USA North Lake Tahoe California Tahoe Vista Listing #1367

Fawn Lodge - Tahoe Vista, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
90 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 1 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Welcoming Home with Deck & Private Hot Tub - Dogs OK

This bright and sunny three-bedroom Tahoe Vista vacation rental comfortably accommodates up to eight guests. Recently remodeled with new hardwood floors, carpet and granite countertops in the kitchen, this lodge will charm you by the modern amenities and homey atmosphere. Plus, it's dog-friendly!

Just about eight miles to the west is Northstar California resort, which is open all year long for Tahoe skiing, hiking, sledding, and biking. In summer, visit their golf course. In winter, partake in their Nordic sports and snowshoeing. The Village at Northstar offers spas, a movie theater, and family-friendly activities. Plus you're right near the shores of Agate Bay!

The simple mountain-style elegance of the exterior continues inside. The living area has plenty of space for socializing or curling up for a movie night in front of the TV and wood-burning fireplace.

Step out on the private deck where you can enjoy a soothing soak in the hot tub, or bask in the sunshine with a good book.

And there's no need to dine out when you stay at this home as the modern kitchen features stainless steel appliances you can put to good use!

The first bedroom contains a king-sized bed and a second room contains a queen-sized bed. The third bedroom has two bunk beds to total four twin-sized beds. There are also two full bathrooms and one half bathroom for added convenience.

Up to two dogs are invited to stay here with you.

If you can get yourself away from this cozy home and its hot tub, visit Northstar any time of year for a range of activities and entertainment options.

Shred the slopes or splash in the cool waters just miles from this North Lake Tahoe lodge. No matter what time of year you visit, you'll love returning home each day to Fawn Lodge!

Please note: Due to local rules and regulations, pools and some activity spaces including private beaches are unavailable at this time. As local policies change by the hour, access to amenities is beyond our control. We encourage you to check local regulations before your trip so you can be as prepared as possible.

