USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #503

Old Smokey Cabin - Rhododendron, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
142 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms 1 bathroom 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Quintessential dog-friendly cabin in the woods, within short walk of the river!

This cozy 1920's Mt. Hood cabin is surrounded by cedar trees and just a short walk from the ZigZag River. The home features a fenced-in backyard for barbecues and playing with your canine companions, all the modern amenities you need back inside, and a great location for exploring the great outdoors.

What's nearby:
The surrounding wooded neighborhood is perfect for exploring, as are the nearby banks of the river. Wintertime visitors can explore Skibowl, Timberline, and Mt. Hood Meadows for skiing and snowboarding, less than a half-hour from the front door. You're also moments from hiking trails and secluded spots for fishing.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dogs welcome

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining









DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Wireless router


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby


Gas grill : Private



Enclosed yard

Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

142 reviews

ron m. Jul 2022
Just off the Mt Hood Hwy this clean cabin is tucked into a very quiet tree-filled neighborhood. The kitchen was VERY well stocked making it easy to grab groceries just minutes away and cook our meals so that we could enjoy all the great hiking nearby.
Walter D. Jun 2022
Little jewel perfect for my group, had all the amenities and a few surprises. Thank you.
Bethany L. Apr 2022
We had a great weekend at the cabin, great location. It was definitely cold and rustic, but we knew that going in.
Patricia R. Apr 2022
We were able to have an old fashioned weekend of walks, games, and just being together. The cabin was very rustic but comfortable except for being cold. I stayed up most of the nights to keep the fire going in the fireplace so the children didn’t get cold. Bring plenty of firewood.
Manager response:
Hi, Patricia! We're happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and apologize if you were chilly at all. The gas fireplace is working, and space heaters are available for use. Thank you!
Slayde D. Mar 2022
We stayed here with 2 adults and 2 kids (6 and 8) and there is a fun little loft area that the kids enjoyed, and where guests can sleep. (But I wouldn't really recommend for kids under 5 or so - steepish bare wooden stairs and a wooden bridge on the loft might give me heartburn with younger kids). It's a nicely laid out and surprisingly spacious place. As other reviews mention, it was very cold. But the beds all had nice warm blankets so that even so, all of us stayed warm at night.
Cecil T. Dec 2021
Great little cabin, isolated and private. Great area. Cabin is truly a rustic and original Mt Hood treasure. It is over 100 years old and it’s like living a hundred years ago in the shadows of the Mt. Hood foothills. While not a modern ski chalet, it surely is a ski cabin.

Be sure to plan for fireplace as your heat, and buy wood on the way. If you do that you can be as warm as toast by the fire.
Brooke W. Dec 2021
We love the charm and quirkiness of this very cabin-y cabin. It was great for our family get together with kids and grandparents. The area was very quiet and woodsy, and it was easy access to the ski slopes. The cabin itself is just like we dreamed our mountain cabin to be, if we had one, very rustic and quaint. The kids loved the cool overhead walkway to their upstairs room. There are a few things that prospective guests should know though. It was very cold in the cabin. The main source of heat is a propane fireplace, but the fan seemed to be broken, and you had to stand inches away to feel the heat. There are various portable electric heaters but most didn't produce much heat and there were signs saying these portable heaters could only be plugged into certain (limited) outlets. There is a huge, old fireplace that we used for heat but we had to buy our own wood, and constantly tend the fire. The place feels cluttered, especially in the dining area, where there is so much furniture that it is impossible to walk around the table when people are seated -- meaning that those seated at the far end can't get out unless everyone else stands up. Our kids were excited to see several games but were then disappointed to find that all the game pieces were missing/broken and the games unplayable. There were a couple safety issues: a couple of the stairs steps need repair and the fire extinguisher was too tiny and very expired (fortunately we didn't need it). The smallest bedroom (downstairs) is tiny and doesn't even have room to lay down a piece of luggage; we wished the dresser-like furniture was removed in that room and replaced with luggage stands to make the room more functional for guests. Overall, though, we had a fun family trip and would like to return in the future.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Brooke. We're so glad you enjoyed the quirks that come with staying in an older cabin. The fireplace and outlets are all functioning. We are discussing the games with the homeowner and will replace the fire extinguisher. We hope to host you again!
Alex H. Dec 2021
The cabin straight out of a story book, so charming! Good amount of space for 2 couples, and could fit more for sure!

