinets, and dining sets. The dining table seats up to six guests if you fold out the leaf, comfortably arranged upon a woven rug. Three more can eat at the breakfast bar. Head out from the dining room to the deck for an afternoon cup of tea or an early evening cocktail. Plug in your Pandora and set the mood with the available WiFi.

Enjoy an expansive, full kitchen with red accented windows and black appliances. There's plenty of counter space for you and your helpers to spread out, both when preparing the meal and when cleaning up after it (made easier thanks to the dishwasher). If the adults need some alone time, take the kids downstairs to the massive den: plenty of space for little ones to run around, watch movies, or play board games before bedtime.

Speaking of bedtime, you'll always have someplace cozy to lay down and snooze in this five-bedroom home! The main suite has a king bed with dark, glossy bedding, and two reading chairs before the bay windows for perfect afternoon reading time. The ensuite bathroom has a walk-in shower and soaking tub with a gorgeous window. The guest room has a queen bed with a deck shared by the main bedroom, and a second full bathroom with two vanities and a walk-in shower. For the younger members of your group, there are two bedrooms, each with four twins apiece; these bedrooms share a third full bathroom. For extra sleeping space, the den downstairs has a fold-out couch and a futon.

This home includes eight guest passes to the Trout Creek Recreation Center, just a five-minute drive down the road (daily access fees, paid directly to the resort, will apply). Play tennis, swim laps at the pool, or soak in the hot tub after a good workout in the fitness center. You're within easy driving distance of the Tahoe Donner Golf Course and the Coyote Moon Golf Course for tee time; make your way to Donner Memorial State Park near Donner Lake for hiking and freshwater recreation like boating and fishing. Visiting in the wintertime means that you're only 10 minutes from Tahoe Donner Downhill Ski Resort. Truckee has a Safeway and a Rite-Aid for immediate needs; this home also offers you easy access to the local airport.

Enjoy your next North Tahoe getaway here at this lovely Truckee vacation rental - a great location surrounded by a glorious landscape.

RCN # 469

*Following the Tahoe Donner HOA agreements, gatherings of people not renting the home are not allowed. Authorities will be notified if there is a party or large gathering in the home.
*No excessive noise and/or trash
*All exterior lights must be turned off between the hours of 10 pm and 7 am, seven days a week
*The WiFi at this home can be limited or spotty

City/town permit number: STR21-00878

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Baby gates

Children's games

Common areas

Gym/fitness room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Mountain view


