USA Oregon Mt. Bachelor Sunriver Listing #297

Cottonwood 9 - Sunriver, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
70 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Private hot tub, dog-friendly home offers SHARC access & space for the family!

You have a lot of treats in store at 9 Cottonwood, a spacious home with handsome mountain decor. The first thing you'll notice is its great location in a beautiful, quiet area (Circle 10), very close to Woodlands Golf Course and just minutes away from all the Sunriver attractions.

Inside the house, one of the biggest treats is the hot tub sheltered with a roof and protected with windows. This kind of setting is unique in Sunriver, making it a very special place to relax in any season.

Downstairs, the great room is filled with comfortable furniture surrounding the fireplace area, which has a rock hearth and a large flat screen TV. There's plenty of room for everyone to lounge, play games or watch movies.

The open great room includes a well appointed kitchen and a lovely dining area with seating for 10. Mingling is easy, especially because the dining room opens onto the summer deck with its brand new barbecue. This is also where you'll find that fabulous hot tub.

The main floor features a master suite with a queen bed, a large bath and a private deck. Upstairs, there's a second master suite with a queen bed, a walk-in closet and a bath complete with marble tile. On the second floor, you'll also discover another full bath, a third bedroom and a loft area that will delight children and adults alike. This bunk room has a twin bed on top and a full one on the bottom.

9 Cottonwood welcomes dogs, so you can bring Fido along for your stay. You may be tempted to spend your whole vacation in this fabulous house with all its amenities, but of course you'll want to sample Central Oregon's famous outdoor activities, from biking and boating to skiing and sledding. During your stay, you get eight unlimited passes to SHARC, the fun-filled new aquatic center. With its pools, year-round tubing hill and many other features, SHARC makes Sunriver a more wonderful playground than ever.

Please be aware that the Sunriver SHARC center has implemented new rules and regulations regarding occupancy, amenities, and access. Please see their website for more details.

