USA California Gold Coast Carpinteria Listing #1666

Sugar Shack - Carpinteria, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
95 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 0 bedrooms 1 bathroom No pets 

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Fun and retro rental conveniently close to Santa Barbara!

Get your fill of bright California sunshine at this retro Carpinteria vacation rental just a short walk from the beach! When you stay here, you'll have a full kitchen and entertainment amenities like a TV, cable, and a DVD player for evenings you want to stay in and relax. And on nice sunny days (everyday?) the beach is only a short, one-block walk away.

With an ideal location just east of bustling Santa Barbara, you can spend your days down on the sand with a good book, beach combing along Carpinteria State Beach, and hiking at Salt Creek Marsh Nature Preserve. On the evenings that you don't feel like making your own meal, there are dozens of restaurants within a few blocks of your cozy Carpinteria retreat.

Featuring a classic, split-level design, the main level of this Carpinteria vacation loft holds a comfortable living room decked out in neutral tones, with pops of orange from the artwork and throw pillows. There are a couple of sofas for lounging (as well as an air mattress), a flat screen TV for entertainment, and a distinctively laid-back style. In addition to the dining room table, you'll also have some seats at the breakfast bar, overlooking the kitchen.

When it is time to get a meal on the table, the kitchen is compact but nicely functional with tiled countertops, a refrigerator, and a stovetop/oven. There's even a blender for fruit smoothies or margaritas. And when it's time to do the dishes, just let them soak while you watch a movie or head down to the beach.

At night, the sleeping loft upstairs has a king-size bed, along with a skylight, and accessories like reading lamps and a shelf full of books. The full bathroom is also located on the loft level. Between the bed and a queen-size air mattress, four adults can comfortably stay at this Carpinteria vacation home.

Gorgeous Carpinteria State Beach is about 200 yards away and is the perfect setting for a beach-side picnic, an afternoon lounging in the shade of a beach umbrella, or a day of building sandcastles. You can rent a paddle-board, play some volleyball, or just lay back and take a nap. Also nearby, the Carpinteria Bluffs Nature Preserve is perfect for a late morning hike along the trails, where you might see seals, sea lions, and a variety of seabirds on your journey.

When you want a fun night on the town, Santa Barbara is only 12 miles away, with museums, theaters, shops, and restaurants for every taste and budget. And if you don't feel like dealing with crowds or lines, just stay put and chill in sunny, beach-front Carpinteria.

Plan a stay at this throwback-style Southern California vacation rental! For both calm waves and good swells, Carpinteria offers activities year-round and this cozy Carpinteria getaway is a great budget-friendly option right near the Southern California shore.