Internet : Suddenlink



DVD player

Gaming system

Wireless router


Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Shared

Pool : Shared

Board games

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared


Gas grill : Private



Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

90 reviews

Jim S. Jan 2022
Great location and house is roomy with a nice open floor plan. Plenty of space for many people. However, many details have been overlooked, such as old mattresses without bed pads, insufficient/mismatched kitchenware (3 wine glasses only, of various sizes), sinks that don't drain, many wall cracks. It was an uneven experience,
Manager response:
Hi, Jim! We appreciate you staying with us and are glad you took the time to leave your review. The bunkbed mattresses were replaced last year, and kitchen appliances were upgraded two years ago. The sink, wine glasses, and walls are getting addressed. Please don't hesitate to call for assistance with these things. Thank you!
Robert E. Jul 2021
Great location, great house, this is our second time staying here. We would love to stay again next year but they doubled the price so we are looking around somewhere else.
Hector F. Jun 2021
First and foremost, I would like to start out with how clean the place was when we arrived. Nothing makes you feel better about sleeping somewhere other than your house like a clean house. This place is ideal for large families. The kitchen has everything that you need to make large meals after being outdoors all day. They have a grill for families like mine, who love grilled food. They had a full propane tank on the side just in case you ran out. They have a fridge in the kitchen and one in the playroom/basement.
The house had plenty of space for our large group of 11 people. 3 bathrooms with a shower/ bath to clean up. The only thing that they must update are the mattresses. I say about 4 of them were so outdated that body molds were present. Thankfully we had blowup mattresses from our travels cross country. Also, the internet connection was horrible. BUT, it was nice to be "off the grid" for 5 days. I had read a review prior to going so I was technically prepared and brought an extra wifi booster and extension for the kiddos.
Stores were only a couple miles away and qere able to find everything that we needed for the week.
All in all, we would all stay there again. Great memories were made. Highly recommended!!
Noe J. Apr 2021
It was a very decent cabin, had all the necessities included. I would suggest a few updates in the cabin for my relatives did not sleep so pleasantly on the bed mattresses up stairs. They are very used and worn out and not very comfortable. Also, the heater worked specifically a little too much in the downstairs bathroom rather than heating up the rooms. The living room carpet also has several stains we were suspicious about how clean certain things were through out the home. Other than that it was a good stay.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Noe, and are sorry to see there were some disappointments with it. The living room carpet is scheduled for a cleaning mid-May. The furnace is relatively new and serviced every year, so we are surprised to hear there were any issues and will bring it to the owner's attention. Thank you!
Kellar P. Mar 2021
This spring snowy trip was amazing! It was my family first time coming here. We loved the kitchen, it had different sizes of pots, pans, utensils to eat and cook. Especially, they already provide bunch of ceramic plates and mugs. The stove, mini oven, propane grill and the microwave are in good condition. The washer and dry are in good condition as well. The living room was the best part in the house and very spacey. The basement was very roomy, which had old games and don't worry it's a roku tv. That's where we put our kids to play and watch. The down stairs bedrooms were nice, except for the room by the laundry room. Up stairs, the rooms were beautiful and comfy. The back yard was fun and very snowy, yet deep amd fun. Overall, I had an amazing time with my family doing my dad and I birthdays together. Thank you Vacasa and Turkee, Lake Tahoe we had an amazing time at the cabin.
Tiffany M. Feb 2021
A few items left behind from previous renters that needed to be thrown away, but otherwise the house seemed clean. The house layout is perfect for large groups/ multiple families. It was a nice set up. The internet was ok and fine the first few days then it was spotty, but rebooting the router seemed to work. The backyard was perfect for the kids to play in and make a sledding trail.
Manager response:
Hi, Tiffany! Thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled to hear that the home was not more suitable your party! We appreciate you letting us know about the forgotten items and internet and apologize for the inconvenience. We welcome the opportunity to make improvements for positive guest experiences to come. We hope to host you again soon!
NATALIE A. Feb 2021
We loved our stayed. There was so much space for the kids to run around in the house. The kitchen was pretty much fully stocked, loved their appliances. They had a lot of blankets to keep warm and cuddle in. Over all we enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!!
Teresa L. Oct 2020
We decided to take our teens out of town to do 'school', as a change of scenery was desperately needed for eveyones mental health, and the Bears Lair did not disappoint. This house is very spacious - can accommodate a few families. We were just 4 + a dog and had plenty of space to spread out, do school and work and not feel on top of each other. It seems as though the house is steadily being remodeled room by room and both old and new are comfortable and accommodating. A newer bathroom has an awesome tub that was a delight to relax in. The house is off the main roads of Donner and backs up to one of the trails for off road hiking and exploring.
Initially we had some miscommunication regarding connectivity and as we arrived experienced very slow and spotty wifi. Knowing we were going to need great connectivity for 3 people to be working simultaneously, we had asked about this before renting and were told they (management company) had never had any complaints. As we were driving to Donner, we received opening instructions and a message that wifi was limited and spotty. PANIC. However, this was remedied fairly quickly with a call to the management company and speed/bandwidth was increased to the house. So with the improved wifi, a purchased HotSpot, and one teen directly connected to the router, everyone was able to get their work done.
Suggestions for things to bring: Seasonings - no salt/pepper,
since eating in or ordering in is the way to go right now, be sure to bring either containers, plastic wrap, or foil to wrap and cook with. Other than that the kitchen was well stocked with plates, utensils, pots/pan, cutting boards etc. I noticed a previous review that complained of dirty dishes and the complaint was directed toward the management company. We did not experience any dirty dishes upon arrival, but did notice the dishwasher did not do a great job - food remnants left after going through a full cycle. So be sure to thoroughly rinse dishes before placing in the dishwasher. Also, there was enough dishwasher soap to do 1 load - this I will tell the management company, as I feel this is something that should be checked and provided when the house is being cleaned.
Overall, a warm and welcoming home to help reset. Would definitely rent again.
Firas m. Sep 2020
Kim Caesar R. Sep 2020
Very much enjoyed our stay here during the Labor Day weekend. Will recommended this to anyone with a big group!
Gale A. Aug 2020
The house overall was nice
Mona O. Aug 2020
Our family of six enjoyed our stay here. The home is very large with lots of Space in the common areas to gather and hang out. The two master bedrooms are very large. Both have comfortable mattresses have their own private balconies.

