USA California California Coast Fort Bragg Listing #1995

Grey Whale - Fort Bragg, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
69 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 3 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Sleeps 7 comfortably  4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Updated, Dog-Friendly Home with Private Hot Tub, Washer/Dryer, Spacious Grounds

Looking for a pleasing respite from the hustle and bustle? Look no further than this spacious, upgraded four-bedroom Mendocino Coast vacation rental. The home's spacious grounds offer myriad outdoor entertaining possibilities. You'll never want to leave!

Situated outside of Fort Bragg, just steps from the coast, this two-story home is within walking distance of the 400-acre Jughandle Reserve. Outdoor activities abound and you'll be hard-pressed to find a more relaxing spot!

Enter through the main door and spy a vaulted ceiling overlooking a cozy living area complete with a brick fireplace and floor-to-ceiling windows. Head to the country kitchen and whip up some delicious meals. Whitewood cupboards hide plenty of kitchen accouterments.

Enjoy a fun afternoon playing croquet or badminton on the lawn, or fire up the gas grill and enjoy a cookout. Ping-Pong enthusiasts will love the table in the garage. Want some delicious apples? Pick a ripe piece of fruit from one of the numerous apple trees nearby. Dogs are welcome, so make sure to bring him along! (An additional nightly fee applies)

Downtown Fort Bragg is close by and offers myriad activities throughout the year. Glass Beach at MacKerricher State Park delights crowds, young and old. The Skunk Train transports guests 40 miles up the coast through redwoods. The Guest House Museum enthralls visitors and the C.V. Starr Aquatic Center boasts an eight-lane pool and water slides.

Whatever your pleasure, this gorgeous Northern California coast vacation rental will surely delight the entire party, whether friends or family!