County permit number: STR20-9049

County tax number: 9049

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Beach access

Media

Internet : AT&T

TV

Cable : Charter

Wireless router

HBO streaming

VCR

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Patio

Deck

90 reviews

Julie G. Jul 2022
Plenty of space for large groups! Big kitchen and big dining area to entertain your group without getting cramped! Should note that there are several sets of stairs which was no problem for our group but may be an issue for some. Will definitely rebook!
Lori H. Jul 2022
The Fawn Lodge in Tahoe Vista was the perfect getaway home for my family of 6 & dog. The house is lovely, open, airy, with a gorgeous kitchen, very comfortable beds, sweet deck with hot tub!! The neighborhood was beautiful, all the neighbors friendly including a sweet bear. Take me back!!!
Harry H. Jun 2022
Clean, spacious, well equipped kitchen, hot tub was great. Good location, easy check in.
geoffrey l. May 2022
Very nice size and a great layout for larger family. Large communal living room and kitchen and dining room , with the primary up on one level. Put the kids b first level for the night. Great deck overlooking TREES.
Lalaine V. Apr 2022
Loved the location. It's easy access to Safeway, Kings Beach, mini golf, etc. The house was comfortable. It's was an easy fit for us 2 sets of families. Lots of room to spread out. Didn't get a chance to use the hot tub since it was snowing. The windows were large and the living room was nice and spacious. When it snowed, you got a chance to see the snow falling and the dramatic view of the snow on trees. I loved the kitchen space. Lots of counter space. I was afraid there was no cooking utensils, but plenty. Plenty of dinner plates, cups, glasswares. The Supervisor for fawn lodge was fabulous. For my every needs she was able to address. Day or night, I was able to reach her. She even sent a maintenance guy to help shovel snow so we can checkout on time! Such service. Downside: need more utensils, some plates, glassware and cups were cracked or chipped. Overall, we had a comfortable stay.
Charlotte L. Mar 2022
Had a blast. Beds were Comfy and place was clean and as described.
Joel F. Mar 2022
We had a really nice stay at the Fawn Lodge. The house and hot tub where very clean—the hot tub is huge! And the house it true to the photos.
Shawn S. Feb 2022
This rating is for the home itself, NOT the condition it was in. The home is gorgeous and the view in the backyard surrounded by pine trees is gorgeous! A short walk from the home and you will see a gorgeous lake of Tahoe as you come down from the hill where the home is located. Just gorgeous! The home itself could have been newer. There were TV sets in the room from the 90s (maybe 80s) but we didn’t care since we only used one room. Everything was antique in the home. The porch chairs were broken and the hot tub only had 1 of the 3 sets of jets working but it was still fine. The kitchen was nice and big, there was only one shit glass though. We cooked on the grill outside but the grill was dirty so we had to clean it first which was also fine.
The biggest hazard was the modem being on top of the cable box. The devices were so hot I burned my fingers and have no doubt it was a fire hazard! I untangled the wires from under the living room TV and set up the modem so that it was no longer sitting on top of the cable box. All in all, I’d give the house a 5 due to its location and general vibe, but it could certainly use an upgrade. It was also awesome that we could bring our dog, that was definitely a plus!
Manager response:
Hello Shawn, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed our home and appreciate you bringing some items to our attention that need to be addressed by our team. We apologize for the cleanliness oversights you found and we confirm that a deep clean has been scheduled. The hot tub has been fixed and we are working with the owner on some updates to the home. We would love to have another chance to impress you!
Sandra Q. Jan 2022
The accommodations were absolutely wonderful..everything we could have possibly needed even some extras...will definitely recommend to family & friends and we will be back again next year!
Karima B. Nov 2021
It’s a beautiful cabin in a great woodsy location, I enjoyed my stay here and the cabin had everything I needed. Highly recommend if you need a relaxing break from everyday stress.
Emily S. Oct 2021
The layout of this house was great, great open space for dining, cooking and living. The main complaints is that it needs some updating. There isn't a single glass cup (opening a good bottle of wine to only find plastic cups was very disappointing). There isn't a single serving bowl or sheet pan in the entire place. Sleeps 8 but there isn't even 8 forks. There are tube TV's in almost every closet, the garage was dirty and full of junk. This could be an amazing rental but needs to be cleaned up so it feels like a rental and not a junk drop.
Manager response:
Emily, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize for any disappointment you experienced. While we supply a starter pack of essentials for each guest, including toiletries, it is up to the owner to decide what they want to provide in their kitchen. We appreciate your feedback regarding the televisions. We apologize for any cleanliness issues you endured. We encourage guests to reach out should any issues arise, as we are happy to quickly assist. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Kyle B. Sep 2021
This house needs a lot of repairs. It hasn’t been up kept well at all. It’s in very bad shape. The dryer doesn’t work well at all, the majority of the doors in those house don’t close, the carpet is in really bad condition and smells bad, the jacuzzi only has one working jet. It’s a beautiful house but it needs a lot of repairs.
Manager response:
Hi, Kyle! Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are working on replacing the carpets and have had maintenance ensure all jacuzzi jets are functional. We hope to host you again!
Linda T. Jul 2021
It was a amazing trip and get away the home was perfect views had everything we needed.
Jeff E. Jul 2021
Nice neighborhood.
House has not been maintained in years. Kitchen not equipped for cooking meals
Bunks beds are a safety hazard.
Furniture old and needs updating.
Carpet filthy.
Definitely not worth the cost.
Manager response:
Thank you for helping us improve this rental, Jeff. The homeowner will be replacing the carpet and painting the home during their next visit. We hope to see you again!
Theresa C. May 2021
The view from the deck was beautiful, the house has potential but it’s not well taken care of. Lots of things were broken. I was disappointed in the house and wouldn’t stay there again.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to read you were unhappy, Theresa. The property manager will do a walk-through of the home so we can address maintenance issues. Thank you!
Cynthia M. May 2021
Nice cabin. I gave it a 4 star due to minor things I'd change and fix but other than that we enjoyed our stay.
Nelson R. Feb 2021
It’s a nice house with a open floor plan in a very nice neighborhood but... The house was dirty, sheets in beds and covers where not clean, we had to wash them before bed not fun!
All the furniture is old and out dated beds are so uncomfortable etc etc... keep looking.
Manager response:
Nelson, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment regarding the cleanliness of the home upon your arrival. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. Your feedback is important to us so we have passed along your comments to the local management and housekeeping staff. We hope for an opportunity to host you again!
Ann B. Jan 2021
The Good:
Good location, 2 car garage, good layout.

The Bad:
The condition of the house was semi-dirty when we got there, and given that it's Covid times... that's pretty alarming. Everything in the house is half-broken. It was almost comedic towards the end of our stay.... "Look at what they have.... and oh, wait, it's also broken."

What do I mean?

Blinds: there was something wrong with each and every blind. Either it couldn't get pulled up evenly all the way, or it was missing a wand tilt, or the want tilt just didn't work.