The biggest downside was how cold it was. There were several small space heaters around that never quite did the trick. Make sure and bring lots of firewood to keep a fire burning during most of your visit if it's in the winter months. My only other comment is suggesting they upgrade the beds and pillows. The beds are on the hard side and extra squeaky, and the pillows are close to flat. All this said, I'd still stay there again, just maybe pack warmer clothes and my own pillow for next time ;)
Jami P. Nov 2021
This is an amazing cabin in the woods on Mt. Hood. We will definitely be back again.
Jefferson W. Oct 2021
The location was great, very convenient. The house was very cute and perfectly functional.
Jeff C. Oct 2021
My wife and I spent a weekend at Old Smokey Cabin at the beginning of October. The cabin is very cozy and we liked being close to the Zigzag River. There were several things about the cabin that were not well maintained. One of the heaters left on for us was broken, the shower door came off its track, and the refrigerator light was burned out. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, Jeff. The shower door and lights are fixed, and we are investigating the heater. We hope to host you again!
Roland S. Sep 2021
We loved our stay in this cute old cabin! Sure there are some quirks (like spacing out showers for hot water, dog size hole in the fence should be blocked with something before letting dog out) but if you go in good spirits knowing it’s an adorable old cabin in a cool/wet PNW forest it’s pretty awesome. In late September it was plenty warm with the provided heaters, showers were warm (only 2 of us) and everything we used worked fine. Got to see the giant fish jumping up stream to spawn nearby while we were here! Within 20 mins of numerous great hiking trails. Would recommend.
Sheryl C. Sep 2021
Yes, the bathroom is in need of some help, but it did not detract from this very old cabin being the coziest, most authentic cabin of yesteryear. It instantly felt like home with our great grandparents. So quiet. The period furniture and decor throughout transported us back in time. Truly a very special place to drop out, We made every breakfast and dinner in the well-equipped kitchen (do your grocery shopping ahead) which allowed us tender mornings and restful evenings by the pot belly stove fire. We would love to go back sometime. Ahhh.
Joshua H. Sep 2021
Cozy, delightful little place. Stays cool on hot summer days.
Susan W. Jul 2021
From the moment we pulled into the driveway, we loved this place. Our dogs did, too! It was absolutely perfect for us and remained cool inside during the hot weather. Great location.

It falls short of five stars for us only because of the shower. Water did take a few minutes to heat up and pressure was low, but serviceable for a few days stay.

It felt spacious, homey and comfortable and we hope to come back!
Joni O. Jul 2021
My Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It is a very old cabin but mostly clean. A few cobwebs here and there, but those were no big deal. The house was nicely stocked, but beware as we had NO HOT Water the entire time we were there. It was not freezing cold, but you had to turn the shower Hot water knob on full blast to get Tepid water. The backyard was nicely fenced.
Manager response:
Hi, Joni! We are surprised to read you had no hot water and wish you had called for assistance. Maintenance will be inspecting this to ensure everything is working correctly. Thank you!
Ian S. Jul 2021
It's nice quiet place to get away to also it's located by a lot of hiking and waterfalls which was great.the only downside is as we could not get the sound to work on the TV so when coming in late at night it would have been nice to unwind with a movie but the quiet atmosphere was awesome.
Manager response:
Hi, Ian! We are so glad you enjoyed Old Smokey Cabin and its surroundings. The TV is being inspected to see if it need to be replaced. Thanks!
Cheryl R. Jun 2021
Very cute place.the beds were uncomfortable and the shower door needs fixed.first look at outside doesn't show how nice it is inside.was a nice place for a week. Close to Mt.Hood.a lot of nice restaurants are near by.
Manager response:
We are so glad you stayed with us, Cheryl. The shower door was checked and found in good shape, but we will keep an eye on it. Thank you!
Jason B. May 2021
It's a cabin. Not a hotel. So expect slightly rustic. But all the modern creature comforts are there. And it's close to everything up on mt hood. We had a great time.
Lisa T. Apr 2021
We had such a restful fully vaccinated time. This is a true cabin. The rustic funkiness is perfect for us. Walking along the river trail was so easy and peaceful. Wished we could read a history of the cabin. A magical place!
Bryan I. Apr 2021
Wonderful experience in “Old Smokey” - a quick drive up to Govt. Camp. Recommend getting a fresh loaf of sourdough made to order from the local bakery!
Gloria W. Mar 2021
This place is so very relaxing and comfortable we just love it
Lucian G. Feb 2021
We loved staying at Old Smokey Cabin for a couple of nights this winter. The cabin is very rustic and cozy. It was a bit cold, but we read the previous reviews and went prepared with warm clothes and extra blankets. We had the heaters and the two fireplaces on a lot and it was ok. We enjoyed the short walk to Zig-Zag river as well as watching through the windows the beautiful snow falling all day long...Perfect winter getaway to relax and unwind.
Carol J. Jan 2021
The electricity in this house must be a low wattage because our phones wouldn’t charge. Also the neighbors were pretty loud late into the night
Manager response:
Hi, Carol! Thank you for letting us know about your stay. This is a 1930s home with old wiring, but we have not heard of any other guests having difficulties charging their phones. We will keep an eye out on the situation. We hope to see you again!
Virginia V. Dec 2020
We enjoyed the location as we were separated enough from people during this COVID pandemic.
Brent M. Nov 2020
Clean and comfortable, the appliances could use an update. (Buy at IKEA for the best warranty) but otherwise a great getaway and a chance for a mental reset.
Michelle B. Oct 2020
I really enjoyed our stay with the exception of two issues.

