USA California The Central California Coast Felton Listing #1212

Getaway Cabin - Felton, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
111 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom Sleeps 4 comfortably  4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Secluded Mountain Cabin with Deck, Firepit, Jungle Gym - Dogs OK

Leave the hustle and bustle of the Bay Area behind and plan a stay at this peaceful and pet-friendly Felton vacation rental.

Tucked away in the Santa Cruz mountains just to the west of Highway 17, this cozy cabin in the woods offers a serene retreat with outdoor amenities such as a jungle gym for the kids, gas and charcoal barbecues, a smoker, and a fire pit.

The comfortable living room has space for everyone and will stay nice and cozy no matter the weather. There's a Lopi wood-burning stove, a flatscreen TV, DVD player, and a vast DVD library. Kids will have room to play and spread out boardgames, while the adults socialize. And if you need to check your email or do any online research, there's WiFi available (although cell phone service can be spotty).

The outdoor deck is also a wonderful spot to sit back and relax with a mug of tea or a glass of wine in the afternoon. On a huge lot, this cabin has a great deal of outdoor living space. Have a cookout (there's a gas and charcoal grill), smoke some chicken, sit around the fire pit after dinner and make s'mores - the outdoor entertaining options are endless. There's even a hammock for a lazy afternoon nap.

Of course, the full kitchen inside has everything you'll need in case the weather is not cooperating for a barbecue. There's a mixer, refrigerator, stovetop/oven, coffeemaker, a coffee grinder - you'll even find a collection of cookbooks for meal inspiration. The dining room table is surrounded by large picture windows, for meals with a view. You'll need to wash dishes by hand, but you can always let those soak while you go roast some marshmallows outside.

This cabin's unique layout includes a detached upstairs and downstairs. On the main level, there is a kitchen, living room, and one bedroom with a full-size bed, a dresser, a closet, and a small sitting area. The lower level is accessed by exiting the main level and walking down the exterior staircase. Here you will find a second bedroom that has a twin-over-twin bunk bed (ideal for kids) with a sofabed and a full bathroom. Up to six guests will be able to sleep quite comfortably here, including up to two dogs.

Other amenities include a washer and dryer, so there's no need to overpack or try to keep your clothes clean while out exploring. Four miles from this Central Coast vacation rental is the popular Trout Farm Inn. Here, you can spend the day at a community pool, enjoy a leisurely weekend brunch, daily lunch and dinner, and fun events such as karaoke nights and live music (a small fee does apply to use the pool).

From this Santa Cruz mountain location, you're only about 30 minutes from the beach. Spend the day on the boardwalk or on the sand, have a special meal at one of the area eateries, then return to your quiet and peaceful cabin. In the immediate area, you'll find plenty of family-friendly activities at Quail Hollow Ranch County Park and seasonal water sports at Loch Lomond Recreation Area. Golfers can bring their clubs for a game at Pasetiempo Golf Course, a scenic 10-mile drive south.

The surrounding mountains are also home to a number of wineries - Hallcrest Vineyards in Felton, Beauregard Vineyards Tasting Room, Zayante Vineyards, and David Bruce Winery, just to name a few. While out tasting, you can pick up a bottle to have for dinner that night. With all the activities within a 30-minute drive away, you may be surprised to find that your favorite pastime is just lounging in the hammock or relaxing at the deck back at your cabin.

To truly get away and enjoy the great outdoors in the Santa Cruz mountains, this Central California Coast vacation rental is an ideal retreat!

*Please note the road to this home can be long, twisty, narrow and sometimes change into a one-lane mountain road with blind curves and two-way traffic.

