Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >
Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Dog-Friendly Oceanfront Chalet with Beach Access and Amazing Views
This lovely loft sits within the Alpine Chalets community, a collection of A-frame cottages located on a bluff above Beverly Beach. This Otter Rock vacation home makes a restful home base to explore the beautiful Oregon Coast.
The cozy chalet has a comfortable living room with an ocean view to enjoy as you relax on the sofa or play a board game at the table. Wood beams running overhead add a little extra mountain-style ambiance, and the chalet is filled with sunshine on clear afternoons.
The living and dining area is open to the full kitchen, where you'll find all the needed appliances, pots and pans, and dishes for serving meals. When the weather's nice, you can head out to the Alpine Chalets community picnic area for a summer barbecue.
There is one bedroom with a queen bed on the first floor, along with a full bath with tub/shower combo, making the home suitable for guests who would rather avoid stairs. When you do climb up to the loft, you'll find a second bedroom with two twin beds and an additional lofted living space. There's a queen-sized sleeper sofa as well as a second TV, so there will be enough space for the kids to spread out and have their own space to play or watch movies.
Altogether, six guests can share this charming chalet, as well as up to two dogs (though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply). There is cable and WiFi provided as well, so you can relax without feeling completely disconnected from the 'real world'.
Of course, the best part of the chalet is its location! A private trail leads right down to the beach (about a five minute walk altogether), and this beautiful stretch of sand is perfect for beach walks, flying kites, and running with the dogs. Newport and all its attractions are only eight miles to the south for shopping and dining, while Otter Rock's handful of restaurants are just half a mile away.
1 dog welcome in this home. No other animals are allowed without specific Vacasa approval.
Parking notes: Please only park in designated parking spot
County permit number: 327484
You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Internet : Charter
Cable : Charter
Mary G.Jul 2022
Just to let you know, the bathroom floor is uneven. There is a long area rug that covers over that area, so just be aware that it is there so you won't stumble.
veronica R.Apr 2022
Enjoyed the location and how close it was to the beach
Donald M.Feb 2022
Great location, nice clean place. We had a great time.
Lacey M.Nov 2021
This place is so dirty and dingy. Stairs are a nightmare. Uncomfortable beds, appliances that don’t work. Can’t believe I spent $367 to stay here, it’s definitely not worth it. The only good thing I would say is the private beach. Owners should take more pride in their rentals. Rugs have probably NEVER been washed nor have the blankets. Couch was disgusting!!
Hi, Lacey! We're so glad you enjoyed the private beach and apologize if the rest did not meet your expectations. The microwave and blanket are replaced, and the rugs and couch are freshly cleaned. Thank you!
Bradley W.Aug 2021
Couple of things were broken- only one burner worked on the stove and the cable wasn’t working but over all our family had a great time accessing the private beach!
Thank you for staying with us, Bradley! We are delighted to read your family enjoyed the beach. Cleanliness issues have been addressed, and maintenance is ensuring the cable and stove are guest ready. We hope to host you again!
Cassidy A.Jul 2021
Jaimi m.Jun 2021
The counters were sticky, so was the floor. There was mold and mildew around the kitchen sink. The microwave didn't work. The t.v. remote didn't work either did the DVD player. There were beard hairs in the upstairs bathroom sink.... should I go on.
The staff was unsympathetic.
Thank you for your review, Jaimi! The microwave will be replaced shortly, and the TV and DVD player are working normally. We apologize for the cleanliness issues and addressed this with our team.
Peter R.May 2021
Walk through a beautiful wooded footpath onto a deserted beach and had the surf to myself
Janet D.Mar 2021
This is our second time staying at Alpine Chalets. The location is perfect for us as we love watching for whales in Depoe Bay, visiting Newport and exploring Devil's Punch Bowl State Park and Lincoln City. When we reserve our future stay, I will be sure to choose a different unit at Alpine Chalets as #3 has structural, mechanical and accommodation challenges I am not willing to deal with in the future.
This unit, #3, has some drawbacks when compared to the other units. Mainly the severely uneven floors, 2 wall heating units that did not work, and the horrendous hide-away bed located upstairs (I did not check the one downstairs in the main room).