1) One of the former tenants did not pick up their dog poop in the backyard. Housekeeping didn't either. I spent our first day filling three scoopers full of old dog poop. Otherwise, it's a great enclosed space for dogs.

2) We stayed three nights but were only given one roll of toilet paper, no spares, and that roll wasn't even a full roll.

The cabin is a short walk to the river with a walking trail. It's also a short drive to grocery stores and restaurants. I enjoyed the secluded feel (you'll need a 4W drive in the winter) and the cabin itself was super cute. The neighbors behind the backyard weren't too loud either. I did have trouble hooking up the dishwasher, which requires moving the dishwasher close to the sink and attaching a hose to the faucet. Otherwise, a pleasant stay.
Sue R. Oct 2020
We loved this cabin. It was old and quaint and we loved staying here and going for walks every day.
Mona O. Aug 2020
We had 8 people stay here and had a nice time. It is small, cute and eclectic. (cabin was built in 1928). A tad squishy for 8 but we enjoyed it. When we walked in it was very dark and seemed so tiny, but once you turn on the lights (and there are a lot and some switches are hard to find) it was cozy. Bedrooms just fit a bed pretty much but was fine. Upstairs area was cute. Could use some little touches to make it a bit nicer. (hand towels in bathroom, newer comforters, etc).
It was fun to walk around the area. There are lots of other cabins and house in a very wooded area, with the river walking distance as well. And it's not too far from stores, and beautiful lakes and sites to see. We went to Lost Lake and kayaked - great fun. Some of the group went to the Adventure Park and loved it. Government camp was a nice area. Overall a very nice place and area.
Troy Z. Aug 2020
The place was quiet, sitting in a wooded area, a short walk to the river and the yard was completely fenced in.
Rachal W. Aug 2020
We loved this cabin. Very Rustin with a lot of character. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need and we really liked the fenced in back yard.
Adam E. Jul 2020
Tons of books, games, kitchen fixings, etc. They've thought of just about everything a vacationer would need.
Stacy F. Jul 2020
Had a great stay, Location is beautiful. Cabin is as described. Only complaint was dog poop left behind in the yard from previous visitors😔.
Manager response:
We apologize if the previous guest and our housekeeping team missed cleaning up the yard and are glad to see you still enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Sarah G. Jul 2020
We loved this home. Great location just a few minute drive to Timberline, multiple lakes, and bike/hiking trails. My kids enjoyed the upstairs. (Warning to those with very young children or someone who struggles walking; the stairs are steep.) We will definitely be back.
Tami C. Mar 2020
It was warm and welcoming walking in! So nice to have a big fire and play games in a rustic old cabin! Only one star off for the beds: very nice and clean, but time to update the mattresses. Especially the small roll away- nobody could use it. But over all, Great!!!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Tami. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we'll pass your suggestions to the owner for consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Lydia R. Jan 2020
Cozy cabin nestled in the woods with a short walk to the river. Plenty of sleeping spaces and all the pots and pans we needed to cook.
Vincent L. Sep 2019
Love the old charm. I have stayed in many cabins and this one did not disappoint. The only con for me is the Wifi speed. That's it.
Guénola L. Aug 2019
This is a really fun place to stay, especially with kids. All of us liked the style of this nice cabin. On the other hand, there is far too much ornament everywhere that made us afraid of forgetting something among it.
There is everything you might need in the kitchen but it's unfortunate that utensils are not very clean (waffle maker all greasy) and some are really old.
The backyard could be greatly improved, and at least have as any seating options as there are beds in the cabin. And, contrary to the inside of the cabin, some ornament would make the place more enjoyable.
We really liked the available board games.
Generally speaking we enjoyed the stay!
Manager response:
Guenola, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our apologies that the kitchenware did not meet Vacasa's cleanliness standards. We will be sure to pass your suggestions regarding the decor and kitchenware along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Janel L. Dec 2018
We had a wonderful time. The cabin was so cozy and warm. We spent the night by the fire playing board games and puzzles we found in the cabinet. The fenced in yard and covered area was great for our puppy, and the kitchen was so well stocked with everything we could ever need to complete the weekend.
Patty B. Nov 2018
Cute cabin near Mount Hood! Had everything you would need for an enjoyable stay and is a great place to escape and relax. The only downside was the animal hair that was on all the furnature so my allergies were acting up. Otherwise great cabin!!
Jodi f. Sep 2018
We wanted a weekend off the grid and this cabin delivered. We had a wonderful 2 days of peace and quite.
Joe W. Aug 2018
It is our favorite place to stay. So cozy and comfortable. So very relaxing
Edward H. Aug 2018
Quaint cabin built in the 30's with lots of wood
Just what you'ld expect
Stefan J. Jul 2018
We arrived late and found everything as described and were welcomed by this cozy cabin. Our days in the cabin were some off/slack days on a road trip, so we cooked, slept, read a lot. We really liked the bridge to the third bedroom. We would definitely visit again
Aurora M. Jul 2018
The Old Smokey Cabin earns it's name. It has been well loved, but is very clean and cozy with a large fenced yard for your furry friends. We spent the weekend with old friends ringing in my husband's 40th. He enjoyed fishing in the Zigzag river which is stones through from the cabin and I was pleasantly surprised by the kitchen which was well equipped for cooking a small feast.