County permit number: 131218

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Space heater

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Mountain view


Internet : Comcast


Cable : Comcast

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private



Beach chairs



111 reviews

Emily R. Apr 2022
Loved this little cottage in the woods! Was AMAZING to wake up among the redwoods and watch a family if deer as I drank my coffee. The layout is tough if you have kids like me though since there’s no indoor staircase connecting upstairs (master bedroom/kitchen/dining room/living room) with the downstairs (kids bedroom/bathroom). We figured it out with my youngest sleeping upstairs with me, but for families with young kids, just know going in that this may not be the spot for you. That being said, my kids LOVED the play structure, hammock and bonfire time. So if you can figure out the sleeping arrangements, it’s a phenomenal find.
Cathy S. Sep 2021
The description of the house and the drive up was accurate. We were able to find tye house with no problem. We lost electricity on days one and three. This was due to PGE and not an issue with the house. A generator would have been nice. We ended up throwing food out and eating out which we did not budget for. The cabin was not clean. We spent half a day cleaning the counters and cabinets. We also dusted and organized the DVDs which were scattered in several places. We refused to let this bother us so we took in the sites and enjoyed our getaway.
Manager response:
Hi, Cathy! We are sorry to read that cleanliness was not up to par for your vacation. We will speak with housekeeping and get it addressed. Thanks!
Jennifer D. Jul 2021
Loved the setting. The view first thing in the morning, the animal sightings, and the stars at night were terrific. So many places to sit and enjoy the outdoors. My daughter LOVED the playground area. Kitchen was well-equipped, bbq was great, tv room had tons of great DVD’s, washer and dryer were so convenient.
The road was a nail biter at times, but directions were good. A brand new air mattress was provided since the downstairs couch bed was malfunctioning, and it was actually a win because our kids could sleep in the living room upstairs.
Amanda M. Jun 2021
This is our second visit to this cabin, so we knew what to expect with regards to the directions. We've been to a couple Felton, CA cabins provided by Vacasa...still looking for our perfect location, but this one is our fav at the moment. We love the location, it's beautiful and quiet. We saw young deer every day of our stay, so I think this might be on a game trail. It was so awesome to be so close to them, there were times we probably could have reached out and touched them. They have a playground, bbq, firepit, and everything you need for an extended stay. It is also really close to Loch Lomond Recreation Area so you can rent a peddle boat, do a little fishing, or just take in the beautiful view. No swimming, so the lake is really quiet and peaceful, which we loved. It's also only 30 minutes from the Boardwalk and beach. The only downsides were the separated bathroom area (but we were already aware so no biggie, my kids just slept in the living room, since the couches are so big), the bathroom also had a musty smell, not horrible, but like some old wet towels were left in there for several days and it wasn't thoroughly aired out, maybe some air freshener in there might help, it's also very hot and there is no air conditioner, there is a big fan in the living room, but the rotate feature on it was broken, so not all of us could enjoy the breeze, also we had a little mouse friend, or 2 that made their way into the kitchen, so we had to be sure to put away all food, even non refrigerated, into the fridge, just to be sure they didn't get into the chips or cookies. Might want to set some traps before it turns into a real problem.
Adam C. Jun 2021
We had a great time at the Vacasa cabin in Felton. It was very peaceful and you can’t go wrong in the middle of a redwood grove overlooking the hills. Cabin was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed including a rarity in vacation rentals: good knives! Easy access to Henry Cowell, Santa Cruz and surrounding areas. Perfect!
Gina S. Apr 2021
This is in a beautiful setting! There was great outdoor space and wifi was good. We appreciated the warning that it was a drive to get supplies so we brought everything ahead of time!
Isabel E. Apr 2021
Trees around are beautiful. Quiet and peaceful area. But we encounter some issues:
* There were mice running in the kitchen
* Musty smell.
* Only 1 bathroom downstairs. You need to go outside of the house to use the bathroom