The floor was very uneven. It took a few days to get used to. Seriously it was pretty bad. My 7, 4 and 2 year old fell several times and I nearly did too as the pitch was extremely slanted due to settling. This place would have been far too dangerous for elderly or those with any challenges on their feet! It felt like being on a boat for the first couple of days.
The in-wall heating units did not work in the upstairs or in the main room. Thus the only source of heat was the wall unit in the main floor bedroom and the wall unit in the bathroom located in the main bedroom!! Two portable heating units were available but ironically one of those didn't work either! My children sleeping upstairs ended up being okay as we brought extra blankets, but it would definitely not be warm enough in the winter months.
The hide-away bed upstairs was horrendous! Crumbs fell out when was opened up and it was the worst pull out bed I have ever slept on! It obviously hadn't been cleaned in a long time and my guess is that it was at least 40 years old! We found a few items left behind from previous renters which backs my belief it hadn't been sanitized in a long time.
You also need to know that the stairs are very steep and more like a ladder than stairs. My kids did well, but my 2 year old did fall a couple times. We knew this prior to booking our stay but this could be a deal breaker for the less nimble!
We love this location and the Alpine Chalets are great! Do yourself a favor and choose any except#3!
Hi, Janet! We are sorry to read you had some difficulties during your stay. The heaters are broken, but space heaters have been provided. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Malia A.Mar 2021
Mike R.Dec 2020
Quite the beach getaway!
Sheila F.Jul 2020
the people were very nice and so was the beach time.
Dave H.Feb 2020
This chalet was perfect for a coastal get-away. Ideally located for access to all central coast beaches and attractions. Clean, safe, and charming.
Monica K.Sep 2019
I loved that it was secluded and quiet. Improvements would be to have screens in ALL windows. Have double beds upstairs one in the half to see the ocean from the window!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have notified our local management team to have them address this. We do hope you give us another chance to host you in the future!
Carrie P.Sep 2019
Great area and beach
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It helps us to improve the unit. The manager has made some upgrades and is discussing additional upgrades with the owner. We hope we can host you again in a unit more suited to your needs.
scot .Aug 2019
We had the beach to ourselves, especially for sunset and star gazing. We’ve been coming here for a decade and it hasn’t changed. So great!
Angela D.Aug 2019
Great place to stay with an amazing view. Just a few yards from the beach. The place had everything that we needed.
Also the groundskeeper was a really friendly and helpful guy.
Tanya S.Jul 2019
Excellent location, quiet, and comfortable.
Shelley K.Jul 2019
Love location and beaches. Only thing wrong with this chalet is it feels somewhat slanted, like when you get off a cruise and feel like you’re still on the ship. Have to hang onto walls, etc. until you get used to it!
Lynette M.Jul 2019
Nice, quiet, clean and we didn't have to leave the dogs at home!
Private, short walk to the close which is close to Beverly Beach and Devil's Punch Bowl.
Would stay here again.
Kyle C.Jun 2019
Pleasantly surprised at size of loft! Much bigger than it looks on outside.
Michael W A.Jun 2019
Our family came in from ND and MN for a memorial of one of our family members. The location is great and the Chalet had everything we needed to make our stay complete. They are older rentals and the stairs up to the loft are STEEP, although we really enjoyed our time and would book again.
Linda E.May 2019
Beautiful setting, a lovely wooded trail to the beach, chalet was very clean and tidy, short drive to restaurants in Depot Bay, Lincoln City or Newport.
Jessica B.Mar 2019
This was such a lovely place to stay. I highly recommend it!
Mary A.Sep 2018
It was really gross. The place was not clean. Crumbs and sand on the floor. There was black mold along the baseboard. It smelled damp, musty and the odor is still difficult to get off of my clothes. There was dried food in the placemats. There was a torn cover to a DVD behind the TV. I paid close to 100 in cleaning fees and entered a disgustingly dirty unit. None of the plugs in the downstairs bathroom gave any power. The outlet where the upstairs TV was plugged in, only one of the plugs had power. The plug upstairs behind the bed was crooked behind the plate and sunk into the wall when you tried to plug into it.
Outlets did not work, the stove was broken and burners did not work. There were no screens on two of the windows. Several windows the blinds were broken off. The front curtain rod was snapped in the middle and did not have a clasp at the end.
