USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Seaside Listing #138

Seaside Governor's House Vacation Rental - Seaside, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
100 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Beach home two blocks from shore & two minutes from town!

This spacious beach home in Seaside offers ocean views, as well as luxury and convenience with easy beach and town access.

What's nearby:
This rental is ideally located two blocks from the shore, and two minutes to shops, restaurants, galleries, and arcades in downtown Seaside, just a half-mile away, where you'll find plenty of parking. Seaside's landmark Promenade (a mile-long avenue running parallel to the beach) is just footsteps away. Tillamook Head National Recreation Trail is only two miles away for hiking, and the town of Seaside hosts a number of events, like the Kitefliers Association Convention in October.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen (with dishwasher)
Fireplace is decorative and non-functional

City/town permit number: 201071

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.





Baby gates

Children's games

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view

Water view

Beach access


Internet : Century Link



DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private



Beach towels

Enclosed yard

Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

100 reviews

Carmen M. May 2022
Nice big house very close to the beach. House was very clean and lots of room for everyone.
Wanda B. Apr 2022
The location! The spaciousness! We are six middle aged women attending a conference at the convention center. 5 of us were delighted while one complained the house smelled. The rest of us would stay again! Two very short blocks to the beach. Great for a large family too.
Faith D. Apr 2022
The place was clean and the vacasa team VERY quick and responsive to questions/concerns. But the downsides were the ancient decor/furniture and the kitchen which really needs to be updated. The heater in the house is also VERY loud at night (clanging randomly). This probably wouldn't be a problem in the warm months, but was for us going in April.
Our young kids loved this big and mysterious house, but it wasn't as vacation perfect for us adults.
Jason M. Nov 2021
Very large bedrooms, 3 full baths, first floor suite for our elderly parents, close to beach 2 blocks with stair access, private landscaped backyard, historic charm. Fit 10 ppl no problem.
Joseph K. Aug 2021
Location and size of house accommodated our family. The house is very old and is in immediate need of updating or repairs.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review with us, Joseph. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and size of the home. We have passed along your comments regarding updates needed to the local manager who will work with the homeowner to make any necessary improvements. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future!
Girard L. Jul 2021
This is the second time we have stayed at the Governor’s House which should tell you something. It’s a great place for a group. We had eight people (4 couples) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We are only a short walk to the beach and from the Promenade to Broadway, the Main Street in Seaside. We used the BBQ which was like new and worked great. The only negative is that the TV has no cable or satellite service. It only has streaming. Not a huge deal for us since we were chatting most of the time.
Sheila S. Jul 2021
The historic Governor's House was once a lovely home. The rooms are spacious and all the bedrooms are large with closets for clothes and suitcases. However it appears to me that the inside of the house has not been painted in 50 years. It really needs some updating. I would also suggest they throw away the half dozen fake flower arrangements sprinkled throughout the house. The connection to the large backyard is not direct, having to go out the kitchen door and through the narrow space between the garage and house to get there. There is a door from the living room that leads out but it remains locked with no keys given to tenants so that was frustrating. The front yard was full of weeds. I feel like this could be a great beach rental if someone cared a little more about the house. Additional towel racks in the bathrooms, a careful interior paint job, changing out the shelf liner in the kitchen cabinets (always bunched up), and a thorough cleaning, repair and painting of the bathrooms is in order. The house has good bones but it is way too expensive compared to other houses I've stayed at of a similar size in Seaside, that are in much better shape.
Manager response:
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed this lovely home. We have passed your valuable feedback along to our local manager who is working with the homeowner to make necessary repairs and upgrades per your suggestions. Please know the keys to the side door have been added to the guest's set of keys. Yard maintenance was called out and the yard has been cleaned. Thank you for letting us know there is room for improvement and we hope we have the opportunity to host you for a more comfortable stay.
Jo Ellen W. Jul 2021
This home is a real treasure, with spacious rooms, high ceilings, beautiful built-ins and a gracious elegance. The big backyard was great for our 6 yr old, and the upper deck was delightful. Super comfy mattresses. Easy walking distance to the beach and downtown Seaside. Clean and quiet. Very well stocked and classic older kitchen. Bathrooms are dated but very functional. The best part was the historic charm. We would definitely recommend.
Frederick A. Jun 2021
Location to the beach was fantastic.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad you had a great time! We take guest feedback seriously and have forwarded this information to the local staff so they can review and update the home as needed for future guests. We will be sure to follow up with the appropriate parties regarding your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!
Adam G. Jun 2021
Hi there....location was perfect, 2 blocks from beach and 4-5 blocks from the main drag. However, we used it as a staff weekend business retreat. The interior really needs to be updated. The beds are not comfortable, the furniture is from the 60's & 70's, dining room chairs flimsy. It has the potential to be an incredible location but not sure I will be back or recommend unless things got updated.
Manager response:
Hello Adam, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Breanne W. May 2021
- bbq has the wrong regulator to it it will not work
- first day we called to notify you there was no electric outlets working on south wall. They confirmed a maintenance manager would come out and check. No show
- kitchen faucet leaks
Just wanted to let you know. Thanks!
Manager response:
Hi Breanne, thank you for staying with us! We will ensure that the local staff is aware of your feedback. Our guest service agents are available 24 hours a day and if any issues arise we encourage guests to let us know so that we can assist. We hope you'll visit again soon.
Charman M. Apr 2021