Manager response:
Hi, Isabel! Thank you for telling us about your stay, though we are sorry to see it did not meet your expectations. The musty smell has been figured out, and mice traps have been set. We hope to better impress you next time!
Mary K. Aug 2020
Our family had a great time staying at the Getaway Cabin for a long weekend. Our young children (2yo and 5yo) had an absolute blast playing on the play structure and sleeping in the bunk beds. It was a nice home base to explore the area, albeit a 15 min drive just to get into Felton. We played at the beach, visited Roaring Camp Railroad, hiked Henry Cowell State Park, and toured the Mystery Spot. Note that the bed in the upstairs bedroom is a double bed and feels quite small for a couple if you're used to larger beds. The house could use a little upkeep - new carpets and new screen doors might be nice. We also couldn't find any laundry detergent and had to ask neighbors to borrow. But, overall it was a cozy, quiet place to stay in the woods and we had a blast!
Aurora P. Jul 2020
We loved staying at this cabin. We had a great time and I loved that it was kid friendly. The playground was great and the outside toys. The only thing was one of the alarms would be beeping every couple of minutes. We would definitely stay again.
Jennifer B. Jul 2020
What I love about this place is it is in the middle of woods and yet 15 minutes away from town and beaches. It is so calm and peaceful. We had so much fun while having dinner, bonfire, and great conversation. I highly recommend for family vacation.
susanne g. Jun 2020
This cabin was PERFECT for my family of 4 and our 2 dogs. Nestled high in the woods, with gorgeous redwood trees and hiking trails in the backyard, we had the feel of camping with all of the luxuries of a home! The home was well stocked with everything we needed. It is the perfect location. We had day trips to Big Basin hiking and Santa Cruz beach. (Our only complaints are that the plumbing is very sensitive...the toilet kept clogging. Also, the carpet needs to be would be such a nice upgrade!). We will definitely be back. My 7 and 9 year old kids and 2 labs were in heaven! Thank you Vacasa!
Crystal T. Mar 2020
Being that this was my very first experience with Airbnb I didn’t know what to expect. I’m happy to say that I absolutely loved that this was kid and pet friendly setting. My two little ones enjoyed the playground!. When it came down to having dinner I was so pleased to see that this home provided as much supplies as possible to insure the visitors had what was needed to make any type of meal. Including spices and recipe samples. My family also enjoyed the excellent source of WiFi. My kids were able to enjoy the outdoors along with being indoors they were able to watch what they wanted through Netflix and Hulu that were provided however the DVD player would not work but because the WiFi was at a great speed they were able to be entertained! That was a major plus! Greatly appreciated. However somethings my family and I had trouble with were the directions. In my opinion they weren’t really specific especially when driving in the dark. Everything looks the same so it became so difficult to try and find our way to the cabin. Also the fact the there was only one bathroom and it was located downstairs was a major issue for us. Getting up the middle of the night to walk outside in the cold and the dark to use the restroom was a major inconvenience. The down stairs room is where my in-laws stayed they weren’t able to sleep on the pull out bed because it had been broken along with the air up mattress that was provided . The television had “cable” but none of the channels worked, a four digit code was needed in order to watch anything basic. There was no DVD player or movies in the downstairs room so had it not been for my fire tv that I had brought they wouldn't have been able to enjoy their stay. I would suggest testing out any important furniture before visitors check it. Thankfully we had brought our own air-up bed with us too, We also weren’t sure if the tap water was safe to drink there wasn’t sign to state otherwise so we boiled water and cooled it down to not risk getting sick. Also there was plenty of firewood to start some camp fires but nothing to chop some firewood with. It would’ve been great if the outdoor furniture was clean so that we could’ve gone to eaten outside and enjoy the beautiful day but everything was filled with spiderwebs and largely spiders as if it hadn’t been cleaned in years. It would’ve been nice to have a sanitary outdoor station for BBQ’s. Overall we enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming again! Hope that this review helps.
Manager response:
Hi, Crystal! Thank you for telling us about your stay. This home is unique, and we do our best to lay everything out in the listing so our guests don't face any surprises. We offer explicit driving directions and other information to our guests via email. We hope to see you again!
TIMOTHY W. Feb 2020
Everything was perfect with my stay. Driving up to the property is a blast and the location is perfect. On top of the mountain with almost complete privacy. Serene, quite, perfect place to unwind. Also, great internet service and layout of the place. Having the restroom downstairs is absolutely not an issue at all considering the downstairs is a great little hang out spot by itself. Also VACASA was great with their service. I accidentally locked my keys in the house and texted. They gave me the code to another box on the property and within 2 mins I was back in the place! Overall great experience and will be recommending this and hopefully staying again in the future.
Kevin M. Jul 2019
It was peaceful and clean
Ruby R. Apr 2019
There was plenty of space for the kid's to play. Lot's of board games. It was nice and clean. Quiet neighborhood and nice view. My family and I had a great time we we'll definitely book again.
Alicia S. Apr 2019
We loved the intensely quiet neighborhood with close proximity to Felton restaurants and great natural foods grocery. Access to Santa Cruz, Henry Cowell State Park, and Big Basin State Park was ideal. Pot bellied gas stove created instant warmth. Nice kitchen and outdoor gas grill. Plenty of outdoor space to play with dogs and/or kids. Simple, super clean amenities. Lots of games. Very uncomfortable queen mattress. Deeply comfortable sofa and oversized chair/ottoman. TV appeared to have a ton of channels, but we were too content enjoying the space to bother to turn it on.
Brianne D. Aug 2018
This place would have been great had they emptied the septic tank. The whole place smelled like an outhouse. There’s no A/C so it’s very hot inside but we couldn’t open the windows because of the volatile smell. The hot water wasn’t working the first night and most of the second day. Mary from Vacasa came to turn the water heater on and was kind enough to offer a partial refund. I’d rent from Vacasa because of how the situation was handled but don’t stay here. It stinks.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was upset by their stay. The septic tank has been emptied, the water system has been fixed, there are multiple fans throughout the home, and we did refund this guest. We hope to see them again and have another chance to impress!
Gary P. Aug 2018
Loved the location, the comfort of the accommodations, and the serene setting (the hammock is awesome!). But the propane tank on the grill was empty, and the number provided to seek help was never answered--just on eternal hold elevator music for 15 minutes on two consecutive calls. Access to the one bathroom through an external staircase was difficult in the middle of the night for youngsters. The storage area to the downstairs having an external padlocked door with access to an internal door that was locked but not securable from the inside was somewhat troublesome--the possibility of someone having access to the interior of the downstairs quarters unbeknownst to the inhabitants was unsettling.
Manager response:
The propane tank has been refilled, and we do apologize it was not ready for our guests. As for the house structure, there is a bedroom downstairs attached by an internal hallway to the bathroom with bunk beds that could be a great sleeping option for kids. The padlocked storage area is locked from the outside and contains tools, old furniture, owner property and septic chemicals and is kept locked to keep kids safely away from these. The only people gaining access would be the owner and property manager who respect our guests’ privacy and would never intrude without advance notice and permission from the guests. We hope this alleviates any concerns. Thank you!
Kerena A O. Aug 2018
I liked how much space there was, and that we could bring our dog/ It's really a lovely area and nearby fun things for the family like santa cruz boardwalk, the red woods, train rides, ben lommand lake, etc.
Deborah S. May 2018
We really enjoyed this place. Clean and quaint, nature walks right out the door. Just right for what we wanted. We arrived late Friday night and forgot the lockbox code😳 we called and were inside within minutes👏😀
Gabrielle V. Apr 2018
My family and I had a wonderful stay at the cabin.
There was plenty of space and we all felt very comfortable. I would definitely book again! :)
Mike W. Mar 2018
Awesome trip.. loved the geaway cabin
Rodney R. Jan 2018
Wonderful, peaceful, relaxing get-away.
Karl B. Nov 2017
This place is way off the beaten path and is very comfortable for what it is. Would recommend and stay again.
Kevin H. Nov 2017
This cabin is so sweet and tucked away in the mountains. I am a country girl so I was very comfortable in the surroundings. The downstairs bathroom didn't bother us one bit and we utilized all the rooms. The children didn't sleep downstairs due to their age but would have if I felt they would have been safe alone.
The beds are horribly uncomfortable and that is the only downfall to this home. I would not return for this reason alone. Otherwise we absolutely LOVE this home. Thank you.
Monika G. Oct 2017
Great location, fairly easy to get to, cozy place to stay. Not as big as pictures but a good size. Would come back. Just a little creepy at night.
Allan P. Oct 2017
If you want a cabin with a lot of woodsy charm and character, you will get that in spades with the Getaway cabin in the Santa Cruz mountains. It looks rustic but has most of the modern conveniences of home including fairly fast WIFI and a widescreen television. The location is spectacular and very remote. You have to pay attention getting there but it's a small price for the peaceful and beautiful surroundings and cozy cabin. We will return, no doubt.
Patrick E. Oct 2017
Quiet and pleasant little place. A bit of a challenge to find on winding roads. Kitchen well furnished.
Katelynn J. Sep 2017
Beautiful home and very peaceful. However , very hard to find, especially at night . It is nestled way up in the mountain!! Other than that I really enjoyed my stay . Very good customer service as well.
Catherine S. Sep 2017
I want to buy this house...
Inna P. Aug 2017
Pros: Cute property with lots of amenities and plenty of privacy. Well kept and cared for, although a bit old and creaky. I'm a hotel snob typically and even I liked it here. :) fire pit was great for making smores and doing a bit of "glamping".