If you're looking for a modern, minimalist house, this cabin is probably not the perfect spot for you, but if you appreciate personal touches, rustic decor, and a comfortable chair where you can put your feet up and read by the fire, you won't be disappointed. We had a wonderful time, made some great memories, and will definitely be back!
Veronica P. May 2018
Is a great little place to get a way whit family we where 5 adults and 2 kids enough space for everyone make it field together all the time we enjoy the river it’s a walking distance the house have everything you need you only need to bring groceries we love it
Eric C. Apr 2018
This is one of the original cabins in the community. It was warm, safe and comfortable. Tons of amenities for cooking and BBQing under the neat covered deck. Super cute and near the river walking trails. My wife and girls loved it and so did I. We would go back in a second.
Chad M. Mar 2018
Great man cave for a weekend away with some friends. Lots of great hiking and photography opportunities nearby, and it had everything we needed for 5-6 of us. The bridge over the living area is cool (and held one of our 300 pound guests without complaining).

The only downer was that a couple of the beds weren't very comfortable. Aside from that, we had a great time.
Christa M. Feb 2018
Overall, we loved this rustic cabin--but you might want to bring your own space heater or some extra layers! There's no central heat, and even with the two fire places (conventional and gas) and several provided space heaters, everyone was very cold during our stay in February.

That said, it's very cute, in a great location, and has everything you need for cooking and eating, plus plenty of towels and extra blankets.
Ball B. Feb 2018
Old cabin with a great layout and lots of charm.
Jaimi G. Jan 2018
Very cute old cabin!
Edward B. Dec 2017
We arrived to the cabin about 30 minutes early where the house keeper was struggling to clean in the dark. After going to town and getting groceries nearby, giving her enough time to finish cleaning, we got back to the cabin to frantically fire up the space heaters and central fireplace. These had to be going continuously throughout the trip to keep semi-warm. The walls don’t seem to be insulated well and there are more single-paned windows in the house than one can count. It was COOOLD. The cabin, however, was not half bad. It was clean and had most amenities needed for a relaxed stay.
Anthony B. Aug 2017
Stayed a weekend with some buddies, 7 adults easily fit and enjoyed ourselves at this cabin. Grill was great and everything was as advertised. Some things seemed a little rickety like the stairs but that's to be expected from an older cabin. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others!
Kathleen E. Aug 2017
Perfect for a group and children. Great area, close to river. A kitchen better stocked than my own and an eating area that seats eight. Plenty of room, fenced yard for privacy, good area for eating or playing games. We will return, for, the space, area, well worth the fees.
Pam G. Aug 2017
We had 8 people in the this cozy cabin! Enough beds for everyone.

Beautiful location, close to Mt Hood. Grocery store just down the street. Laundromat near the grocery store.