This is a great location and the house was clean with a lot of supplies for our week. There are not a lot of bells and whistles, but it was priced to reflect this, so we were ok with it. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the house is very spacious. We would stay here again.
Tammy M. Feb 2021
The house was very big and it was comfortable. It was like being in a family home. Things were not new but everyone thought it was nice that way. It was close to everything you need.
Shaina J. Oct 2020
This was a cute older home. Had plenty of space for everyone.
Claudia E. Sep 2020
The house is very spacious the kitchen very equipment we enjoyed our stay but the furniture update give more characters to the house hope the owner thinks about
Damon T. Jul 2020
We enjoyed our stay. We don’t need fancy 5 star hotels. The layout was nice with a mix of private and shared bedrooms. There seems to be no insulation in the house as you can hear every step, conversation etc throughout the house. It had a huge fenced backyard which was a nice surprise. Easy access to the beach. Walking distance to shops etc. Paint and furnishings look like when Grandma left it 30 years ago. They are going for the quaint, slightly dingy look. Overall a positive experience.
DANNY H. Jun 2020
Bathrooms are old, Smelly, Bedroom is dark and Dingy, Doors Doors Doors are everywhere!

Garage Door doesn't even open, and the Lighting is horrible!
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are sorry the home did not meet your expectations upon arrival. The garage door has been repaired, and all the lightbulbs in the house have been replaced so future guests will not encounter these issues. We hope to have the chance to impress you in the future!
Steve W. Aug 2019
The house layout was great for our families totalling 10. The large back yard was a great place to play. The master deck had a great place to sit and talk. The easy short walk to the beach and town was great.
Karla S. Jul 2019
The house was great for our family. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. The backyard was fully fenced in, and The house was great for our family. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. The backyard was fully fenced in, and there was lots of room for the kids to play. The barbecue ran out of propane and they had a replacement canister to us in under an hour. We were within walking distance of the beach and all of the small shops. We will be back!
Daniel K. Jul 2019
The house was convenient and well maintained. Plenty of pots and pans, glasses, towels, etc. Overall we were very satisfied!
Brian P. Jun 2019
Loved the vintage feeling
Sally K. Oct 2018
We liked the vintage feel of this house and would have enjoyed some history of the property.
Hassan H. Sep 2018
Me , my family and friends loved the beautiful cozy house with so much. We wished if they had a fire pit for more out door time.
Alejandro T. May 2018
Very close to the beach and down town, a lot of room for the whole family. Everything we needed was provided.
Shannon J. M. Aug 2017
House has a great location and beautiful big yard. Comfortable, but could use some updating. It would be nicer if the windows in kitchen opened. The handles were taken off for some reason.
Cheryl H. Aug 2017
Great location. We park our cars in the roomy 2 car garage and walk everywhere. 2 blocks to the beach and 3 to downtown. Great Seaside brewery, arcade for the kids, had pizza & beer while watching the Little League World Series in the arcade food area. Rented the three wheel bikes. Blast to ride on the beach. Bumper cars were fun. This is our fourth summer at this house. Kids and grandkids love staying here. House is older but great for large groups. Has character. Not fancy, has a relaxing beachy feel. Accommodates 8 people well. Beds are comfortable, house was clean. No washer & dryer so bring extra clothes, dish towels for kitchen. Bed comforters and pillows could stand to be replaced. Curtain in master bath should be up dated. New patio furniture and BBQ were a great addition. We spent more time in the beautiful back yard and cooked out. Looks like the yard had been cleaned up. Updated living room sofa and love seat (replaced last year) was a positive as well as the increased DVD library. No cable. Fireplace does not work. Appreciate the new larger refrigerator and good idea to place the old one in the garage for additional space. Found that when the two upstairs showers are used at the same time the water backs up in the tubs. Appears to drain normally if only one is being used at a time. Internet worked well.Reservation process is great. Easy on-line booking. Have never had any issues. Instructions are emailed a week before our arrival. Easy to follow. Wanted to extend our reservation an extra day. Couldn't do that on line so had to call, but the person called back the next day and booking was quick and easy over the phone. Friendly and helpful staff! Internet worked well.
Manager response:
We are happy to see this guest enjoyed the new additions and updates! At this time the owner is not interested in updating the bedding as it is in good condition even though it is older. Thanks!
Joyce T. Jun 2017
Very nice property, location is excellent - walking distance to everything. Great beach access. Kitchen is well stocked with pans, etc. Nice fenced in yard, great for kids. Small fridge in kitchen but a second one in garage. Great yard for barbeque and visiting with friends.
Paula A. May 2017
We absolutely loved the Governor's House location, size, wonderful deck off the master bedroom with a view of the beach, the mattresses and the beautiful garden! We were two blocks from the beach and a seven minute walk to the center of town! The price is great considering the size and location of the house! If you are looking for a resort like experience, forget it! It's an old house with a hodgepodge of furniture and furnishings but you can't beat the location, price and size!