Cons: Was not thrilled about the leaky, smelly septic tank and maintenance man that arrived at 6-7pm on Sunday in the middle of our dinner to fix some broken screens: please do maintenance work on your own time and not when guests have paid to be there.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize for the unannounced maintenance work. This happened due to a miscommunication. We would not typically send someone out to do maintenance work during a guest visit unless the guest requested it. The septic holding tank has been repaired so it is now running perfectly. Thanks!
Dimitri S. Aug 2017
Don't even think about renting this place, if you plan on driving at night. The roads leading up to the cabin have hairpin turns, non-existent or confusing signage, and several sections where the asphalt is deteriorating and sliding down the hills. It's dangerous. Even in the daytime, we got lost 6 times in 2 days, even with Vacasa's written instructions and our GPS turned on.

The property itself is alright, however, its fallen into disrepair:
Downstairs door doesn't lock; anyone can enter the premises just by pushing open the door.
Torn window screens.
Both the upstairs and downstairs screen doors are broken.
Downstairs mini-fridge makes a loud clanging sound, when the compressing kicks on, waking anyone in the room.
Fire extinguishers have expired certificates.

The cleanliness is also substandard. We found dirty underwear in the sofa bed! (The maids didn't change the dirty sheets from the previous occupants. Inexcusable.)

Also, the fact that the downstairs and upstairs aren't connected is insane. We didn't think it would be that a big deal, but in hindsight we should have passed on this location; it really sucks, in the middle of the night, having to go outside by yourself, and go to the downstairs bathroom.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see this guest did not better enjoy this cabin experience. We feel that being in a remote area with the unique layout can be half the fun! The property manager has re-screened and realigned the sliding screen doors, the fire extinguishers have been serviced, and a handyman is scheduled to inspect the fridge. We sincerely apologize for the housekeeping oversight with the sofa bed. The property manager has followed-up with housekeeping so we can ensure it does not happen again. Thank you!
George G. Aug 2017
If your goal is to get away from it all and just relax at the house, this is a good place to stay. If you want to have easy access to the Monterrey Bay area, it is not the best choice. The nearest grocery store is 20 minutes away in Felton and Santa Cruz is at least 30 minutes away so be sure you pack everything you need. It is not ideal for families with young children because the upstairs and downstairs spaces are only connected through a staircase that is outside the house. There is only one bathroom and it is downstairs. So, the people who sleep upstairs have to go outside and down the stairs to get to the bathroom. Remember to take the key because if the bathroom door is locked, you won't be able to get in. The nearest established hiking trails are several miles away. With that said, the house would be perfect for a group of adults who want to get away, cook together, watch movies, and just relax.
Alyson J. Jul 2017
We stayed at the cabin for our family vacation, spending most of our days in Santa Cruz. We chose to stay here to give our family a camping type of location, without sacrificing the convenience of a bathroom, beds, privacy, kitchen, etc. We are a family of six, from age 8 down to 5 months, so we needed the extra amenities with an opportunity to explore nature and spend quality time together. We would have liked more time to explore, but the long drive to and from our daily outings brought us back to the cabin too late to really enjoy the outdoor space. The cabin's layout was a little challenging with our toddler, but mostly because she's an escape artist and runner. We really enjoyed the beautiful setting, peaceful environment, and quality family time we would not have had by staying in a hotel or condo in Santa Cruz. Over all, we were happy with our choice and really enjoyed our trip! Oh, and don't forget to sign the guest book! It was really neat looking through the different guests over the many years--over 60 years of guests!
Peter B. Jul 2017
Cabin is in very quiet lovely location, in the forest at end of the road. It accommodate kids play ground, great BBQ, patio, fireplace... featured kitchen, many DVDs, Roku and TV channels to watch. Note, that you need to use outdoor stairs to get to the only downstairs bathroom.
Nidhi S. Jun 2017
I would come here just for the location. Our two boys aged 14 and 8 had a blast. The play area and the outdoor seating made it spectacular. Crisp fresh mountain air and the peaceful quiet was a welcome change from the mundane city life. Boys enjoyed the hammock and the trails. It was Pitch dark at night and the stars gazing was great.
The home is very well stocked. The kitchen was very convenient. Even though we walked in with the microwave being broken, it did not matter to us as we found a way to cook than to reheat in the microwave. The dining area was our go to place where we played Monopoly for hours. A very thoughtful place, we were delighted to see the collection of movies they had. Over 200 or more. They have so many Board games. I would suggest bringing some with you as well. The Roku worked great. We had issues with WIFI 2nd day but had so much to do that not connecting to wifi did not make a difference, it was a welcome happening....NO WIFI YAY....we didn't even bother to call and magically it connected again. When you walk in at first the Musky smell is over bearing but trust me you get used to it. Also, bring a lot of Mosquito Repellents and Fly Swatter, they will come in handy.