City/town permit number: 14100008

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Shared

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining





Beach access


Internet : Cox - Carpinteria


Cable : Cox - Carpinteria

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router


Step-free access


Beach towels



95 reviews

Nicole L. Jul 2022
Fantastic location to easily get downtown and to the beach! Beach is just one block away!
Travis H. Mar 2022
Stay was nice, easy to get to, full kitchen was much appreciated. Too much sand by the door and was in the fold out bed.
Jayne F. Nov 2021
A nice place. Clean and close to the beach. Could use more supplies for cooking at home. Not well stocked with knives, or even a carrot peeler. Lots of bath towels, but only two kitchen towels for an entire week.
Nicholas H. Oct 2021
Very clean and only about two blocks from the beach.
Robby C. Jul 2021
I had no idea how close this home is to the beach. So lovely to wake up early walking beside the ocean...
Brian R. Jun 2021
The space would have been perfect and location was great. But we had an infant with us and we let he crawl on the floor an within minutes she was covered in black filth. There were ants by the sink. If I was 20 something with friends it would have been fine, but with a family it was gross.
Manager response:
Hello Brian,We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness concerns you encountered during your stay with us. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. We are disappointed to see that this concern was not reported to us during your stay as we would have been happy to assist. We have passed your feedback along to our housekeeping staff so they are aware of your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future!
Brooke B. Feb 2021
Right across from the beach and walkable to downtown area with restaurants and shops. Great for 2-3 people with upstairs bedroom and downstairs pullout couch that's surprisingly comfortable. Very functional kitchen with anything you would need. Easy parking and very safe
Sheila D. Nov 2020
I liked that you can hear the waves at night. Neighbors are quite, and it's peaceful.
Duane K. Aug 2020
It’s close to the beach but that’s about all that was great about our stay. The TV did not work, the floor was dirty and we had difficulty accessing the unit the first day. We told management and they did not respond till the following day. We found the problem with the HDMI cable not being connected and wiped down the floors. We were the workers for the unit,... we had ants, the blinds were bent so you could see into the front room, the downstairs sofa bed was not usable and the unit was very outdated. We noticed the towels were all new, but had not been washed so they left fuzz on your body when you used them. We also left the day before since they changed the checkout time to 10 AM instead of the 11 AM we agreed to on It was close to the beach but no where worth the money we paid, especially with all the fees that were added on.... $350 per night? Not worth it and we won’t be back. 💩💩
Manager response:
Hi, Duane! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide feedback! We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with the TV, as well as the items overlooked during cleaning. Due to the inconveniences experienced, we have issued you a refund of the cleaning fee. Please know that the blinds have since been replaced with curtains for added privacy, pest control has treated the home for ants, and the sofa bed is fully functional. We invite you to stay with us again so that we can provide a much more comfortable vacation experience.
Barbara L. Feb 2020
Close to train and down town and beach but has an older vibe
Trevor D. Jan 2020
Close to beach and restaurants
Cathleen M. Aug 2019
Great space, location and town. Would definitely stay here again.
Timothy B. Jul 2019
Very nice loft unit, perfect location, close to town and beach. Parking is an issue if you have a truck, mine is lifted a little and wouldn’t fit in the designated parking spot (roof is very low), made it difficult to find parking on a busy day as the streets were packed.
Randall B. Jun 2019
Easy access to beach and local shops and restaurants. No A/C so the fans provided were a “must”. Sofa bed was uncomfortable.
kevin d. Jun 2019
perfect little abode. great location. plenty of ammenities. great time!
Ellen L. Jun 2019
It was a great place to stay at for short trips the neighborhood was quiet and seems like safe area and very close to the beach. My only comment was the tub was a little slippery, so be very careful on going in and out of the shower.
Alicia H. Jan 2019
We loved staying here. The unit was clean and comfortable with all of the necessities for our trip. The complex is quiet and safe with reserved parking very close to the front door. The location is amazing as its a short stroll to the sand and walkable to all of the great shops, restaurants and grocery store. This was our first time to Carpinteria and this unit made it a great trip... would definitely stay here again.
Barbara L. Jan 2019
The location was idea to beach and town and train.
Graham H. Dec 2018
A nice compact apartment for one or two people very close to the beach and cute small town.
Lisa W. Dec 2018
We were in town for a short period of town and found this home on very short notice. It was so nice to be just steps from the beach!
Salina C. Oct 2018
We had a great time. Everything we needed.
Lori T. Sep 2018
Perfect little beach getaway in the sweetest little beach town.
Kaycee G. Aug 2018
It what was expected! The pictures are accurate and the condo is clean!
Daniel M. Aug 2018
Jessica A. Aug 2018
Great location!
M M. Jul 2018
Lori B. May 2018
1 block from the best beach around. Keep saying that over and over and over. It will get you past the outdated furnishings. Nice size bathroom the bed was super comfy. Could not imagine six people in here though. My grandkids thought it was a hoot when they stopped by. Very 80's retro. Very clean plenty of supplies absolutely no complaints. Oh wait I do have one- the futon is too close to the stairs and there's not a lot of room coming in the front door. Be careful I tripped over the staircase.
Cynthia C. May 2018
Great location. Nice place to crash for a couple of nights. My kids, husband and I enjoyed our stay. We were walking distance to the beach and The Spot! Great time!
Betsy M. Apr 2018
2 minute walk from the beach. We were trying to be cost effective and this place offered what we needed. It is vintage, with older furniture and appliances, so don't expect the Ritz Carlton for the price of this unit. We went in April, and the place got a bit warm, but given we were gone except to sleep, it was fine. We had some hiccups (nothing to do with the property itself) and found the PM company awesome to work with as well as fair and reasonable. Worth it for the price!