Denise T. Mar 2017
The house was very cozy and inviting. It's very spacious and with 4 teenage girls, all had their choice of rooms and they all had bathrooms.
The only thing I could suggest is Roku, cable or satellite. TV's all had DVD players, however, only 1 worked. All and all the house was very well set up. Thank You for a fantastic Spring Break!
Manager response:
We’re so glad this guest loved the cozy comforts and the luxury of their daughters choosing their own bedrooms. That certainly makes for a peaceful atmosphere. We apologize all the DVD players weren’t working. The property manager will troubleshoot the problems. An update will be posted once it’s resolved. Thank you.
Travis E. Jan 2017
The Governor's house was exactly what we needed for our family. Plenty of space and centrally located. Had a great time.
Michael M. Jan 2017
Great home, lots of room, and plenty of beds! VERY comfortable mattresses too! Central to everything fun in the Northwest corner of Oregon!
Shelley H. Dec 2016
This was the perfect location for our Family Thanksgiving. Plenty of space for a large group of people (we had five plus three extra for dinner) to move around. Kitchen worked great for family food prep. Overall just a really wonderful experence.
Sally K. Oct 2016
This older house has the charm of past years. The rooms are generous in size and furnished with appropriate period pieces. The beds are comfortable and the linens are very nice. The kitchen is well-stocked. Don't expect granite and stainless steel. Enjoy the beautiful lawn, patio and gardens.
Eileen D. Oct 2016
House is in great location and in walking distance of just about everything. Rooms are cheerful and spacious. Nice vintage feel. Could be hard to heat in winter. House can use a little TLC, i.e. replacing rusty soap/toothpaste holders, etc. Windows were hard to open. Blankets were very skimpy and in short supply. However, our group enjoyed our stay there, and would consider returning.
Brandy M. Sep 2016
House was awesome- 3 bed 2 bath upstairs and 1 bed 1 bath downstairs. Nice kitchen, dining and family room. Great entry hall to leave all things wet and Sandy. Huge fenced back yard with lots table and chairs. Beautiful deck patio off of the upstairs master bedroom! Location was awesome! It was difficult to find a huge home w/in 5 min walking to the beach and downtown area- this house was perfect. We had 5 kids under age 4 and we could all walk downtown and to the beach no problems. Will definitely rent his house again.
Joel D. Sep 2016
This home is a great place for the weekend. The property is very close to town and even closer to the beach, two blocks. We brought our 5 teenage grandchildren for the Classic Car show. We did all that we wanted to while there. The backyard was great and very pleasant.
Juanita M. Aug 2016
The Seaside Governors house is awesome. Close to the beach and the promenade. After taking in the sights, it's a comfortable place to hang out and play games or just relax. We have a larger group and there are plenty of sleeping accomodations. All in all, a great place with a great location.
Carol S. Jul 2016
Since we are antique nuts, we really enjoyed the furnishings, many of which are antique. The house is close to both the beach and downtown Seaside which is high on our priority list.
Robyn F. Jun 2016
This house was absolutely perfect for our girl's retreat week in Seaside and we hope to stay there again every year! Thanks for making it so comfortable and easy.
Lindsey B. Jun 2016
Enjoyed the stay. The house is older but had great character. About a 5 min walk to the beach and to the Main Street.
Ronda O. Jun 2016
great house, lots of room, close to downtown, further than I thought to the beach
Nancy K. May 2016
This house is quite roomy and had plenty of beds. We did not find the roll away till we were leaving so there is even another bed! Unfortunately, we only used the house for sleeping as we had major events all day long but it was very comfortable and only a few blocks from the beach and within walking distance of the tourist shops downtown. The kids enjoyed playing pool on the TV during the 20 minutes before bed. They had kid sized recliners that really enticed the kids. Loved it!
Scott A. Apr 2016
Very good location, plenty of room in the house and yard. Very comfortable. Small refrigerator might be an issue with large group. Overall great stay
Gillian D. Jan 2016
Wonderful large living room is perfect for a large family.
Well furnished kitchen has everything for cooking meals for several people.
Two blocks from the beach and three to the main tourist road.
Don H. Aug 2015
For those seeking retro this is the perfect house
Sergiy V. Jun 2015
The house was fantastic. Great service. We enjoyed it and got to have a wonderful and outstanding stay at the beach house. The beach is just around 5 minutes away. The house was clean. We came all the way from South Carolina to have our vacation and it was just great. Calm and just a peaceful home. The balcony gave an awesome opportunity to drink our morning coffee. Thanks once again for leaving a clean house to use for our vacation. It was the best.
Rob C. Jun 2015
The house is charming and the location is nice, but the main reason we rented it was that it was listed as handicap accessible. Unfortunately I was unable to get my wheelchair into the house as there were steps at all entries. There is a handicap accessible shower, but the house itself is not handicap accessible & should not be listed as such. We paid considerably more and rented a much larger house than we needed specifically because it was listed as wheelchair accessible.