It is a very old cabin. It smells like smoke when you first walk in, but we got used to it and the weather was perfect to keep the windows open. If it had been really hot or cold, that smell would have gotten very uncomfortable, I think.

The neighboring cabins are close together and the one behind us was playing icky rap music very loudly.

The river is close enough to hear, and theres a good trail along it and through the woods. Very nice.

I learned my lesson about bathrooms, though! We had two elderly adults and a pregnant lady, so bathroom times was hard to get!

The beds were HARD. If you cannot sleep on the floor or ground, you wont be able to sleep on these mattresses either. If you know you like hard mattresses, then you will be fine.

The kitchen had everything we needed, except storage containers for leftovers. The outside propane grill worked great the first time I used it, but then stopped working...not sure why.

People have mentioned the stairs, and yes, they are tricky, but kids would have no problem with them. Our elderly folks did not attempt them, though. One step actually moves under the carpet, like it is broken and only held together by the carpet.

The carpet: dont come here with kids that play on the floor....lets leave it at that.

The dishwasher has to be rolled over to the sink and connected, so we didnt use it, just hand washed everything.

There is no washer/dryer but theres a laundromat nearby...$2/wash and .25/5 min dry. The library is also over by the laundromat and they had paperbacks for sale 4/$1, but there are lots of good books at the cabin, too.

I don't think the owners of this cabin have been here in a long time. Too many things that an owner would fix or take care of if they knew about them.

Overall, we had a good time. The cabin's flaws were good for a few laughs and it was as clean as it could be considering its age. Lot of interesting painting, decoratios, and books. You can tell that it was once well loved by someone.

Manager response:
We appreciate receiving such a thorough review to respond to. This is a very old cabin with a wood-burning fireplace, so there will always be a smoky odor in the home. The grill has been inspected and found to be working fine; there are two propane bottles on hand and a long lighter as well as matches if needed. The stairs in the home are original but have had braces added underneath to stabilize them. We recognize the carpet as being old and are working with the owner on replacing it. In the meantime, we do have rugs in place to cover the truly worn places. The dishwasher has laminated instructions provided for guest use. The dishwasher works well when those instructions are followed. Thank you!
Teresa P. Jul 2017
Everything was great except the downstairs beds. Very incomfortable, felt like springs coming apart.
Adolph B. Jun 2017
Until the owner or management company address the issue of un-level floors, bathroom mold and extra keys on key ring, don't stay here. There is also the issue of no door on some bedrooms or only a board as a door. Needs some work.
William B. Apr 2017
We had three nights in this large cabin with two younger children, a young teen, and two adults. Their were bedrooms for all of them and the younger kids enjoyed staying upstairs and sharing the upstairs bedroom with two beds, while the teen appreciated her privacy in one of the downstairs bedrooms. The cabin fulfilled all of our needs - far enough out in the woods, yet close enough to a grocery store and firewood. The ZigZag river is right down the road and our kids really enjoyed exploring it. We made some great meals each day and night and baked desserts with the mixer, played board games in the living room with a roaring fire going, and had a wonderful, unforgettablel time.
Christine E. Feb 2017
Cute cabin with so much potential. The interior could use some updating and some cleaning, but we had a good time in spite of this. Close to conveniences and allows pets...Perk!
Joel T. Feb 2017
We recently stayed at the Old Smoky cabin in Rhododendrons. It is close to all the fun activities on Mt. Hood and a decent price. Had a rustic feel, kids loved the upstairs loft area. We will rent again next year
Allison R. Oct 2016
Our visit to the Old Smokey Cabin in Rhododendron was AMAZING and will certainly become an annual tradition for us (if not more frequently!). We loved the cabin, the surrounding area to hike in, friendly neighbors and the feeling of solitude only 40 minutes away from the hustle of the city. If you're looking for a family friendly, cozy get away - this is your place!
Allison C. Oct 2016
What a nice little spot for relaxing on the weekend! Loved the classic cabin feel and was happy to find a great assortment of kitchen utensils. We stayed nice and warm and were super close to some favorite hikes!
Candy S. Sep 2016
We went to the cabin for a ladies getaway before my wedding and had a lovely time! This is a true cabin experience and we really enjoyed it! Gorgeous place, very cozy!
Randall K. Sep 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Old Smokey Cabin! It was the PERFECT location for traveling with our dogs because of the fenced back yard. We used the grill each night and built a fire in the fireplace. Rain and mud didn't stop us from walking along the nearby river. Other guests were close by but quiet. It was very peaceful. The cabin's decor reminded us of Christmas from the past. We would stay here any time of year!
Donovan J. Jul 2016
rustic cabin--beautiful wooded setting--helpful staff--hard bed
Steven B. May 2016
Neat and unique property, good location, bigger than it looks. Unfortunately, a dead mouse on the couch and mouse droppings under the bed sheets upstairs pretty much wrecked all the positives for us. Get a real cleaning crew on the job and it would be great.