County permit number: 127847

County tax number: 1752
County tax number: 10450

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Comcast


Cable : Comcast

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player


On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Ping-pong table


Gas grill : Private



Beach chairs


69 reviews

Devyn R. Aug 2021
We had a wonderful stay! Thank you for sharing your place with us! The kitchen has fantastic equipment and the beds were comfortable. There are great dining, living room, family room and outdoor sitting areas. Unfortunately the kitchen floor is falling apart and needs work. The garage has a great setup with laundry facilities and games BUT IT is also really moldy…toxic to breathe!
Dorn H. May 2021
The whole experience at the Gray Whale was great. The house itself has some wear and tear, but nothing that interrupts the enjoyment during the stay. We experienced wild turkeys, squirrels, ferrets, deer and several birds during the enjoyment of the front yard and neighborhood.
Sue P. May 2021
This house was a great size for two couples. There was a small fenced in area for a dog but the fence was in poor repair and there were multiple ways a dog could escape the fenced area. The house was clean and the kitchen was extremely well-stocked with dishes, pans, and utensils. The grill looked new and worked well. Location was a nice rural location, convenient for Mendocino and especially for Ft. Bragg.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Sue, and apologize for any confusion with the fence. This home does not have an advertised enclosed yard area for dogs as this is not available. Thank you!
Elizabeth B. Apr 2021
Stayed here with my family of 4 (10yo, 7yo). I was initially worried after reading some of the reviews but was very happy that I did not find anything negatively affecting our stay. The beds were all fine, the hot tub was unlocked and worked great, and the kitchen floor damage was much over-reported. If it were my house that i was responsible for, I would worry, but for the week it was barely noticeable. The location was great and we explored up and down the coast of Fort Bragg to Mendocino. Lot of room to spread out and the wifi was reliable (this is important to us). All in all, it was the perfect place for us to relax and enjoy the week.
Heidi M. Jan 2021
Amazing location - minutes away from the hearts of Ft. Bragg and Mendocino, close to so many neat beaches. We walked across the street one night to stand along the bluffs for a gorgeous sunset peeking through the oceanic fog. The house has a great lawn for yard games, on the end of a quiet street. We love the Gray Whale!
Rick M. Aug 2020
House is always perfect manager is very responsive and takes very good care of clients. Plan on visiting again next year.
Hui-Ping Y. Aug 2020
The house was laid out well for a family with young children with a pretty open plan on the downstairs level and lots of outdoor play space to explore. Well equipped kitchen with everything you need to cook, bake, and serve. We were just a family of 4, but could see this house working for several families. One of the bedrooms is only accessible by going outside. Not sure why it was locked for our stay, but we didn't need it so it didn't matter. I didn't realize this on the listing so just something to note. The listing says that the house only has cable TV, but it actually also has an Amazon box so we were able to log in to our own subscription services which was great. Some reviews stated that the house is a little dated, but we thought it was charming. It's not modern and perfect, but it's a house we can see a lot of families having a lot of great memories and is well loved and quirky. We definitely recommend.
Cathy N. Aug 2020
Good location with easy access to area beaches, Fort Bragg and Mendocino! Comfortable home for relaxing with nice, well stocked kitchen. Air hockey and other games were a hit with the kids. Enjoyed our week. Thank you!
Brianna C. Mar 2020
We really enjoyed our little stay at this home. The place was clean and perfect for our family with little kids. The hot tub was a hit. This home was immaculate but needs a little TLC, as the floor in the kitchen slopes and some mildew (from the natural atmosphere) brings mildew. All minor things that did not affect our stay. We really loved it, it just needs some updating.
Manager response:
Hi, Brianna! Thank you for telling us about your stay here. There is a slight bow to the floor after handling some water damage; we will continue to keep an eye on the situation. We hope to see you again!
Rick M. Aug 2019
Secluded plenty of room great neighbors been here 4 years and never a complaint. Look forward to future years.
Robert C. Aug 2019
Alyssa R. Jul 2019
This house was perfect for our family weekend get away! Lots of fun things to do for both kids and adults. Super clean and had a cabin like feel. This made for a relaxing yet fun weekend.
Kelly S M. Jul 2019
It was great! My kids, the grandkids, great family time!
Jacob L. Jun 2019
Such a perfect stay for our family of 6! It was so close to the downtown action and beaches. Close by trail that was lived by the whole family! Thanks again and we can’t wait to visit again!
Joe B. Mar 2019
Enjoyed the nature and quietness.
Nancy T. Mar 2019
The house had a well stocked kitchen and the bedrooms were all nice. TVs everywhere and good cable WiFi. I'd recommend this rental. Rental agency was responsive when we had a question.
Yolande J. Oct 2018
Grey Whale is the most amazing self catering accommodation I have ever used. Everything you could ever need day to day is there and there is an abundance of space. The owners have catered for every need.. The beds are super comfy...televisions in every room.....fully stocked tub that provide great relaxation...a great games room....all in a wonderful setting. I will be telling everyone about Grey Whale. Thanks for a fabulous 4 days!!!!
Rick M. Aug 2018
Russ N. Jul 2018
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Grey Whale. Clean, comfortable, lots of bedrooms, hot tub, close to the ocean and the numerous state parks in the Fort Bragg area.
Claudia F. Feb 2018
Our family had a wonderful stay at The Grey Whale. My children and grandchildren loved it.
Alicia H. Jan 2018
The house comfortably fit our 5 staff members and served our purposes for a staff retreat. There were however some issues trying to cook and keep the place warm. The toaster oven doesn't work, regular oven couldn't get hot enough, heating ducts badly need cleaning, wood stove needs dry wood to burn, and hot tub jets don't work. Also important to tell guests there is no cell service there.
Manager response:
We are sorry to read such a list of inconveniences during this guest's stay. The wood stove above the garage is no longer on the amenities list. There is a heater in the room for heat. A hot tub tech went to look at the tub and found all jets are working, just not with a lot of pressure. A new toaster oven is in the home and installed, and an appliance repairman looked at the stove found it works perfectly fine. Thanks!
Karen H. Jan 2018
This house is great for a lot of people or a large family.
It wasn't one of my favorite places to stay. The decor was kind of outdated....plastic plants, ugh...The beds were really hard and uncomfortable, and regulating the heat in the house was difficult.
Lori G. Nov 2017
11 family members gathered and a wonderful time for Thanksgiving. No need to bring any cooking equipment nor extra bedding! The ocean air has caused some rust issues inside, but no mold issues were found (a concern for a few of us with asthma). Otherwise clean and a beautiful place to stay. Hope we can get together here again.
Maridol B. Oct 2017
The house is not so pricey, it looks old but okay for just the weekend. Close to everything. Store restaurants scenic places neighbors are quiet.
Jeffrey A. Sep 2017
Shelley H. Jul 2017
The house is very comfortable and convenient location. The hot tub was nice and warm and clean. The kitchen is well stocked with all the cooking implements you could wish for. There is a charcoal grill, but no gas grill outside, but that was fine for us. The area is very beautiful.
Brad G. Jul 2017
We LOVED our stay at Grey Whale! Would come back in a heartbeat..
KELLI B. Jun 2017
Overall, the house was not in great shape, and the house was not what was advertised. The listing mentions three queen sized beds in the house and an extra loft for larger parties. The third queen is in the loft and we didn't have enough sleeping space for our group of 11.

The location was nice and the house was comfortable. We had a very nice vacation, but wouldn't choose this particular house in the future.
Chad S. May 2017
Is the perfect home for a vacation beach is close it had games for the kids a hot tub beautiful home
Cynthia B. Mar 2017
The house is spacious and well located. However, it appears that maintenance is not its top priority; for example, lights didn't work and the oven had problems (we found duct tape around electrical components of the oven). The master's suite needs cleaning and to be set up to be more inviting.