The downstairs room was amazing. It's very private. The 1 bath was very difficult in the night. Since we had kids sleep with us upstairs, even though they wanted their own privacy, it was difficult for us to leave our kids during the night. To use the Bathroom you have to go downstairs and it was very inconvenient for us. For some, it may be a welcome privacy so don't get put off. The location is well worth that small inconvenience. It worked like an adventure for us when my little one had to go at 2 in the night. Just the who experience was adventurous. When you step out, it's pitch dark and you can hear rustling in the bushes as soon as you open that door. Just Racoons. They did provide lanterns, so to the boys, it was an exhilarating

Overall....a good experience.
Douglas J B. Jun 2017
The property was the ideal getaway my wife and I were looking for. It is very remote and private, yet a very short drive from Santa Cruz and surrounding area. The quirk of this cabin, besides the bed not being very comfortable, is that the bathroom is outside and down the stairs. For a couple in our mid-fifties, this proved to be more than a little inconvenient, it was an an annoyance. For these reasons, we would not stay at this property again.
Josephine E. Jun 2017
Had a wonderful weekend getaway with the family. The kids loved it. Would do it again by all means.
Russell B. May 2017
Scott D. May 2017
There is so much to do. Great hikes, playgrounds, and close to the beach. Great weekend get away.
Theresa R. May 2017
Quite beautiful area ,drive slow! Just relax
Carlos F. Apr 2017
We loved our stay there. Beautiful place and surroundings. Our kids had a lot of fun and want to go back soon. Definitely arrive to the cabin during the daylight as it is easy to get lost and the road is very narrow in some places. Lovely place. We will definitely go back!
Leah F. Apr 2017
Beautiful remote cabin. Easy to find from the directions. There was a cool little nature walk beside the cabin which was good for the dogs. Very quiet and peaceful.
Beth B. Mar 2017
Very remote quite and gorgeous.. Great for kids as well..
Claire S. Mar 2017
This was the 4th time we have stayed at this location, and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Beautiful property nestled in the redwoods yet close enough to the city for local attractions.
Neelam M. Jan 2017
My Cabin Getaway was a staycation for me to recharge and rejuvenate. And I was fortunate to have found this house. This is a quiet, meditative, peaceful location. The neighbors are quiet and very kind. I was amazed at all the amenities the cabin provided, kitchen supplies, shampoos, cleaning supplies, blow dryer..... I stayed the entire week without having to leave the cabin. I brought all my food & spices with me. It was a home away from home!

Suggestion: If you come during the winter, check road closure conditions. Power outages are likely. Lamps were provided at the house.