As others have said, was supposed to be a load of firewood, but there wasn't. Not a big deal to me, but will be to some.
Manager response:
We apologize that mice were a problem for this stay. Since the home is surrounded by nature the mice do tend to sneak in, but we will do our best to keep them out.
Bria M. Apr 2016
We got there on a quiet Thursday afternoon, and very much enjoyed the solace this cabin and the surrounding woods provided. We had lovely wood fires every night in the fireplace, and it's far enough out of town to feel like you're away, but close enough that you needn't spend all your time traveling to get there. We loved walking the community, looking at the other cabins, and taking long walks through the woods along the river.

Friday night the renters behind us showed up, they were loud and obnoxious, drinking and smoking outside until early hours of the morning - but we played music on our computer and tried to ignore them. Overall, it was nice to have the fenced backyard for our dog, but she did not appreciate the renters behind us, so we ended up keeping her inside more than she is used to. In general though, it was incredibly convenient to be able to put her out back and have her potty without worrying if she was able to get out. I wish more places had fenced yards!

The cabin itself was quaint, the wood windows were AMAZING, I fell in love with them immediately. The kitchen had most everything we needed for cooking meals and enjoyed cooking meals together. *Prepare to wash the dishes first before using them, as whomever cleaned them before us did an ok job, but not what I would consider clean.* The bathroom door is made up of thin pieces of wood, with knot holes in it, and spaces between the boards. Not ideal for us, but it didn't bother us as much - however both my hubby and I agreed that it would be much more difficult to use if the cabin were full of people and not just the two of us!

The internet worked well, once we figured out the correct password for the network, as it was written down incorrectly in the book. Which was great because as a Graduate Student, even getting away still means I had homework to attend to, and was able to do so without any problem.

Ultimately, we had a wonderful time, and really enjoyed ourselves. It was ever so nice to be in the woods away from the busy world we are used to; and MUCH better than our usual rainy spring camping trips. I think we will definitely come back in the spring again, and trade our tarps and tents for this cozy treasure!!!