Keith H. Dec 2017
Location is SUPER. Less than 2 minutes walk to the beach! Sunsets are beautiful. Condo is perfect for two people. Four adults would be dicey.
It’s comfortable and clean.
Cindy B. Oct 2017
Great location. Quiet neighborhood. Great price. All Make up for the outdated space.
Rossana A. Oct 2017
We came to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary I'm so happy we cane here. Nicely locate it place.
Jennifer K. Aug 2017
Location is wonderful. It's within walking distance to beach and downtown Carpinteria.
Jamie S. Jul 2017
The location of this property is great! It is quiet, clean, and close to the beach.

We appreciated being able to prepare our own meals and the kitchen and cookware was acceptable. It had everything we needed except some large mixing bowls and knives that were sharp. This made it hard to cut through our chicken and vegetables, and mix up large salads and other dishes.

The condo has a big comfy bed, a nice size bathroom and living room. The kitchen table was a little rickety and some of the chairs looked like they were coming apart.

I know this property is suppose to have a vintage feel, but a little updating of the furnishings, cookware, and dishes would go a long way in showing appreciation to the guests.
Manager response:
The property manager has tightened up the furniture and ordered new knives and mixing bowls for the home. Thank you!
Dave A. Jul 2017
Location great! Carpet in bathroom horrible, heat and lack of good air flow difficult to hang out inside and sleep. Neighbors not to excited about people staying there. Bring your own beach chairs and if you have bikes it's really difficult to find a place to keep them.
Brittney H. Jun 2017
Very close to beach and felt very safe. It's a quiet place and pretty clean.
MargieJohn G. Jun 2017
We really enjoyed the great location of the Sugar Shack. It is a short walk and a
short block and a half from the beach! It was great to be able to walk back if we wanted to use the bathroom and/or get snacks. Every morning, I took a walk on
the beach. And on Linden St. there are so many coffee places, eateries and even
the Rite-Aid and Smart & Final Grocery; so you don't even have to drive to get to
any essentials. The upstairs bed is very comfortable. They also have two additional feather comforters which are really nice with the cool nights. The only thing we
would change would be to update the pull-out sofa bed. Our adult children opted
for the two sofas, and slept on them very nicely. The kitchen was great and the cleanliness of the unit was excellent. Overall, we had a great time at the Sugar Shack.
Tina H. Jun 2017
The location is perfect, less than 2 short blocks to a beautiful beach, and around the corner from quaint downtown Carpinteria. If you want a great location at a good value, consider it. However, if you enjoy spending significant amounts of time inside enjoying a nice view, this is not the place for you. I would strongly caution anyone with a small child from staying here, because the loft railing is spaced out such that a child could easily walk through. What this place lacks in updated amenities, it more than makes up for in location!
Terri M. Jun 2017
The best weekend getaway!!
June H. Jun 2017
Out with that seventies show. Carpet, sofa sleeper, carpet in bathroom, card table to eat at, have to go..
Michelle G. May 2017
I came here with my daughters in April of 2017. The place is very comfortable and close to the beach. We can't wait for another reunion.
Mariluz D. Apr 2017
We where happy, located so close to the beach and surrounded by good restaurants
Irene R. Mar 2017
This was the perfect location for a girls getaway. We felt safe and comfy in the sugar shack neighborhood. We walked to the beach, trails & down town with ease. Freeway access is super convenient. It's about a 20 minute drive to Santa Barbara and a lot more expensive to rent. I would recommend staying in Carpinteria vs Santa Barbara. Much more laid back atmosphere in Carpinteria and we loved the quaint little town. ⭐⭐⭐⭐Sushi Terri. ⭐⭐⭐Nutbelly pizza. ⭐⭐⭐Rainbow message.
Hannah S. Mar 2017
Distance to the local Beach is worth everything
Victor K. Mar 2017
Although the unit is not on the beach, it is so close to it that you do not mind it at all. The parking spot is right around the corner from the unit so it made the unloading and loading of the car very easy.
Glen B. Jan 2017
Great little condo super close to a great, quite, beach. Fully stocked with dishes extra linen or anything you need. Full-time residents are cautiously friendly and helpful. Was very impressed with the entire town being friendly.
Maddy S. Dec 2016
We wanted to enjoy our Christmas with peace of ocean. Stay was very enjoyable and relaxing. we'll certainly come back. The Staff was very caring and responsive. overall a good place to stay for few days and enjoy the beach.