Deschutes County Tax Certificate #77

County permit number: 753966

County tax number: 753966

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Century Link


Cable : Dish Network

DVD player



Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Adult bikes

Board games

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Children's bikes


Gas grill : Private


70 reviews

Rick F. Jun 2022
Really nice home in a great location. Clean and well equipped. Hot tub and a few other amenities are out of date and need updating/repair.
Wayne G. Jul 2021
Loved our stay. Beautiful block, deck, family room. There are some delayed maintenance that needs to be take care of like the range not lighting, nails coming out on the deck, 3 way light bulbs needing to be replaced, and some light missing the knobs to turn on. Otherwise we had a wonderful time.
Mike L. Jun 2021
This has the potential to be a great place in a good location with some TLC. It's a great layout for a large family or even a couple of families, but it needs some upkeep. The kitchen pull out faucet kept falling out while doing dishes. The window blinds for the downstairs bedroom was missing a third of it's slats so be prepared to wake up with the sunrise. The shower in the downstairs bath was luke warm at best even though the bathroom faucet 3 feet away had plenty of hot water. The faucet in one of the bathrooms upstair didn't seem to be attached to the sink so when you turned the water on the faucet slipped backwards. The hot tub was extremely hot and we weren't able to get the temp down under 105 the whole trip so it limited our ability to enjoy it for more than a minute or two at a time. The house definitely has potential, but it's not worth the rate in the condition it's in right now.
Manager response:
Mike, thank you for sharing your review. We’re so sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties. The house manager has replaced or repaired all of the broken faucets since your stay. The blinds have been replaced. We appreciate your feedback. We hope you'll allow us another opportunity to host you for a truly carefree vacation.
George B. Jun 2021
It is in Sunriver.
Living room, dining room and kitchen layout are great.
Deck area is great.
Not so great.....
* Kitchen cabinet door was off hinge. Had to fix.
* Burnt out lightbulbs in several fixtures and lamps.
* Deck furniture was inadequate.
* Hot tub was weak and cover was waterlogged....very heavy.
* 2 main bedrooms had double beds.
* Bedside lamps in Master were broken.
* Vertical blinds in bedroom #2 were missing several blinds, Had to cover window with a sheet.
* Bedroom #3 for children only.
* Bikes are for children only.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, George . We sincerely apologize for the disappointment. We would have been happy to assist with any questions or concerns if we had been notified during your time with us. Our local team strives to provide every one of our guests with the best vacation possible. We are so sorry if our standards were not met during your time with us! As a side note, many of these issues are being addressed or have been resolved since your stay.
Kristin R. Dec 2020
Booked this for our family for Christmas. We were excited for the fireplace and hottub as well as having a comfortable home to do something special this Christmas. We did enjoy our stay, however, the house felt very much like a rental and not worthy of the high price tag.. There were some broken furniture and fixtures, some dirty dishes. the fireplace was disappointing, as was the hottub, the provided kitchen amenities lacking and the paper products provided of the lowest quality. It was spacious and we slept comfortably, but on the whole I expected more fore the price.
Manager response:
Hello Kirstin, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay, as this is not the high standard of guest satisfaction that we hold ourselves to. We have provided your valuable feedback to our local manager to address. We apologize for the inconvenience and do hope to have the chance to impress you in the future.
rebecca B. Oct 2020
wood tile floors instead of carpet. well stocked large kitchen with new appliances large outdoor space for dog potty. quiet street and nice walking trail access to the golf course
Constance S. Aug 2020
First of all - Sunriver is amazing for families and the location of this home is perfect, it’s very close to the bike path and the North store and the AC works great.
However, for the price this house is very Much in need of maintenance . The deck hasn’t been finished in a long time and needs some love for sure. But everything needs some attention. There are pots and pans but they are peeling finishes so if you don’t want that in your food bring your own - the cabinet facings are peeling off and the shower head in the master only sprays 1 funky stream - it doesn’t actually spray out - half the lights didn’t work and the plugs won’t stay in most outlets in the kitchen and many don’t work at all.. My belief is that the house has had zero TLC. Some of the whirlpool Jets in the hot tub don’t work (2 did) there are no knobs to turn the lamps on on any lamps upstairs- The garage door won’t go down without holding it down. There was only 5 forks in the silverware tray - all minor things but for the price - you can do much better - this was my 23rd time in Sunriver-and 16th house I’ve rented. I would not stay here again.
Manager response:
Hi, Constance! Thank you so much for your review. The owner is in the process of updating many things in the home, so we have advised him of your concerns. We hope to see you again!
Teresa H. Jul 2020
The house was great BUT definitely a few things to note!!! Under stocked- no cutting boards! Kept running out of forks so had to keep re-washing. No seasonings, oil...not even salt. Not huge make or breakers but good to know if your going. Homeowner must get cutting boards though!!! People dont expect to travel with those. And the stove! I had read about it in other reviews but it looked like it had been addressed- it hasn’t! It doesn’t light when you just turn it on- you have to fiddle with it and you either just smell gas or in one instance three of the four burners all lit at once when I was just trying to turn one on. Homeowner definitely needs to replace stove. The bikes are not the best, but we had our own and rented one. The location is awesome and at the end of street so kids were totally safe riding and playing out front. Shower in downstairs bathroom could use a new shower head and the shower floor is in need of some repair. The house isn’t updated, but this didn’t bother us. It was a lovely week and besides the few things noted we would definitely stay here again! Lots of games! Hot tub was rad! No furniture on deck...and I wish I had brought my beach chairs to bring to the river or perhaps the house could stock a few because that’s another thing most don’t travel with...Hope this helps the next traveler :)
Manager response:
Hi, Nancy! Thank you for telling us about your stay. The washer and dryer closet are no longer available for guest use as we try to determine where the unusual odor is coming from in that area. Local staff contact information has been placed in the home so guests can reach out for assistance easily during their visit. We hope to see you again!
Rhonda D. Jul 2020
Great location and very dog friendly.
Ann G. Aug 2019
As usual we love Sunriver and this was the first time staying in this house. We loved staying here and will def come again.
Jeffery N. Aug 2019
Great place!!
Michael C. Jul 2019
This house IS NOT WORTH the money!! It need to be remodeled. The outside deck need significant work; the furniture is old; the bikes are old and antiquated; kitchen equipment/utensils are sub-standard and lacking.
Manager response:
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It helps us to improve the unit. The manager has made some upgrades and is discussing additional upgrades with the owner. We are sorry you were not comfortable. We hope we can host you again in a unit more suited to your needs.
Laurie L. Apr 2019
Hot tub is fully enclosed, but the pictures do a good job hiding the fact that you still have to go outdoors to get to it. Not a deal breaker, but misleading.

