USA Maine Midcoast Maine Boothbay Harbor Listing #4425

The 1909 Cottage - Boothbay Harbor, ME

Take a Virtual Tour
16 reviews
Max. occupancy: 14 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 8 Twin Bed 7 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Historic Home with Large Deck, Free WiFi, Washer/Dryer - Near Beach and Downtown

Enjoy an authentic glimpse of turn-of-the-century Maine when you escape to this seven-bedroom Boothbay Harbor home, a rustic and atmospheric cottage with an expansive front porch and an ideal location close to the beach, hiking trails, and downtown shops and restaurants.

Wonderfully situated in the highest point of Boothbay, this two-level home is less than a quarter-mile walk from Barrett Park and its two rocky beaches on the shores of Linekin Bay. It's also less than one mile across the footbridge from downtown Boothbay Harbor and one mile from the wetlands, forests, and walking trails of Lobster Cove Meadow Preserve.

Built in 1909, this home offers plenty of space and historic charm for large family gatherings, yet it also features WiFi and a new roof, porch, and electrical system to keep your guests comfortable and entertained.

The interior living space is full of quintessential Maine details, from the wood-paneled walls and ceilings to the natural support beams and banisters. Come home from a day of hiking or swimming to read a book in the rocking chair, play a new tune on the piano, or gaze at the beauty beyond the large windows.

When you're not walking to Boothbay Lobster Wharf to sample the local specialties, the country kitchen provides a simple but well-equipped space to prepare meals. Brew a fresh pot of coffee each morning, use the blender to whip up a smoothie, and sit down to read the paper at the cozy dining table for four.

Grab a few toys and walk down to the Barrett Park beaches each afternoon, where you can sit in the shade of the gazebo while your kids splash in the cool water. You'll even come home to an outdoor shower and a private washer and dryer to help keep the sand and salt at bay.

And there's no better place to spend a summer evening than the wrap-around porch, where a gas grill, rockers, hanging chairs, and wicker furnishings create an lovely space for entertaining. Back inside, you'll find a flatscreen TV, DVD player, and VCR for group movie nights (please note that there is no cable service).

With seven bedrooms and one-and-a-half bathrooms, The 1909 Cottage will accommodate as many as 14 people during your Maine vacation. The wood-paneled bedrooms are charming and comfortable, offering one queen-size bed, two double beds, and four sets of twin beds that are perfect for kids or single travelers.

The full bathroom has an antique claw foot bathtub, while the half-bath shares its space with the utility room off of the kitchen.

Once home to shipbuilders, lobster canneries, and ice works, Boothbay Harbor has gained fame over the years as of the most picturesque towns in Midcoast Maine. Walk downtown to peruse the shops and restaurants, bask in the sunshine at Barrett Park, or take a four-mile drive to visit the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens.

You'll also be just one mile from Lobster Cove Meadow Preserve, a 48-acre expanse of wetlands, forests, and fields where you can glimpse more than 140 species of birds.

Take a step back in time and experience beautiful Boothbay Harbor as it once was - begin planning your Maine vacation today!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Beach access

