USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Rockaway Beach Listing #55

Arnold Beach House - Lower Level - Rockaway Beach, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
38 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Beachside Cottage on Ground Level with Firepit - Dogs Welcome

The lower level of this spacious home is perfect for big families or a big group of friends, with perks like a fire pit, views of the famous Twin Rocks, and great outdoor space with a grill, picnic table, and backyard.

What's nearby:
The beach lies a short walk from the backyard. Stretch your legs with a few-minute walk or hop in the car to reach downtown Rockaway Beach, where shopping, dining, and groceries await. Other local attractions include the Oregon Coast Scenic Railroad, Twin Rocks State Park, or the Tillamook Cheese Factory 12 miles away.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dogs are welcome for a nightly fee
Please be considerate of the guests on the upper level.
You may rent this whole duplex for larger groups or the upper level for smaller groups.

County permit number: 851-10-1938

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view


Beach access


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter


Gas grill : Private




38 reviews

Carolyn S. Sep 2021
The house is in a great location and it was awesome to have my three dogs with us. House is dated and in slight disrepair but I definitely did not worry about my pups messing up anything. Hot tub was awesome. Will stay here again.
Theresa B. Nov 2020
Wonderful location. You may have to clean before you settle in. I had to sweep all the rooms and we did take our shoes off before we entered as it was raining when we arrived. No curtains in one bedroom so you may put on a show for the neighbors. Satellite would not work and I k ow how to use one. Place needs some work we have stayed at much nicer places. Could be fabulous if they do some upkeep.
Manager response:
Hi, Theresa! We're so glad you enjoyed the location and apologize if housekeeping was lacking upon arrival. The cable box has been hooked up to the TV and is working well, and we will be discussing window treatments in the bunk room. Thank you!
Rebecca L. Oct 2020
Well, to start I think it's important to mention that we had a great time and that everything that could have gone wrong seemingly did. It was basically comical by the time we left.

What worked: the view was incredible and the location was fantastic, right on the beach! The shower pressure was great.

What didn't: well, just about everything. I question whether this house was actually cleaned before we checked in. There were dirty dishes in the dishwasher that smelled like rotten fish so severely that we had to run the whole thing on power blast for 4.5 hours to get the smell out, and even then some of the dishes weren't clean. I had to drive to town to purchase more dish-pods because there were only two left in the house. In the cabinets there were pots with food residue. We brought our own oil and seasoning- if you decided to stay in the Arnold beach house lower level keep that in mind. There are no cooking accoutrements provided. The lights were burnt out in one of the bedrooms and flickered in the living room with no spare bulbs. There was a pillow with a dried white substance (mildew I hope) and a dirty towel. The wifi didn’t work and the router is located in the upstairs unit so we could not trouble shoot. The instructions were to call the upstairs tenant- who we don’t know? The baseboard heater in the smaller bedroom wouldn’t turn off, making for a very very warm sleeping situation. Speaking of sleeping situations, there was sand in the front room bed which led us to believe these sheets were not washed. There was no cable television as advertised so we figured we’d watch a movie. There was a single VHS cassette of Jurassic Park but nary a VCR. The front door doesn’t lock from the inside of the house, not that it really mattered given that the front window had no screen or lock and was completely accessible from the deck, as one of our friends demonstrated by climbing in. Oh, and the roof leaks. Not just a drip, but there is a significant leak in the roof. It filled a large bowl of water, and the leak expands across the whole length of the ceiling in the front room thus drenching a suitcase of clean clothes. There wasn’t enough detergent to wash our clothes and the towels used to dry off the floor. We attempted to contact Vacasa and did not get a response because we figured a leaking roof is a pretty necessary repair for the rainy Oregon coast.