Koni N. Mar 2017
Close to everything without being in the middle.of all the hustle and bustle. Plenty of space for our party of 12 plus 3 dogs. Had a blast, will definitely be back.
Cathy R. Dec 2016
Ten of us gathered for the holidays to celebrate my parents 50th anniversary and Christmas. It was a magical place with room for everyone. The kitchen was fully stocked and allowed us to have amazing family meals. The house was perfectly arranged for people to do there own things without feeling like we were on top of each other. There is a great family room upstairs where we could all watch videos, a giant table in the kitchen to eat together, and a warm fireplace to sit around talking about the adventures of the day. Fort Bragg was a short drive away allowing for quick trips to the beach or a wonderful sea food meal at the harbor. This was a truly wonderful place to gather together.
Baxter V. Nov 2016
The house will accommodate more people then my wife and I. It is comfortably laid out with 3 bedrooms in the main house and another over the separate rec room. The kitchen has every item that would possibly be needed. The large plank dining table was great for a large group. Great place with lots of privacy!
Claudia F. Oct 2016
We enjoyed our family stay at the Gray Whale. It was perfect for our large group. We really enjoyed ourselves.
Jenna K. Sep 2016
If you're looking for a rental place thAt can sleep 10 ppl tops, and 2 are kids this is the place for you. But be aware it's not super clean. It's not dirty, but It needs a Deep cleaning of the house. Dust, spider webs, debris on stairs to studio, and a dusting of window shades. We also found several spiders in the house which made me wonder why they don't clean better and get rid of the spider neSts which are lining the inside of the cieling. It's not a bad house, just don't expect a pristine place. Also two of the "bunk bed" are made for small children, my friend slept in there and said the springs were in her back all night. So just be aware that they are saying 2 adults could sleep in those bunk beds, and I would say no way.
Gil P. Sep 2016
My family had a great weekend at the Grey Whale in Fort Bragg. The property is comfy and homey, and close to Fort Bragg, Mendocino and the neighboring beaches.
Jean B. Sep 2016
This house is a beautiful home away from home. It has a couple quirks, but it is FULLY furnished and has a completely equipped kitchen with just about any pot, pan, utensil, or tool you could want. There is a fire pit for cozy night time gatherings. And apple trees full of pickable treats. This is definately a home away from home.
Travis A. Jul 2016
The house was plenty large enough to sleep 8 without any feeling of crowding. There was even additional un-used pull out couches that could have fit a few more people if needed. As other reviews mention, some of the furniture could be updated or even re-upholstered and the carpet was old and dirty. The "basketball court" was a joke, consisting of a bumpy driveway and a hoop that was laying on the ground broken and unable to be utilized. The ping-pong table was also in poor condition. We didn't utilize the hot tub so I cannot comment on that.
Manager response:
The Property Manager has removed the basketball hoop from the property, there is a new couch in the home, new TVs will be there in the fall, and the carpets are scheduled to be cleaned at the end of July.
Edward Y. Jun 2016
Location and surrounding is great. Furnitures are a bit old.
Theresa L. May 2016
Our overall stay here was satisfactory for a large group, much better than having a string of hotel rooms.

But a few tips to future guests: although there were a number of towels around the house, if you have a big group and everyone wants one towel to shower, and one for the hot tub, might be a good idea to bring extras. Also, if you plan to use the futon, sofa couch or air mattresses and need the extra sheets and pillows, there are sheets and blankets around, but bring pillow cases. Lastly, if you are planning to use any of the advertised kitchen gadgets for meals, double check they are actually there before buying the food for the meal. Waffle iron could not be found.
Bo W. May 2016
Good place to go
Michelle E. May 2016
Bring your own towels and pillows, the house met our expectations, it was large but dated, worked for a large family and the kids enjoyed the loft and hot tub. Plenty of sleeping space and we had fun playing ping pong. Location is pretty good, just don't expect the Hyatt. We had an open mind and it was fine for a short stay...they do need to at least upgrade the towels and bedding.
Paul F. Apr 2016
Wonderful, quite, and spacious location but the building is showing it's age. Clearly the owners are getting a few more dollars out of the building before it needs to be completely renovated but with this location it's no wonder they are able to do this. The house is reasonably clean but the couches, beds and other furniture are all long overdue to be replaced. Some of our guests even complained of potential bed bugs. yuck. Being so close to beaches, trails and wonderful towns made the tiredness of the home tolerable.
Manager response:
We really appreciate your feedback. We take the condition of our homes seriously and are always looking for opportunities to make them more comfortable for our guests. We shared your comments with our property manager and they will especially inspect for any pests in the home. Thank you again for choosing Vacasa.
Becky V. Apr 2016
We had such a great time stayling at Grey Whale. The home is perfect for larger groups (we had 9). I loved being able to shop at the local market and prepare great meals at the end of each fun filled day. Don't miss out on Sea Glass Beach and take a ride on the Skunk Train. If there wasn't so much world to see, I would love to go back.
Oriana W. Mar 2016
Such an awesome house for a family or a group get away. Lots of space inside and out. Great location in quiet area kids could play outside without concerns.
Jackie H. Mar 2016
House is showing wear. It appears the minimum is being done to maintain the property. Furniture worn - sofa cushions breaking down and it felt unclean, and chairs in dining room breaking or broken. Ping pong table sounded promising, but it was in a cold dirty garage. Hot tub never heated to suggested temp of 101, hit 95 then shut off. My family and friends have rented many vacation homes. This one doesn't come close to the high quality we've come to expect.

