USA Oregon Mt. Hood Government Camp Listing #1112

Flying Stag: Upper Chalet - Government Camp, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
49 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 1 bathroom Sleeps 8 comfortably  No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Adorable and Spacious Cabin in the Woods - Close to Ski Access

Combining a fun retro design with an ideal location, this three-bedroom Government Camp vacation rental has room for a crowd! Book a stay for a group retreat, a family getaway, or a ski trip with close friends.

After you make your way up the tall, outdoor steps, you'll find that this getaway has everything you'll need for a memorable stay - WiFi, comfortable furniture, a wood-burning stove, and a vintage personality! Plus, you'll be able to walk to a lot of Government Camp's restaurants and attractions.

The lower level of this Government Camp vacation home boasts a cozy seating area with pastel color palette, vintage lamps, and a large wall-mounted flatscreen TV. There's also a DVD player, so be sure to bring your favorite movies from home! You'll also enjoy a newly finished outdoor deck.

There are a couple of tables set up in front of the windows for meals or working on your travel journal. And if you want to stay in for the night, around the corner you'll find a compact kitchen with a refrigerator, stovetop/oven, coffeemaker, blender, and microwave. It's ideal for making coffee in the mornings, popping some popcorn to go with a flick, or heating up leftovers from a dinner out. If the mood strikes, you can even prepare a home-cooked meal, you'll just have to assign kitchen helpers to do their chopping and grating out at one of the window-front tables.

In winter, it's hard to find a better location than the Flying Stag Upper Chalet - Summit Ski Area is a couple of blocks away, Mt. Hood Skibowl is just on the west end of town, Timberline Lodge and Mt. Hood Meadows are a quick car drive away.

The Mt. Hood National Forest has numerous opportunities for cross-country skiing and snowshoeing - from your Government Camp getaway you can ski right to the groomed trails at Trillium Lake, or make the drive north of Mt. Hood Meadows to Teacup Lake. Here you'll encounter 12km of groomed trails, as well as a warming hut. After working up an appetite on the trails, there are a number of restaurants right in Government Camp, steps away from your chalet.

Summer brings just as much activity to this region. Take a scenic chairlift ride up the mountain at Timberline Lodge and make the hike down through green grass and wildflowers. The Wildwood Recreation Area just outside of Welches has over five miles of hiking trails that parallel the Salmon River. And right in Government Camp there are many paved biking trails for a breathtaking tour of this beautiful natural area. And don't forget - a scenic drive along the Mt. Hood Scenic Byway is always an option!

No matter if it's during ski season or the sunny summer months, stay right in the middle of all the action in Government Camp at this fun and funky Mt. Hood chalet.

*The fireplace will not be operational until October of 2022.

*Dear guest, please note that this is a stacked duplex with permanent residents living in the bottom part. Thank you!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Kitchen & dining