I called as soon as I arrived, (waited 15 mins to talk to someone). I stated my concerns and asked to be moved. I was told I would get a call back. 2 hours later I called again (11 mins to talk to someone). I was told that they have had complaints about that unit before regarding the blinds. They told me they would call a manager and arrange to have the cleaning lady call me in the morning. (NO ONE CALLED BACK) I waited all day on day two for a call and no one called me. I called again in the evening (Waited 30 mins to talk to a live person) They said they were going to contact the unit owner and have that person call me. (NO ONE CALLED BACK) I called once more in the morning before I left. I was on hold for 45 mins. Never spoke with anyone. I left a lengthy message handwritten on the counter. I took pictures, video. This was no way to spend my vacation. I still have yet to hear any response.
I am still waiting for a call back. Supposedly Vacasa manages these properties. They are doing a horrible job. Customer service is awful. The unit was awful and I paid more money than what I got in return. I deserve a response. I paid close to $400 for 2 nights for crap.
We are very sorry to see this guest did not receive better service due to our local property manager being unavailable those days. We have followed-up on the situation, especially with our housekeeping team, and would like to apologize again for the matter and assure our guests it has been taken care of.
Jennifer S.Aug 2018
Only a few minutes north of Newport, these chalets are really cute, with great beach access, and a great beach! Chalet #3 has a bedroom downstairs, plus two beds and a sofa couch upstairs. The stairs are really steep. My girls loved it, but wouldn't be good for babies or people with mobility issues. Bathroom with shower downstairs, 2nd bathroom upstairs. Kitchen could be better stocked - only 2 dish towels, and 2 dishwasher pods. Not enough when you are there for 4 days. Cupboard had some vegetable oil, a pepper shaker, and an empty salt shaker (I bought salt and filled it). Just really minimal. Unit does not have a washer/dryer, but does have a dishwasher. We would stay again!
Jeannine W.Jul 2018
We love the Alpine Chalets. Clean, comfortable, and wonderful location.
The grounds are also kept beautifully.
Lori G.Jul 2018
This chalet is not fancy but it is clean and well kept. The grounds are very well kept with grassy spaces for picnics, campfires and direct access to the beach.
Mia M.Jul 2018
Two minute walk to the beach on a private path, between Depoe Bay and Newport close to Devils Punch Bowl. Awesome condo with an upstairs for the kids. Perfect check in system. We will absolutely stay here again!
Susan E.May 2018
Loved staying at the Alpine Chalet in Otter Rock. The access to the beach is very walkable, the beach is beautiful and big there, the campfire area is private and sheltered, and the place is dog friendly. My family of four, plus two dogs, plus my best friend and his dog all stayed very comfortably in #3. Plenty of beds, and space, and beautiful view of the ocean out of the loft window. The kitchen had everything I needed, and it was so nice to have a dishwasher, even though it was noisy, we just ran it while we were out on the beach playing.
Genevieve L.Mar 2018
The beach it a bit of a hike... One of our friends couldn't go because he could not handle the slope or the stairs, they kind of drop off. Other than that it was perfect for us.
MaryBeth J.Mar 2018
We loved the fact that everything was in the chalet to function. The beds were comfortable enough to sleep on. The kitchen was full stocked with items to cook and clean with. All around this place was perfect us and we will stay again.
Eliseo M.Feb 2018
We enjoyed our weekend stay and found the accommodations cozy and well equipped for our small family (mom, dad, infant baby, and dog). The private beach access was great and we enjoyed the fact we didn't have to drive anywhere to comb the beach for whatever the tide brought in. We drove to the winery nearby for a tasting and the view and bought a bottle and drank it there we enjoyed it so much. It was a short drive into Newport for supplies or a beer at Rogue Brewery. We checked out both locations and preferred the actual brewery for all the activity that was going on in the brew house. The aquarium was really cool and worth checking out as well. We'd definitely stay here again.
Debbie W.Sep 2017
Great location with picnic area and beach access.
Nancy M.Sep 2017
We stayed at Chalet #3 for 3 nights. Loved the area and the beach. #3 is cute and cozy. Does need an update. But overall price and location well worth it. We will be back.