Hot tub was not hot! directions in the binder do not match the controls, which makes it almost impossible to figure it out. It took 1.5 days to get hot, which was right when we had to check out. Total bummer.

Broken electrical outlet with sharp edges jutting out of the living room floor. Master bath shower floor is caving in and cracking near the drain. Not good quality at all.

We spent HOURS on the site trying to find an indoor hot tub. It was the main reason we chose this property and spent $900 to rent it. It ended up being a complete disappointment. I will never stay here again and will definitely look at websites other than Vacasa before I book my next trip.
Manager response:
Hi Laurie, thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered in our home. Please don’t hesitate to call our 24/7 Guest Services line if you ever need assistance with any amenities in our home. Our dedicated local staff is always happy to help with the hot tub or any other maintenance issues. We hope to have another chance to impress you.
Ashley M. Sep 2018
Nice house, nice layout, nice furniture. Can't park in garage, stove doesn't lite very well and kitchen is different. A/C works great.
Cynthia N. Jul 2018
Really loved this home. Super comfortable and equipped with everything you need including bikes and Sharc passes. A bit farther from the Village than I thought when looking at maps but do-able for everything.
renee n. Mar 2018
beautiful home, peaceful wooded setting, nice hot tub. there were 8 of us and one lively dog but the home still seemed spacious. the kitchen itself was great but the pots and pans and utensils were very disappointing as was the mattress on the bunk beds.
Pat K. Jan 2018
We enjoyed our time here and appreciated the quiet location of this home and it's access to walking trails to the river. Loved the spacious great room but found the kitchen needed a cutting board! The 3rd bedroom has a bunk bed with a double on the lower level that is broken and unusable. We reported these items and, hopefully, they will be attended to. We enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
We were able to get the bunk bed repaired and fully stable. Thank you!
Hannes . Aug 2017
This is a great place to stay in Sunriver. It's quite spacious and well kept. The hot tub is great extra.

The neighborhood of the house with the SHARC, River and other outdoor activities is also very good.
Robert S. Aug 2017
Great place for active kids.
Khris L. Feb 2017
Had a great time. Lots of room in the house. Kids loved the games that were there to play.
Peter S. Jan 2017
Overall, I would hesitate to recommend this place given the experience I had. On paper it looked great, but reality was disappointing after shelling out over a grand for 3 nights. More like borrowing a friend's 30 yr old log cabin, not renting a luxury resort home. No hot water the first morning, no tv reception, unable to cook on the range or use the hottub. That's too many deal breakers. If those things were fixed and renters expectations are kept in check, this could be a really nice place.

Great location, easy to find, short distance to SHARC, village and paths
Open floor plan, well laid out
Great size for a family of 6
SHARC passes
nice books, games and toys for young families
comfortable furniture and beds
well stocked kitchen
nice pet friendly wood floors
nice granite countertops in bathrooms

inconsistent heating-downtairs bedroom too hot, upstairs too cold
Severely outdated, borderline non-functional hot tub
poorly working gas range-couldn't get hot enough to cook pasta
kitchen outlets couldn't hold a phone charger
outdated lighting and fixtures
cluttered with junk in closets and garage
no directions for TV with 4-5 remotes
back deck completely unusable in snow
couldn't park in garage without moving stuff
linens looked 30 yrs old
Manager response:
The Property Manager has inspected the hot water, TVs, and stove top and found them to be in good working order. Thank you!
Cindy A. Dec 2016
We had two families stay at the home and it was perfect! We have 4 kids under 3 years old and there were plenty of games, a booster seat, open space, etc for us all to be comfortable. We got a foot of snow on our second day and had a blast! The house was a perfect fit and the hot tub was a great bonus. We hope to come back, it was a wonderful home.
Scott M. Dec 2016
Nice large dining table for serving meals and playing family board games. Plenty of room with 3 bedrooms for our family. We enjoyed the tubing hill passes.
JP D. Aug 2016
Jeff O. Aug 2016
Enjoyed what the house had to offer.
For an older house, it is a pretty nice place.
AC was handy for the hot days!
Had a great time.
Gretchen W. Aug 2016
Perfect for those with kids - quiet street, close to all the fun activities Sunriver has to offer.
Rebecca S. Jun 2016
Great house! Great amenities
Neha H. May 2016
It was a very nice house and easy to use. We loved the bikes and the location. It was very clean and the skylights and windows were amazing. Sadly the hot tub was too hot and we could not use it. It was a really neat looking hot tub and I definitely felt like we were not able to enjoy something that we rented the house to enjoy. A simple maintenance check of the hot tub before we moved it could have helped. Beds were also not comfortable. It was too bad because the bedrooms were large and had everything else we needed.
Elisha I. May 2016
The house was beautiful and very clean. The covered/enclosed hot tub was perfect since it rained for our entire stay. My one suggestion for future renters would be to be careful when entering the hot tub. Like most hot tubs, it was tricky to get into without slipping. We found that the easiest way to get in was to sit on the side hear the wooden steps, then enter the tub from the side. The hot tub itself was large and very clean. I would definitely rent this house again.
Scott W. Apr 2016
1) Interior lighting could be better.