The kitchen is huge with a large island. We stayed 8 nights and ate in every night because current pandemic. We found the kitchen had everything we needed for every dinner. We used the BBQ on the adjoining deck most nights. Our teenage kids mostly used the family room off the kitchen to hang out, but there is a very large downstairs room with a sofa and TV if there are multiple famines or groups of kids etc.

The Tahoe Donner community is awesome. We did multiple activities everyday. Donner Lake is a very short drive. We rented a boat and paddle boards there. The kids biked to downtown Truckee from the house multiple times. We also hiked, did rafting, golfed and more. There is so much to do in this area. The house backs up to a great fire trial that is perfect for morning and evening hikes.

The Bears Liar was perfect for our family vacation! We’ll be back.
Mary K. Jul 2020
There is so much room. We had kids with toys, lots of food, drinks to store, and outdoor toys such as blow up rafts and tubes for the river and lakes.
Thomas W. Jun 2020
Bears Lair is a beautiful home. The living spaces are broad and soaring with a generally high finish level, and the rooms are comfortably appointed. One can tell which areas have been renovated and which could still use a bit of an update but that did not detract from either the functionality or comfort of the home. The kitchen is fabulous and the additional refrigerator in the basement is a big plus.
The only reason this home isn't receiving five stars has little to do with the home, it has to do with the cleanliness of the cooking and serving pieces and utensils. They were by and large not quite clean. Many items were greasy and some had food on them; for instance, the colander had shrimp shells stuck to it. After the first few discoveries everything was pulled out of the cabinets and drawers and washed so there would be no more concern. As mentioned though, this quibble isn't about the house itself, it's more about the cleaning service and their need for more rigorous quality control.
We would definitely stay at lovely Bears Lair again.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Thomas. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and apologize if the cleanliness of the home left much to be desired. We will follow-up with our housekeeping team to see that future cleans are completed to our standards, and we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Matthew B. Mar 2020
Huge with many beds. Very nice place to stay with a larger group.
Rebecca W. Mar 2020
Half of a high school age ski team stayed here, for Nationals! It was perfect. Kitchen was great, location, everything. Thank yoU!
Lisa N. Feb 2020
We always have a wonderful time staying here. We are very appreciative. There is plenty of space for the kids to play inside and outside. They always have a fun time!
Monica G. Jan 2020
We didnt have to drive anywhere to enjoy the snow we just went to the backyard and enjoyed it there. rooms are a good size,house is a great size for a large family. 4 bathrooms that was a plus for us. I would recommend this house to everyone.
angelica n. Dec 2019
Beautiful house esp for big family..they provided everything which is great! Very clean carpet is clean kitchen up to the living room I great! Definitely we will be back
Robyn B. Aug 2019
This is the third time we have stayed in this home! That is a great review in itself. It is large, comfortable and peaceful. The layout is easy and very easily accommodated our group of 12.
You would never know that 12 people were staying there. Half the time about 9 people were in the kitchen. The space makes it easy for those fun evenings when everyone is in the kitchen either cooking or talking. The house itself is close to so many trails and many of the other Tahoe area things that we like to do. I look forward to returning next August!
Francis A. Jul 2019
Awesome cabin, lots of room and perfect for family gathering. Donner Lake is about 7mins away.
Gregory Y. Jan 2019