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Sound dock

Stereo

VCR

Nearby activities & attractions

Playground

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

16 reviews

Claudia B. Jul 2022
We have been staying here as a group now for a number of years each summer and I must say, it's in fact the worlds most perfect home to be in! So cozy, so perfect, and we look forward to it every summer. Vacasa makes it so easy to book and we always feel so fortunate to get to be here. Thank you!!!
Rebecca J. Jun 2022
We loved the rustic old feel of this cabin! A great experience!
Deborah R. Jul 2021
The 1909 cabin is very rustic but we were looking for that. The location is good. Close drive or about a mile walk to downtown and restaurants. The walk from the additional parking is more than a quick walk so be prepared. The house is noisy. Everything creaks and the lock on the bathroom door is very loud. I wear earplugs at night so it didn't bother me that much. I thought the beds were very comfortable but they also creak a lot. There are large spaces between the wood to the rooms so you can kind of see into the bathroom and bedrooms from the hallway. The kitchen did have everything we needed. The second bathroom is in the room with the washer, dryer and refrigerator and it doesn't have a ceiling, just walls around the toilet. There is a door separating the laundry room from the kitchen though. The bathtub is a clawfoot style tub so the step up and into it is quite high and the shower curtains were barely hanging on. As my husband said, the whole cabin seemed to be held together with bubblegum and rubber bands. Also, there are no comfortable chairs inside at all. They are mostly wicker chairs. After a long day of walking, I would have loved to come back to a recliner or a comfy sofa or even just a soft chair of any kind. The deck was very nice. Overall, if you're aware of what you're getting into here then you will love the cabin. The rustic part didn't bother me as much as the comfort portion-no air conditioning, no sofa or comfy chairs. So, bring ear plugs and bug spray and maybe a cushion to sit on and you'll like it.
Manager response:
Deborah, we appreciate your valuable feedback. This is a rustic Maine cabin and there should be no expectation of modern amenities. This is a log cabin so there are cracks here and there to see through. We have passed your review to the homeowners to address these issues. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in a home that is better suited to your needs.
Lael S. Jul 2021
This was a very quaint Maine cabin but isn’t a great fit for all.
It’s old - as the description says. We were traveling with kids so they loved it - they could run and play and not worry about breaking anything. But as soon as they were awake in the morning, so was everyone else. You can literally hear everything in every room. The mattresses are very old and uncomfortable- one still has springs you can feel in every position. It’s ok to have an old cabin but updated beds would be great.
Curtains on the windows would be nice - we improvised with towels.
Also note the bathroom situation. There was a cold front so the outdoor shower was off limits (also there are immediate neighbors on both sides - the house is not at all isolated as it appears in photos). That means there is one shower and the other bathroom/toilet is very open (the walls don’t connect to the ceiling). These things didn’t bother us - I’m just leaving a thorough review so you know what you’re getting because these things aren’t apparent in the description. The kitchen is well stocked and there are plenty of towels. That’s nice. We cooked lovely breakfast every morning and even had everything we needed for our own lobster bake. The other downside is the heating. It was July but the cold front was not nice to us - the heat took 48 hours to really work and once it did, the upstairs became a sauna. It’s old - so that’s how it goes. It would have been nice to use the fireplace (with ashes in it and firewood out front I’m pretty sure it actually does work - they just don’t want guests to use it…). Also there’s no crib or pack n play for babies - in case you’re wondering. Overall, don’t expect luxury, it’s more like camping, showering is a bit rough, no privacy. Could really use upgraded beds. Has its own version of charm. Probably overpriced for what you get. We had a lovely week but left a day early for a hotel with real beds and showers and toilets.
Manager response:
Hi, Lael. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are glad to hear you overall enjoyed your stay. This home is a rustic cabin from 1909 that may not be ideal for all guests and we try to be as transparent as possible with our photos. The half bath does have walls but they don't go all the way to the ceiling. We are sorry the beds were not well suited to your sleeping preference and we have passed your feedback to the homeowners for consideration. We hope to have another chance to host you in another one of our homes better suited to your needs! Thank you!
Tracey O. Jun 2021
Like stepping back to another era, the wide porch, birch railings and wood walls all lend a relaxed and comfy vibe. We were 7 couples gathering for a weekend and we all loved the cottage! A little creaky, yes, but that only adds to the charm and fun! We would come back again!
Maura M. Sep 2020
This place is very rustic. It’s charming, ie. creepy floors and doors and feels from another time. It’s great for intimate groups, but doesn’t provide a tremendous amount of privacy because of how easy noise travels. Great late summer, early fall place when the temps are cooler. The porch is lovely anytime of day and evening. Sheets and towels were clean, but there was mouse poop on the kitchen counter and the floors weren’t exactly dirt free.
Manager response:
Hi, Maura! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We do have a contract with Modern Pest, so we will advise them of your concerns with mice in the home. The shower curtain has been replaced. We hope to see you again!
Darrell D. Jul 2019
We had a wonderful time at the 1909 cottage. There were 12 of us plus an infant most of the time. (a couple people couldn't stay the whole week) The house has literally everything you need including a fan in each bedroom. It's a bit funky, but we search for "funky". We love old Maine cottages. We managed to get by just fine with two bathrooms and the outdoor shower was fun!
The porch was my favorite thing- lots of chairs and game tables, birds singing and the neighbors are nice too!
I have to give kudos to the local VACASA reps as well. We needed trash hauled an extra couple of times and they were very responsive and friendly.
I disagree, however that it's an easy walk to town. I'd use the word "do-able". It's fairly easy to walk TO town, but the walk BACK up the hill is a challenge.
PAUL l. Jul 2018
Private and very maine
Leslie C. Oct 2017
Everything was okay, but the heat didn't function properly, and it got down to 55 at night, which was cold enough to wake a few people and caused one person to book a hotel room for themselves for the second night of our stay. The heat wasn't broken—the radiators were warm and we had the thermostat as high as it would go—it just wasn't strong enough to warm the upstairs. Vacasa brought over two space heaters for the second night, but it was still pretty cold.

A few other small things, such as beds that creaked loudly enough to wake people in other bedrooms, and the fact that nowhere in the ad OR the confirmation email was it mentioned that there are only two cars allowed (which makes no sense given that the advertised capacity is 14...)—this info was only presented a couple days before our stay, causing us a bit of stress. For the record, we easily fit three cars in the driveway. Guess it's a good thing one of our friends didn't make it in what would have been a fourth car, but four cars for 14 people is hardly unreasonable.
Gail S. Sep 2017
All the previous reviews have merit. I found the house in a wonderful location, very friendly neighbors and easy to find. The house itself is older and struck me as a traditional Maine cottage. It was large and roomy. However, there were more bugs than I would have liked. The spiders and flies - not a big deal. The roaches were unpleasant. Honestly, if there had only been 1-2 that I spotted, it would not be worth making note of here, but I saw roaches daily either in the bathrooms or kitchen areas . Overall, all the reviews commented on points that I noted as well; a window pane was broken when we arrived, and the porch swing unfortunately had a rusted screw that broke while we were there. The heat worked well for the cooler August nights and the distance to town was ideal.
Manager response:
The property manager has addressed everything on this list with the owner. A pest control company has been contacted, and the broken outside chairs have been replaced. Thank you!
Peter V. Aug 2017
Old fashioned New England cabin vacation. Overall a bit dated and could use a general clean up rather than just a quick cleaning between renters.
Denise M. Sep 2016
This property was exactly what we were looking for. We are from Maine but had visitors and this cottage was perfect. It had wonderful touches like a birch stair railing, nautical throw pillows and artwork, games, a swing on the porch, everything you could ever need. The property was clean and crisp even though it's an older facility with lots of wood, nooks and crannies, etc.. It was terrific!
Thierry S. Aug 2016
Loved our breakfast on the patio, and all our lobster party. Very peaceful place with plenty rooms.
Kelly M. Jul 2016
Great stay overall, downtown stuff is an easy walk. Very pleased.