Positives: neighborhood is quiet, located south of Firt Bragg and north of Mendo, so location was perfect. Appliances worked well. Layout worked well for two couples. Pet friendly.
Cheryl F. Jan 2016
Overall everyone had fun, with lots of space to run. The neighbors were very pleasant and helpful as well. The location was close enough to town to easily get anything we needed but tucked away for privacy.
Lucy A. Jan 2016
We had a great time with our group of 12 plus a dog. Plenty of space, great yard, perfect location!
Peter P. Dec 2015
We like to get the whole family together at Christmas. There were 7 adults and 5 grandchildren (ages 15-20). We had fun playing cards around the large dining table. Some of our party went rock fishing and caught a few fish. Most of us drove down to the Mendocino Headlands to watch the grey whale migration southward to Mexico. The kids enjoyed the new Star Wars film in Ft. Bragg. The well stocked kitchen and large refrigerator were very well appreciated as we mostly ate in. The WiFi was very helpful for texting as our cell phones had poor service.. Gray Whale is a good choice if one does not need an ocean view but wants to be close to the Ocean. We think that the property lends itself to having 8 persons as 12 was a stretch for our group.
Lene V. Dec 2015
The house is clean, the beds are comfy, if some guests don't mind the air beds, it can sleep 12. The hot tub was a perk but bring extra towels.
Tian W. Oct 2015
This house could be a very nice vacation spot. We had high expectation before we came. Maybe a little bit too high. At the end we still enjoy the stay just things here and there could be better. I can understand that as a rental property, try to keep using anything as long as they are not have to be replaced. We are very close to the nature. Ants and spider webs can be seen in many places as well as mob of deer outside of the house couple time. At night, it's very cool in the area and turn out we couldn't make the heater to work. We can turn on the fans, can set the targeted temp. can hear the thermostat click, but just no warm air coming out. Many different games are provided. Just the willing to play with them was quickly suppressed by the dusty garage. One more thing, there is no cell phone signal in the area, but the wifi in the house is pretty good. You can setup to use wifi for call.

On the plus side, there are four rooms plus sofa bed in the living room. In the upstairs open loft, only chairs there, no beds. But maybe you can use the provided air bed. So can really sleep many people if needed. The kitchen is fully equipped and you can get things from the ocean, seafood market and Safeway to enjoy.

Overall, I think the price we got was reasonable for the condition of the house. Could worth more if we have a bigger party. Or if the house could be fresh up a little and use more maintenance then we will like it much better.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We apologize that the heater was not working during your stay and that the home was not as clean as it should have been. We will have an HVAC provider service the heater as soon as possible, and housekeeping will work on the finer details of cleaning. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the spaciousness provided by the home for larger groups.
Victoria S. Aug 2015
This property suited our needs very well for our short stay. The location was a plus with good beaches and grocery stores just a short drive away.
Kathy G. Jun 2015
We want to come back next year if I can come up with money
Catherine W. Jun 2015
We were informed that the house had a plumbing leak repaired just prior to our visit. The whole in the bathroom wall wasn't a surprise, the lack of hot water was. Once we figured out the breaker was off for the water heater everything was fine.
This house is good for a crowd and multiple families. The kids enjoyed the ping pong table in the garage, and the yard is nice and big. We didn't get a chance to use the fire pit, but the hot tub was nice and warm. The kitchen is nicely stocked with just about every utensil you could ever need. We were decorating 150 cupcakes for a wedding and the HUGE kitchen table came in very handy. This was our second stay in the house and we would recommend without hesitation.
Manager response:
Thanks so much for your review. We regret that the breaker had to be reset, but we're happy to hear that the house was perfect for your needs. The well-stocked kitchen makes this home ideal for those who enjoy preparing that special meal, and the amenities are terrific for family time. Thanks for choosing Vacasa, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!