Joseph B. Jan 2017
This is a very well maintained cabin. It's in a remote area where it is always quiet. Being at the end of the road we could let our dog out without a leash and not worry about cars. Nice views from all the windows. Cozy gas stove/fireplace in the living room.
Margaret M. Nov 2016
We were told this place was remote but we come from central Wisconsin and remote isn't a problem. This was a problem! We were not told to "come in during daylight" until the last email and that was the day of arrival. This should be well noted in the advertising of this place. It would have been a deal breaker for us because of the day trips we wanted to make. We ended up not only coming in around 5pm, dark at this time of year, but in the rain. SCARY, to say the least. The turns are marked ok but some are hairpins and felt like we were going into someone's driveway. Our son has a camper van, 20', and those turns were almost impossible. Once there he backed in and that was a mistake also. Much easier to drive in and then back up and straight down.
The house itself is fine, well equipped for cooking meals. WiFi connection was great and so was TV. Too bad the Packers sucked lol!
This is a house that is definitely meant to "STAY" in. It is not for day travelers, nor anyone who may want to do out for dinner.
Qian S. Nov 2016
Love the environment. The house is cute and cozy. Play structure is a plus for family with young children. It was like taking a bath in the forest, love the moist and fresh air.
Jennifer T. Oct 2016
This cabin is great. It is super clean, has all the things you would need, and is in a great location. It is remote enough to feel like you are getting away, but it's an easy drive to the beach or to little towns, hiking, and a lake nearby. The drive was easy, a bit windy, but no problem at all.
The cabin has a lot of space for kids to run around outside and there is a deck, a nice fire pit/grilling area, and a hammock behind the cabin. There are neighbors nearby, but it is such a quiet area that it is very relaxing.
Jason L. Oct 2016
Pictures do not describe how nice this area and cabin really are!
Supreet O. Oct 2016
Wonderful property. Loved how well it was maintained.
Mark W. Jun 2016
This was a very nice place to stay, it does take you a while to get to the cabin,but is nice once you get there. If the bathroom were upstairs, or inside or the shower fixed, just one of those things, it would be much nicer.
Christy & Jay V. Jun 2016
great stay!
Mi H. May 2016
I would like to recommend people who want to escape from busy and noisy life. This place is really quiet and private place. You can relax here without thinking your daily duties and worrisome. However, there is no restroom on the 2nd floor, so please do not drink liquid too much at bedtime. Otherwise, you have to keep going to downstairs to use restroom. The stairs are outside so you need key to open 1st floor door. You feel sorry to wake up your family members who are sleeping on downstairs. However, your stays will be in the middle of nature.
Gregory G. May 2016
Amazing area for mountain biking
James V. Apr 2016
We had a lovely time in the woods. The outdoor fire pit, multiple grill options and plentiful outdoor seating led to wonderful outdoor time. Henry Cowell park is nearby and definitely worth a visit. The bathroom situation is unusual, but we made it work and appreciated the updated bathroom features as well as laundry facilities.
Danielle G. Apr 2016
This place is phenomenal, we are definitely coming back.
Bina K. Apr 2016
This cabin is so peaceful, nested in the redwood forest. The amenities provided in the cabin is fully loaded. We loved sitting in the backyard.
Cheryl B. Mar 2016
Our family had a wonderful time there, HOPE to make it back there one day!
Tiertza-leah S. Mar 2016
The place itself was nice and cosy. The outside area was especially spacious given how close together cabins are in Felton. The downstairs bathroom is not heated and challenging when it is raining or at night and the downstairs bedroom is isolated. But for a couple of people the place is fine. The challenge was with Vacasa not answering the office phone and not getting back to you until the next day. Also we were given the wrong code for the lock box and almost did not get in and there were no instructions for the tv and video controls. I hope they also provide the tenants with microwavable plates and non Teflon pans. Otherwise things were fine. A back road route to the beaches in Davenport is a nice way to get there.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback and want to apologize that we've been difficult to reach. We are hiring more personnel to work on the phones so we can respond in a more timely manner. The Property Manager will make sure the correct lockbox code is provided to our guests, and will work on instructions for the electronics.
Vanessa P. Feb 2016
Good cabin. Nice play area and outdoors for kids
Leslie L. Dec 2015
The house is set at the end of a road in the forest with great space outdoors for kids to play and adults to sit and visit. We had a wonderful time there. IT was perfect for our party of four adults, but the party leaving when we arrived were four adults and two kids which I think can work great as well. The only negative thing is that it has only one bathroom and to reach it from the upstairs living area, you have to go outside and downstairs to the first floor. The two floors are not connected inside the house. This is not a problem generally, but dark at night. IF children are there, we would recommend they be with adults on the first floor so they do not have to go outside to get to the restroom.
Susan W. Dec 2015
I didn't read the instructions carefully or forgot that it stated to not use GPS.. We were lost for 2 hours! We were using GPS.. Just a verbal reminder would be good or stated again for us people that move to fast through life!
Allie L. Dec 2015
I am absolutely in love with this cabin!! Everything was clean and cozy. I loved the gas fire place inside. I went in December and there were Christmas decorations and a tree which was adorable. There was plenty of room for everyone. The outside was also amazing with a fire pit and plenty of fire wood, they even left us stuff to make smores (: only thing people might not like is the bathroom is down stairs so you have to go outside to get to it if your upstairs (didn't bother me or any of my guests but it could bother other people) another thing was getting there, it's about 15 minutes off the main road and it's a pretty curvy road which might bother some. But as long as you followed the detailed directions they give you, you will be totally fine. We will definitely be staying here again!! Thanks so much!!
Gregory L. Nov 2015
Lovely spot in redwoods very peaceful. Harrowing driving conditions spoiled the experience significantly.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see the driving conditions were upsetting for you and hope the home itself made up for it! We hope to see you again!
Kelly S. Sep 2015
I was very pleased with the cabin and with the service through Vacasa. I had a minor, normal house issue during my stay and the property manager was prompt and very helpful. The cabin is located quite a ways up a mountain though and does make for a bit of a confusing/nerve wracking drive the first few times you get there, but you get the hang of it. I would definitely book here again.
Gary R. Aug 2015
I couldn't have asked for a better cabin to stay at for my 40th birthday celebration. The drive up to the cabin seemed a little intimidating at first but after a couple of times up and down the hill I was diving the road like one of the locals (haha). They had everything you could possibly need or think of. Every time we needed something we would take a look around and would find it. All of their appliances were good quality and in nice working condition. It was a very comfortable and relaxing cabin. My 3 year old son loved the play ground area outside and was never bored while staying here. I would highly recommend this cabin and will hopefully be able to make it back again.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your birthday here and that your family thoroughly enjoyed the home. We look forward to having you as a guest again!
Amoreena A. Aug 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. The outdoor space really makes the place so if you are not inclined to do bon fires and enjoy the outdoors you will likely be cramped in the house itself. Our family (kids ages 5 and twins 2.5) thought it was so fun and us adults enjoyed feeling like we were camping but with the comforts of a house.