We had a few families with a bunch of kids over the weekend. They layout is great because it gave everyone privacy, while the living room and kitchen areas are large enough to accommodate everyone in comfort. There were some minor maintenance items like the stains on carpets, cracks in the wall, and older furniture, but not a big deal for us.
Ann Kristine E. Dec 2018
we loved the place, spacious, clean and i love that we don't have to go far because there's already snow in the backyard and the kids enjoyed playing in the sled. Great place to stay!
Samuel W. Mar 2018
Great house and location, the kids were able to sled in the backyard so no need to drive to Sugarbowl!
Stephanie D. Mar 2018
The house was perfect! It had everything we need in the kitchen. Plenty of space too! Close to Safeway and the place was nice and clean. Thank you we will be back!!
Jennifer C. Feb 2018
We loved this property. We had multiple adults and kids and it felt spacious. The kitchen was great. It was in a great location and we would stay here again.
Jan S. Jan 2018
We really liked this cabin except for the beds. The bedroom off the kitchen had a mattress on a board on two folded ladders on various pieces of wood. That’s not acceptable. It was also not very finished as far as the dry wall on the stairway below.
The kitchen was good with plenty of cooking utensils (except for some scissors). The oven and stovetop were difficult to regulate. It was either too hot or not hot enough. It might need to be calibrated.the microwave, coffee maker worked great but the toaster oven was sketchy.
We loved the floor plan, there was a room downstairs that the boys could play in as loud as they wanted to be without bothering the adults. There was a large back yard and we were lucky to have snow to play in. We built a sled run that was fun for the boys and parents!
We would return if the beds were improved!
Manager response:
We have supplied a new twin bed frame and toaster oven to the home. We apologize for those inconveniences.
Maria J. Nov 2017
is a great place to stay, big, a lot space for large groups and in the back you have beautiful place to walk around the nature, love it...
Shannon W. Oct 2017
Wonderful space for hanging out with a large group of people. The housekeeping was great except the carpets. It looks like they have been cleaning them, but it must be an impossible job to do in a dog friendly house with white carpets. I would just replace with non carpet material if I had the choice. You can tell that they are slowly upgrading the house and working on making it not so dated. They have done a great job on the bathrooms. We didn't particularly like their blankets/comforters because they were a bit old, so we used our own. Again, wonderful place for a large group and would stay here again.
Michelle M. Oct 2017
This house is huge. It only allows 13 guests but it could comfortably sleep at least 15. We were a party of 9 and this allowed for plenty of personal space. There are two suites, one up and one down, each with their own full bathroom. It has two stories plus a large room below with its own fridge. It has two story windows in the living room and a large kitchen with everything you need to cook. There is a nice deck off of the kitchen/dining room that puts you right in the forest. The location is great, it's just a five minute drive from Safeway and ten minutes from Truckees adorable downtown. Tahoe is only a 25 minute drive. We would love to stay at Bears Lair again.
Kathi W. Sep 2017
Great home for a crowd. Easy location to everything Truckee has to offer. Kitchen was easy for several people to prepare big meals.
Sheila P. Sep 2017
Overall, our stay was very nice. The house is very spacious and beautiful.
I did leave a hand written note, in an envelope, for the property manager in the house when we left listing any concerns we had.
Marie I. May 2017
This rental was a getaway for my daughters 3rd birthday. The cabin was spacious and accommodated our large party perfectly. The kitchen was stock with all the pots, pans, baking items, etc we needed to cook up a feast for our group. Everyone loved the open and large living/dining area.