Mountain view


Internet : Century Link



DVD library

DVD player


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing




49 reviews

Sergey B. Mar 2022
The house is just walking distance from the restaurants in Government Camp. Nice option for someone who spends the day on the mountain and wants to enjoy some time in local bars and restaurants.
Virginia D. Dec 2021
The home is very cute, and exactly as described.
If you are visiting in the winter when there is snow, please be advised that if you have visitors that have mobility issues, the snow on the steps can be treacherous, and you are on the hook for shoveling the stairs yourself. If you are not willing to do this, this is not the place for you.
Many kitchen items are broken but serviceable, and there are many DVDs that are missing from their cases.
We had a very good time here, and once my parents were ensconced in the home, it makes the perfect spot to enjoy the area. Was within walking distance to everything we needed, including cosmic tubing. Would definitely stay again.
Christa H. Aug 2021
Nice and big and great location. Some things I didn’t know: no laundry, no dishwasher and parking on the street with about 20 steps up to the house. Knives are not sharp and the can opener is a struggle. Keys are difficult to use in the deadbolt lock. Great deck but the picnic table is weird you’ll bump your legs
Manager response:
Hello Christa,We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding this listing. We attempt to be as transparent with our listings as possible and provide accurate and current photos, amenities lists, and descriptions so guests can make an informed choice about what they are paying for and make the right decision for their needs. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns before booking, as we are happy to help.
Pieter G. Feb 2021
Great place for a good price. Plenty of room relax and loved being an easy walk to the shops in Govy.
Eric B. Dec 2020
Great location, close to main strip of gov'y. Watched snow fall from the couch and front deck.
Nicholas Y. Nov 2020
The cabin was perfect for a weekend getaway. The fireplace was perfect for a relaxing weekend. Also a great location to Govt. Camp restaurants and market. Very easy access to Timberline/Meadows and surrounding trailheads. I would definitely recommend!
Manager response:
Nicholas, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to enjoy the fireplace to relax. We do want to note that the fireplace is currently out of order and will not be available until at least Spring. We want future guests to be advised. We would love to host you again in the future for another truly remarkable stay.
Rodolfo H. Sep 2020
Nice cabin
Nice view
One can see the sunset from it
Sunisa C. Aug 2020
We rented this house for a birthday get together with friends. The location was prime and walking distance to all the restaurants in Government Camp. The house was a comfortable size for 8-10 people, but there was only one bathroom for the whole house. The patio was a lovely place to hang out in the early mornings and evenings, when the temperature inside the house was too warm. Bring your toiletries and hair dryer, as those items were not provided. The kitchen had most of the essentials for cooking. Lots of plates, cups, and silverware were provided. Overall, we had a pleasant stay.
Amanda H. Mar 2020
We really liked the location of the Chalet. It is a little run down though. The large mattresses (queen and King) are soooooooo hard. Oh my gosh I am too old to sleep on a rock hard futon mattress. All the remotes were missing the backs, the wood burning stove was not accessible because it has been deemed unsafe, which was a big bummer! It was one of the things we were looking forward too. The futon couches are also super hard, my butt feel asleep while watching a movie 😭. The kitchen doesnt look great but was decently stocked with supplies, really nice plates and bowls! The place has charm too though. It felt really clean so kudos to the cleaning crew. Good towels and supplies, cool little niches. The eating areas are cool. Nice views. Not much of an area to actually play in the snow if you have younger kids. My older kids could venture further and play but all the houses are really close to each other right here and it is very steep in the front "yard". Wasn't a huge deal to us but I could see it being a problem for others. It is easy to wall to restaurants, stores and Skibowl though! It is right at the end of the main street.
Note to renters: don't be a jerk and bring your dog. My kid stepped in snow covered dog crap on the balcony. There were nasty dog poop land mines all over that porch. 😒
Even with my negative comments we enjoyed ourselves. It was not worth $820 for the weekend though. Too much that needs to be updated.
Manager response:
Hi, Amanda! We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay despite some inconveniences. The animal droppings and other bits of trash that surface as the snow melts will be taken care of. We have advised the owner of your concerns regarding the mattress. Thank you for staying with us!
Gary P. Feb 2020
Stayed at the lodge with a group of athletes over a weekend and everyone loved the lodging! So much fun! The lodge had plenty of space and was well appointed. Super convenient to amenities. So much for such a great price!
Leila O. Aug 2019
This cabin is right off the main strip. Easy to find and access to nearby establishments. The home had tons of room for my big group but still felt cozy with comfy couches, board games, and movies. We had a lot of fun, would recommend and return
collin j. Mar 2019
Funky charm
Eric B. Feb 2019
Perfect cabin for a big group and great location near all bars and restaurants.
Chelsea S. Oct 2018
We had a lovely time at this spacious mountain chalet. We made memories my kids will never forget! Thank you!
Jennifer C. H. May 2018
Really like this cute, not little place. Rooms are in good sizes. However, it only has one bathroom and heater was not strong enough to keep the room warm.
Daniel S. Feb 2018
My partner and I spent the weekend here to snowboard at Timberline Lodge and had a great time. The house was very well kept and easy to find. We will likely be booking a trip, at some point, for more than just the two of us.
Peter B. Feb 2018
Neat place to stay at. Close to many places, yet still in the woods. Has everything one needs to stay a weekend on the mountain.
Stephen B. Dec 2017
We had a great stay. Very clean and comfortable. Nice central location. I would stay here again on my next visit without hesitation.
Brad W. Jul 2017