Be aware there is no bath but the kitchen sink was large enough to bath our twins together (2.5 years old) and also fit our 5 year old for a solo bath. If you need to use the bathroom a lot at night the need to go down outside stairs to get to the bathroom may lead you to want to sleep on the twin bunks downstairs instead.

Overall, we enjoyed our time and will be staying here again in the future.
Greg S. Aug 2015
This place was very relaxing, and quiet, lots of shade and all the amenities of home (the Kurig was awesome, a nice surprise) if you add some lighting for the stairway and a fan in the bedroom I would not hesitate to recommend this house . Sincerely, Greg & Anna Shilts
Kelly S. May 2015
The getaway cabin was the perfect spot for my family and I to get a little quiet and fun. The surrounding area is beautiful and super quiet. The split level worked just fine since my kids are older. We went to Felton's Roaring Camp Railroad and the cabin was super close. We also enjoyed beach fun in Capitola and it was lovely having such a nice place to come home to, make dinner and sit around the fire. Thanks!
Sue C. Apr 2015
Extremely clean and nice place. A bit remote so best if you want a quiet place and 25 minutes to the beaches.
April S. Apr 2015
All in all, it was a very interesting place to stay and we have no regrets. The surrounding area is very remote and the trees are totally awesome. With a car, you can easily access a dozen super parks or the ocean! Although completely warned about it, the bathroom only being accessible by outside stairs turned out to be more of a chore than we had anticipated.
David D. Mar 2015
Felton is a great town and the cabin is in a great location. It is somewhat remote, but we didn't find it to be an inconvenience at all. There were lots of great red woods on the property and we saw deer wandering the property. It is a very quiet area if that is what you are looking for. All of the appliances are up-to-date and wireless internet was pretty fast.

The sleeping arrangement was a little odd for a family with two kids under three. The house is split between two levels. The kitchen, living, and main bedroom is upstairs. You have to leave the upstairs to get to the lower level where the bathroom and extra bedroom is located.