Carol S. Apr 2016
You won't be disappointed.
Anna N. Apr 2016
4 of us came here, the first weekend of April, for a birthday/snowboard trip. Overall it was a great time but we did have a few issues.
First, in the main bedroom on the left, the bed was clearly unmade and there was a wet towel hanging over the lamp. Since this was one of the two biggest beds, one person of the group decided to still sleep in the used bed.
There was also no complimentary wood, luckily we brought our own. The dishwasher had to be connected to the sink but there were no instructions so we filled it, but didn't run it. And there were only 2 rolls of toilet paper, so I highly suggest to bring extra!
I tried to email Vacasa about these issues but I never got a reply..
Now on to all the positives!
The fenced in yard is very nice! Our dog loved it. The BBQ works great, there's plenty of cooking utensils supplied in the kitchen. Everything was clean. The river is very close and a awesome place to hang out. A grocery/liquor store and coffee shop are about 2 minutes away. And Timberline lodge was a half hour drive.
As for all of the cold reviews on here, I slept in the upstairs bedroom. With the gas stove as well as a real fire going all night, the upstairs was hot! I slept with the window open! However, the people sleeping downstairs said it was still pretty cold, but with a few more blankets they would have been okay. The downstairs stayed very warm until we all went to bed, the middle of the night is when it started to get chilly.
It was a fun weekend getaway, this cabin is in a great location and it definitely has a lot of character. Would consider coming back next year for another snowboard trip!
Manager response:
We want to apologize that we didn't respond during this guest's stay; we are actively hiring and training more agents so that we can respond to guest needs in a more timely fashion. The Property Manager will work with housekeeping on doing thorough cleans and will provide instructions for the dishwasher as well.
Ruth C. Mar 2016
This really is a quaint cabin in the woods, which is what we were looking for. Overall, it was a good experience. It was well-stocked in linens and also in the kitchen, which was very helpful in making our dinners. They even had a couple of stocked items which I needed for a marinade. Several people have mentioned that it is hard to get the cabin warm. We came prepared, with warm clothing and extra wood so we could have a fire each night. The gas stove had been left on for us, which we appreciated and which was helpful. We also used the plug-in area heaters, which may have been added since some of the earlier comments. All together, we did fine on the heat, but you have to realize it is in a wooded area and not insulated like newer buildings and it has a vaulted ceiling, For some people this may be a problem. Also, as mentioned by others, the stairs are steep. They would be a safety issue with younger children and any in your party that are not stable on their feet. Our Verizon phones had some trouble with calls, but we found a spot with reception. We enjoyed our time and the reason we probably won't go back is because of the beds. They may not be an issue for others, but we don't sleep well on firm mattresses, and the queen is very firm. The double, in the other bedroom on the main floor, has VERY bouncy and noisy springs. As I said, this may be fine for some people.
Stephanie O. Mar 2016
This place exceeded my expectations. It had a nice homey feel to it and was clean, warm and spacious. We expecially loved the upstairs walkway and kitchen.
Emily M. Feb 2016
This is a very cute little cabin! The kitchen had everything we needed, the cabin felt fairly clean, the beds were all very nice, plenty of parking for multiple cars! There was a dead mouse in the kitchen when we arrived, and an old booger on one of the bedroom walls.. Besides that it felt fairly clean! It was a bit chilly, but the gas fire place was great! We loved the old time cabin feel, and how cozy it was!
Manager response:
We apologize that the cleanliness was not top-notch for your stay and will be sure to work with the housekeeping staff on this. We are glad to see that you otherwise enjoyed the home!
Lisa C. Jan 2016
It was alright, a bit pricey for what you get.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. This home is great for close friends or a large family looking for a good value - with sleeping space for 8, it can't be beat!
Dale S. Nov 2015
We used this for a casual meeting with four men and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is old but well-maintained. We needed internet for part of our meeting and it worked great. We would definitely return.
Kelly K. Sep 2015
Loved the quaintness of the cabin and the back fenced area was nice for young children. It was also nice to just walk around the area, and down to the river.
Sheryl C. Aug 2015
We needed an extended weekend break with hiking and down time and this was a perfect choice. This old USFS cabin has been updated and charmingly decorated . Close to hiking trails (check with the Zigzag Ranger station), close to the river. Nice selection of kitchen utensils and plates. The grocery was close if you run out of anything. Wifi was strong and jigsaw puzzles fun. We will definitely come back.
Jill N. Jul 2015
Our little cabin served its purpose. Our Wheaten loved that she could walk out the door and be in a fenced yard. The kids loved the loft and the nearby river. Too warm for a wood fire but the gas fireplace was nice in the mornings for a quick warm up...
Joshua R. Jun 2015
The house was great, loved the location as far as distance from Mt. Hood & Zig Zag River. Extremely short walk to the river, plenty of more private locations if you walk down the trail. My major problem was just how close the neighbors were in the backyard. I assume it's another vacation home and there was a family with about 8+ people including a bunch of kids. I wouldn't recommend this location for a romantic getaway, maybe a small family vacation.

Valerie J. Jun 2015
Nice older cabin, nice confortable surroundings. Fence yard for the dogs
Jeff P. Mar 2015
Our family really enjoyed the cabin and we plan to come back again.
Paula M. Dec 2014
We enjoyed very much being together and there was ample room to do that and still have privacy if we wanted it. We loved the cabin and felt very warm and cozy nestled in the woods.
Lori A. Oct 2014
All in all it was so pleasant staying in the woods with the rain and quiet environment. The cabin is from the 20's so it's fun imagining the era of that time. There is pretty much everything you need so it's very comfortable.
Sandy E. Oct 2014
This cabin was so prefect it let u have a lil of the past the way it was build and maintain and furniture was just to top it off the beds are so comfy. Also lots of room for our four paws family to run and play.thanks for letting us stay in your home. The Eichstadt family
Benjamin D. Sep 2014
We had a great time at the Old Smokey Cabin. It lived up to its name once we got a good fire going with the smell and sound of crackling wood and an electric wood burning stove for heating (which did an excellent job). The cabin is comfortable and inviting. It is bigger than the pictures and even from the look outside. Perfect for our family of 8 (7 adults and 1 small child).

I loved that it felt like we were in an old-fashioned cabin, but had all the modern amenities (wifi, TV, full kitchen and bathroom). I can imagine that the house and surrounding areas are even more picturesque in the snow and we are already trying to find a time to come again as a family to enjoy the cabin in the winter.

A short walk to the Zigzag river and quick drives to many beautiful hikes. The only note I have for future guests to the be careful as you walk down the stairs from the second to first floor (especially at night and when tired). Since the house was built in the 1920s, the stairs are smaller than modern stairs and if you don't watch your step you can slip. My sister slid down the stairs (but she also had just taken the red-eye from New York--so a combination of stairs and tiredness).