Alice K. Aug 2016
Great location in Carpinteria - close to the beach and downtown. A cosy little place to stay that's very homely.
Thelma R. Aug 2016
The location of the condo is awesome and you can't beat the price. It is small but we were out and about everyday so that made it worth it for us.
Vivian G. Aug 2016
Peter P. Jul 2016
Great location and a cute place. Can get hot during the day (get that fan going!) but it was just what we needed. Good value compared to other places in the area.
Hilary S. Jul 2016
Super short distance to everything you come to Carp for; the lovely beach, the sweet little town. Corner unit which is nice and right next to covered parking. Close to laundry room as well.
Groovy pad set up as if its 1975 but very clean and very comfortable.
Alisha A. Jul 2016
This location is great - very easy walk to the beach, close to shops and food, short hikes, etc. The apartment was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 young kids. With fans upstairs and down, it stayed a nice tempurature with no air conditioning in July. We look forward to coming back for another stay soon!
Rachel S. Apr 2016
This place was amazing...literally 10 feet from the beach! We will definitely be coming back! Thanks!
Hope R. Mar 2016
We had a great stay. The beach is a block away and beautiful!
Michael R. Feb 2016
My wife and I LOVED it! The check-in-out was VERY easy, and from first sight it caught us and we WILL be back. It's more than just a place to stay, it's VERY groovy (LOVE the '70s theme), all appliances worked well (microwave, toaster, coffee machine, the harvest gold stove looks amazingly good), the place was VERY quiet all day and night. Falling asleep to the ocean waves coming through the loft window was an incredible touch. It seemed as though we were right on the water at times (even though there's no actual view). If the air changes at all, the sound of the waves does diminish, but gets REALLY strong at night (just perfect for bedtime!). Carpintería has such an amazing climate, the fact that there is no air conditioning is NOT a big deal. We felt neither too cold or too hot. There is a big fan if needed. The loft bedroom is such a cool thing, and the king bed mattress was VERY comfortable. We felt as though we were right at home, and wish we were. We WILL be looking to return. It was my wife's first vacation rental experience, and the first impression was perfect. Thank you for the wonderful experience!
Eldean P. Feb 2016
Our stay worked out just fine. We enjoyed our time there.
Linda W. Dec 2015
The price of this unit can't be beat for the location, ease of parking and loading and unloading the car. Only two blocks from the beach, the sound of the waves is a nice companion at night. However, in the winter, there is a very large sand berm which must be climbed over to get to the beach. I chose instead to walk either a block to Linden or the 3 blocks or so to the marsh, either place is a much easier access than climbing the berm. The place is quite clean except that the walls desperately need to be repainted, with knicks, smudges and fingerprints and signs of some sort of a spill on the back of the door. While the kitchen is clean, the floor is stained and the smoke alarm went off twice while I was boiling water for tea. It went off on its own when I turned the burner off, but not very conducive to early morning peaceful tea time. The retro decor is not my choice, but more of a problem, for me, is how dark the unit is. During the day I needed all of the lights on. The only window faces a wall across a narrow sidewalk, so very little natural light. The blinds at the window are missing four slats. Still, the price can't be beat, the location is great, parking is super convenient and it is overall quite clean. I'll have to balance that against the negatives next time I'm in Carp.
Jeffery S. Nov 2015
This place is an single bedroom apartment and the expectation should be just that. The king sized bed was cozy. It was really nice to hear the ocean waves at night. It was quiet, and the whole family (of 4) slept well each night. There is a pull out bed, or the couches are just fine for sleeping on. It was also nice to have your own covered parking spot. The place is nearly on the beach and is walking distance from downtown Carpinteria and great places to eat such as The Spot (burger place) and ESAU's Coffee Shop, a great breakfast place.
Karol L. Nov 2015
This place is small and not luxurious, but reasonably clean and comfortable. The real boon is its proximity to both the beach and downtown Cartpinteria relative to the price. So if you spend most of your day outside and need a comfy crash pad, this is great.
Deborah H. Nov 2015