We checked in late the first night and had to sleep in bedding that had not been changed (full of sand) in two of the bedrooms. Other than that our stay was pleasant & the house was comfortable and charming. The tempurpedic style bed downstairs was very comfortable.

This would be a great place to stay with a large group.

Manager response:
We will investigate this situation and ensure that the house is accurately listed. We apologize for any inconveniences you might have experienced with this home and are happy to see that you still enjoyed it overall. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Jolene L. Apr 2015
We lived staying in the Seaside Governor's House! Clean, comfortable, class to promenade and downtown! Only wish they had a television in main room!
Xuan S. Apr 2015
The house is old but equipped with modern conveniences. It can accommodate up to 10 people for sleeping arrangement but the dining/ kitchen area is too small for that any people. The location is quite convenient. It's nice to be able to walk down to the beach and dig for clams.
Chris P. Apr 2015
There were 3 of us ladies who like to take a scrapbook retreat every year. We have struggled finding a place big enough for all of our stuff. The living room was huge which gave us plenty of room. Because there was only 3 of us, there was plenty of bedroom/bathroom space for each of us. The house does make creaky sounds but after the first night we were used to it.

There were a couple of incidents that were weird - the phone rang a couple of times - we did not want to answer. Then we received a knock on the door - we didn't answer it because it was just us 3 - come to find out that is was the manager wanting to get something from the house - something we were not notified of. Hopefully in the future management will notify the people ahead of time so the renters would know what to expect.