Otherwise, a great experience and vacasa was really helpful.
Hilary W. Jan 2015
This cabin was great for our weekend retreat. Very quiet and cozy and clean. When we first arrived one of the fuses blew in the downstairs area leaving it in total darkness but after emailing vacasa, they called back within an hour and walked me through getting access to the fuse box and turning it back on, I was very impressed!
Seth J. Dec 2014
Great property. Not close to amenities, but that was fine for our family! Nice set up, house was very clean, well taken care of. Great for kids!
Sarah S. Nov 2014
The only thing we disliked was the curvy, narrow roads that lead to the cabin. Besides that, it was fully stocked with everything we needed and more! It was remote and quiet. Homey and clean. Close to Santa Cruz and the beach. We had a fantastic time and we'll definitely be staying here next year! Thank you so much!
Cathey W. Oct 2014
The cabin is the best ever for stocking it with everything you could possibly need. We really appreciated the detail to the kitchen and bath area. Thank you.
Debby B. Oct 2014
The cabin is wonderful! Located in a quiet and lovely area set in the mountains yet near the ocean.and beautiful beaches of Santa Cruz. The owners are so gracious and go above and beyond to provide everything a guest could want. I am so grateful to both the owners and Vacasa for all the precious memories our family has had at this magical place!!
Iris M. Sep 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Getaway Cabin very much and we will definitely stay there again. The cabin is all prepped to welcome you with all the necessities you would typically find in a hotel (everything to make coffee, toothpicks, shower/personal amenities and even the necessary goodies to make Smores!) They definitely thought everything out to make a guest feel right at home and have everything they might need right at their fingertips... including a huge library of DVD's!
Manager response:
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so happy you stayed with us, please come visit again soon.
Heather R. Sep 2014
this property was everything described and more! The amenities provided ensured we wouldn't do without. There was every kitchen gadget imaginable and plenty of spices and condiments so we didn't have to buy everything. The s'more makings were a wonderful touch for the kids and the wine selection was much appreciated by the parents!! We even watched a group of deer wander through the yard one night. Our kids fell in love with the cat that hung out on the porch and named her sparkles. Everything was so wonderful and the little touches made it even more special! Great place to stay for some quiet from the city!
Stacie P. Aug 2014
I recently stayed at Getaway Cabin with a friend and her children. This cabin was perfect for two families. The separate entrances and bedrooms provided the ideal balance between quiet and together time. The outdoor space at this home could not be better. The pictures do not do the home or surrounding area justice. The serenity you feel there just can't be captured in photographs I guess. The kids with us, ages 5 to 9, turned down trips to the beach and for ice cream to stay and explore the woods instead. Many a great memory were made during our stay. If you are on the fence about renting, just do it. You won't regret it. We'll be back every year for as long as the property is available. Thank you so much for sharing this little piece of paradise. It's a true gem.
Manager response:
Thank you for this great review. I am so happy that your families enjoyed your stay with Vacasa, and the children liked exploring the great surroundings. We can't wait for you to visit us again.
Cheryl D. Aug 2014
This home is very beautiful. The outside is made for entertaining or just sitting back and enjoying a glass of wine while the deer graze on the property. The area is a little confusing to get to but I used my smart phone and it brought me right to the address. Just make sure you arrive before dark! There are many things to do while staying there. Many movies to watch or just have a fire and enjoy the atmosphere. The kids enjoyed the fire pit outside every night eating smores. There is everything there for all your needs in case you forgot something. The only complaint is the bathroom is separate from the main house and you will need to walk outside and down the stairs to the bathroom. This can be a problem when there is bad weather or you have young children. The downstairs room is comfortable but not really suitable for young children since they will be away from the parents. Would love to spend more time at this beautiful home if you aren't visiting the many attractions in Santa Cruz.
Manager response:
Thank you for the nice review. This cabin definitely has a unique layout, but the beauty of the property is well worth it. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.
Kristin P. Aug 2014
We had a wonderful time at the cabin. 4 Adults and 2 little ones (2 1/2 and 5 months) Stayed for 3 nights but wished it could have been longer. We enjoyed having the play structure swing set for our grandson. We barbecued, loved the s'mores, sat around the campfire and relaxed. Although the drive up the first time is challenging, it is well worth it when you arrive! Highly recommend the place for great family time. We plan to go back next summer!
Lois Elaine R. Jul 2014
Our family - me, my daughter and son-in-law, teenage granddaughter, and grandson went to rest and go to Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. It was most peaceful. The 'cabin' was completely stocked and furnished. Very clean. Washing machine and dryer were amazing. There are so many places to be alone or just sit and visit. Peaceful and refreshing are two words to describe the Getaway Cabin - but there is so much more! It was wonderful. We plan to return next summer and will book it just as soon as we know our schedule, a year from now. God Bless everyone involved.
Elaine Roy
Francesca C. Jul 2014
The first thing you notice about the cabin is the cleanliness. The owners and previous tenants do a great job at keeping everything tidy. As you drive up, the air smells so crisp and fresh. The cabin has everything you need to enjoy a trip away from home. The s'mores were such a nice touch, we built a bonfire each night. Even better, there is a Keurig coffee machine with k-cups in the house (a big hit with me and my party on those lazy mornings). Many FRIENDLY neighborhood dogs came to greet us as this cabin is adjacent to a walking trail. We all give this cabin a 5 star rating, no less!
Valentin C. Jun 2014
Thanks for all your help. You guys are really great. I really liked the help you provided the entire time.
Manager response:
We appreciate this great review. We are glad that we could assist on making this a great vacation for you. We can't wait for your next visit.
Nancy C. Jun 2014
Just spent ten days at the Getaway Cabin and had a wonderful visit. It was wonderful having an updated kitchen and space to entertain both inside and out. Had two visits from a pair of Bucks, saw wild turkeys and a beautiful fox. There are great trails adjacent to the property and the weather during my stay was perfect. Devon was amazing in her response to my needs. She supplied me with a laptop and literally hooked me up to Roku to provide me with some mindless entertainment. I would love to return again and again and highly recommend this charming yet updated cabin!
Cyndi M. May 2014
So much to do in the area, plus I feel you should really enjoy the Cabin so you need more days to really enjoy. You have everything in the cabin to relax. Loved the Smores treats! Drive up is a little hard but we made it with great instructions. The house being in two sections was hard for some, but I liked, because it gave you privacy. Loved Vacasa.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We're very pleased that you enjoyed the cabin and exploring the area. We hope you'll visit again.
Evan S. May 2014
Stayed here two nights with my girlfriend and our two dogs. The house was extremely clean and welcoming. They had everything we needed - toiletries, tons of extra towels, cleaning supplies, a full kitchen with lots of appliances, charcoal AND gas grills, a fireplace, even a play structure and dog pen. The location is very quiet and the neighborhood dogs were very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.