2) Only one key for main door.

3) Provide more hand soap in bathrooms.

4) Provide kitchen cloth or sponge for cleaning counters.

5) Provide storage containers for leftovers.

6) Provide more cups or glasses. Actually prefer plastic to eliminate breakage.

7) Three big eating bowles and a dozen very small bowls. Need more balance.

8) The light switch placements make very little logical sense.

9) Provide a dish rack.

10) Provide a larger frying pan with lid.

11) The stove is inconsistent when it comes to lighting. Sometimes it works and sometimes it just throws natural gas into the air. This should be checked out.

12) BBQ burners are clogged. They need to be cleaned out with a paperclip. As is, it will satisfy indirect cooking, but will be no good for frying a steak, burger, etc. I managed to "warm" a few hot dogs though.

13) The hot tub heater runs all night and it provides a steady noise to the master bedroom (aarg!)

14) The hot tub lid is hard to manipulate because of the narrow enclosure around the hot tub. It's actually dangerous, because it takes two people to remove it and the surface area can be slippery.

15) Provide 10-15' hose to fill up hot tub. Using a 50' hose is to cumbersome in such a tight splot.

16) The ability to increase the temperature of the hot tub is schizophrenic. Press the button once, it goes to 102, press again, it goes to 98, press again and it goes to 101. Nuts!

17) BIGGIE - The sound quality of the TV is poor. Extenal speakers would help, but the real problem is the sound bouces all over the room due to the abundance of hard surfaces. We had real difficulty understanding TV dialog. Possible Solution: Add another large throw run in the coffee table area.

18) The master bathroom needs a fan in the toilet area. There is a fan for the shower side, but not for the toilet side. Once the sliding door (which separates the toilet from the shower) is closed (for privacy), no venting can occur. Bad design. Add another vent in the toilet area.

I know this sounds like a lot of complaints, but really, many of these issues can be resolved at very little cost. The kids had a blast and the outdoor deck is ideal for a summer visit. Love the large driveway.

Manager response:
We appreciate receiving such a comprehensive list of simple improvements that can be made so that our guests have an even better experience. This will be shared with the owner right away for their consideration.
Lee R. Feb 2016
Overall a great house and location. We loved that there are 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms as we went with another family and we both have a teenager--so they shared one of the bathrooms and we didn't have to step foot in it! Hot tub is nice and house has lots of windows but doesn't face any other house directly, so it's private. The location is great and the walking/biking paths were a good place to walk the dogs. There is a well-stocked store and gas station near the house, and the Village is a few miles away, where there are several good restaurants, including The Brewhouse and Marcello’s Cecina Italiana, so we didn't have to go into Bend if we didn't want to.

The house is very nice, but the few, fairly superficial things that need replacement bring it down a notch. What needs replacement wouldn't cost very much money, and it would give a much better overall impression. It lacks enough lighting and some of the lamps are not in the best shape. The kitchen equipment is fine, but upgrading the pots and pans would be an improvement. The pillows on the sofas need replacing. All of these things are pretty minor, except for the broken ladder on the bunkbed, which wasn't a big deal for a teen, but would be a problem for a younger child. The bikes weren't in very good shape either, and that was a disappointment for our kids because there are great paved paths to ride all over Sunriver. If the owners were to make these changes, we would highly recommend Cottonwood 9.

Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced and greatly appreciate your suggestions for improvement. These items have been brought to the Property Manager's attention so they can be addressed when possible. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Anna V. Feb 2016
House was in a good location, clean, hottub could use a little maintainence but overall a nice house. We would definitely stay again.
Colleen O. Jul 2015
Our family had a great time visting Sunriver and staying at 9 Cottonwood. The house was roomy and comfortable. Any issues we had were addressed quickly by the Vacasa staff.
Leesa B. Apr 2015
My family and I really enjoyed our recent stay at 9 Cottonwood. Very nice house, very roomy with lots of extras. We would definitely stay there again.
Leesa Buckland
David B. Feb 2015
Nice home and convenient accommodations. We were close to Sunriver Village and Mt. Bachelor skiing.
Manager response:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I'm very pleased to see you had a nice stay here! This is the perfect family vacation home with so much to do in the area to keep everyone entertained. We are worry that the hot tub didn't get hot enough during your stay. If anytime you run into a problem while staying in one of our rentals, please call our Guest Services as they can assist with getting someone there to fix it. We appreciate the feedback, we hope you come stay again soon!
Jamie W. Feb 2015
We stayed the weekend here & we didn't want to leave. the house is very open, tons of natural light. Very cozy. Kitchen is a great size with stainless appliances.
Cul-de-sac is quiet & safe. Easy to find and just minutes from the village. We loved the massive dining table. we played games on one side, ate on the other it was that big. Top queen bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Bottom queen was much firmer, but some people like that. Kids were fine in the smaller room. Also loved the 3 bathrooms. That was a treat for us along with the big hot tub.
Can't wait to rent here again!
Manager response:
Thank you for this great review. We are pleased if we were in any way able to help make this special family vacation one to remember.
Wendy T. Jan 2015
We had a fantastic holiday in Sunriver. The whole family fit comfortably in 9 Cottonwood, and we all enjoyed kicking back to relax over New Year's. The enclosed hottub was awesome, and the house was outfitted well (furnishings, linens, kitchen). Just bring your clothes, ski gear, and favorite bottle of wine and you are set!
Stuart B. Sep 2014
Our family; 3 generations, had a wonderful week in Sunriver; 9 Cottonwood Lane made it possible. This home is outfitted very well, the property manager keeps on top of things and the SHARC passes, bikes, hot tub, good gas grill and general kitchen supplies were as good or better than being at home.
Pamela S. Aug 2014
This place was perfect for a multigeneration visit with kids loving the SHARC access and bicycles, grandparents loving the quiet and solitude, and all loving the evening in the private spa. It was so large and comfortable. Everything we needed and more. I will make sure the next visit is a much longer one.
Scott B. Jun 2014
The house exceeded our expectations. It was a quiet spot at the end of the street. The back porch was something we enjoyed every evening, after exploring the local area. We loved putting some steaks on the grill and relaxing on the porch listening to the wind in the trees, with a good beverage in hand.

The house was in very good condition, clean and comfortable. You will love sitting in the hot tub each evening after a long day. This is some place we will return.
Amy T. Feb 2014
Excellent accommodations! Family Fun in Sunriver. Love the updated village, love the SHARC, and love the bike paths. We went down with 3 generations for a 70th birthday celebration. We had a wonderful time and are planning on returning in the summer.
Colleen H. Jan 2014
This is a fantastic property...& pet friendly! Furnishings were nice, clean and modern. House next door is a little close, but was not a huge issue. Granite countertops are beautiful and kitchen was nicely appointed. Would definitely stay here again!
Don S. Oct 2013
First time in Sunriver. We will be back!!
Vicki P. Sep 2013
Easy to find for people that are not familiar with Sunriver. Very comfortable and roomy home. Love the second refrigerator in the garage!!! The third bedroom is perfect for mid-size children but a little tight for teenagers. (Both my teenagers were taller than the shower head in the upstairs hallway bathroom!) Very funny!
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We look forward to seeing you again.
Jeff A. Aug 2012
We enjoyed the stay for four nights. However, we were not able to enjoy the hot tub because the jets were very weak. Felt more like a hot bath. The home was roomy for four guests, and possibly more. Had two refrigerators (one in garage) so there is plenty of room for food supplies and drinks. With the exception of the hot tub, the home was in good condition. Checkout procedures are a bit of a pain.