Kitchen Appliances: Appears to be 'well furnished', but really, it's was a bunch of junk that was gathered from random yard sale that don't fit together or doesn't work.

- The food processor smelled smoke and wasn't able to chop up 3 garlic cloves.
- There were only about 3 pots, and one of was missing a handle.
- There were multiple blenders, but every blender was missing a crucial piece (be it the blades, the lid, or the base), rendering each and everyone of them completely useless.
- The knives were worthless... they were as good as a butter knife.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and review, Ann. We have let the local staff know about the broken blinds and kitchen items so that they can inventory further. We hope you'll visit again very soon.
Bryan J. Oct 2020
The place is very cozy and has an awesome open floor plan which was perfect to hang out as a group. The only thing that is lacking were the amenities (cups, wine glasses, silverware, paper towels, cleaning supplies) Having known that now I would just be prepared to bring your own stuff of that nature but I definitely recommend this house if you're planning a trip to Tahoe!
Manager response:
Hi, Bryan! Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. We have done inventory in the kitchen and will be replacing any missing items. We hope to see you again!
Alysia C. Jul 2020
Home is located in a beautiful quiet neighborhood and has a nice layout. Having said that, everything in the house was worn and several items are very old and in need of repair (ripped and missing screens, broken blinds, broken master bath door, etc). In addition, home is need of a deep cleaning. Floors were dirty on arrival and house was generally not clean. Could be a nice vacation rental with a deep clean and some minor upgrades.
Manager response:
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the home. We apologize that you found the home to be worn. The screens, blinds, and master bathroom door have all been fixed since your stay. Our housekeeping staff has been made aware of your comments on the deep cleaning and will be sure to make sure that everything is cleaned to our high Vacasa standards.
Andrea S. Jun 2020
Our family fell in love with this home... we would definitely stay here again it was quiet and clean
Ebony L. Mar 2020
We get together every year for a Tahoe trip and this was the first year we've booked through Vacasa. The property was clean, well located and close to stores. We felt safe and the kids had a blast, the adults relaxed in the awesome hot tub. The house is also about a 15 or 20 minute drive to Northstar Resort. The price was ok but we would definitely stay here again.
Kimberly B. Mar 2020
We loved the house the neighborhood is beautiful enjoyed our stay quiet serene!
Alisheia M. Oct 2019
Very nice house overall, we went for our honeymoon so there was more than enough space for the 2 of us. Grill was not working at the time we were there. Excellent location if you are wanting to avoid the tourist mess in south Tahoe. Very quiet neighborhood, great view of the lake as you leave also. close to food, sights, trails etc.
Barbara V. Oct 2019
The neighborhood was great. Floor plan was great for families. Hot tub was great. But this house has alot of repairs needed and a good thorough cleaning. We loved our stay with our family but we would not recommend this house. There were safety issues that need attention before this house is rented again.
Manager response:
Barbara, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we are sorry to hear your stay was affected by the safety concerns raised in the home. The deck and railing have recently been updated and we have fully inspected for any other outlying issues and found the home free of any potential or apparent safety concerns. We hope for the opportunity to host you for comfortable and relaxing stay in the future
Debra L. Apr 2019
We loved this home. It was comfortable in every way. It was child friendly. The kitchen was well equipped. The beds were comfy. Vacasa made everything about renting this home easy.
janice m. Apr 2019
We loved this house because of the open floor plan, spacious kitchen and living area and all of the windows! It would be even better with an outdoor patio table and chairs. I believe it is a rental only property as it is missing those ‘owners touch’ items. None the less we enjoyed our stay.
Aida S. Feb 2019
It was a fun stay while we were their