We will be scheduling this same place for next year's retreat. Thank you!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review of this fantastic home! This home is such a great spot for a scrap booking retreat. We're very sorry if you were off put by the manager's need to collect an item from the home. The ringing phone was indeed the manager calling ahead of arrival to ask permission to come by, and they did follow our protocol of knocking on the door to ask permission to access the home. We're so glad this didn't affect your enjoyment of your stay and hope you'll come visit again!
RuthAnne D. Mar 2015
It was barely two blocks to the promenade, and five from Broadway, the main street in Seaside. It was so easy to step out the door and head out for a walk, a run, a ride on a long board (my son), or to go play in the waves or the sand. The house worked very well for the seven of us, with four bedrooms. Although the kitchen is a little small, it had everything we needed for a nice family get-a-way.
Manager response:
We are so pleased to hear that your group enjoyed their stay in this beautiful, 1949 home and that everyone was able to take advantage of the wonderful location. This is the perfect place for groups looking to explore the town of Seaside with everything so conveniently located within a few blocks. We appreciate you taking the time to review this property and we hope to have you as guests again!
Constance W. Mar 2015
Vintage 1949 charming home 2 blocks from the beach; 4 blocks from downtown. Nice large rooms. Large acreage lot for kids to play and to just sit out and watch the birds, read a book. We enjoyed it and would return. A few maintenance issues but overall a nice place to stay.
Richard W. Feb 2015
Five of us old jazz fans stayed at the Gov's House for the 2015 Seaside Dixie Jazz Festival in February. A few problems, but overall quite pleased with our stay at this old house. The house was clean and the beds comfortable. Had some difficulty getting in with non-operating lockbox, furnace a bit slow to heat, some strange musical noises from the hot-water heating system. But it sure beat staying at a hotel. Location is excellent, and quiet (at least in February).
Carrie S. Dec 2014
My family (6 adults & 2 children) stayed here over the long Thanksgiving weekend & had a lovely time. There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep, & have quiet time if needed. Beds were comfortable, & 3 bathrooms! The backyard was so gorgeous & huge, we were a bit sad the weather was so nasty that we couldn't enjoy it. The kitchen was full of utensils that made cooking our feast a breeze & the dining area was spacious. We loved this house! Everyone spent the weekend looking for clues as to which governor's house it was, to no avail. We'd love to know! The beach was a short walk, 2 long blocks, & "downtown" was 3 blocks. Thank you for the lovely stay, we will definitely be back!
Lesley L. Oct 2014
This property is well worth the money. It is conveniently located close to the beach and Broadway. You never have to walk very far for anything. We parked up our vehicles for the holiday and only used them to visit Warrenton and Lincoln City, never for anything in Seaside. This is the first time we've visited Seaside as a family (5 adults & 3 children), my husband and I having visited on many previous occasions, but with a place like The Governor's House to accommodate all of us at a reasonable rate we will be back for sure. Older furnishings but a good fit for the age of the house. Beds very comfortable and in a quiet area. We all loved it and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Jordan W. Aug 2014
The Governor's House had plenty of sleeping areas and lots of open space for our whole party of girls there this weekend. It's within walking distance to the prom, the beach and even the grocery store. We will be coming back again! Thanks to the vacasa staff for answering all my questions before our arrival!
Teri C. Jul 2014
It was a nice, large house. Lots of room to spread around. Needs a major detailed clean. Lacks a feeling of being loved. For the money I was expecting some extra touches.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and are going to have the local property manager take a look at this beautiful classic home to ensure it continues to impress our guests.