That being said, we had fun but for the price we paid we were expecting a cleaner experience with more basic amenities. I think it would behoove Vacasa to either alter the price or the description of the Arnold Beach House lower level.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Rebecca, and letting us know about your experience. All light bulbs are working; please note the small bedroom has a switch that doesn't activate anything. The baseboard heater has been verified to turn off when turned down. The cable and WiFi have also been verified as working. There are six windows with functional screens; there is one window missing a screen that we will address when we can. There was a leak coming from an overflow valve upstairs that has been tightened. The dishwasher has been secured. We hope to see you again!
Greg D. Sep 2020
Great location and dreamy views. My family enjoyed their stay.
Angela H. Aug 2020
it was the perfect home on the beach for our family who desperately needed a vacation from home. I loved the deck, hot tub and best of all the easy beach access my 5 kids used dozens of times a day. We will be back again!
anjanette b. Jun 2020
First we couldn't access the house because the code was wrong. After waiting on hold for almost an hour I called a friend of mine who owns a rental and through her connections we got in. The outside is in dire need of painting and landscaping, the inside is even worse. First it was not cleaned well, we found dirty dishes in the cupboards, dirty rags that had been left and a dirty table and floor. The bathroom is so small barely 1 person can fit and was not clean looking. The heater was rusted all the way, the windows of which most dont open and the others barely open. No screen door to let the air circulate and with no a/c the house is stuffy. The kitchen is not stocked with basics like salt and pepper. We brought everything but. The oven kept resetting and turning off when I would open the dishwasher meaning a short or loose plug. The microwave was dirty. Needless to say we spent hours trying to get a refund because we were not going to stay. Unfortunately we drove 8 hours to get there and at 9pm at night there was nowhere else to go. We were charged that 1 night. This house is not a place that should be rented out unless they want to charge $50 a night.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback, Anjanette, and apologize for the experience you hard. The property manager is currently working with the homeowner on making improvements to this home. Thank you!
Ashley F. May 2020
The headline offered a private hottub however it’s out of order. For the amount we paid def not worth the money. Please advertise better especially when people are paying hundreds to rent ...
Manager response:
Hello Ashley, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the hot tub during your stay. The hot tub has been removed from the listing and as an available amenity for this home until the repairs are completed. We hope that the compensation provided allows you to reflect positively on your experience. We hope to have another opportunity to impress you again in the future!
Dave F. Mar 2020
A cozy beach cottage located at Twin Rocks! Easy beach access and a huge back deck deck!
Dayton H. Mar 2020
The view and the location made up for the house for us. The house was your typical beach house. Little bit run down with a small bathroom. Overall clean though! Lots of sleeping quarters if you need it. We loved being able to bring our pup and walk out the back door to the beach. The location really was amazing. Close to lots of local shops and within 20 minute drives of really nice dinners.
Peter E. Sep 2019
Great location, fire pit, and new appliances. Hot tub was very nice. The new pots and pans were great. Does need new blinds and cabinets .
Angelyn A. Sep 2019
We loved our stay at Arnold’s beach house. Thank you!
Erin M. Mar 2019
This was a cute little quaint house. Was wired about the shared hot tub but we had an awesome family that stayed above us that weren’t around too much which made the stay very nice.
Crystal S. Feb 2019
This home is nice and simple, with an old-Oregon beach feel. So if you aren't looking for luxury and are cost-conscious this is a good fit. The location is awesome, and the walk through the dunes short and lovely. Not great for a big group of people. We had two adults and two kids, so it worked well for us. But definitely bring your own silverware - there were only a few forks and two spoons.
Manager response:
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Silverware and utensils have been added to this home. We hope to host you again soon!
Jesus G. Sep 2018
La parrilla
Jocelyn W. Apr 2018
My sister and I rented lower level. It was so adorable and loved the hot tub, grill and short walk to the beach. We would definitely stay here again. Such a relaxing weekend!
Elizabeth R. Mar 2018
Great location and size for a couple of people. Bathroom is tiny on the first floor, not really enough room to get ready in so bring a mirror for another room. I recommend packing your own kitchen as well. There was one fork in the entire home and if you need anything during your stay Vacasa has a voicemail only so chances are you won’t get what you need by end of weekend. Take your own pots, pan, utensils, etc. Hot tub was great, view was awesome, great location.
Manager response:
We have ensured the kitchen is amply stocked for the size of the home. Thank you!
Keith S. Nov 2017
This house is perfect! Great for a small group or family traveling to the coast. It is only a short walk away from the beach and is accessible by its own private trail. The views from the deck are superb, with a great view of Twin Rocks. The fireplace also adds a nice touch to the home, giving you a chance to relax in front of the fire after a long day exploring.
Pamela C. Sep 2017
Overall good stay but if weather is bad pretty cramped for all to be comfortable
Niall O. May 2014
My minimum expectation for a beach house is that it will be just a place to drop my bags before I head out to the beach. This property far exceeded that expectation by being stocked very well with cooking supplies and having surprising amenities like a hot tub and fire pit. Every spot in the house was capable of producing a lovely memory whether it was cooking fresh salmon over the fire pit or enjoying a light rain shower over Twin Rocks from the warmth of the hot tub. Too many beach towns are full of high rise towers cramming in as many people as possible. Rockaway Beach is a return to those beach towns of your youth where everything was simple and special.
Manager response:
Thank you for this lovely review. It's so nice to read that your expectations were exceeded for this home. We're glad that you were able to appreciate the home and Rockaway Beach area. I love that you felt that it was like a beach town of your youth. That is indeed a special feeling. We hope you'll visit again.
Ben A. Jul 2013
we housed/entertained our wedding party at this house and it not only fulfilled our needs but it was also comfortable and enjoyable. we especially enjoyed the backyard fire pit and the hot tub. the house is in a great location and is well stocked. we enjoyed it very much. a carpenter could spend some time in there fixing a number of deteriorating aspects of the house.
Myya S. Jun 2013
ToWonderful Location. THe BeachThat TheTrail LeadsTo IsPerfect For Kids, Wonderful For Shell Searching& PerfectFor Sandcastle Building. TheInside Of The House Isn't Beand New Our Super SpaciousButItWas Great For Families With Kids. Couches transformed PerfectlyFor Kids To Pile On. Beds InThe BedrooMs Were Comfortable. Bathroom Was Tiny & A Little Challanging To Move Around In But For Me Not A Dealbreaker. Overall AWESOME Stay & Really Happy Kids!
Vera P. May 2013
Very nice property right on the Beach
with hot tub....great for family with kids
Jonathan D. May 2013
The property was listed as having a charcoal grill, yet all I could find was an old burned out gas grill on the deck that didn't even work.