Everything is good & we enjoyed our selfs
The cabin is really nice & well equiped
Definitely going back next year for the snow again
Brittany W. Feb 2019
The kitchen is well-stocked and the rooms are comfortable. Everything was very clean and convenient. We will definitely go back!
Juliana I. Jan 2019
El ambiente de la casa es muy agradable, estuvo muy completa. La recomendación es mejorar los camarotes, sonaban mucho y parecía como si se fueran a desvaratar.
Francis G. Oct 2018
Everything about it from the living room, to the hot tub, to the views was amazing. House had everything there from pots, pans, utensils, & more. My friends & I came for my birthday weekend & we just played a whole bunch of games & had a good time. You guys won’t regret staying here!
Jose Z. Jul 2018
Gorgeous home, at a great location!
Angela M. Jul 2018
We stayed at Fawn Lodge for a week and really enjoyed our stay. The house was great size for our 7 person family.
Raymond W. Jul 2018
I loved the view of pine trees from the main floor, so peaceful! The open floor plan in the living and dining space was perfect for relaxing and enjoying each other! So close to the beach and other area attractions! Will keep this spot in mind for future trips!
Jess K. Apr 2018
thanks
Carrie W. Mar 2018
The home was great. Plenty of space, very clean and a great location.
Stacey C. Feb 2018
This cabin is perfectly located in a quiet neighborhood in Tahoe Vista, just blocks from the lake between Tahoe City and Kings Beach. The structure of the cabin is great, the kitchen and bathrooms have been recently remodeled with granite counter tops. But more updates are needed - specifically, the master bed mattress sags and needs to be replaced and the living room couch is stained and needs replacement. The cabin has the potential to sleep many, with two bedrooms downstairs and the master bedroom upstairs. Note that the downstairs bedrooms were cold - one did not have a heating vent and the other did not heat up well despite a heating vent. With some attention and updates, this could be a wonderful cabin in a great location!
Dan S. Feb 2018
This property is in need of maintenance. The mattresses are worn out, as are the pillows, you sink in and then roll to the low spot in the middle. The pots and pans are warped from use. The spa cover assistant is broken laying alongside the spa, and the cover is very heavy and difficult to move. The couches are filthy and also worn out. The master bath toilet did not work. I’ll try a different property next time.
Manager response:
We are very sorry to see this guest was not more satisfied with their visit and wish they would have allowed us to come address some of these items during their stay. We discovered the water valve behind the toilet had been turned off and were able to fix that quickly. The 'spa cover assistant' has been repeatedly broken by guests and will not be replaced at this time. The cover is easy to remove with two people. We have suggested updating the mattresses, couches, and cookware to the owner who is considering replacing some of these items come springtime. Thank you!
Robin B. Nov 2017
Would rent again!
Nathan B. Oct 2017
Everything was there and most things worked but seemed 15-20 years old
Cassandra D. Aug 2017
We stayed for a long summer weekend with friends in this house and enjoyed the large open living room/kitchen upstairs. It's a very quiet neighborhood high up above the lake. We ate in and cooked most of our meals! The large windows opened up to a deck with beautiful views of trees. The house is very spacious, with a well appointed kitchen. Loved the large, hot tub. Like other reviews, the house could use some sprucing up in the small details. Our college age girls said the bunk beds were extremely uncomfortable. Don't plan on using the BBQ. Enjoyed our stay! Would recommend!
Ritu F. Jul 2017
Beautiful house and location, house needs to be taken better care of.
Jennifer E. Jul 2017
We rented this cabin for the weekend, upon arrival the windows were all open, there were towels in the dryer that smelled like they had been there a week, sheets were not clean on any of the beds, the only usable towels were in the down stairs bathroom only (2 of them). Vacasa did try to correct the error by sending a cleaning crew to clean and provide fresh linens and towels. They only replaced sheets on of bed and replaced the downstairs towels. There was still not towels in all bathrooms, the hot tub and deck were not clean as well.