Sherry E. Jun 2014
We loved it here. Second time staying and the rooms were fun old school. A little musty on the get go but after a good airing out was perfect. The mattress covers are memory foam. We aren't big fans but if you are you'll enjoy the king size master. Clean and the staff was helpful with our late check out. Great for larger families like ours.
Robert S. Apr 2014
If you're happy with life circa 1950, you'll love this property. Okay, that's not totally fair, though this place is indeed like going into a time capsule in many ways. However, the property has been updated to a certain extent, where it's most important. There is a dishwasher and a modern coffee maker and an inexpensive stove/oven, not to mention wireless hook-up to the internet. The beds are new, with soft memory-foam mattresses. (Those who don't like soft beds should beware- those who like to sleep in comfort --like me--can rejoice!) The bathrooms have been updated with new toilets. There are new windows in some places, and old windows in others. The wooden doors stick; some of the old windows are inoperable, and the window-hangings are inadequate in some of the rooms. The furniture is like going into an antique shop--a delight for those who like such things (like me!) The furnishings in general are a trip down memory lane for those 40 and older. The kitchen is especially well-equipped in cooking pans, but not in appliances. If you bring your own mixer, you can bake a cake in the variety of pans provided, or breads, for that matter. Lots of pans, both for cooking and baking. Not a whole lot of utensils for serving. Three different sets of "china," which was nice, and a bureau holds multiple tablecloths or place mats. Other cupboards hold centerpieces. A person could definitely concoct a gourmet dinner with all the trimmings in this place, with a little pre-planning. There is no mixer or food processor; there is a blender, though we didn't try it to see if it works. There is an electric wok and an electric sandwich-griller, though we didn't try either one so maybe they don't work. The coffee-grinder works, thank goodness! There were several kinds of coffee filters in the cupboards, along with stuff like salt and pepper and flour. The refrigerator is small, so don't expect too much. Bring what you think you're going to need. The water tastes strongly of chlorine, but I suppose city-dwellers wouldn't notice this. The house is a bit musty and may need airing upon arrival. The upstairs hot water heater is totally inadequate for even one shower, much less for the three bedrooms (two baths) it serves. Plan on taking one quick shower before the hot water runs out. On the plus side, this place is roomy and on a very large and well-planted lot. It is two blocks from the beach and the ocean can be glimpsed from the master bedroom and from the deck over the garage. We (two different families) thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would do so again. Anything "negative" is so others can fairly judge the property, since tastes differ. I loved it and would stay again for an extended period if I could. If you're careful, two cars could fit in the garage and two more in the driveway. There are three different grills stored in the garage, none of them primo, but usable, I suspect. The weather was so bad while we were there that we didn't attempt to grill. Wind, hail, and torrential rain. It was nice to have an old-fashioned refuge from the elements, with lace curtains and armchairs. Another caveat--there is a flat-screen monitor-style "TV" in the living room, but although it is fairly large (by 1950s standards), it might not seem adequate to modern tastes, especially given the size of the living room. We (two families) enjoyed the room on a rainy night with reading and internet game-playing on individual devices. A fire in the fireplace would have made it perfect. For those who expect to watch TV, however, be aware that the room is long and all the furniture is at one end and the monitor at the other. We moved the monitor closer to the furniture when we watched a DVD. --On a side note, the French door out of the living room is lovely. Given good weather, this would have been a definite plus. As it was, we enjoyed pulling back the curtains and looking out at the nicely-landscaped yard as the storm raged. Again, a functional fireplace would have been very nice!