This was a good location if you like to be right in town. We rented this unit and the Flying Stage Main Lodge. There is a lot going on there but it's nice to be close to everything. The unit was cabin-like and well used but still nice. Parking was ample. The are quite a few stairs to get to this unit. We were disappointed that the cleaners were still there when we were supposed to check in. They were an hour late and we had people standing around waiting to bring stuff in. Apparently there was a mix-up with the cleaning staff.
Chandler C. Feb 2017
Dangerous walk way due to lack of shoveling - no pathway- and an overall lack of maitanenance to property.
Manager response:
We apologize for the inconvenience the snow caused this guest. The walkway is regularly shoveled, but due to the higher snowfall this winter it was difficult to keep up.
Eric B. Jan 2017
This place was great for us as we had a larger group. It's located a few minutes walk from the heart of Government Camp and the front room looks at the main street and you can see Ski Bowl in the background. We had a great time and can't wait to come back.
Katie W. Jan 2017
No surprises with this house, exactly as shown and expected! Everything worked well - funky space but worked great for our group.
Kellie R. Oct 2016
Adrienne W. Oct 2016
My husband, 4 yr old daughter, and I stayed in the upper chalet for a weekend getaway during off season. Be sure to read all of the reviews to get a good picture of this place. It is a cute place with lots of potential, but be prepared for lots of imperfections. It was definitely functional and did what we needed it too, but everything is pretty worn and could use a good deep cleaning. If you are looking for an inexpensive convenient place for a group to stay so you can ski or just explore, then this place is perfect. If you are looking for a comfy getaway, you might want to consider some of the other rentals in the area. The location was fantastic, and we overall really enjoyed our trip!
Gillian E. Aug 2016
House is interestingly appointed but works very well. Beds are good quality
If you have the full 8 or 10 guests sharing is required, there is only one bathroom.
Vacasa keeps the house tidy, lots of clean towels and good quality sheets.
The small kitchen works well for a couple of people to prepare dinners but be ready to organize a dishwashing crew = no dishwasher
Miriam N. Aug 2016
Not fancy but it was conveniently located for the price. Watch out for loose steps.
Korey C. Jul 2016
Although the house needs all around cleaning and updates, it's a great locations and great price for the size! It could use a whole new updated kitchen for those families that like to cook. We would Stay again with some updates!
Ryan H. Jul 2016
Great location, awesome house, sleeps plenty of people, easy check in/check out. Highly recommended. Note the bedrooms don't have shades on the windows, so if you're a light-affected sleeper you'll be guaranteed to be up early!
Paul Z. Jan 2016
We had two small infants stay with us for the weekend and ran into a few cabin issues. Number one, the icy and snow covered stairs up to the cabin make carrying a small infant a bit stressful and this isn't helped by some of the wooden stair rot creating a treacherous adventure up to the cabin. Number two, there was no laundry key provided. We called Vacasa for assistance, but they never responded to our request for access. We had to ask the downstairs cabin for access to the laundry room. If you bring a baby don't count on being able to clean a diaper blow out.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that the home was difficult for your group. The Property Manager will be sure the laundry key is available in the unit for our guests, and we will do our best to keep up with the snow and ice. We hope you were otherwise satisfied with the cabin!
Amanda P. Jun 2015
I love the vintage lamps and the beautiful, handmade furniture in this cabin. It has a great feel and everything was thoughtfully decorated and clean. Beds were comfortable, even the futons. The kitchen is well-stocked, albeit rather small. Our only complaint was that the hot water ran out after a few uses. There were ten adults in our group and many of us were running the Timberline race, so it would have been nice for us to all have hot showers post run.
Elizabeth J. May 2015
Great house for a big group. Beds are awesome. Place was clean and had good amount of cooking utensils. Fireplace wAs great. Loved the balcony.
Monica C. Jan 2015
We have rented on several occasions through vacasa rentals, never had any issues, the whole process also goes very smoothly.
Stacia G. Jan 2015
We had a great stay here with another family. Plenty big for 4 adults and 4 kids. The kids loved the bunk room and the loft. Great location for enjoying Government Camp and nearby skiing. Small kitchen but we mostly ate out, so it wasn't that a big of a deal.
Kristin L. Dec 2014
Everyone had something to do. Grandma stayed by the fire while the rest of us went either skiing, snow shoeing, inner tubing, out to lunch all that was walking or bus distance. This was amazing. WE all met back for a great time of relaxing and enjoying each other's company. Thanks for sharing your wonderful space. The snow was great too and we enjoyed making an igloo. We will be back next year.
Jules H. Aug 2014
We love the location! Within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in govy. Ski bowl adventure park was the highlight of our stay! The chalet is cute with a unique retro style that we loved! Vacasa staff is top notch!!
Chet L. Jul 2014
The location of this rental property is simply awesome! You are in the heart of Govy with easy walking access the key locations such as the Huckleberry Inn and the Ratskeller. Of course hiking, skiing and even summertime SkiBowl activities are at your doorstep. The funky retro interior opens out to a deck with a commanding view. It has a laid back vibe while having everything you need for your stay. There are plenty of comfortable beds available to crash out on after your fun on the mountain as well. All in all everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay here!
Manager response:
Thanks for this excellent feedback about your stay with us. We agree that the location can't be beat - any time of year there is plenty of activities to do. The home is definitely comfortable and well maintained. A great place to relax after a day of fun!
Liz C. Jul 2014
Thank you for a lovely stay! We especially enjoyed the deck for warm sunny days and the bar-like seating at the front windows. The daybeds in the loft would be great for reading and napping, a sleepover spot for the kids or extra space for more friends! Fun decor.