There were some cons with the property: many complained about the lack of warm water in the upstairs main shower and main floor shower in the guest room. The heater in the lower level room felt like it never shut off when set to a specific temperature.

My guest also complained about the mattress being very uncomfortable. Overall the rental was great, I love the large space. This property would be so much better if the owner upgraded or replace the bedroom mattress/furniture.

Jyostna C. Apr 2017
We had a enjoyable stay with our families. Very kid friendly and great for older people too
Sarah L. Apr 2017
Three families stayed in this house very comfortably. There was plenty of space for everyone. The kids and dog loved exploring the woods behind the house. The rec center passes were a bonus. The kids loved playing in the hot tub and pools while it snowed.
The house is 15 minutes from several ski slopes, lots of options for beginners to experts.
They could use some upgrades like better mattresses and more kitchen chairs. The little soaps and shampoos were a nice touch.
Yu Z. Feb 2017
This is a great house. It's clean and spacious. Air conditioner is working great. The living room and kitchen are huge. It's easy to find. We had 4 cars. 2 were parked in the lot and 2 were outside.
We would recommend this place to another friend. Thank you!
Mya C. Feb 2017
This house is very spacious. It can definitely accommodate to a large group. The location was very convenient. It was close to many local shops. Safeway and Starbucks was less then 5 minutes away. Only complaints would be with housekeeping. Upon arrival trash cans in kitchen and livingroom was full from previous guest. And the balcony was a mess with the grill and chair knocked over with extension cord hanging from second floor down to the balcony and another trash bag being left outside. Furniture and appliances could be more updated but I verall our stay here was very comfortable. Make sure to pick up some wood for the fireplace. It keeps the place quite warm.
Nallely C. Feb 2017
Nice big house, very clean but could use some improvements in maintenance.
Tod S. Dec 2016
beautiful house. the pics don't do it justice. a great space. the problem is the house needs some work. water came thru the ceiling in the kitchen when we tried to use one of the upstairs showers. sounds like a recurring problem. we also had very poor water pressure in the downstairs shower, leaving really only one shower for 10 people. several light bulbs were out throughout the house, which was more of an annoyance. beds were very uncomfortable. i would look elsewhere next time if these items are not addressed. management company did offer a bit of a refund for the issues.
Manager response:
We apologize for the leak that occurred during this guest's stay. The light bulbs have been changed out, and we'll advise the owners of the comments regarding the mattresses. Thank you!
Nadezhda A. Dec 2016
We had a great time at the place. We didn't not have fresh snow, but rain, but still had a lot of fun playing games. Kids enjoyed the downstairs playroom where we built a fort for them. Overall, we had a fun time. We will sure come again. The place had a good, spacious kitchen filled with dishes, cookware, and utensils. We didn't have to bring any of our own.
STEEP W. Nov 2016
Perfect great room with plenty of sleeping space makes a large group feel at home.
Margaret E. Nov 2016
Very nice home with lots of space. Home is beautiful and great for a large group, but I had originally rented a smaller home on Donner lake with a hot tub on the deck and 3 months after I rented it (2 weeks prior to arrival and we were coming from Florida) was told it was no longer available. Never was given a reason why. My 85 year old father was sitting in a chair at breakfast and the chair fell apart underneath him.
Manager response:
We are very sorry this guest had to be moved and appreciate their patience in the matter. We are also sorry to see an incident happened with a guest and are glad to see no major injury occurred. The Property Manager will be sure the chairs are all in stable condition.
Rich H. Nov 2016
Great place/price. Highly recommend.
Lauren T. Nov 2016
Open spaces, lots of room to cook a big family game night or have a fire and play board games. Definitely would stay here again!
Helen H. Sep 2016
big house with room for us- we were 6.
Bobby M. Sep 2016
Nice location, large house, lots of beds. Needs maintenance and cleaning. Lots of little things need attention...not happy paying cleaning fee to arrive to a somewhat dirty house with stained carpets and stinking garbage left in the garage!!!
Manager response:
We are very sorry to see that housekeeping did not meet our standards in preparation for this reservation. Had we been notified we would have sent housekeeping out as soon as possible to rectify the situation.
Maria S. Aug 2016
It was a wonderful stay we had a great time with the family there was enough room for all of us kitchen was well equipted only thing that was a boomer was house was not very clean lots of dust spider webs and spiders house would be a 5 star if they had someone clean and detail the home it needs it put I do recommend it for a big family reunion or just a good time with friends ...
Belinda Y. Aug 2016
We all enjoyed our stay here at bears lair. Very spacious & home like feel ! Thank you so much for letting out stay be comfortable & enjoyable!!