Cathy F.Aug 2017
We had 6 in our party 2 adults 4 kids. It was nice to have the loft with a tv great space for the kids. The beach was beautiful and very few people.
It could really use a small laundry facility.
Erik T.Jul 2017
Mandara N.Jul 2017
We stayed in unit #3. This is a really nice little rental and the location is amazing. The interior could use a bit of updating, but everything was clean and well-maintained, and we were really happy that the caretakers have everything set up for recycling, even glass. Each rental has different owners, so they're very different from each other, and some of the units are lived in by permanent residents who may have early work, so you wouldn't want to have a big midnight kegger right there in the parking lot or in your unit. Don't get me wrong, we had a big crazy party on the beach until 3am with loud music and a beach fire, but they do ask you to respect reasonable quiet hours up at the rentals. The kitchen had everything we needed, well-stocked with clean dishes. The loft stairs are a little steep, but there's a kids' wonderland upstairs, with a half-bath, a TV, and lots of cool movies. The downstairs had a nice big table for dining and board games. The beds are pretty comfortable, but be advised that the two twin beds upstairs are kid beds with non-removable plastic coverings. We didn't try out either of the hide-a-beds but there are two available (one downstairs, one upstairs). There is a separate master bedroom downstairs with a queen bed and an ensuite bathroom. The shower was really clean and nice. Each room has its own heat control that blows through a wall vent, which makes the temperature in each room very customizable. This was also perfect for chilly nights when you just want to warm up your frozen toes. The property is well-maintained and the caretaker is very friendly and willing to answer questions and offer neat local tips. The property is about 300 feet up the cliff from the beach, but there is a wide and well-kept trail. It's not dangerous at all, but it might be a little steep for anyone with mobility issues and it is not ADA accessible. Along the trail there are some benches for relaxing and looking out over the ocean (great vantage point to see whales). Near the start of the trail there are clearings with fire pits and seating for vacationers who want a more campfire type feel as opposed to a beach fire. These fire pits are far from the beach and surrounded by lawn and greenery, and very close to the rentals for bathroom and beer run purposes but far enough away that your get-together won't bother sleeping folks. There was plenty of toilet paper stocked for us, but for longer stays, bringing TP, paper towels and garbage bags is recommended. There is a convenience store just down the road about a mile (at Beverly Beach turnoff) where you can stock up on firewood and snacks. Devil's Punchbowl State Park and the community of Otter Rock (same place) are a short 1/2 mile walk north up the beach, where did some wine tasting at The Flying Dutchman Winery and saw whales feeding really close to the rocks. Just perfect. If you want to stay in a nice little rustic spot and see what it feels like to be a resident of the Oregon Coast, stay here! Keep looking if you want a fancy modern place.
Cynthia C.Apr 2017
The location is great! Love the lawn area and so close to the beach. Will definitely stay here again! The maintenance man was soo nice and the property outside is well kept.
Summer N.Mar 2017
This is a nice, small house. It was perfect for my family of four, but could easily accommodate the 6 person limit. There are plenty of dishes and cookware in the kitchen we didn't have to eat out! There is a nice picnic area on the trail to the beach. My family enjoyed our short stay!
Frankie L.Nov 2016
Had a great weekend.
Chris D.Sep 2016
Not the most comfortable but lots of fun with kids. Bring wood and have a fire in the firepit in a private setting! Don't buy sand toys, they are provided for you. The unit does smell musty.
Romy A.Jul 2016
This little place was just fantastic !!! So cute little chalets overlooking the ocean it's beautiful and it has a private path down to the beach with some great picnic areas. Yes there were a few things that let you know that you were not in a five star room ,and if you want to go ahead and pay the extra 500 bucks for the room and be right next door to this place on the bluff you go right ahead. Because if you are a type a person who's looking behind toilet bowls and cracks in linoleum, shuddering at mold you shouldn't be at the tip of the Oregon coast with the most beautiful views you can imagine sitting out your front door. It's the North American rain forest, people go outside! you didn't go there for the room you came for the ocean...and it's so cool a little quick walk down to the beach and there it is private and beautiful and not a soul in sight I can't wait to get back. The two stories of the Chalet were great the kids had their own floor. We had a wonderful time! Thanks to the two people running around keeping it nice, painting and trimming and cleaning. Keep up the love and go to the beach and often as possible!!