Manager response:
Thank you for this detailed review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the unique classic decor in this home and found the soft beds to be comfy. We're pleased that despite some poor weather you had an enjoyable stay in this home.
Rodney R. Mar 2014
Although this house is older, it has its own charm and class. We found the beds to be very comfortable and plenty of kitchen supplies for meal preparation. If you have a large family or guests with you, this is a great house. The 3 full baths make it easy for everyone to get their day started. The master bedroom is very spacious and you can see the ocean off the adjacent upstairs deck. I would love to know the history of why this house is called "Seaside Governors House".
My only recommendation would be to air it out now and then if no one has stayed in it for awhile. It had that stale smell you get at the coast when we arrived. After a day of using it and keeping the heat at 70, it was gone.
The best thing about it is that it is one block off the beach and only 3 blocks from the main street through Seaside. It is so convenient to everything. This was our second year in a row using this property.
Janet B. Feb 2014
We had 4 teenagers and 3 adults and this was a great house for everyone. Description says maximum 8 but there is bed space for 10. Could use a little upgrade but the location of the house and the great layout is worth a visit.
Lily V. Sep 2013
This rental home has the most comfortable beds, pillows and blankets I have ever experienced in a rental. The location is wonderful and the spaciousness is all at once relaxing, spacious but cozy, and warm.
Cody B. Sep 2013
We were meeting up with some friends from Canada and wanted a place where we could all be comfortable and relax so that we could catch up. The Governors House was everything we could have hoped for. Plenty of room for the kids to play inside and out. And comfortable enough for the adults to relax and enjoy the weekend vacation.
Julia G. Aug 2013
Great house with big bedrooms. We already booked the house again for next year. Thank you!
Al G. Aug 2013
Nice hous but somewhat old. Excellent location near beach, promenade and town. Beautiful, large yard w/grill (needs minor child proofing w/covers over grates). Beautiful Master but needs a shade in bath window. Kitchen and DR fine w/adequate dishes, seating, utensils, etc. TV's need upgrading & full cable availability. Some beds could be changed but all rooms are large enough. Biggest improvement would be addition of clothes washer/dryer (in garage). Some furniture old. Overall, however, we had a great time and never felt cramped. Would go back again if some of above changes made. Finally, excellent value for price charged.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review and your suggestions, we hope to have you back again soon!
michele k. May 2013
This is a beautiful home, it has easy access to downtown area and the beach, yet is off the main drag so you have peace and quiet to come home to after shopping. It is an old house and the amenities such as TV, hair dryers, sheets and mattresses need to be replaced. Lots of room inside and out for family activities and we appreciated the conveniences staying at the home afforded us.
Eric V. Feb 2013
Stayed in town for a youth basketball tournament. The house was wonderful and spacious for our large family. The kids loved the retro look and feel of the inside. Everything was clean and in proper condition for use. Thank you
Eric V. Feb 2013
Stayed in town for a youth basketball tournament. The house was wonderful and spacious for our large family. The kids loved the retro look and feel of the inside. Everything was clean and in proper condition for use. Thank you
Anthony T. Aug 2012
The property is quite large both inside and out and can accommodate a group of 8-10 easily.
Sandy M. Nov 2011
Our family loved the vintage feel of the home and the spacious rooms. What really surprised me was the kitchen - it was not only adequately supplied but with quality dishes and cookware. The property manager was so helpful, too. Thank you for a wonderful stay!