Janice P. Jun 2016
This house was perfect for our family reunion. It is spacious with a very well equipped kitchen, lots of room for eating, lovely view, and places for privacy.
Anne M. Jun 2016
The house was great and served as a perfect place for our Bridal Entourage to bond and get to know each other!
Maria U. May 2016
Fell in love with the place and location! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay at! Had everything we needed and were very close to town!
Betty T. May 2016
There were a total of 8 quilters that used the Bears Lair for a retreat. Everyone was very pleased with the location, cleanliness of the residence, sleeping accommodations and over-all layout of the home. We would not only recommend this house but intend to rent it again in the near future. Thank you for making our stay exceptional and the snow on Friday and Saturday was the perfect touch to a perfect weekend.
Tom F. Apr 2016
The place is fine but in this day and age it is reasonable to expect working wifi. The idea that the wifi is "spotty" is completely misleading. There isn't any...
Jennifer B. Apr 2016
Great house for multiple families (at least 3 families would fit comfortably). Plenty of space and storage. Nice neighborhood.
JOHN C. Apr 2016
I would not hesitate to recommend this experience to anyone interested in the Tahoe area. Respectfully
Norrine O. Apr 2016
We had a wonderful Spring Break with our grandchildren. They enjoyed the "back yard" sledding, snowball fights and building snow forts, that they passed up skiing.......home is so spacious and back yard felt like a private
resort to the children .......coming from the hectic Southern California, they
truly enjoyed a peaceful no-crowd vacation in the snow.
Helen Z. Feb 2016
Received email in the morning that all was set for our arrival at 4pm. No information given in the email how to enter house so I assumed front door would be open or it would be obvious. We arrive at 5:30 - doors locked. Call VACASA. ANSWERING MACHINE. FOR 30 MINUTES!!! Could get a hold of NO ONE. Finally after 2 people calling NONSTOP somebody returns call. We get the code for lockbox. All good...until we try to work the TV/DVD next day. NO SOUND. Did everything we could to troubleshoot - no luck. No house manual to help. Again, called VACASA - SLOW response. They send manager out - she goes to the WRONG HOUSE. Never heard back from her after that. Kitchen was pretty tired. 2 burners not working. Oven pretty bad. Toaster gross. POSITIVES: Great location, plenty of room/spacious, outside sledding hill for kiddos. Bummed that there wasn't better communication with VACASA. While they were pleasant on the phone they were really difficult to get a hold of. Every house should have some sort of manual to troubleshoot TV, HEAT, KITCHEN APPLIANCES, etc. We still had a great time making memories - but if you rent this space out just be aware.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize that we have been so difficult to reach lately; we have experienced a steep increase in our call volume and are actively hiring more Guest Services Agents so we can be sure to respond to our guests in a timely fashion. The Property Manager has taken care of the check-in information and sound problem, and she will look into the kitchen items as well.
Cristiano M. Jan 2016
Bears Lair is a great place for family and friends. The house is huge, warm and a short drive to stores and activities. The house has wi fi so bring all your gadgets. Over all it was a great experience dealing with the Vacasa group and I can't wait to deal with them for our next outing. Thank you
Monica S. Nov 2015
The property is fully stocked and in a great location for snow. More than enough room for 10 people without feeling crammed. We had a wonderful time and decided to make a visit to the property an annual family trip. Property came with dishwasher, washer/dryer, propane grill, and free wifi. Recommend bringing a mini heater if you get the main floor bedroom. It was a lot colder than the upstairs rooms.
Rory P. Oct 2015
This home is gorgeous! Bette than the photos! Massive open living area with big kitchen, dining and living area all attached. Great for socializing! Big balconies upstairs and down. BBQ grill included. Beautiful, no, BEAUTIFUL surroundings! We just sat on the balcony for hours enjoying the air and the sounds of the little animals.
The home is big. Big rooms, big bathrooms, big living areas. We only had 4 people, and the house felt empty. Great for a big family or a couple families!
Dinna S. Sep 2015
We had a wedding to attend to that weekend. It was a great stay but needed some minor upgrades.
We made everything work! We are easy going but it will be great if upgrades are done .
Thank you,
It was a great weekend! Kitchen was great full of kitchen stuff, condiments and spices! needs upgrades on cookware.
Manager response:
It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your time at this incredible home and we really appreciate your feedback. New cookware has been added and is ready for our guests to make delicious meals with. Thank you again for choosing Vacasa.
Cheryl K. Aug 2015
The cabin was perfect for our family. Very nice, clean, plenty of room, and the kitchen had everything we need. We had great family time and will come again.
Peikang L. Aug 2015