Lukas W.Jul 2016
It isn't a 5 star hotel. It isn't perfect. But it is perfect because you already know this and if you stay at the Alpine Chalet you stay here for the company, access to the beach, the wind, the air, and the atmosphere of a tucked away beach house that comes with a feel you can't get anywhere else.
Colleen F.Jun 2016
We enjoyed our stay here. Close to the beach - a short, attractive walk to the water. It is downhill, which means uphill coming back, but it's not difficult. Our unit was quite comfortable, although the dishwasher wasn't working - it didn't even close correctly, which seemed like an issue that would have been identified well before our visit. My husband and I enjoyed our time with our daughter and her husband. Quiet and peaceful and we were able to bring my daughter's small dog, which was very nice.
The dishwasher door has been adjusted so it will close. The latch to close the door does require a bit of extra pressure, but everything works.
Jennifer W.Oct 2015
Cute little house, kind of awkward layout and the stairs are NOT friendly. If you have little toddlers or struggle with stairs don't stay here. The stairs are basically a ladder.
But its really close to Depot Bay and Newport. The beach is down a little hill and is very accessible. Great beach! The beach makes up for the funny little house.
But overall everything worked and was clean and was much better than a hotel and we had a great experience.
Jana S.Oct 2015
Overall a great place to stay. Lovely location and we especially enjoyed the picnic area, the benches overlooking the beach and the trail for private beach access.
We prefer to be independent and do not need daily housekeeping. So not having staff on the property during the week was fine with us. We enjoyed the quiet and had the place to ourselves.
There were a couple of items that were overlooked for our unit that we purchased for the week, such as couple of dish towels and some dish soap. No big deal. The chalet could use a deep cleaning after the summer season, but relatively clean for our stay. The beds are comfy, the sheets and pillows were clean. Overall, a very comfortable, pet friendly, place for our fall break. Thanks! We'll be back.
Frankie O.Aug 2015
The building is old so it has a typical musty smell like most old places at the coast. Needs to be updated, but then I'm sure price would go up. The kitchen items were older and utensils mismatched, but that can be overlooked for the low price. The refrigerator worked as did the stove and dishwasher, so we could eat several of our meals without going out. Probably our only complaint was the stairs are narrow and steep up to the 2nd floor. I'm sure it met building codes, but it was a little tricky going down. This was our first stay here (have been visiting the area for 20+ years), and my children wanted to bring their dogs, which we've never done before. Was thankful to find this place, and happy that they accept dogs and even provide doggie doo bags. The path to the beach was nice though a little steep, which is often the case for the area. Would we stay there again? Probably if we were bringing dogs.
Janna M.Jul 2015
We spent ten days in Alpine Chalet #3. It was like staying at a family summer cottage that had been lovingly maintained over three generations. This isn't an ostentatious vacation showplace. It's built on charm and made for memory-making, the kind of place that has quirks for kids to remember forever and little for parents to be fussy about. The path to the beach is a bit steep, but so pretty to walk. Look for bunnies in the grill areas and don't miss the swingset tucked into the trees or the metal storage bin full of sand toys along the trail.
VIRGINIA N.Oct 2014
This house needs to be taken off the market. There is a major "slant" or "slope" to the floor of this unit. You literally "fall into" the unit because the slant is so noticeable. There were several times when entering the bathroom that I ended up stumbling to the far west wall due to the slope in the floor. Not a good feeling. Also, the house has a very bad "mold" smell. Not sure if that is what I saw on the walls in the bedroom. This unit is the worst rental I have ever occupied. The grounds keeper was very nice.
We are sorry to read you were so disappointed with your accommodations. Guest feedback is valuable in making improvements, and we will be sure to do that as best we can using your comments. Thank you for staying with us!
Teresa C.Aug 2014
This little place is cozy , a little bit away from town. The beach is nice and private. The path is cozy like a storybook path. Not many people.
The staff was friendly.
The place is older and smells older. Maybe its because of all the moisture. It was ok because we were gone a lot. It had everything we needed.
And the price for the stay was reasonable.