This place is a great spot to be close to the beach with all that is needed for comfort and rest! Very peaceful and high value for the price. We would come back and hope to!
Julio L. Nov 2015
We were so happy to stay here, the reservation process was so easy, the vacasa team had everything ready for our arrival. This place has everything you need to have a comfortable stay, is so close to the beach and so quite, we had a great time. and the price is totally worth it. It doesn't have A/C only fan, but the weather is amazing over there, we actually didn't need it.
WIlf G. Oct 2015
The Sugar Shack has a loft open bedroom. It was in the 90's when we stayed there in October. We arrived about 8 PM and the place was stifling HOT. We opened the windows and set up the fans. After a cool shower and having the fan blow directly on us on the HIGH setting, we were able to sleep. The bed is king size and comfortable. The space around the bed is narrow.
The quality of the linens was disappointing. There were stains on the sheets and a towel. There is tar at the beach. You may not notice it in walking, however, it will stick to your shoes/feet. Thanks for the Goo Off by the door. It was needed. Don't wear your shoes in the apartment or you'll track in tar. Unfortunately previous renters likely tracked it in as my socks were quite dirty from the carpet.
We would not recommend staying here when it is HOT. The HOT air rises to the loft and the window up there is tiny.
The place worked fine for two. I wouldn't plan on more people than that. The pull out couch is not at all comfortable.
It is an end unit, so it is quiet. The window "view" is to a wall of greenery. We prefer that to a courtyard view across to other units. The parking is right behind the unit. The beach is two blocks away.
"Carp" is a "beach town". We ate in Santa Barbara so we can't comment on the restaurants.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. We will take care of the stained linens and towels and see what we can do about the floor turning feet black. We hope you made terrific memories!
John G. Jul 2015
We had a great time the place was awesome. We would love to stay there next year. we will be calling about next year
Clyde P. Jun 2015
Nice place, a bit small and needs some attention. But clean and a bit retro.
Kim C. May 2015
The unit was clean overall but needs a coat of paint. Lots of dishes etc. old appliances but are pretty clean and work. Great crash place for getting ready to go out and do fun things like go to the beach and dine out. King bed was a surprise. Close quarters so best for couple or small family.
Jeanette M. May 2015
We enjoyed our 4 night stay here. The bed was very comfy; nice walk in closet and up to date bathroom. Amenities in the kitchen a bit funky-eg. pink dishes. but we made do. Close to Santa Barbara to make sightseeing there easy.
Bernadette M. May 2015
This is a simple place right next to downtown and the beach. A humble abode with simple furnishings. We were not crazy about the carpet-- but the price was great for the area and the place was clean. We brought our 2 kids. They slept downstairs on the pullout and the couch. Not sure if this is a place for really young kids, because of the stairs. Ours were 10 and 13. The King bed was comfy with nice soft sheets. The only issues we had was that the front right burner on the stove didn't work and it took a long time for the water heater to kick in.
Manager response:
We will inspect the burner right away. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the home!
Sasha P. Apr 2015
This place was perfect for a short getaway with my girlfriend. It is steps from the beach, steps from dining, and comfortable little apartment. Would highly recommend! Had a little trouble with the stove, they need to glue the OFF/Temperature tags on to the dials -- we kept setting the fire alarm off because the stove wouldn't shut off! Once I figured that out, everything was great!!
Manager response:
We apologize for the problems you encountered with the stove; we will work on preventing that from happening for future guests. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Jessica D. Apr 2015
Great location and just what you need for a beach stay. Good amenities, clean, and easy with kids too. We will definitely be back!
Paula G. Mar 2015
My sister and I totally loved the place, we will use it again for sure. We are 54 and 52 years of age. We loved the comfort, the ability to cook, the beach is not even a full block away! It was a very quiet spot, you could hear the waves.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review! We are thrilled that you and your sister had such a wonderful time at this cozy Carpinteria vacation rental. It's definitely in a great spot and has the comforts of home while being so close to the beach. We look forward to having you two back again! Thank you for choosing Vacasa.