The house had no matches, no salt or pepper shakers, and no wine/bottle opener. These seem like pretty basic items to have around a house. They would be welcome additions.

Maybe a reminder to guests not to turn on baseboard heating while beds are against the walls; this seemed like a fire hazard to me.

The queen sized bed in the room behind the fireplace needs a new mattress. Sag city!

Thanks again, though, besides these points. We had an excellent time!
Peggy O. Mar 2013
We just returned from a long weekend at the Arnold House. Overall it was very enjoyable. The property was very clean and the furninshings were very comfortable. Taj' Mahal its not. But more than adequate it is. If you are not overly fussy then I recommend this rental ... We would definitely come back. For the view , the bench between the house and the beach and the relaxed atmosphere..
Sebastian C. Oct 2012
We had a wonderful birthday weekend out here with friends and our two dogs. There was plenty of sleeping spaces and a nice fireplace. Various parts of the house/property have been neglected such as the bathroom floor that has exposed splintering subfloor. I assume they will fix this right away though. The hot tub was wonderful, the beach was peaceful. The view was fabulous. Everyone had a good time.
Manager response:
Thank you for enjoying our lovely home. It's been a very popular home all summer long and due to back to back reservations we had little time to do necessary repairs. As the season is slowing down, we'll make sure to have everything in perfect shape fro your next visit.
Sofia S. Sep 2011
This house was perfect for our group and the coordinator was GREAT with our reservations. We had such an amazing time! Thank you soo much, hopefully we get to go there again :) Ps. the view is just breathtaking!
. Aug 2011
This home is need of some updates, but it was a great value for a pet friendly 2 bedroom oceanfront home. It's South of downtown Rockaway Beach, directly even with the Twin Rocks. It's a beautiful stretch of beach.
Suzy T. Nov 2010
Great house in a great location with a great price. The only thing I would say is that the kitchen was not very well-stocked with utensils and bowls, and the house could use a few minor upgrades (washer/dryer), but all in all we had a wonderful time and the property manager helped us out with our requests for more kitchen tools.
Manager response:
A washer and dryer has been added, and we are continually making improvements.