All-in-all great space and time!
D. Martin H. Sep 2014
This is not the Taj Mahal resort, but with a few minor improvements which I suggested, it is still a fun, quiet, small cabin if peace and quiet are what you're seeking. Nice setting.
Matt F. Jun 2014
We liked the lofts and the inside "bridge" between the lofts. The main room was really cool.
The kitchen was also spacious.
Beth L. Jun 2014
This cabin is the perfect getaway.... feels like you are far away from PDX, but it's only an hour away. It is stocked with everything a person could possibly need for a comfortable, cozy stay. All you need to bring is your own food and be ready to relax and breath in the clean forest air.
This was the serenity we all needed.
Kristen K. Jan 2014
Went with 6 friends for a weekend at the cabin. All of us fell in love the moment we walked in. The pictures on the website are VERY accurate. This place had great charm and felt like home. There was plenty of space for everyone and all the amenities. We cooked each meal and had plenty of kitchen tools to do so. As can be expected of a a cabin built in the 20's, it was a little chilly at times, so if you are prone to feeling cold, bring your slippers and warmer pjs. Once the fire and gas stove get roaring, it's cozy. All of us debated on whether to put up a review because we want to keep Old Smokey a hidden gem among "fancier" rentals you find online.
Jessica L. Jan 2014
My friends and I spent a weekend at the Smokey Cabin. It was a GREAT location for a relaxing weekend with friends! There was plenty of room for all 8 of us, it was clean, well maintained, and surrounded by beautiful trees! We really enjoyed our stay, and look forward to coming back!
Gemma H. Jan 2014
Thank you so much Vacasa! It was so easy to plan this getaway. The cabin was even better than the pictures and description stated. It is fully stocked with all the kitchen gear you'll ever need and lots of spices and condiments. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. We had a great time.
Birgit G. Jan 2014
Really enjoyable ski weekend for two families. The cabin is very sweet and has lots of historical charm. The kitchen is remarkably well set up and had every possible implement we could wish (and we cooked for 5 nights). Wonderful upstairs area and "bridge" that our kids loved. Thank you.
William R. Nov 2013
We love'd the cabin very much and the area was beautiful. Our 2 labs loved it just as much too :-)
R Spence B. Aug 2013
This cabin has a great layout, works well for a group of 8 people or less. Beautiful, peaceful setting helps you unplug and unwind. Love that you can hear the river from the upstairs bedroom if you leave the window open a bit.
Anne W. Jun 2013
Cozy and comfortable cabin in a wonderful location near Mt. Hood!
Danielle U. Apr 2013
This house was enjoyed by all. It has so much character, and lent itself perfectly to our needs. Well equipped and comfortable (beds were comfortable with plenty of extra blankets on chilly days and nights too), I would recommend this spot to anyone and everyone. I'm even thinking of bringing my family back during the summer, I enjoyed it so much!
Jennifer B. Apr 2013
We were very happy with the cabin! It was much roomier than we expected, plenty of space for two couples and our son. We loved the short walk to the river. Thank you, we had a lovely time!
Jen G. Mar 2013
We stayed at this cabin for 3 days and it was wonderful! It slept 8 people comfortably, was always nice and warm, great fireplace, really cozy and cute! I'd recommend this place for sure.
Melissa T. Mar 2013
The fireplace is delightful place to curl up in front of and play games for hours! This home would be perfect for one family, and worked quite well for the two families we had. The fenced yard was great for our dog. The walk to the river is easy, enjoyable and beautiful.
amber h. Jan 2013
This cabin was so well stoked with spices, teas, coffee that we played a little game called, "do they have....fill in the blank"......I ended up making a cake with supplies on hand. We had a rough start to our day but as soon as we entered the cabin a joyful mood was had by all. I would also like to say that I won at Monopoly.
Sarah M. Dec 2012
We loved our experience at the Old Smokey Cabin! It was the perfect cabin experience. We also had a very good experience with Vacasa. I have already had one friend ask where I found this cabin at because of the awesome experience we had. I would definitely recommend the Old Smokey Cabin, or renting through Vacasa at any of their rentals!
Dave M. Nov 2012
Beautiful vintage cabin with everything you could possibly need. So much character & far enough off of Hwy 26 that you don't hear the traffic, only the river. Close enough to Ski Bowl & Timberline that it was only minutes to play in the snow. Peaceful & relaxing!