This place has great potential if cleaned properly and prepared for when the guests stay. Otherwise I would not recommend another stay unless improvements are made.
Manager response:
We apologize for the oversights and will do our best to ensure this does not happen again! We hope the home itself was enjoyed!
Sydney A. Apr 2017
This location is literally a few minutes drive from the lake. The house was very clean and very well maintained.
Justin W. Mar 2017
The property is dated. We did not have enough towels and the bed linens were very old looking. Good location good bones but they need to spend some time upgrading this home.

Aikman L. Jan 2017
the house was good but the grill, hot tub, and garage was dirty and didn't work.
Manager response:
We appreciate the comments from this guest, which will help us improve our level of performance. The hot tub has been cleaned and chemically balanced. The garage has been addressed, with the property manager assuring us it’s not dirty. We’re having ongoing talks with the owner to replace the grill. Thank you.
Neil E. Nov 2016
Beautiful area and an accommodating home. Needs a little TLC, but you will have fun with the family here.
Michael D. Sep 2016
Very good location. Plenty of room.
Louis P. Aug 2016
Overall the location of this property and the structure itself were amazing. Staff is knowledgeable and we're genuinely very nice when we spoke with them. The house is a tad weatherd but nothing I wouldn't expect from vacation rental. The BBQ was older and took a long time to cook our food on. Took about an hour to cook a hamburger to medium. And a even longer for a Tri-tip to medium rare. The kitchen was great large enough to prepare large meals. All the utensils and cookware were provided. Which was nice since we cooked most of our meals. We did have to buy a thermometer though due to the questionable BBQ. All the appliances were new so if you read a review about a funky fridge on here, void that. It's been taken care of. The hot tub worked great, and is well taken care of. (Kudos to their spa guy). Everything was clean and usable. However you can tell the couches are very loved, And they're set up a lot more practical than in the photos provided. Most of all, on our trip we weren't looking to pick apart the architecture and cleanliness of of a rental. We went up to make memories and have a good time. And we did just that in this home. I'M SURE YOU'LL ENJOY IT!
Tiffany V. Aug 2016
Beautiful property and great location. Nice open kitchen and plenty of space. We really enjoyed our stay here!
Nicole D. Aug 2016
The location is great. It is in a beautiful neighborhood and near a lot of amenities. However, the property appeared to lack some necessary maintenance and care. It fits the bill for the price, however, we may look elsewhere next year for our annual trip!
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that this guest was a bit disappointed with the care of this property. The Property Manager is working with the owner on possible upgrades for the home. We'll keep our guests posted!
Naomi P. Jul 2016
A peaceful nice getaway. .
Ryan B. Jul 2016
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fawn Lodge. The appliances were new and easy to use. The property was clean and well maintained. We did have an issue with the hot tub not working, but Vacasa sent someone out immediately to look at it. Unfortunately it still could not be fixed during our stay.

The home is surrounded by trees, we enjoyed the quietness of the area and the beauty of being nearly secluded.

It was an all around wonderful experience.
Yolanda L. Jun 2016
Location was convenient for us. Pretty setting. Unfortunately, the property was poorly maintained.
Celina R. May 2016
Awesome place, no one ever complains. Very cheap & so roomie. Fridge does stink but nothing to bad. Great location for parties !!
Kaila S. Apr 2016
I'll admit I was a little concerned reading passed reviews. But me and my friends we're completely satisfied and happy with the entrie cabin. The hot tub is amazing, good for star gazing. It fit us all perfectly and comfortably. We wish we had a longer visit! The only issues we ran into was the BBQ didn't work very well. The dryer and dishwasher need to be replaced as well but other then that I would stay here again! Definitely worth the trip and the money!
Julie N. Jan 2016
Many things didn't work. The cleanliness was questionable. Couldn't reach customer service. It's a great location, but the rental is a 2 star at best.
Rachel J. Jan 2016
Best cabin we've stayed in. Love the enormous kitchen and newer appliances. Nice neighborhood. Very convenient to grocery store, Northstar and view of the lake.
Michael C. Dec 2015
Overall everything was good about the house, can't beat the location and the neiberhood was amazing. Nothing bad to say
Steven I. Sep 2015
Quiet getaway from very busy town.
George P. Jul 2015
My family has stayed in 6 VRBO's in the Tahoe area over the last few years and this house was the nicest and most comfortable. Overall it was clean. The yard and landscaping are a nice touch. I would stay here again.
Alain B. Feb 2015
Our group was very happy with the entire process from booking to departing. The pictures of the property were very representative in terms of its cleanliness, amenities and space. It was a beautiful, quiet and accessible location; strongly recommend for a relaxing weekend for friends!
Manager response:
Thank you for this great review, and recommendation. We are so happy that the home was perfect for your vacation.
Matt D. Sep 2014
Great location, beautiful surrounding area, and a relaxing and nice home to stay in. Needs upgraded electronics, and is due for various furniture upgrades. These are minor issues and didn't affect the overall enjoyment of the weekend very much.
Patricia R. Aug 2014
I was excited to see the home based on the photos provided. But I have to say, the photos didn't do this home justice! It is way more expansive, clean, bright and airy than the photos could ever show. The kitchen was equipped with every possible thing we could have needed. Kitchen appliances were all functioning properly and user friendly. There is a beautiful back yard where the kids could play or to sit outside and read. The neighborhood is VERY quiet and relaxing. The street is a bit "hilly" so it wasn't the easiest place for my 6 year old to ride his bike, but beautiful none the less. Vacasa made the reservation experience incredibly easy and VERY straightforward. Overall we had a fantastic time and felt right at home in this little paradise.