The house was great, very spacious even with 12 people. Thr kitchen was well stocked with all the necessary items, and everything was great in general. Everyone enjoyed our stay in this house, and we will remember in the years to come.
Li Z. Aug 2015
we had wonderful stay in this house. Very spacious for both adults and children to have fun together. Very close to many attractions.
Michael D. Apr 2015
The layout, especially the open kitchen and living area, was wonderful as we were able to always interact with our group. Sleeping arrangements were easily setup to accommodate all of us and the only gripe from the kids was the lack of snow! But, that is beyond us isn't it; we had a wonderful stay.
Tina N. Mar 2015
Nice place.
Felicia T. Mar 2015
The house is very nice and roomy place to stay with all family members for a special occasion with a reasonable price. I just wish that it had snow those dates that we stayed, but I guess that nobody could predict the weather. Will stay again in the future.
Manager response:
We are sorry that the weather did not cooperate for your vacation. We are glad that you enjoyed your relaxing vacation and can't wait for you to return.
Yolanda Z. Feb 2015
This is our second time to here, and we all enjoy our great time! Will come again!
David V. Feb 2015
Plenty of space. Loved the playroom, it was big enough for kids to relax in and far enough away from main room so adults could relax. Beautiful master bathrooms.
Estella V. Feb 2015
This cabin is so spacious and great for a couple families! Great large windows with a nice view out back where the kids can play and be seen! Only wish there was more then one TV with cable. The guys in our group enjoyed playing the old Nintendo game there! Overall we really enjoyed our long weekend there and would rent again!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. There may be only one TV with cable, but there is a DVD player that you can use on the other TV in the home! Our guests are more than welcome to bring their favorite movies! Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Estella V. Feb 2015
This cabin is so spacious and great for a couple families! Great large windows with a nice view out back where the kids can play and be seen! Only wish there was more then one TV with cable. The guys in our group enjoyed playing the old Nintendo game there! Overall we really enjoyed our long weekend there and would rent again!
Emma C. Jan 2015
This is a beautiful, huge house with lovely amenities throughout. I loved that there was a lot of space in the back for kids to play and a fire trail that you can hike/xc ski/bike on. Very quiet, tons of space, everything is in great condition/newish and the kitchen is very well stocked. This has been one of the best rentals I've stayed in and plan to come back soon. Vacasa was a very seamless and effortless booking agent. Top notch all around.
Manager response:
Thank you for your kind words! We're so glad you had a wonderful experience. This home really is in such a great area, excellent for a relaxing, yet fun filled getaway. We'd love to see you visit again soon.
Yolanda Z. Jan 2015
It's a gorgers and spacious cabin, with great price! We all had a very pleasant time there. It's quite convenient to the Soda Springs, only takes twenty minutes. Our kids had so much fun even play in the house. We definitely will come again later!
Stephanie W. Jan 2015
Stayed here for three nights over New Year's with two other families for a ski/snowboarding vacation. Spent one day at Sugar Bowl and two at Squaw. Great location near the 80, downtown Truckee and the Truckee Safeway. Vacasa staff and property owner were extremely gracious and helpful.
Manager response:
Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful new Years Holiday stay with us!This is the perfect family and friends getaway home for easy access to skiing in the winter and the lake in the summer. Not to mention all the space for larger groups. We do apologize if there was recycling that had not yet been properly disposed of, as well as anything left on the carpets.We pride ourselves on providing comfort to our guests and anytime you stay at one of our rentals, please call Guest Services if there is an issue we may help resolve, we are here from 4am-11pm PST. We are very happy you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and hope to see you all back again soon!
Gabrielle M. Jan 2015
We stayed here for a ski retreat with 3 families with 8 kids ages 6-12. There were plenty of beds and space for everyone. We loved the great-room for evenings and the downstairs for the kids to go wild! We also liked the large entry that was big enough for all of our boots, mittens and ski gear!
Ruth T. Jan 2015
Great location for skiing at Squaw and Sugar Bowl. The house is in a big development with many other big homes and the wood stove fireplace in the living room was great. We bought 2 boxes of wood at Safeway and was enough for the 4 days we were there. Big rooms lots of beds can accommodate over 13 people. we only had 6 in our family with us. Big 2 car garage was able to park the car inside. (be careful getting out of driveway it can be slippery. The kitchens spacious and great for cooking meals. Not sure if there was an ice machine in the freezer.
The master bedroom has a jacuzzi bathtub that looks new you can walk outside on to the balcony. Has everything you need for a wonderful vacation.